Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 set forth in the preliminary amendment submitted 11/03/2025 form the basis of the present examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/16/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Office action on 7/01/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 7, filed 11/03/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims 1-3 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 7, of the remarks, filed on 11/03/2025, regarding the interpretation of Claims 1-3 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention, that, “The "primary detection signal" and "secondary detection signal" are amended to recite "first detection signal" and "second detection signal", respectively.
The amendments to the claims are believed to obviate the rejections. Reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejection is respectfully requested.”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 7 (stated above), filed 11/03/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims 1-3 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 7/01/2025 have been fully considered and is persuasive. Because, applicant has amended the claims which makes the limitation clear. Therefore, the rejection(s) of Claims 1-3 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention has been withdrawn, as set forth below.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 8-10, filed 11/03/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-3 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HONG et al. (Hereinafter, “Hong”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20150091556 A1 in view of Nagasaki et al. (Hereinafter, “Nagasaki”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20110133733 A1 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 8-9, of the remarks, filed on 11/03/2025, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HONG et al. (Hereinafter, “Hong”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20150091556 A1 in view of Nagasaki et al. (Hereinafter, “Nagasaki”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20110133733 A1, that “Applicant respectfully submits that the cited references, taken individually or in combination, fail to disclose or suggest at least the features of "a first magnetic sensor that detects a primary detection AC magnetic field caused due to the magnetization change of the magnetic material to generate a first detection signal."
In the rejection of independent claim 1, the Office concedes that "Hong does not teach that a first magnetic sensor that detects a primary detection AC magnetic field caused due to the magnetization change of the magnetic material to generate a primary detection signal," and relies on Nagasaki as teaching: ……….. (Remarks-Page 8).
…..
Although the Office appears to correspond Nagasaki's magneto-impedance device 110 to the claimed first magnetic sensor, Nagasaki's magneto-impedance device 110 does not appear to detect an AC magnetic field caused by excitation of a magnetic material. Rather, as described in paragraphs [0069]-[0072] and [0080]-[0086] of Nagasaki, the device measures the magnitude of a static or slowly varying magnetic field such as the terrestrial magnetic field or a magnetic field induced by underground currents. Nagasaki states that the magneto-impedance device "detects the magnitude of a magnetic field instead of a change (temporal differentiation) in magnetic field" (paragraph [0082]), confirming that its operation is directed to DC or quasi-static field detection. The inclusion of environmental magnetic-field cancellation coils to offset the earth's magnetic field further supports that Nagasaki is not concerned with AC magnetic field detection.
Accordingly, Nagasaki fails to disclose or suggest the features of "a first magnetic sensor that detects a primary detection AC magnetic field caused due to the magnetization change of the magnetic material to generate a first detection signal," as recited in independent claim 1 (Remarks-Page 9).”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 8-9, of the remarks, filed on 11/03/2025, regarding the rejection(s) of the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HONG et al. (Hereinafter, “Hong”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20150091556 A1 in view of Nagasaki et al. (Hereinafter, “Nagasaki”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20110133733 A1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 7/01//2025 have been fully considered and is not persuasive. Applicant argues that, “Hong does not teach that a first magnetic sensor that detects a primary detection AC magnetic field caused due to the magnetization change of the magnetic material to generate a primary detection signal” which is not persuasive. Examiner in the rejection mentioned that Hong teaches the excitation coil detects a primary detection AC magnetic field caused due to the magnetization change of the magnetic material to generate a first detection signal. However, Hong does not teach that a first magnetic sensor detects a primary detection AC magnetic field. Hong teaches, “FIG. 3, the apparatus for analyzing materials comprises a generator 310 generating alternating current, a current amplifier 320 amplifying alternating currents generated by the generator 310, an excitation coil 330 receiving amplified alternating currents and generating an electromagnetic field (Paragraph [0044] Line 1-6). Magnetization signal generated from a measurement target material as the electromagnetic field generated by the excitation coil is applied to the measurement target material; Paragraph [0044] Line 6-9).” Therefore, Hong discloses the excitation coil detects a primary detection AC magnetic field caused due to the magnetization change of the magnetic material to generate a first detection signal. Nagasaki is introduced only to include a magnetic sensor to generate a first detection signal. Hong already discloses the limitation of detecting a primary detection AC magnetic field caused due to the magnetization change of the magnetic material to generate a first detection signal by a first coil. Hong only does not teach about the first magnetic sensor. Therefore, Nagasaki is introduced only to include a magnetic sensor to detect a primary detection AC magnetic field caused due to the magnetization change of the magnetic material to generate a first detection signal.
In response to Applicant’s argument that does not include certain features of Applicant's invention, the limitations on which the Applicant relies (i.e., detects a primary detection AC magnetic field caused due to the magnetization change of the magnetic material to generate a first detection signal) are rejected under Hong. Nagasaki is never applied in the rejection to reject those limitations. Hong teaches all the limitation of the independent claims and Nagasaki was applied to remedy the deficiency of Hong as Hong does not teach, "a first magnetic sensor". So applicant’s argument that Nagasaki reference cannot be combined is not persuasive.
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 9-10, of the remarks, filed on 11/03/2025, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 2 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HONG et al. (Hereinafter, “Hong”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20150091556 A1 in view of Nagasaki et al. (Hereinafter, “Nagasaki”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20110133733 A1, that “Applicant respectfully submits that the cited references, taken individually or in combination, fail to disclose or suggest at least the features of "a third coil that cancels the excitation AC magnetic field applied to the first magnetic sensor."
In the rejection of dependent claim 2, the Office appears to correspond Nagasaki's environmental magnetic field cancellation means 140 and 141 to the claimed third coil.
Nagasaki describes Nagasaki's environmental magnetic field cancellation means 140 and 141 as generating a correction magnetic field that cancels an environmental magnetic field (i.e., terrestrial magnetism) so that the magneto-impedance device is not saturated by the earth's static (Remarks-Page 9) magnetic field component (see Nagasaki, paragraphs [0080]-[0086]). In particular, paragraph [0082] states that the magneto-impedance device "detects the magnitude of a magnetic field instead of a change (temporal differentiation) in magnetic field," confirming that Nagasaki's sensor operates in a DC or quasi-static regime.
