Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the housing" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the housing" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 15, 16, 17, 18, 20, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US Patent 10,660,819) in view of Hald et al (US Patent 6,003,166).
Regarding Claim 1, Liu shows a pool hub comprising: a power hub (110) configured to receive electric power; a pump (10) configured to receive electric power (Fig.23) from the power hub, wherein the pump is configured to seal fluid from the power hub; and an electrical outlet (1144) configured to receive electric power from the power hub, wherein the electrical outlet is configured to provide power to an electronic accessory (column 10 lines 34-42). Liu fails to show wherein the housing of the pool hub is connected to an exterior of a pool wall of an above-ground pool. Hald teaches a portable spa having a housing (14) of the pool hub is connected to an exterior (28) of a pool wall of an above-ground pool (Fig.5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to including the housing being connected to an exterior wall of the pool in order to allow easy access to the housing.
Regarding Claim 2, Liu shows the pool hub of claim 1, wherein the power hub comprises a ground fault circuit interrupter (column 12 lines 31-34).
Regarding Claim 6, Liu shows the pool hub of claim 1, wherein the electronic accessory comprises a charging base (column 10 lines 60-62).
Regarding Claim 15, Liu shows the pool hub of claim 1, the pool hub further comprising a heating element (44, Fig. 22).
Regarding Claim 16, Liu shows the pool hub of claim 1, the pool hub further comprising a controller that sends or receives information from the pump (41, Fig. 22).
Regarding Claim 17, Liu shows the pool hub of claim 16, wherein the controller is configured to communicate remotely with a network device (42, Fig.22).
Regarding Claim 18, Liu shows the pool hub of claim 17, wherein the controller is configured to receive instructions from the network device (column 12 lines 42-42).
Regarding Claim 20, Liu shows a pool hub (110) comprising: a primary electrical system (30; Fig.23) configured to provide electrical power to a pump (10); a secondary electrical system (114) configured to receive electrical power from the primary electrical system (column 10 lines 34-42); and an electrical outlet (1144) configured to receive power from the secondary electrical system; wherein the converter distributes power from the primary electrical system to the secondary electrical system. Liu fails to show a converter, but shows 110v system and an electrical outlet having an output of 5v and wherein the housing of the pool hub is connected to an exterior of a pool wall of an above-ground pool. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a converter in order to prevent damage to the system. Hald teaches a portable spa having a housing (14) of the pool hub is connected to an exterior (28) of a pool wall of an above-ground pool (Fig.5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to including the housing being connected to an exterior wall of the pool in order to allow easy access to the housing.
Regarding Claim 21, Liu shows the pool hub of claim 20, wherein the primary electrical system comprises a 120/240V system or a 110V/220V system (Fig.23; show two prongs of typical of 120V or 110V system).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US Patent 10,660,819) in view of Hald et al (US Patent 6,003,166) as applied above and further in view of Cline et al (US Patent 6,253,121 herein after Cline). Liu shows the pool hub of claim 1, but fails to show the electrical outlet comprises a ground fault circuit interrupter. Cline teaches an electrical outlet comprises a ground fault circuit interrupter (27, Fig.2A). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a ground fault circuit interrupter in order to prevent the user from getting electrical shock.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US Patent 10,660,819) in view of Hald et al (US Patent 6,003,166) as applied above and further in view of Cutler (US Patent 8,281,795). Liu shows the pool hub of claim 1, but fails to shows the electronic accessory comprises an electrically-powered retractable roof. Cutler teaches an electronic accessory comprises an electrically-powered retractable roof (2, Fig.1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include electronic accessory comprises an electrically-powered retractable roof in order to protect swimmers.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US Patent 10,660,819) in view of Hald et al (US Patent 6,003,166) as applied above and further in view of Chang (US Patent 5,605,203). Liu shows the pool hub of claim 1, but fails to show the electronic accessory comprises a retractable ladder. Change teaches an electronic accessory comprises a retractable ladder (50; Fig.1; column 1 lines 31-41). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a retractable ladder in order to allow people to exit the pool.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US Patent 10,660,819) in view of Hald et al (US Patent 6,003,166) as applied above and further in view of Nurnberg (US Patent 4,125,107). Liu shows the pool hub of claim 1, but fails to show the power hub receive powered from a solar panel. Nurnberg teaches a power hub receive powered from a solar panel (20; Fig.1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a power hub received power from a solar panel in order to allow the pool to use clean energy.
Claim(s) 9-14, 25-27, 30-32, 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US Patent 10,660,819) in view of Hald et al (US Patent 6,003,166) as applied above and further in view of Brown et al (US Patent 2021/0388627 herein after Brown).
Regarding Claim 9, Liu shows the pool hub of claim 1, but fails to show the electronic accessory comprises a temperature sensor that senses a temperature of water in the pool. Brown teaches an electronic accessory comprises a temperature sensor that senses a temperature of water in the pool (632, Fig.6). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a temperature sensor in order to make the pool more comfortable to swim in.
Regarding Claim 10, Liu shows the pool hub of claim 1, but fails to show the electronic accessory comprises a sensor that indicates a movement associated with the pool. Brown teaches an electronic accessory comprises a sensor that indicates a movement associated with the pool (606; Fig.6). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a sensor that indicated movement in order to allow the user to know when the pool is being used.
Reading claim 11, Liu shows the pool hub of claim 1, but fails to show the electronic accessory comprises an acidity sensor that senses an acidity of water in the pool. Brown teaches an electronic accessory comprises an acidity sensor (630; paragraph 70; Fig.6) that senses an acidity of water in the pool. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an acidity sensor in order to ensure the pool is chemically balanced.
