DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having application No 18/566,593 filed on 12/01/2023 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Examiner Notice
Claim 16 would be allowable if (i) claim 17 is incorporated into the independent claim 16.
Claim 20 would be allowable if (i) claim 21 is incorporated into the independent claim 20.
Claim 24 would be allowable if (i) claim 25 is incorporated into the independent claim 24.
Claim 28 would be allowable if (i) claim 29 is incorporated into the independent claim 28.
The claim 16, 20, 24 and 28, have the limitation “whether the first BWP for the active UL BWP” and “in case that the first BWP”, please clarify the conditional language features from the limitations of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 16, 20, 24 and 28 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (U.S 20230276458, Aug. 31, 2023) in view of Abotable et al. (US 20210385793, Dec. 9, 2021).
1-15. (Canceled)
Regarding Claim 16, YIU discloses a method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system, the method comprising receiving, from a base station, first configuration information for configuring a first bandwidth part (BWP) for an active uplink (UL) BWP and second configuration information for configuring a second BWP for an active downlink (DL) BWP (page 6, par (0131), line 1-10, the UE request SI messages by triggering a RACH in an initial UL BWP(active uplink BWP), the requested SI messages indicated by a RACH preamble requested by an RRC message included in RACH MSG3 or MSGA, the UE receive the other SI messages over a PDSCH indicated by DCI received on a PDCCH occasion in an initial DL BWP(active downlink BWP), when the UE is in the (RRC) connected state, the UE request a specific SIB by transmitting a specific RRC message in an active UL BWP);
and performing UL transmission to the base station and DL reception from the base station based on whether the first BWP for the active UL BWP is same with the second BWP for the active DL BWP(page 7, par (0145-0146), line 1-10, the first DL BWP, second DL BWP, and third DL BWP belong to the same cell or different cells, a serving cell for the UE of the first DL BWP, second DL BWP and third DL BWP be the same BWP, When DCI includes a PUCCH resource indicator
indicating a PUCCH resource, the UE may transmit HARQ feedback in the active UL BWP to the BS on the decoding state of a TB for PDSCH transmission).
LEE discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except wherein in case that the first BWP is different from the second BWP, the UL transmission is performed on the first BWP and the DL reception is performed on the second BWP, separately based on a change of an association between the UL active BWP and the DL active BWP.
Abotabl is the same field of invention teaches wherein in case that the first BWP is different from the second BWP, the UL transmission is performed on the first BWP and the DL reception is performed on the second BWP, separately based on a change of an association between the UL active BWP and the DL active BWP(page 13, par (0129-0130), line 1-20, the UE receives grouping information for each group of a multitude of groups of UEs defined by a base station, the UE receives a reference signal from the base station, the UE determines a power level or quality of the received reference signal, the UE selects one of the groups of UEs, the grouping information identify a unique DL BWP allocated to each group of the plurality of groups of UEs for DL transmissions, the grouping information indicate a first transmit power level for DL transmissions to UEs(first DL BWP) belonging to a first group of UEs, and indicate a second transmit power level, different than the first transmit power level, for DL transmissions to UEs(different from the second BWP) belonging to a second group of UEs).
LEE and Abotabl are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based on the UL transmission is performed on the first BWP and the DL reception is performed on the second BWP the teaching of LEE to include the the UE receives grouping information for each group of a multitude of groups of UEs defined by a base station teaching of Abotabl because it is providing demultiplexing between transport and logical channels, packet reassembly, deciphering, header decompression, and control signal processing to recover IP packets from the EPC.