Because the environmental magnetic field cancellation means 140 and 141 serve only to cancel the constant environmental magnetic field and have no role in cancelling an excitation AC magnetic field, Nagasaki does not disclose or suggest the claimed third coil.
Accordingly, Nagasaki fails to disclose or suggest the features of "a third coil that cancels the excitation AC magnetic field applied to the first magnetic sensor," as recited in dependent claim 2 (Remarks-Page 10).”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 9-10, of the remarks, filed on 11/03/2025, regarding the rejection(s) of the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 2 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HONG et al. (Hereinafter, “Hong”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20150091556 A1 in view of Nagasaki et al. (Hereinafter, “Nagasaki”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20110133733 A1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 7/01//2025 have been fully considered and is not persuasive. Applicant argues that, “Nagasaki fails to disclose or suggest the features of "a third coil that cancels the excitation AC magnetic field applied to the first magnetic sensor,” which is not persuasive.
Hong already discloses AC magnetic field. However, Hong does not disclose a third coil to cancel the magnetic field. Nagasaki teaches a third coil to cancel the magnetic field. Nagasaki is applied in the rejection to introduce in Hong reference to cancel the AC magnetic field. Therefore, Nagasaki does not need to have the limitation AC magnetic field as Nagasaki also discloses to cancel the magnetic field.
In response to Applicant’s argument that does not include certain features of Applicant's invention, the limitations on which the Applicant relies (i.e., the excitation AC magnetic field) are rejected under Hong. Nagasaki is never applied in the rejection to reject those limitations. Hong teaches all the limitation of the independent claims and Nagasaki was applied to remedy the deficiency of Hong as Hong does not teach, "a third coil to cancel the magnetic field". So applicant’s argument that Nagasaki reference cannot be combined is not persuasive.
Nagasaki teaches, “The magnetic field sensor device 1 may include an adjustment means that controls the environmental magnetic field cancellation means 140 and 141 so that the observational data falls within the desired range; Paragraph [0081] Line 1-4)”. Nagasaki also teaches to cancel magnetic field to by a third coil but for different purpose. It is not required that Nagasaki also needs to disclose to cancel AC magnetic field. Hong already discloses to detect AC magnetic field. However, Hong does not teach to cancel that magnetic field using a third coil. Nagasaki teaches a third coil to cancel magnetic field but for different purpose not to cancel AC magnetic field. But Nagasaki does not need to have the same purpose as Hong.
The reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See, e.g., In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 987, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (motivation question arises in the context of the general problem confronting the inventor rather than the specific problem solved by the invention); Cross Med. Prods., Inc. v. Medtronic Sofamor Danek, Inc., 424 F.3d 1293, 1323, 76 USPQ2d 1662, 1685 (Fed. Cir. 2005) ("One of ordinary skill in the art need not see the identical problem addressed in a prior art reference to be motivated to apply its teachings."); In re Lintner, 458 F.2d 1013, 173 USPQ 560 (CCPA 1972) (discussed below); In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 500 U.S. 904 (1991) (discussed below).
Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive. Nagasaki still can be applied to reject the limitation. Therefore, the rejection of claims 1-3 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HONG et al. (Hereinafter, “Hong”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20150091556 A1 in view of Nagasaki et al. (Hereinafter, “Nagasaki”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20110133733 A1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 7/01//2025, has been maintained below. See the rejection set forth below.
New claims 4-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HONG et al. (Hereinafter, “Hong”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20150091556 A1 in view of Nagasaki et al. (Hereinafter, “Nagasaki”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20110133733 A1, as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below.
For expedite prosecution Applicant is invited to call to discuss the present rejection also if any further clarification needed and to discuss any possible amendment to overcome the references to make the claims allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HONG et al. (Hereinafter, “Hong”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20150091556 A1 in view of Nagasaki et al. (Hereinafter, “Nagasaki”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20110133733 A1.
Regarding claim 1. Hong teaches a magnetic field measurement device (a method and an apparatus for analyzing behavior of a magnetic material inside a magnetic field; Paragraph [0003] Line 2-3; FIG. 3 is a circuit diagram illustrating an apparatus for analyzing materials according to one embodiment of the present invention; Paragraph [0022] Line 1-3) comprising:
a first coil [330] (an excitation coil 330 as the first coil) that applies an excitation AC magnetic field to an object to be measured (FIG. 3, the apparatus for analyzing materials comprises a generator 310 generating alternating current, a current amplifier 320 amplifying alternating currents generated by the generator 310, an excitation coil 330 receiving amplified alternating currents and generating an electromagnetic field; Paragraph [0044] Line 1-6) including a magnetic material to make a magnetization change of the magnetic material exhibit linear response (a magnetization signal generated from a measurement target material as the electromagnetic field generated by the excitation coil is applied to the measurement target material; Paragraph [0044] Line 6-9; Magnetization response is the linear response) and detects a primary detection AC magnetic field (an excitation coil 330 receiving amplified alternating currents and generating an electromagnetic field; Paragraph [0044] Line 4-6) caused due to the magnetization change of the magnetic material to generate a first detection signal (a magnetization signal as the primary detection signal) (a magnetization signal generated from a measurement target material as the electromagnetic field generated by the excitation coil is applied to the measurement target material; Paragraph [0044] Line 6-9);
a second coil [340] (a detection coil 340 as the second coil) that generates a secondary detection AC magnetic field based on the first detection signal (a detection coil 340 detecting a magnetization signal (as the secondary detection signal) generated from a measurement target material as the electromagnetic field generated by the excitation coil is applied to the measurement target material; Paragraph [0044] Line 6-9); and
a second magnetic sensor [340 in combination with the amplifier 350] (spectrum analyzer as the second magnetic field sensor as it detects and analyze the secondary detection signal) that detects the secondary detection AC magnetic field to generate a second detection signal including a non-sine wave component (a spectrum analyzer 360 for analyzing the type of the measurement target material based on harmonic patterns obtained from the magnetization signal detected by the detection coil 340; Paragraph [0044] Line 9-13; The spectrum analyzer 360 obtains the pattern of harmonic peaks, which actually is a frequency data obtained by discretizing the magnetization signal, by using the Fourier transform. The spectrum analyzer 360 can analyze the type of the measurement target material by comparing an RMS (Root-Mean-Square) value obtained through the pattern of harmonic peaks or coefficients calculated by converting the pattern of harmonic peaks into a high-order polynomial equation; Paragraph [0047] Line 1-9; Spectrum analyzer analyzes harmonic component which is the non-sine wave component; Sinusoidal Waveforms: A sinusoidal waveform is a smooth, repetitive oscillation that can be described by a sine or cosine function. It has a single frequency. Non-Sinusoidal Waveforms: Many real-world waveforms, like those found in electronic circuits, are not perfect sine waves. These waveforms can be complex, but they can be broken down into a series of sinusoidal components. Harmonics: These sinusoidal components that make up a non-sinusoidal waveform are called harmonics. The frequency of each harmonic is an integer multiple of the fundamental frequency of the original waveform; https://www.google.com/search?q=harmonic+componet+is+sinusoidal+or+non+sinusoidfal&rlz=1C1GCEA_enUS1098US1098&oq=harmonic+componet+is+sinusoidal+or+non+sinusoidfal&gs_lcrp=EgZjaHJvbWUyBggAEEUYOTIJCAEQIRgKGKABMgkIAhAhGAoYoAEyBggDECEYCtIBCTE0NzE3ajBqMagCALACAA&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8).