Regarding Claim 12, Liu shows the pool hub of claim 10, but fails to show the electronic accessory comprises a light that indicates the acidity of water in the pool. Brown teaches an electronic accessory comprises a light that indicates the acidity of water in the pool (paragraph 48). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a light in order to give the user a visual indicator.
Regarding Claim 13, Liu shows the pool hub of claim 10, but fails to show the electronic accessory comprises a light that indicates a filter status. Brown teaches the electronic accessory comprises a light (250) that indicates a filter status (paragraph 48). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a light that indicated a filter status in order to give the user visual indication.
Regarding Claim 14, Liu shows the pool hub of claim 1, but fails to show the pool hub further comprising a skimmer. Brown teaches the pool hub further comprising a skimmer (paragraph 3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a skimmer in order to ensure the pool is clean.
Regarding Claim 25, Liu shows the pool hub of claim 20, but fails to show the secondary electrical system comprises a controller that sends or receives information from an electronic accessory. Brown teaches a secondary electrical system comprises a controller (614; Fig.6) that sends or receives information from an electronic accessory (Fig.6). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a controller in order to ensure the allow is able to change the pool parameters.
Regarding Claim 26. Liu shows the pool hub of claim 25, but fails to show the controller (614; Fig.6) is configured to communicate remotely with a network device. Brown teaches the controller is configured to communicate remotely with a network device (Fig.6). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a controller in order to ensure the allow is able to change the pool parameters.
Regarding Claim 27, Liu shows the pool hub of claim 26, but fails to show the controller is configured to receive instructions from the network device. Brown teaches the controller is configured to receive instructions from the network device (paragraph 68). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a controller configured to receive instructions from the network device in order to ensure the allow is able to change the pool parameters.
Regarding Claim 30, Liu shows the pool hub of claim 20, but fails to show the pump comprises a filter. Brown teaches a pump that includes a filter (609). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a pump that includes a filter in order to ensure the pool is clean.
Regarding Claim 31 and 32, Liu shows the pool hub of claim 20, but fails to show the secondary electrical system comprises a light or a sound device. Brown teaches a secondary electrical system comprises a light (250; Fig.2A) or a sound device (626, Fig.6; paragraph 73). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a light and sound device in order to alert the user.
Regarding Claim 34, Liu show the pool hub of claim 20, but fails to show the pump comprises an alarm. Brown teaches a pump having a alarm (626. Fig.6). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a pump having an alarm in order to alert the pool owner.
Claim(s) 19 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US Patent 10,660,819) in view of Hald et al (US Patent 6,003,166) as applied above and further in view of Jacuzzi (US Patent 3,674,020). Liu shows the pool hub of claims 1 or 20, wherein the electronic accessory comprises an air supply station (1, Fig.2) or the pump comprises a jet system (column 1 lines 59-62). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an air supply station and a jet system in order to provide hydro therapy for the user.
Claim(s) 22 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US Patent 10,660,819) in view of Hald et al (US Patent 6,003,166) as applied above and further in view of Goodman (US Patent 4,599,753). Liu shows the pool hub of claim 20, but fails to show the primary electrical system comprises a direct current system (column 2 lines 65) or battery (column 1 lines 61-64). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a direct current system and a battery in order to power the pool system.
Claim(s) 24 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US Patent 10,660,819) in view of Hald et al (US Patent 6,003,166) as applied above and further in view of Takagi et al (US Patent 5,943,710 herein after Takagi). Liu shows the pool hub of claim 20, but fails to show the secondary electrical system comprises a 12V system (Fig.3) or the electrical system is insulated from the primary electrical system. Takagi teaches the secondary electrical system comprises a 12V system or the electrical system is insulated from the primary electrical system (Fig.3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the secondary electrical system comprises a 12V system and the electrical system is insulated for the primary electrical system to prevent electrical shock.
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US Patent 10,660,819) in view of Hald et al (US Patent 6,003,166) as applied above and further in view of Kelly et al (US Patent 6,821,416 herein after Kelly). Liu shows the pool hub of claim 20, but fails to show the pump is configured to physically and electrically connect to a skimmer. Kelly teaches a pump (44, Fig. 14) configured to physically and electrically connect to a skimmer (14, Fig.2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a pump configured to physically and electrically connect to a skimmer in order to keep the pool clean.
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US Patent 10,660,819) in view of Hald et al (US Patent 6,003,166) as applied above and further in view of Weber et al (US Patent Publication 20190246455 herein after Weber). Liu shows the pool hub of claim 20, but fails to show the primary electrical system comprises a light. Weber teaches a primary electrical system includes a light (122; Fig.1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a light in order to provide light to the pool.
Claim(s) 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US Patent 10,660,819) in view of Hald et al (US Patent 6,003,166) as applied above and further in view of Jacuzzi (US Patent 3,297,025). Liu shows the pool hub of claim 20, but fails to show the pump comprises a vacuum. Jacuzzi teaches a pool that includes a pump having a vacuum (column 2 lines 13-17). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a pump having a vacuum in order to allow cleaning of the pool.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 37 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The arguments in regards to the new limitations have been addressed in the action above.
Applicant argues that Liu fails to show “a pump is configured to seal fluid from the power hub”. The examiner disagrees. The pump is configured to or capable of sealing a fluid from the power hub (column 2 lines 33-42), further the control panel is located in a recess and sealed in a waterproof housing.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAUREN A CRANE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754