DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having application No 18/566,593 filed on 04/14/2026 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 16, 20, 24 and 28 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (U.S 20230276458, Aug. 31, 2023) in view of Kim et al. (US 20200351638, Nov. 5, 2020).
1-15. (Canceled).
Regarding Claim 16, LEE discloses a method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a base station, first configuration information for configuring a first bandwidth part (BWP) for an active uplink (UL) BWP, second configuration information for configuring a second BWP for an active downlink (DL) BWP, and information on a change of an association between the active UL BWP and the active DL BWP(page 6, par (0131), line 1-10, the UE request SI messages by triggering a RACH in an initial UL BWP(active uplink BWP), the requested SI messages indicated by a RACH preamble requested by an RRC message included in RACH MSG3 or MSGA, the UE receive the other SI messages over a PDSCH indicated by DCI received on a PDCCH occasion in an initial DL BWP(active downlink BWP), when the UE is in the (RRC) connected state, the UE request a specific SIB by transmitting a specific RRC message in an active UL BWP); and identifying based on the first configuration and the second configuration, that the first BWP for the active UL BWP is different from the second BWP for the active DL BWP, performing a UL transmission on the first BWP and a DL reception on the second BWP, respectively, based on the information on the change of the association between the active UL BWP and the active DL BWP(page 7, par (0145-0146), line 1-10, the first DL BWP, second DL BWP, and third DL BWP belong to the same cell or different cells, a serving cell for the UE of the first DL BWP, second DL BWP and third DL BWP be the same BWP, When DCI includes a PUCCH resource indicator indicating a PUCCH resource, the UE may transmit HARQ feedback in the active UL BWP to the BS on the decoding state of a TB for PDSCH transmission).
LEE discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except wherein the UL transmission corresponding to the DL reception on the first BWP is based on a predetermined BWP change time associated with the change of the association between the active UL BWP and the active DL BWP.
Kim is the same field of invention teaches wherein the UL transmission corresponding to the DL reception on the first BWP is based on a predetermined BWP change time associated with the change of the association between the active UL BWP and the active DL BWP (page 9, par(0139-0140, line 1-20, Max number of active BWP DL/UL NR (adjust the maximum number of BWPs for DL/UL for NR more than one active DL/UL BWPs supported, limiting the number of BWPs reduce UE power consumption and prevent overheating. E.g., when there is support for more than one (more than a single) active BWP, the UE indicate the maximum number of active BWPs the UE would preferably use, Preferred BWP change timer value NR (adjust the BWP change time value (predetermined BWP change time) for the UE for NR))-upon expiration of the BWP timer, the UE is expected to change its active BWP to a default BWP).
LEE and Kim are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based on the UL transmission corresponding to the DL reception on the first BWP is based on a predetermined BWP change time associated with the change of the association between the active UL BWP and the active DL BWP the teaching of LEE to include the Preferred BWP change timer value NR (adjust the BWP change time value (predetermined BWP change time) for the UE for NR))-upon expiration of the BWP timer, the UE is expected to change its active BWP to a default
BWP teaching of Kim because it is providing converged voice and data on an LTE network.
Regarding Claim 20, LEE discloses a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: transmitting, to a terminal, first configuration information for configuring a first bandwidth part (BWP) for an active uplink (UL) BWP, second configuration information for configuring a second BWP for an active downlink (DL) BWP, and information on a change of an association between the active UL BWP and the active DL BWP(page 6, par (0131), line 1-10, the UE request SI messages by triggering a RACH in an initial UL BWP(active uplink BWP), the requested SI messages indicated by a RACH preamble requested by an RRC message included in RACH MSG3 or MSGA, the UE receive the other SI messages over a PDSCH indicated by DCI received on a PDCCH occasion in an initial DL BWP(active downlink BWP), when the UE is in the (RRC) connected state, the UE request a specific SIB by transmitting a specific RRC message in an active UL BWP);
and performing UL reception from the terminal and DL transmission to the terminal based on whether the first BWP for the active UL BWP is same with the second BWP for the active DL BWP, performing, wherein in case that the first BWP is different from the second BWP, a UL reception is performed on the first BWP and a [[the]] DL transmission is performed on the second BWP, respectively separately, based on the [[a]] information on the change of [[an]] the association between the UL active active UL BWP and the DL active active DL BWP(page 7, par (0145-0146), line 1-10, the first DL BWP, second DL BWP, and third DL BWP belong to the same cell or different cells, a serving cell for the UE of the first DL BWP, second DL BWP and third DL BWP be the same BWP, When DCI includes a PUCCH resource indicator indicating a PUCCH resource, the UE may transmit HARQ feedback in the active UL BWP to the BS on the decoding state of a TB for PDSCH transmission).