Hong teaches that the excitation coil as the first coil detects a primary detection AC magnetic field caused due to the magnetization change of the magnetic material to generate a primary detection signal.
However, Hong does not teach that a first magnetic sensor that detects a primary detection magnetic field caused due to the magnetization change of the magnetic material to generate a primary detection signal.
Nagasaki teaches A magnetic field sensor device 1 includes a sensor section 100 that includes a magneto-impedance device 110 having a magnetic amorphous structure, and rod-shaped core sections 130 and 131 that guide a magnetic field to the magnetic amorphous structure in a longitudinal direction with respect to the magnetic amorphous structure (Abstract), wherein
a first magnetic sensor [110] (magneto impedance device 110 as the first magnetic sensor as it detects the magnetic field) that detects a primary detection magnetic field caused due to the magnetization change of the magnetic material to generate a first detection signal (The sensor section 100 includes a magneto-impedance device 110 having a magnetic amorphous structure. The magneto-impedance device 110 detects a magnetic field in the longitudinal direction. In this embodiment, the magneto-impedance device 110 detects a magnetic field in the vertical direction (arrow direction) in FIG. 2. In this embodiment, the length of the magneto-impedance device 110 in the longitudinal direction is about 4 mm; Paragraph [0069] Line 1-8). The purpose of doing so is to provide high linearity and no hysteresis, to implement a magnetic field sensor device reduced in size and weight as compared with an induction coil.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the excitation coil disclosed by Hong in view of the magneto impedance device disclosed by Nagasaki, because Nagasaki teaches to include a magneto impedance device as the magnetic sensor provides high linearity and no hysteresis (Paragraph [0072]), implements a magnetic field sensor device reduced in size and weight as compared with an induction coil (Paragraph [0079]).
Regarding claim 2, Hong fails to teach a magnetic field measurement device, further comprising a third coil that cancels the excitation AC magnetic field applied to the first magnetic sensor.
Nagasaki teaches A magnetic field sensor device 1 includes a sensor section 100 that includes a magneto-impedance device 110 having a magnetic amorphous structure, and rod-shaped core sections 130 and 131 that guide a magnetic field to the magnetic amorphous structure in a longitudinal direction with respect to the magnetic amorphous structure (Abstract), further comprising
a third coil (The sensor section 100 may include environmental magnetic field cancellation means 140 and 141 that generate a correction magnetic field that cancels the environmental magnetic field input to the magnetic amorphous structure of the magneto-impedance device 110. In this embodiment, each of the environmental magnetic field cancellation means 140 and 141 is formed by a coil that is wound around the core section 130 or 131; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-8) that cancels the excitation magnetic field applied to the first magnetic sensor (The magnetic field sensor device 1 may include an adjustment means that controls the environmental magnetic field cancellation means 140 and 141 so that the observational data falls within the desired range; Paragraph [0081] Line 1-4). The purpose of doing so is to measure the magnetic field signal with high accuracy by causing the environmental magnetic field cancellation means to cancel the environmental magnetic field so that the environmental magnetic field level due to terrestrial magnetism corresponds to the center of the detection range, to provide the observational data fall within the desired range.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Hong by introducing a third coil as disclosed by Nagasaki, because Nagasaki teaches to include a third coil measures the magnetic field signal with high accuracy by causing the environmental magnetic field cancellation means to cancel the environmental magnetic field so that the environmental magnetic field level due to terrestrial magnetism corresponds to the center of the detection range (Paragraph [0085]), provides the observational data fall within the desired range (Paragraph [0081]).
Regarding claim 3, Hong teaches a magnetic field measurement device,
further comprising a signal processing circuit [360] that detects a harmonic component included in the secondary detection signal (The spectrum analyzer 360 obtains the pattern of harmonic peaks, which actually is a frequency data obtained by discretizing the magnetization signal, by using the Fourier transform. The spectrum analyzer 360 can analyze the type of the measurement target material by comparing an RMS (Root-Mean-Square) value obtained through the pattern of harmonic peaks or coefficients calculated by converting the pattern of harmonic peaks into a high-order polynomial equation; Paragraph [0047] Line 1-9).
Regarding claim 4, Hong teaches a magnetic field measurement device,
wherein the second coil [340] is arranged outside the first coil [330] (Figure 3 shows the second coil [340] is arranged outside the first coil [330]).
Regarding claim 5, Hong teaches a magnetic field measurement device,
wherein the second magnetic sensor [340+350] is arranged outside the first coil [330] (Figure 3 shows wherein the second magnetic sensor is arranged outside the first coil [330]).
Regarding claim 6, Hong teaches a magnetic field measurement device,
wherein a distance between the first coil [330] and the second magnetic sensor [340+350] is larger than a distance between the first coil and the object to be measured (From Figure 3 it can be seen a distance between the first coil [330] and the second magnetic sensor [340+350] is larger than a distance between the first coil and the object to be measured).
Hong discloses the c1aimed invention except for exact distance between the first coil and the second magnetic sensor is larger than a distance between the first coil and the object to be measure. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a distance between the first coil and the second magnetic sensor is larger than a distance between the first coil and the object to be measured since Applicant has not disclosed that the distance solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the combined disclosure of Hong and Nagasaki.