Regarding Claim 20, YIU discloses a method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system, the method comprising receiving, from a base station, first configuration information for configuring a first bandwidth part (BWP) for an active uplink (UL) BWP and second configuration information for configuring a second BWP for an active downlink (DL) BWP (page 6, par (0131), line 1-10, the UE request SI messages by triggering a RACH in an initial UL BWP(active uplink BWP), the requested SI messages indicated by a RACH preamble requested by an RRC message included in RACH MSG3 or MSGA, the UE receive the other SI messages over a PDSCH indicated by DCI received on a PDCCH occasion in an initial DL BWP(active downlink BWP), when the UE is in the (RRC) connected state, the UE request a specific SIB by transmitting a specific RRC message in an active UL BWP);
and performing UL transmission to the base station and DL reception from the base station based on whether the first BWP for the active UL BWP is same with the second BWP for the active DL BWP(page 7, par (0145-0146), line 1-10, the first DL BWP, second DL BWP, and third DL BWP belong to the same cell or different cells, a serving cell for the UE of the first DL BWP, second DL BWP and third DL BWP be the same BWP, When DCI includes a PUCCH resource indicator
indicating a PUCCH resource, the UE may transmit HARQ feedback in the active UL BWP to the BS on the decoding state of a TB for PDSCH transmission).
LEE discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except wherein in case that the first BWP is different from the second BWP, the UL transmission is performed on the first BWP and the DL reception is performed on the second BWP, separately based on a change of an association between the UL active BWP and the DL active BWP.
Abotabl is the same field of invention teaches wherein in case that the first BWP is different from the second BWP, the UL transmission is performed on the first BWP and the DL reception is performed on the second BWP, separately based on a change of an association between the UL active BWP and the DL active BWP(page 13, par (0129-0130), line 1-20, the UE receives grouping information for each group of a multitude of groups of UEs defined by a base station, the UE receives a reference signal from the base station, the UE determines a power level or quality of the received reference signal, the UE selects one of the groups of UEs, the grouping information identify a unique DL BWP allocated to each group of the plurality of groups of UEs for DL transmissions, the grouping information indicate a first transmit power level for DL transmissions to UEs(first DL BWP) belonging to a first group of UEs, and indicate a second transmit power level, different than the first transmit power level, for DL transmissions to UEs(different from the second BWP) belonging to a second group of UEs).
LEE and Abotabl are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based on the UL transmission is performed on the first BWP and the DL reception is performed on the second BWP the teaching of LEE to include the the UE receives grouping information for each group of a multitude of groups of UEs defined by a base station teaching of Abotabl because it is providing demultiplexing between transport and logical channels, packet reassembly, deciphering, header decompression, and control signal processing to recover IP packets from the EPC.
Regarding Claim 24, YIU discloses a method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system, the method comprising receiving, from a base station, first configuration information for configuring a first bandwidth part (BWP) for an active uplink (UL) BWP and second configuration information for configuring a second BWP for an active downlink (DL) BWP (page 6, par (0131), line 1-10, the UE request SI messages by triggering a RACH in an initial UL BWP(active uplink BWP), the requested SI messages indicated by a RACH preamble requested by an RRC message included in RACH MSG3 or MSGA, the UE receive the other SI messages over a PDSCH indicated by DCI received on a PDCCH occasion in an initial DL BWP(active downlink BWP), when the UE is in the (RRC) connected state, the UE request a specific SIB by transmitting a specific RRC message in an active UL BWP);
and performing UL transmission to the base station and DL reception from the base station based on whether the first BWP for the active UL BWP is same with the second BWP for the active DL BWP(page 7, par (0145-0146), line 1-10, the first DL BWP, second DL BWP, and third DL BWP belong to the same cell or different cells, a serving cell for the UE of the first DL BWP, second DL BWP and third DL BWP be the same BWP, When DCI includes a PUCCH resource indicator
indicating a PUCCH resource, the UE may transmit HARQ feedback in the active UL BWP to the BS on the decoding state of a TB for PDSCH transmission).
LEE discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except wherein in case that the first BWP is different from the second BWP, the UL transmission is performed on the first BWP and the DL reception is performed on the second BWP, separately based on a change of an association between the UL active BWP and the DL active BWP.
