DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claims 1-20, the current Specification does not describe the controller having a particular configuration or programming for the controller to control the inserting unit or the temperature of the molds. Thus, the language following the controller is considered as functional language that recites an intended use or purpose of the controller.
For purpose of examination, the interpretation of the claims are as following:
Claim 1 and 14 are considered as an injection molding system comprising:
an injection molding machine for injecting a resin into a mold;
a conveyer apparatus to move a mold between a first position within the injection molding machine and a second position outside the injection molding machine;
a controller; and
an inserting unit,
wherein:
the controller controls the conveyer apparatus to move/not to move a mold, and
the inserting unit to selectively inserts a molded part into a mold.
Claim 2: no additional apparatus structure is claimed.
Claim 3: a holding unit to hold the molded parts.
Claim 4 and 17: a cooling process is a method limitation. There is no additional apparatus structure such as cooling passages, cooling fans, etc.. For purpose of examination “a cooling process” is interpretated as a cooling means/mechanism. Clarification and/or correction are required.
Claims 5-6, no additional apparatus structure is added. There is no additional configuration or programming to the controller.
Claims 7-8, the apparatus further comprises an ejection unit and a holding unit.
Claim 9, a second conveyer to move the second mold.
Claims 10 and 18, temperature control of the molds.
Claims 11-12, similar to claims 1-2 in which the insert unit moves the molded parts, and the temperature control based on the temperatures of the molds.
Claims 13 and 19-20, the apparatus further comprises a first mold cavity, a second mold cavity and a gate at a flow channel between the first and second cavities.
Claim 15, the control unit controls the inserting unit.
Claim 16, a holding unit to hold the molded parts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the control unit" in line 1, page 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purpose of examination, “the control unit” is considered to be the same as the controller. Clarification and/or correction are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kodaira et al. (2022/0212385).
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Kodaira et al. discloses an injection molding apparatus with a mold conveyor, a controller for controlling the mold conveyor and the injection molding apparatus.
The injection molding apparatus comprising:
an injection molding machine 2 for injecting a resin into a mold cavity [0039];
a conveyer apparatus 3A, 3B configured to move a mold 100A, 100B between a first position 11 within the injection molding machine and a second position outside the injection molding machine [0041];
a controller 4, 41, 42A, 42B; and
an inserting unit 7, wherein
the controller 4 includes a controller 42A for controlling the conveying machine 3A, and a controller 42B for controlling the conveying machine 3B, wherein the controller 41, 42A, 42B can process and execute different control programs, it is configured to control the movement of the first and second conveying machines 3A, 3B independently [0030], [0032], including moving the first molded part A from the first position outside of the molding machine to the second position 11 after the N times of the injection process, so that the molded part A can be cooled while one or more cycles of changing the molds pass [0075]; and
the inserting unit 7 configured to insert one of a first molded part obtained based on the N times injection process with the first mold into the second mold such that the injection molding machine injects a resin into the second mold in which the first molded part is inserted to obtain a second molded part, [0055], [0057], [0072], [0074]; Fig. 5, S3-S11.
Regarding claims 2 and 15, wherein the second molded part is inserted into the first mold such that the injection molding machine injects a resin into the first mold in which the second molded part is inserted to obtain a third molded part – see Fig. 5, S3-S12.
Regarding claims 3 and 16, wherein the inserting unit 7 is controlled by control device 4 [0081], and further comprising a holding unit 74-75 configured to hold the first molded part A and the second molded part B, wherein the holding unit with robotic arms 75A-B that can hold both molded part A and molded part B11 so that each of the molded part A/B can be independently inserted into the mold for the next molding steps to form a final product by switching the holding portion facing the molded part [0073], Fig. 5 [0073]-[0074], [0081]-[0086], Figs. 6-7.
Regarding claim 4, wherein the apparatus further comprising a temperature controller to cool the mold 100A to an appropriate temperature for a predetermined time period [0065]-[0067].
Regarding claims 5-6, wherein the controller 41 is programmed to communicably connected with the controllers 42A and 42B and provides instructions related to the conveyance of the mold 100A/100B, [0032], and that the conveyance unit 31 is arranged independently for each of the conveying machines 3A and 3B enables handling cases where a movement strokes differ between the mold 100A and the mold 100B when conveying [0030], because the controllers 42A and 42B are programmed to independently operatable, they are capable of moving the molds 100A/B in any desired frequences and sequences.
Regarding claim 7, Kodaira et al. further discloses that the inserting unit 7 is also a take-out robot 7 for ejecting the molded part from the mold, in which the take-out robot 7 can include a robotic hand that can hold both molded part A and molded part B [0074] and removes the molded part A from the mold 100A and places the molded part A in the mold 100B [0082]. Because the take-out robot 7 has the same structures – Fig. 2, [0035], [0053] and capable of performing the same functions as described in claim 7 and in the current specification – Fig. 2, [0032], [0043], they are essentially the same or equivalent.
Regarding claim 9, wherein conveying machines 3A and 3B are arranged to face each other, and the conveying machine 3A is arranged on one side laterally of the injection molding machine 2, and the conveying machine 3B is arranged on the other side respectively adjacent. The molding operation position 11 is positioned between the conveying machine 3A and the conveying machine 3B, [0027].
Regarding claims 10 and 17-18, wherein the controller is connected to a cooling fluid channel and programmed to control the temperature of the mold at an appropriate temperature for predetermined time period during the molding process, [0065]-[0067].
Regarding claims 11-12, wherein the apparatus further discloses that the inserting unit 7 included a robotic hand 75A-B that can hold both molded part A and molded part B11 so that each of the molded part A/B can be independently inserted into the mold for the next molding steps to form a final product by switching the holding portion facing the molded part [0073], Fig. 5, and that the controller is configured to control temperature regarding injection molding process such that temperature of the first mold is maintained at a certain temperature [0065].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kodaira et al. (2022/0212385) as applied to claims 1-12 and 14-18 above, and further in view of Kimura et al. (2010/0264558).
Kodaira et al. disclose an injection molding apparatus as described above, but fails to disclose a gate placed at a flow channel between the first cavity and the second cavity and configured to enable or disable flow of the resin from the first cavity to the second cavity.
Kimura et al. discloses a molding apparatus, comprising a first mold 341 and a third die 347 each having a cavity 351, 372, injecting means 342, a supply conduit 361, a runner 352, a switching valve 353 with a flow passage 357 for alternating open and close the material flow passages 354, 374 to each of the cavity, see Figs. 21A-B, [0302]-[0305].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide Kodaira et al. with a switching valve within the material flow passage as taught by Kimura et al. in order to alternatively supply injection material into each of the mold cavities.
/Thu Khanh T. Nguyen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743