Regarding claim 7, Hong fails to teach a magnetic field measurement device, wherein the object to be measured is arranged between the first coil and the third coil.
Nagasaki teaches A magnetic field sensor device 1 includes a sensor section 100 that includes a magneto-impedance device 110 having a magnetic amorphous structure, and rod-shaped core sections 130 and 131 that guide a magnetic field to the magnetic amorphous structure in a longitudinal direction with respect to the magnetic amorphous structure (Abstract),
wherein the object [110] (magneto-impedance device as the object) to be measured is arranged between the first coil [111b/11a] and the third coil [111c] (FIG. 5 is a circuit diagram illustrating an example of the driver circuit 120. In the example of FIG. 5, the driver circuit 120 mainly includes a Colpitts oscillation circuit 121 that includes the magneto-impedance device 110. The Colpitts oscillation circuit 121 includes coils 111a, 111b, and 111c (i.e., the measurement coil 111), a transistor 112, a resistor 113, capacitors 114 and 115, and a variable resistor 116; Paragraph [0071] Line 1-8; Figure 5 shows the object [110] (magneto-impedance device as the object) to be measured is arranged between the first coil [111b/11a] and the third coil [111c]). The purpose of doing so is to implement a driver circuit having high linearity and no hysteresis and to guide a magnetic field to the magnetic amorphous structure of the magneto-impedance device
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Hong in view of Nagasaki, because Nagasaki teaches to arrange the object to be measured between the first coil and the third coil implements a driver circuit having high linearity and no hysteresis (Paragraph [0072]) and guides a magnetic field to the magnetic amorphous structure of the magneto-impedance device (Paragraph [0073]).
Regarding claim 8, Hong fails to teach a magnetic field measurement device, wherein the second coil is isolated from the second magnetic sensor.
Nagasaki teaches A magnetic field sensor device 1 includes a sensor section 100 that includes a magneto-impedance device 110 having a magnetic amorphous structure, and rod-shaped core sections 130 and 131 that guide a magnetic field to the magnetic amorphous structure in a longitudinal direction with respect to the magnetic amorphous structure (Abstract),
wherein the second coil is isolated from the second magnetic sensor (The sensor section 100 includes rod-shaped core sections 130 and 131. The core sections 130 and 131 are disposed on either side of the magneto-impedance device 110 having a magnetic amorphous structure in the longitudinal direction. The core sections 130 and 131 guide a magnetic field to the magnetic amorphous structure of the magneto-impedance device 110. The core sections 130 and 131 may be formed of a high-permeability material (e.g., mu-metal or ferrite); Paragraph [0073] Line 1-8; Mu-metal is a magnet ferrite is a magnetic ceramic material, classified as ferrimagnetic as function as a shield therefore isolate the second coil from the magnetic sensor). The purpose of doing so is to increase the sensitivity of the magnetic field sensor by a factor of about 300.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Hong in view of Nagasaki, because Nagasaki teaches to isolate the second coil from the second magnetic sensor increases the sensitivity of the magnetic field sensor by a factor of about 300 (Paragraph [0076]).
Regarding claim 9, Hong fails to teach a magnetic field measurement device, further comprising first and second magnets arranged such that the object to be measured is sandwiched between the first and second magnets.
Nagasaki teaches A magnetic field sensor device 1 includes a sensor section 100 that includes a magneto-impedance device 110 having a magnetic amorphous structure, and rod-shaped core sections 130 and 131 that guide a magnetic field to the magnetic amorphous structure in a longitudinal direction with respect to the magnetic amorphous structure (Abstract),
further comprising first and second magnets [130, 131] in Figure 3 arranged such that the object [110] to be measured is sandwiched between the first and second magnets [130, 131] (The sensor section 100 includes rod-shaped core sections 130 and 131. The core sections 130 and 131 are disposed on either side of the magneto-impedance device 110 having a magnetic amorphous structure in the longitudinal direction. The core sections 130 and 131 guide a magnetic field to the magnetic amorphous structure of the magneto-impedance device 110. The core sections 130 and 131 may be formed of a high-permeability material (e.g., mu-metal or ferrite); Paragraph [0073] Line 1-8; Mu-metal is a magnet ferrite is a magnetic ceramic material, classified as ferrimagnetic). The purpose of doing so is to increase the sensitivity of the magnetic field sensor by a factor of about 300.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Hong in view of Nagasaki, because Nagasaki teaches to arrange first and second magnets such that the object to be measured is sandwiched between the first and second magnets increases the sensitivity of the magnetic field sensor by a factor of about 300 (Paragraph [0076]).
Regarding claim 10, Hong in view of Nagasaki teaches a magnetic field measurement device, further
comprising an amplifier circuit [320] connected between the first magnetic sensor and the second coil [340] (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 11, Hong teaches a magnetic field measurement device,
wherein the amplifier circuit [320] is configured to supply a detection AC current to the second coil based on the first detection signal (With reference to FIG. 3, the apparatus for analyzing materials comprises a generator 310 generating alternating current, a current amplifier 320 amplifying alternating currents generated by the generator 310, an excitation coil 330 receiving amplified alternating currents and generating an electromagnetic field; Paragraph [0044] Line 1-6).
Regarding claim 12, Hong teaches a magnetic field measurement device,
wherein the first detection signal includes a first component originating from the primary detection AC magnetic field and a second component originating from the excitation AC magnetic field that has not been canceled completely (Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Hong below shows the first detection signal includes a first component originating from the primary detection AC magnetic field and a second component originating from the excitation AC magnetic field that has not been canceled completely).
Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Hong
Regarding claim 13, Hong teaches a magnetic field measurement device,
wherein the second detection signal includes a non-sine wave component corresponding to the first component and a sine wave component corresponding to the second component (Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Hong above shows the second detection signal includes a non-sine wave component corresponding to the first component and a sine wave component corresponding to the second component).