Abotabl is the same field of invention teaches wherein in case that the first BWP is different from the second BWP, the UL transmission is performed on the first BWP and the DL reception is performed on the second BWP, separately based on a change of an association between the UL active BWP and the DL active BWP(page 13, par (0129-0130), line 1-20, the UE receives grouping information for each group of a multitude of groups of UEs defined by a base station, the UE receives a reference signal from the base station, the UE determines a power level or quality of the received reference signal, the UE selects one of the groups of UEs, the grouping information identify a unique DL BWP allocated to each group of the plurality of groups of UEs for DL transmissions, the grouping information indicate a first transmit power level for DL transmissions to UEs(first DL BWP) belonging to a first group of UEs, and indicate a second transmit power level, different than the first transmit power level, for DL transmissions to UEs(different from the second BWP) belonging to a second group of UEs).
LEE and Abotabl are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based on the UL transmission is performed on the first BWP and the DL reception is performed on the second BWP the teaching of LEE to include the the UE receives grouping information for each group of a multitude of groups of UEs defined by a base station teaching of Abotabl because it is providing demultiplexing between transport and logical channels, packet reassembly, deciphering, header decompression, and control signal processing to recover IP packets from the EPC.
Regarding Claim 28, YIU discloses a method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system, the method comprising receiving, from a base station, first configuration information for configuring a first bandwidth part (BWP) for an active uplink (UL) BWP and second configuration information for configuring a second BWP for an active downlink (DL) BWP (page 6, par (0131), line 1-10, the UE request SI messages by triggering a RACH in an initial UL BWP(active uplink BWP), the requested SI messages indicated by a RACH preamble requested by an RRC message included in RACH MSG3 or MSGA, the UE receive the other SI messages over a PDSCH indicated by DCI received on a PDCCH occasion in an initial DL BWP(active downlink BWP), when the UE is in the (RRC) connected state, the UE request a specific SIB by transmitting a specific RRC message in an active UL BWP);
and performing UL transmission to the base station and DL reception from the base station based on whether the first BWP for the active UL BWP is same with the second BWP for the active DL BWP(page 7, par (0145-0146), line 1-10, the first DL BWP, second DL BWP, and third DL BWP belong to the same cell or different cells, a serving cell for the UE of the first DL BWP, second DL BWP and third DL BWP be the same BWP, When DCI includes a PUCCH resource indicator
indicating a PUCCH resource, the UE may transmit HARQ feedback in the active UL BWP to the BS on the decoding state of a TB for PDSCH transmission).
LEE discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except wherein in case that the first BWP is different from the second BWP, the UL transmission is performed on the first BWP and the DL reception is performed on the second BWP, separately based on a change of an association between the UL active BWP and the DL active BWP.
Abotabl is the same field of invention teaches wherein in case that the first BWP is different from the second BWP, the UL transmission is performed on the first BWP and the DL reception is performed on the second BWP, separately based on a change of an association between the UL active BWP and the DL active BWP(page 13, par (0129-0130), line 1-20, the UE receives grouping information for each group of a multitude of groups of UEs defined by a base station, the UE receives a reference signal from the base station, the UE determines a power level or quality of the received reference signal, the UE selects one of the groups of UEs, the grouping information identify a unique DL BWP allocated to each group of the plurality of groups of UEs for DL transmissions, the grouping information indicate a first transmit power level for DL transmissions to UEs(first DL BWP) belonging to a first group of UEs, and indicate a second transmit power level, different than the first transmit power level, for DL transmissions to UEs(different from the second BWP) belonging to a second group of UEs).
LEE and Abotabl are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based on the UL transmission is performed on the first BWP and the DL reception is performed on the second BWP the teaching of LEE to include the the UE receives grouping information for each group of a multitude of groups of UEs defined by a base station teaching of Abotabl because it is providing demultiplexing between transport and logical channels, packet reassembly, deciphering, header decompression, and control signal processing to recover IP packets from the EPC.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are:
SHIH et al. (US 20220022276) teaches METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR SELECTING BANDWIDTH PART (BWP) FOR SUBSEQUENT TRANSMISSION IN PRE-CONFIGURED RESOURCES BASED SMALL DATA TRANSMISSION (SDT) IN A WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM.
/IQBAL ZAIDI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464