LEE discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except wherein the UL transmission corresponding to the DL reception on the first BWP is based on a predetermined BWP change time associated with the change of the association between the active UL BWP and the active DL BWP.
Kim is the same field of invention teaches wherein the UL transmission corresponding to the DL reception on the first BWP is based on a predetermined BWP change time associated with the change of the association between the active UL BWP and the active DL BWP (page 9, par(0139-0140, line 1-20, Max number of active BWP DL/UL NR (adjust the maximum number of BWPs for DL/UL for NR more than one active DL/UL BWPs supported, limiting the number of BWPs reduce UE power consumption and prevent overheating. E.g., when there is support for more than one (more than a single) active BWP, the UE indicate the maximum number of active BWPs the UE would preferably use, Preferred BWP change timer value NR (adjust the BWP change time value (predetermined BWP change time) for the UE for NR))-upon expiration of the BWP timer, the UE is expected to change its active BWP to a default BWP).
LEE and Kim are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based on the UL transmission corresponding to the DL reception on the first BWP is based on a predetermined BWP change time associated with the change of the association between the active UL BWP and the active DL BWP the teaching of LEE to include the Preferred BWP change timer value NR (adjust the BWP change time value (predetermined BWP change time) for the UE for NR))-upon expiration of the BWP timer, the UE is expected to change its active BWP to a default
BWP teaching of Kim because it is providing converged voice and data on an LTE network.
Regarding Claim 24, LEE discloses a terminal in a wireless communication system, the terminal comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled with the transceiver and configured to receive, from a base station, first configuration information for configuring a first bandwidth part (BWP) for an active uplink (UL) BWP, second configuration information for configuring a second BWP for an active downlink (DL) BWP, and information on a change of an association between the active UL BWP and the active DL BWP(page 6, par (0131), line 1-10, the UE request SI messages by triggering a RACH in an initial UL BWP(active uplink BWP), the requested SI messages indicated by a RACH preamble requested by an RRC message included in RACH MSG3 or MSGA, the UE receive the other SI messages over a PDSCH indicated by DCI received on a PDCCH occasion in an initial DL BWP(active downlink BWP), when the UE is in the (RRC) connected state, the UE request a specific SIB by transmitting a specific RRC message in an active UL BWP);
and identify, based on the first configuration and the second configuration, perform UL transmission to the base station and DL reception from the base station based on whether that the first BWP for the active UL BWP is same with different from the second BWP for the active DL BWP, perform wherein in case that the first BWP is different from the second BWP, a UL transmission is performed on the first BWP and a [[the]] DL reception is performed on the second BWP, respectively, separately based on the [[a]] information on the change of [[an]] the association between the UL active UL BWP and the DL active DL BWP(page 7, par (0145-0146), line 1-10, the first DL BWP, second DL BWP, and third DL BWP belong to the same cell or different cells, a serving cell for the UE of the first DL BWP, second DL BWP and third DL BWP be the same BWP, When DCI includes a PUCCH resource indicator indicating a PUCCH resource, the UE may transmit HARQ feedback in the active UL BWP to the BS on the decoding state of a TB for PDSCH transmission).
LEE discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except wherein the UL transmission corresponding to the DL reception on the first BWP is based on a predetermined BWP change time associated with the change of the association between the active UL BWP and the active DL BWP.
Kim is the same field of invention teaches wherein the UL transmission corresponding to the DL reception on the first BWP is based on a predetermined BWP change time associated with the change of the association between the active UL BWP and the active DL BWP (page 9, par(0139-0140, line 1-20, Max number of active BWP DL/UL NR (adjust the maximum number of BWPs for DL/UL for NR more than one active DL/UL BWPs supported, limiting the number of BWPs reduce UE power consumption and prevent overheating. E.g., when there is support for more than one (more than a single) active BWP, the UE indicate the maximum number of active BWPs the UE would preferably use, Preferred BWP change timer value NR (adjust the BWP change time value (predetermined BWP change time) for the UE for NR))-upon expiration of the BWP timer, the UE is expected to change its active BWP to a default BWP).