Regarding claim 14, Hong teaches a magnetic field measurement device,
further comprising a signal processing circuit [360] (spectrum analyzer 360 as the signal processing circuit) configured to extract a harmonic component of the non-sine wave component (a spectrum analyzer 360 for analyzing the type of the measurement target material based on harmonic patterns obtained from the magnetization signal detected by the detection coil 340; Paragraph [0044] Line 9-13; The spectrum analyzer 360 obtains the pattern of harmonic peaks, which actually is a frequency data obtained by discretizing the magnetization signal, by using the Fourier transform. The spectrum analyzer 360 can analyze the type of the measurement target material by comparing an RMS (Root-Mean-Square) value obtained through the pattern of harmonic peaks or coefficients calculated by converting the pattern of harmonic peaks into a high-order polynomial equation; Paragraph [0047] Line 1-9; Spectrum analyzer analyzes harmonic component which is the non-sine wave component; Sinusoidal Waveforms: A sinusoidal waveform is a smooth, repetitive oscillation that can be described by a sine or cosine function. It has a single frequency. Non-Sinusoidal Waveforms: Many real-world waveforms, like those found in electronic circuits, are not perfect sine waves. These waveforms can be complex, but they can be broken down into a series of sinusoidal components. Harmonics: These sinusoidal components that make up a non-sinusoidal waveform are called harmonics. The frequency of each harmonic is an integer multiple of the fundamental frequency of the original waveform; https://www.google.com/search?q=harmonic+componet+is+sinusoidal+or+non+sinusoidfal&rlz=1C1GCEA_enUS1098US1098&oq=harmonic+componet+is+sinusoidal+or+non+sinusoidfal&gs_lcrp=EgZjaHJvbWUyBggAEEUYOTIJCAEQIRgKGKABMgkIAhAhGAoYoAEyBggDECEYCtIBCTE0NzE3ajBqMagCALACAA&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8).
Regarding claim 15. Hong teaches a magnetic field measurement device (a method and an apparatus for analyzing behavior of a magnetic material inside a magnetic field; Paragraph [0003] Line 2-3; FIG. 3 is a circuit diagram illustrating an apparatus for analyzing materials according to one embodiment of the present invention; Paragraph [0022] Line 1-3) comprising:
a first coil [330] (an excitation coil 330 as the first coil) configured to apply an excitation AC magnetic field to an object to be measured (FIG. 3, the apparatus for analyzing materials comprises a generator 310 generating alternating current, a current amplifier 320 amplifying alternating currents generated by the generator 310, an excitation coil 330 receiving amplified alternating currents and generating an electromagnetic field; Paragraph [0044] Line 1-6) and detects a primary detection AC magnetic field (an excitation coil 330 receiving amplified alternating currents and generating an electromagnetic field; Paragraph [0044] Line 4-6) from the object to be measured to generate a first detection signal (a magnetization signal as the primary detection signal) (a magnetization signal generated from a measurement target material as the electromagnetic field generated by the excitation coil is applied to the measurement target material; Paragraph [0044] Line 6-9);
an amplifier circuit [320] configured to generate a detection AC current based on the first detection signal (With reference to FIG. 3, the apparatus for analyzing materials comprises a generator 310 generating alternating current, a current amplifier 320 amplifying alternating currents generated by the generator 310, an excitation coil 330 receiving amplified alternating currents and generating an electromagnetic field; Paragraph [0044] Line 1-6);
a second coil [340] (a detection coil 340 as the second coil) configured to generate a secondary detection AC magnetic field based on the detection AC current (a detection coil 340 detecting a magnetization signal (as the secondary detection signal) generated from a measurement target material as the electromagnetic field generated by the excitation coil is applied to the measurement target material; Paragraph [0044] Line 6-9); and
a second magnetic sensor [340 in combination with the amplifier 350] (spectrum analyzer as the second magnetic field sensor as it detects and analyze the secondary detection signal) configured to detect the secondary detection AC magnetic field to generate a second detection signal (a spectrum analyzer 360 for analyzing the type of the measurement target material based on harmonic patterns obtained from the magnetization signal detected by the detection coil 340; Paragraph [0044] Line 9-13; The spectrum analyzer 360 obtains the pattern of harmonic peaks, which actually is a frequency data obtained by discretizing the magnetization signal, by using the Fourier transform. The spectrum analyzer 360 can analyze the type of the measurement target material by comparing an RMS (Root-Mean-Square) value obtained through the pattern of harmonic peaks or coefficients calculated by converting the pattern of harmonic peaks into a high-order polynomial equation; Paragraph [0047] Line 1-9).
Hong teaches that the excitation coil as the first coil detect a primary detection AC magnetic field from the object to be measured to generate a first detection signal.
However, Hong does not teach that a first magnetic sensor that detect a primary detection AC magnetic field from the object to be measured to generate a first detection signal.
Nagasaki teaches A magnetic field sensor device 1 includes a sensor section 100 that includes a magneto-impedance device 110 having a magnetic amorphous structure, and rod-shaped core sections 130 and 131 that guide a magnetic field to the magnetic amorphous structure in a longitudinal direction with respect to the magnetic amorphous structure (Abstract), wherein
a first magnetic sensor [110] (magneto impedance device 110 as the first magnetic sensor as it detects the magnetic field) that d detect a primary detection AC magnetic field from the object to be measured to generate a first detection signal (The sensor section 100 includes a magneto-impedance device 110 having a magnetic amorphous structure. The magneto-impedance device 110 detects a magnetic field in the longitudinal direction. In this embodiment, the magneto-impedance device 110 detects a magnetic field in the vertical direction (arrow direction) in FIG. 2. In this embodiment, the length of the magneto-impedance device 110 in the longitudinal direction is about 4 mm; Paragraph [0069] Line 1-8). The purpose of doing so is to provide high linearity and no hysteresis, to implement a magnetic field sensor device reduced in size and weight as compared with an induction coil.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the excitation coil disclosed by Hong in view of the magneto impedance device disclosed by Nagasaki, because Nagasaki teaches to include a magneto impedance device as the magnetic sensor provides high linearity and no hysteresis (Paragraph [0072]), implements a magnetic field sensor device reduced in size and weight as compared with an induction coil (Paragraph [0079]).
Regarding claim 16, Hong teaches a magnetic field measurement device,
wherein the first detection signal includes a first component originating from the primary detection AC magnetic field and a second component originating from the excitation AC magnetic field that has not been canceled completely (Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Hong above shows the first detection signal includes a first component originating from the primary detection AC magnetic field and a second component originating from the excitation AC magnetic field that has not been canceled completely).
Hong fails to teach a magnetic field measurement device, further comprising a third coil configured to cancel the excitation AC magnetic field applied to the first magnetic sensor.
