DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 7/3/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the amended claimed invention makes a contribution over the art and thus has a special technical feature that defines a contribution over the art. This is not found persuasive because the claim rejections below demonstrate that the special technical features shared between groups do not make a contribution over the art.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 5-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a(1) as being anticipated by Jeon et al. (US 2020/0156062 From IDS).
Regarding claim 1 Jeon discloses a device, comprising:a substrate having a top surface and a bottom surface opposite to the top surface; a first microfluidic channel defined on the substrate; a second microfluidic channel, distinct from the first microfluidic channel, defined on the substrate and in contact with, and substantially parallel to, the first microfluidic channel; (See Jeon Abstract and Figs. 1-2 wherein a substrate 31/320 has opposite top and bottom surfaces and a first microfluidic channel 222 and second microfluidic channel are provided on the substrate in parallel relation.)
a first beam having a bottom surface and side surfaces, the first beam being spaced apart from the top surface of the substrate to define at least the first microfluidic channel; a second beam defining the second microfluidic channel, wherein the second beam has a side surface that defines at least a portion of a side wall of a reservoir. (See Jeon Figs. 1-2 wherein first beam above channel 222 and second beam above channel 221a are spaced apart from the substrate to define the respective channels. The second beam has a side portion defining a side wall of a reservoir 510.)
Regarding claim 3 Jeon discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above as well as the device wherein the first beam defines a through-hole extending between the top surface and the bottom surface of the first beam for receiving a first solution.(See Jeon Fig. 1 wherein the first beam forming channel 220 has through holes 231 extending therethrough for receiving a first solution.)
Regarding claim 5 Jeon discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above as well as the device wherein the second beam has a top surface and a bottom surface opposite to the top surface, at least a portion of the second beam being spaced apart from the substrate to define the second microfluidic channel between the bottom surface of the second beam and the top surface of the substrate; and the second beam is adjacent to the first beam. (See Jeon Figs. 1-2 wherein the second beam has top and bottom surfaces and wherein it is spaced from the substrate to form channel 221a between the substrate and bottom surface. The second beam is adjacent to the first.)
Regarding claim 6 Jeon discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above as well as the device wherein the second beam has a side surface, the second beam being spaced apart from the first beam to define the second microfluidic channel between a first side surface of the first beam and the side surface of the second beam. (See Jeon wherein the second beam is spaced from the first beam to define second microfluidic channel 221a and has a side surface adjacent reservoir 510 and a first side surface of the first beam to define the width of the beam.)
Regarding claim 7 Jeon discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above as well as the device wherein the second beam is in contact with the substrate. (See Jeon Figs. 1-2 wherein the second beam is in fluidic contact with the substrate.)
Regarding claim 8 Jeon discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above as well as the device wherein the second beam is included in a first side structure with a through-hole for receiving a second solution. (See Jeon Fig. 1 wherein the third beam is included in a side structure with a through hole 510 for receiving a second solution.)
Regarding claim 9 Jeon discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above as well as the device wherein the first beam and the second beam are integrally formed. (See Jeon Fig. 1 wherein the first beam forming channel 222 and second beam forming channel 221a are an integral element.)
Regarding claim 10 Jeon discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above as well as the device further comprising:a third microfluidic channel in contact with and substantially parallel to the first microfluidic channel. (See Jeon Fig. 1 wherien a third microfluidc channel 221b is in contact and parallel to first channel 222.)
Regarding claim 11 Jeon discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above as well as the device including:a third beam defining the third microfluidic channel. (See Jeon wherein a third beam defines a top surface of the third microfluidic channel 221b.)
Regarding claim 12 Jeon discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above as well as the device wherein the third beam has a top surface and a bottom surface opposite to the top surface, at least a portion of the third beam being spaced apart from the substrate to define the third microfluidic channel between the bottom surface of the third beam and the top surface of the substrate; and the third beam is adjacent to the first beam. (See Jeon Figs. 1-2 wherein the third beam has top and bottom surfaces and wherein it is spaced from the substrate to form channel 221b between the substrate and bottom surface. The third beam is adjacent to the first)
Regarding claim 13 Jeon discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above as well as the device wherein the third beam has a side surface, the third beam being spaced apart from the first beam to define the third microfluidic channel between a second side surface of the first beam and the side surface of the third beam. (See Jeon Figs. 1-2 wherein the third beam is spaced apart from the first beam and defines the third microfluidic channel between third beam side surface adjacent reservoir 520 and first beam second side surface.)
Regarding claim 14 Jeon discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above as well as the device wherein the third beam is in contact with the substrate. (See Jeon Figs. 1-2 wherein the third beam is in fluidic contact with the substrate.)
Regarding claim 15 Jeon discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above as well as the device wherein the third beam is included in a second side structure with a through-hole for receiving a third solution. (See Jeon Fig. 1 wherein the third beam is included in a second side structure with a through hole 520 for receiving a third solution.)
Regarding claim 16 Jeon discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above as well as the device wherein the first beam and the third beam are integrally formed. (See Jeon Fig. 1 wherein the first beam forming channel 222 and third beam forming channel 221b are an integral element.)
Regarding claim 17 Jeon discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above as well as the device wherein the substrate is made of a first material and the first beam is made of a second material, the first material and the second material having surface tensions satisfying a predefined capillary force criterion. (See Jeon [00222]-[0223] wherein the substrate is made of glass and the beams are made of plastic and the devices may be hydrophobic, i.e. they have surface tensions satisfying predefined capillary force requirements.)
Conclusion
/JONATHAN M HURST/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799