LEE and Kim are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based on the UL transmission corresponding to the DL reception on the first BWP is based on a predetermined BWP change time associated with the change of the association between the active UL BWP and the active DL BWP the teaching of LEE to include the Preferred BWP change timer value NR (adjust the BWP change time value (predetermined BWP change time) for the UE for NR))-upon expiration of the BWP timer, the UE is expected to change its active BWP to a default
BWP teaching of Kim because it is providing converged voice and data on an LTE network.
Regarding Claim 28, LEE discloses a base station in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled with the transceiver and configured to: transmit, to a terminal, first configuration information for configuring a first bandwidth part (BWP) for an active uplink (UL) BWP, second configuration information for configuring a second BWP for an active downlink (DL) BWP, and information on a change of an association between the active UL BWP and the active DL BWP(page 6, par (0131), line 1-10, the UE request SI messages by triggering a RACH in an initial UL BWP(active uplink BWP), the requested SI messages indicated by a RACH preamble requested by an RRC message included in RACH MSG3 or MSGA, the UE receive the other SI messages over a PDSCH indicated by DCI received on a PDCCH occasion in an initial DL BWP(active downlink BWP), when the UE is in the (RRC) connected state, the UE request a specific SIB by transmitting a specific RRC message in an active UL BWP);
and perform UL reception from the terminal and DL transmission to the terminal based on whether the first BWP for the active UL BWP is same with the second BWP for the active DL BWP, perform, wherein in case that the first BWP is different from the second BWP, a UL reception is performed on the first BWP and a DL transmission is performed on the second BWP, respectively separately, based on the information on the change of the association between the UL active UL BWP and the DL active DL BWP(page 7, par (0145-0146), line 1-10, the first DL BWP, second DL BWP, and third DL BWP belong to the same cell or different cells, a serving cell for the UE of the first DL BWP, second DL BWP and third DL BWP be the same BWP, When DCI includes a PUCCH resource indicator indicating a PUCCH resource, the UE may transmit HARQ feedback in the active UL BWP to the BS on the decoding state of a TB for PDSCH transmission).
LEE discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except wherein the UL transmission corresponding to the DL reception on the first BWP is based on a predetermined BWP change time associated with the change of the association between the active UL BWP and the active DL BWP.
Kim is the same field of invention teaches wherein the UL transmission corresponding to the DL reception on the first BWP is based on a predetermined BWP change time associated with the change of the association between the active UL BWP and the active DL BWP (page 9, par(0139-0140, line 1-20, Max number of active BWP DL/UL NR (adjust the maximum number of BWPs for DL/UL for NR more than one active DL/UL BWPs supported, limiting the number of BWPs reduce UE power consumption and prevent overheating. E.g., when there is support for more than one (more than a single) active BWP, the UE indicate the maximum number of active BWPs the UE would preferably use, Preferred BWP change timer value NR (adjust the BWP change time value (predetermined BWP change time) for the UE for NR))-upon expiration of the BWP timer, the UE is expected to change its active BWP to a default BWP).
LEE and Kim are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based on the UL transmission corresponding to the DL reception on the first BWP is based on a predetermined BWP change time associated with the change of the association between the active UL BWP and the active DL BWP the teaching of LEE to include the Preferred BWP change timer value NR (adjust the BWP change time value (predetermined BWP change time) for the UE for NR))-upon expiration of the BWP timer, the UE is expected to change its active BWP to a default
BWP teaching of Kim because it is providing converged voice and data on an LTE network.
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 16-31 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. However, the new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of over LEE et al. (U.S 20230276458, Aug. 31, 2023) in view of Kim et al. (US 20200351638, Nov. 5, 2020).
Examiner Notice
Claim 16 would be allowable if (i) claims 17 or 18 or 19 are incorporated into the independent claim 16.
Claim 20 would be allowable if (i) claims 21 or 22 or 23 are incorporated into the independent claim 20.
Claim 24 would be allowable if (i) claims 25 or 26 or 27 are incorporated into the independent claim 24.
Claim 28 would be allowable if (i) claims 29 or 30 or 31 are incorporated into the independent claim 28.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IQBAL ZAIDI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464