Nagasaki teaches A magnetic field sensor device 1 includes a sensor section 100 that includes a magneto-impedance device 110 having a magnetic amorphous structure, and rod-shaped core sections 130 and 131 that guide a magnetic field to the magnetic amorphous structure in a longitudinal direction with respect to the magnetic amorphous structure (Abstract), further comprising
a third coil (The sensor section 100 may include environmental magnetic field cancellation means 140 and 141 that generate a correction magnetic field that cancels the environmental magnetic field input to the magnetic amorphous structure of the magneto-impedance device 110. In this embodiment, each of the environmental magnetic field cancellation means 140 and 141 is formed by a coil that is wound around the core section 130 or 131; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-8) configured to cancel the excitation AC magnetic field applied to the first magnetic sensor (The magnetic field sensor device 1 may include an adjustment means that controls the environmental magnetic field cancellation means 140 and 141 so that the observational data falls within the desired range; Paragraph [0081] Line 1-4). The purpose of doing so is to measure the magnetic field signal with high accuracy by causing the environmental magnetic field cancellation means to cancel the environmental magnetic field so that the environmental magnetic field level due to terrestrial magnetism corresponds to the center of the detection range, to provide the observational data fall within the desired range.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Hong by introducing a third coil as disclosed by Nagasaki, because Nagasaki teaches to include a third coil measures the magnetic field signal with high accuracy by causing the environmental magnetic field cancellation means to cancel the environmental magnetic field so that the environmental magnetic field level due to terrestrial magnetism corresponds to the center of the detection range (Paragraph [0085]), provides the observational data fall within the desired range (Paragraph [0081]).
Regarding claim 17, Hong teaches a magnetic field measurement device,
wherein the second detection signal includes a non-sine wave component corresponding to the first component and a sine wave component corresponding to the second component (Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Hong above shows the second detection signal includes a non-sine wave component corresponding to the first component and a sine wave component corresponding to the second component).
Regarding claim 18, Hong fails to teach a magnetic field measurement device, further comprising first and second magnets arranged such that the object to be measured is sandwiched between the first and second magnets, wherein the first and second magnets are arranged such that S-poles or N-poles of the first and second magnets face each other so as to substantially null a strength of a gradient DC magnetic field applied to the object to be measured.
Nagasaki teaches A magnetic field sensor device 1 includes a sensor section 100 that includes a magneto-impedance device 110 having a magnetic amorphous structure, and rod-shaped core sections 130 and 131 that guide a magnetic field to the magnetic amorphous structure in a longitudinal direction with respect to the magnetic amorphous structure (Abstract),
further comprising first and second magnets [130, 131] in Figure 3 arranged such that the object [110] to be measured is sandwiched between the first and second magnets [130, 131] (The sensor section 100 includes rod-shaped core sections 130 and 131. The core sections 130 and 131 are disposed on either side of the magneto-impedance device 110 having a magnetic amorphous structure in the longitudinal direction. The core sections 130 and 131 guide a magnetic field to the magnetic amorphous structure of the magneto-impedance device 110. The core sections 130 and 131 may be formed of a high-permeability material (e.g., mu-metal or ferrite); Paragraph [0073] Line 1-8; Mu-metal is a magnet ferrite is a magnetic ceramic material, classified as ferrimagnetic). The purpose of doing so is to increase the sensitivity of the magnetic field sensor by a factor of about 300.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Hong in view of Nagasaki, because Nagasaki teaches to arrange first and second magnets such that the object to be measured is sandwiched between the first and second magnets increases the sensitivity of the magnetic field sensor by a factor of about 300 (Paragraph [0076]).
The combination of Hong and Nagasaki teaches first and second magnets. However, Hong and Nagasaki do not teach that the first and second magnets are arranged such that S-poles or N-poles of the first and second magnets face each other so as to substantially null a strength of a gradient DC magnetic field applied to the object to be measured.
With respect to the intended use of the first and second magnets, it is to be noted that a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647. Additionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function,(In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531) and an “apparatus claim covers what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett- Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528.
"[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) (The preamble of claim 1 recited that the apparatus was "for mixing flowing developer material" and the body of the claim recited "means for mixing ..., said mixing means being stationary and completely submerged in the developer material." The claim was rejected over a reference which taught all the structural limitations of the claim for the intended use of mixing flowing developer. However, the mixer was only partially submerged in the developer material. The Board held that the amount of submersion is immaterial to the structure of the mixer and thus the claim was properly rejected.) Therefore, the limitation is not required by the claim.
Regarding claim 19. Hong teaches a magnetic field measurement device (a method and an apparatus for analyzing behavior of a magnetic material inside a magnetic field; Paragraph [0003] Line 2-3; FIG. 3 is a circuit diagram illustrating an apparatus for analyzing materials according to one embodiment of the present invention; Paragraph [0022] Line 1-3) comprising:
a first coil [330] (an excitation coil 330 as the first coil) configured to apply an excitation AC magnetic field to an object to be measured (FIG. 3, the apparatus for analyzing materials comprises a generator 310 generating alternating current, a current amplifier 320 amplifying alternating currents generated by the generator 310, an excitation coil 330 receiving amplified alternating currents and generating an electromagnetic field; Paragraph [0044] Line 1-6) and detects a primary detection AC magnetic field (an excitation coil 330 receiving amplified alternating currents and generating an electromagnetic field; Paragraph [0044] Line 4-6) from the object to be measured to generate a first detection signal (a magnetization signal as the primary detection signal) (a magnetization signal generated from a measurement target material as the electromagnetic field generated by the excitation coil is applied to the measurement target material; Paragraph [0044] Line 6-9);
an amplifier circuit [320] configured to generate a detection AC current based on the first detection signal (With reference to FIG. 3, the apparatus for analyzing materials comprises a generator 310 generating alternating current, a current amplifier 320 amplifying alternating currents generated by the generator 310, an excitation coil 330 receiving amplified alternating currents and generating an electromagnetic field; Paragraph [0044] Line 1-6);
a second coil [340] (a detection coil 340 as the second coil) configured to generate a secondary detection AC magnetic field based on the detection AC current (a detection coil 340 detecting a magnetization signal (as the secondary detection signal) generated from a measurement target material as the electromagnetic field generated by the excitation coil is applied to the measurement target material; Paragraph [0044] Line 6-9); and
a second magnetic sensor [340 in combination with the amplifier 350] (spectrum analyzer as the second magnetic field sensor as it detects and analyze the secondary detection signal) configured to detect the secondary detection AC magnetic field to generate a second detection signal (a spectrum analyzer 360 for analyzing the type of the measurement target material based on harmonic patterns obtained from the magnetization signal detected by the detection coil 340; Paragraph [0044] Line 9-13; The spectrum analyzer 360 obtains the pattern of harmonic peaks, which actually is a frequency data obtained by discretizing the magnetization signal, by using the Fourier transform. The spectrum analyzer 360 can analyze the type of the measurement target material by comparing an RMS (Root-Mean-Square) value obtained through the pattern of harmonic peaks or coefficients calculated by converting the pattern of harmonic peaks into a high-order polynomial equation; Paragraph [0047] Line 1-9);
a signal processing circuit [360] (spectrum analyzer 360 as the signal processing circuit) configured to detect the second detection signal (a spectrum analyzer 360 for analyzing the type of the measurement target material based on harmonic patterns obtained from the magnetization signal detected by the detection coil 340; Paragraph [0044] Line 9-13; The spectrum analyzer 360 obtains the pattern of harmonic peaks, which actually is a frequency data obtained by discretizing the magnetization signal, by using the Fourier transform. The spectrum analyzer 360 can analyze the type of the measurement target material by comparing an RMS (Root-Mean-Square) value obtained through the pattern of harmonic peaks or coefficients calculated by converting the pattern of harmonic peaks into a high-order polynomial equation; Paragraph [0047] Line 1-9);
wherein a strength of the excitation AC magnetic field has a value making the magnetization change of the magnetic material exhibit nonlinear response (a magnetization signal generated from a measurement target material as the electromagnetic field generated by the excitation coil is applied to the measurement target material; Paragraph [0044] Line 6-9; a magnetization signal as the primary detection signal) (a magnetization signal generated from a measurement target material as the electromagnetic field generated);
wherein the first detection signal includes a first component originating from the primary detection AC magnetic field and a second component originating from the excitation AC magnetic field that has not been canceled completely by the third coil (Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Hong above shows the first detection signal includes a first component originating from the primary detection AC magnetic field and a second component originating from the excitation AC magnetic field that has not been canceled completely);
wherein the second detection signal includes a non-sine wave component corresponding to the first component and a sine wave component corresponding to the second component (Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Hong above shows the second detection signal includes a non-sine wave component corresponding to the first component and a sine wave component corresponding to the second component); and
wherein the signal processing circuit [360] (spectrum analyzer 360 as the signal processing circuit) configured to extract a harmonic component of the non-sine wave component (a spectrum analyzer 360 for analyzing the type of the measurement target material based on harmonic patterns obtained from the magnetization signal detected by the detection coil 340; Paragraph [0044] Line 9-13; The spectrum analyzer 360 obtains the pattern of harmonic peaks, which actually is a frequency data obtained by discretizing the magnetization signal, by using the Fourier transform. The spectrum analyzer 360 can analyze the type of the measurement target material by comparing an RMS (Root-Mean-Square) value obtained through the pattern of harmonic peaks or coefficients calculated by converting the pattern of harmonic peaks into a high-order polynomial equation; Paragraph [0047] Line 1-9; Spectrum analyzer analyzes harmonic component which is the non-sine wave component; Sinusoidal Waveforms: A sinusoidal waveform is a smooth, repetitive oscillation that can be described by a sine or cosine function. It has a single frequency. Non-Sinusoidal Waveforms: Many real-world waveforms, like those found in electronic circuits, are not perfect sine waves. These waveforms can be complex, but they can be broken down into a series of sinusoidal components. Harmonics: These sinusoidal components that make up a non-sinusoidal waveform are called harmonics. The frequency of each harmonic is an integer multiple of the fundamental frequency of the original waveform; https://www.google.com/search?q=harmonic+componet+is+sinusoidal+or+non+sinusoidfal&rlz=1C1GCEA_enUS1098US1098&oq=harmonic+componet+is+sinusoidal+or+non+sinusoidfal&gs_lcrp=EgZjaHJvbWUyBggAEEUYOTIJCAEQIRgKGKABMgkIAhAhGAoYoAEyBggDECEYCtIBCTE0NzE3ajBqMagCALACAA&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8).
Hong teaches that the excitation coil as the first coil detect a primary detection AC magnetic field from the object to be measured to generate a first detection signal.
However, Hong does not teach that a first magnetic sensor that detect a primary detection AC magnetic field from the object to be measured to generate a first detection signal; a third coil configured to cancel the excitation AC magnetic field applied to the first magnetic sensor.
Nagasaki teaches A magnetic field sensor device 1 includes a sensor section 100 that includes a magneto-impedance device 110 having a magnetic amorphous structure, and rod-shaped core sections 130 and 131 that guide a magnetic field to the magnetic amorphous structure in a longitudinal direction with respect to the magnetic amorphous structure (Abstract), wherein
a first magnetic sensor [110] (magneto impedance device 110 as the first magnetic sensor as it detects the magnetic field) that d detect a primary detection AC magnetic field from the object to be measured to generate a first detection signal (The sensor section 100 includes a magneto-impedance device 110 having a magnetic amorphous structure. The magneto-impedance device 110 detects a magnetic field in the longitudinal direction. In this embodiment, the magneto-impedance device 110 detects a magnetic field in the vertical direction (arrow direction) in FIG. 2. In this embodiment, the length of the magneto-impedance device 110 in the longitudinal direction is about 4 mm; Paragraph [0069] Line 1-8);
a third coil (The sensor section 100 may include environmental magnetic field cancellation means 140 and 141 that generate a correction magnetic field that cancels the environmental magnetic field input to the magnetic amorphous structure of the magneto-impedance device 110. In this embodiment, each of the environmental magnetic field cancellation means 140 and 141 is formed by a coil that is wound around the core section 130 or 131; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-8) configured to cancel the excitation AC magnetic field applied to the first magnetic sensor (The magnetic field sensor device 1 may include an adjustment means that controls the environmental magnetic field cancellation means 140 and 141 so that the observational data falls within the desired range; Paragraph [0081] Line 1-4). The purpose of doing so is to provide high linearity and no hysteresis, to implement a magnetic field sensor device reduced in size and weight as compared with an induction coil, to measure the magnetic field signal with high accuracy by causing the environmental magnetic field cancellation means to cancel the environmental magnetic field so that the environmental magnetic field level due to terrestrial magnetism corresponds to the center of the detection range, to provide the observational data fall within the desired range.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the excitation coil disclosed by Hong in view of the magneto impedance device disclosed by Nagasaki, because Nagasaki teaches to include a magneto impedance device as the magnetic sensor and to introducing a third coil measures the magnetic field signal with high accuracy by causing the environmental magnetic field cancellation means to cancel the environmental magnetic field so that the environmental magnetic field level due to terrestrial magnetism corresponds to the center of the detection range (Paragraph [0085]), provides the observational data fall within the desired range (Paragraph [0081]), provides high linearity and no hysteresis (Paragraph [0072]), implements a magnetic field sensor device reduced in size and weight as compared with an induction coil (Paragraph [0079]).
Regarding claim 20, Hong fails to teach a magnetic field measurement device, further comprising first and second magnets arranged such that the object to be measured is sandwiched between the first and second magnets, wherein the first and second magnets are arranged such that S-poles or N-poles of the first and second magnets face each other so as to substantially null a strength of a gradient DC magnetic field applied to the object to be measured.
Nagasaki teaches A magnetic field sensor device 1 includes a sensor section 100 that includes a magneto-impedance device 110 having a magnetic amorphous structure, and rod-shaped core sections 130 and 131 that guide a magnetic field to the magnetic amorphous structure in a longitudinal direction with respect to the magnetic amorphous structure (Abstract),
further comprising first and second magnets [130, 131] in Figure 3 arranged such that the object [110] to be measured is sandwiched between the first and second magnets [130, 131] (The sensor section 100 includes rod-shaped core sections 130 and 131. The core sections 130 and 131 are disposed on either side of the magneto-impedance device 110 having a magnetic amorphous structure in the longitudinal direction. The core sections 130 and 131 guide a magnetic field to the magnetic amorphous structure of the magneto-impedance device 110. The core sections 130 and 131 may be formed of a high-permeability material (e.g., mu-metal or ferrite); Paragraph [0073] Line 1-8; Mu-metal is a magnet ferrite is a magnetic ceramic material, classified as ferrimagnetic). The purpose of doing so is to increase the sensitivity of the magnetic field sensor by a factor of about 300.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Hong in view of Nagasaki, because Nagasaki teaches to arrange first and second magnets such that the object to be measured is sandwiched between the first and second magnets increases the sensitivity of the magnetic field sensor by a factor of about 300 (Paragraph [0076]).
The combination of Hong and Nagasaki teaches first and second magnets. However, Hong and Nagasaki do not teach that the first and second magnets are arranged such that S-poles or N-poles of the first and second magnets face each other so as to substantially null a strength of a gradient DC magnetic field applied to the object to be measured.
With respect to the intended use of the first and second magnets, it is to be noted that a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647. Additionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function,(In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531) and an “apparatus claim covers what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett- Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528.
"[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) (The preamble of claim 1 recited that the apparatus was "for mixing flowing developer material" and the body of the claim recited "means for mixing ..., said mixing means being stationary and completely submerged in the developer material." The claim was rejected over a reference which taught all the structural limitations of the claim for the intended use of mixing flowing developer. However, the mixer was only partially submerged in the developer material. The Board held that the amount of submersion is immaterial to the structure of the mixer and thus the claim was properly rejected.) Therefore, the limitation is not required by the claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
KASAJIMA et al. (US 20150115938 A1) discloses, “MAGNETIC FIELD DETECTION DEVICE-[0001] The present invention relates to a magnetic field detection device which can detect a minimal magnetic field and the like. [0047] FIG. 2 is a brief drawing of the magnetic field detection device 2 of the present embodiment 2. The magnetic field detection device 2 include the first magnetic field generating conductor 111 which is contained in the first magnetic field generating part 110, the first magnetic field detection element 10, the first differential operation circuit 211 which is contained in the first differential operation part 210, the first resistance 510, the second magnetic field generating conductor 121 which is contained in the second magnetic field generating part 120, the third magnetic field generating conductor 122, the second magnetic field detection element 20, the fourth differential operation circuit 221 included in the second differential operation part 220, the second resistance 520, and the detection resistance 540. Here, the first magnetic field detection part 410 consists of the first magnetic field detection element 10, the first differential operation part 210 and the first resistance 510, and the second magnetic field detection part 420 consists of the second magnetic field detection element 20, the second differential operation part 220, the second resistance 520, and the detection resistance 540. The connection relation is shown as follows. [0048] One end of the first magnetic field generating conductor 111 contained in the first magnetic field generating part 110 is connected with the output end of the first differential operation circuit 211 included in the first differential operation part 210. One input end of a pair of input ends of the first differential operation circuit 211 is connected with the other end of the first magnetic field detection element 10, one end of which is connected to the first potential (Vc). The other input end of a pair input ends of the first differential operation circuit 211 is connected with the third potential (Gnd). The other end of the first magnetic field detection element 10 is connected with the other end of the first resistance 510, one end of which is connected to the second potential (-Vc). The other end of the first magnetic field generating conductor 111 is connected with one end of the second magnetic field generating conductor 121 included in the second magnetic field generating part 120. The other end of the second magnetic field generating conductor 121 is connected to the third potential (Gnd). The other end of the second magnetic field detection element 20, one end of which is connected to the first potential (Vc), is connected with one input end of a pair of input ends of the fourth differential operation circuit 221 included in the second differential operation part 220. The other input end of a pair input ends of the fourth differential operation circuit 221 is connected to the third potential (Gnd). One end of the second resistance 520 is connected to the second potential (-Vc) and the other end is connected to the other end of the second magnetic field detection element 20. The output end of the fourth differential operation circuit 221 is connected to one end of the detection resistance 540. The other end of the detection resistance 540 is connected to one end of the third magnetic field generating conductor 122. The other end of the third magnetic field generating conductor 122 is connected to the third potential (Gnd). Here, the other end of the first magnetic field detection element 10 outputs the first output, and the other end of the second magnetic field detection element 20 outputs the second output-However KASAJIMA does not disclose a second magnetic sensor that detects the secondary detection AC magnetic field to generate a second detection signal including a non-sine wave component.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858