DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 12-22, and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nilsson US 20210368456.
Regarding claim 1, Nilsson discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (terminal device 150, see fig. 2, [0032]), comprising:
a memory (SW 531, inherently stored in memory, see figs. 2 and 11, [0084]); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory (538, see figs. 2 and 11, [0084]) and configured to:
identify a beam type of at least one of one or more two-dimensional (2D) beams for at least one first synchronization signal block (SSB) of a plurality of SSBs or one or more three-dimensional (3D) beams for at least one second SSB of the plurality of SSBs (network node 200 transmits two-dimensional bursts of SSBs to terminal device 150; the terminal device identifying different polarizations of the transmitted two-dimensional SSB, see fig. 2, [0043]-[0045], [0048], [0059]); and
receive, from a base station (network node 200, see fig. 2, [0032]), at least one of the at least one first SSB via the one or more 2D beams or the at least one second SSB via the one or more 3D beams (network node 200 transmits two-dimensional bursts of SSBs to terminal device 150, see fig. 2, [0059]), a beam type of the at least one of the one or more 2D beams or the one or more 3D beams being associated with at least one of one or more frequency resources or one or more primary synchronization signal (PSS) or secondary synchronization signal (SSS) sequences (see fig. 1, [0003]).
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1, Nilsson further discloses wherein the one or more 2D beams are associated with SSB coverage including a near field and a far field, and the one or more 3D beams are associated with one or more SSB low-signal-strength holes in the near field (network node transmits cell-wide SSB that covers the whole cell, see [0003], [0059]).
Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 1, Nilsson further discloses wherein the one or more frequency resources or the one or more PSS or SSS sequences associated with the beam type are preconfigured or predetermined (configured to transmit SSB bursts that comprise the PSS and SSS sequences, see figs. 1 and 2, [0003], [0033], [0044]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 1, Nilsson further discloses wherein the at least one first SSB is associated with a first frequency resource set, and the at least one second SSB is associated with a second frequency resource set different from the first frequency resource set (see figs. 5-6, [0003], [0049]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1, Nilsson further discloses wherein the at least one first SSB is associated with a first PSS or SSS sequence set, and the at least one second SSB is associated with a second PSS or SSS sequence set different form the first PSS or SSS sequence set (SSBs with different timing, SSB index, transmission pattern information in them because of the periodicity of SSB bursts and polarization, see fig. 4, [0003], [0051], [0059]).
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 1, Nilsson further discloses wherein a plurality of physical broadcast channels (PBCHs) of the plurality of SSBs is associated with time division multiplexing (TDM), and a plurality of PSS or SSS sequences of the plurality of SSBs is associated with spatial division multiplexing (SDM) (see fig. 1, [0002]-[0003]).
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 6, Nilsson further discloses the at least one processor being further configured to: identify an SSB index of at least one SSB of the plurality of SSBs based on a corresponding PSS-to-PBCH interval (see fig. 1, [0003]).
Regarding claim 12 as applied to claim 1, Nilsson further discloses a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor (see figs. 2 and 11, [0084]).
Regarding claim 13, Nilsson discloses a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (terminal device 150, see fig. 2, [0032]), comprising:
identifying a beam type of at least one of one or more two-dimensional (2D) beams for at least one first synchronization signal block (SSB) of a plurality of SSBs or one or more three-dimensional (3D) beams for at least one second SSB of the plurality of SSBs (network node 200 transmits two-dimensional bursts of SSBs to terminal device 150; the terminal device identifying different polarizations of the transmitted two-dimensional SSB, see fig. 2, [0043]-[0045], [0048], [0059]); and
receiving, from a base station (network node 200, see fig. 2, [0032]), at least one of the at least one first SSB via the one or more 2D beams or the at least one second SSB via the one or more 3D beams (network node 200 transmits two-dimensional bursts of SSBs to terminal device 150, see fig. 2, [0059]), a beam type of the at least one of the one or more 2D beams or the one or more 3D beams being associated with at least one of one or more frequency resources or one or more primary synchronization signal (PSS) or secondary synchronization signal (SSS) sequences (see fig. 1, [0003]).
Regarding claim 14 as applied to claim 13, Nilsson further discloses wherein the one or more 2D beams are associated with SSB coverage including a near field and a far field, and the one or more 3D beams are associated with one or more SSB low-signal-strength holes in the near field (network node transmits cell-wide SSB that covers the whole cell, see [0003], [0059]).
Regarding claim 15 as applied to claim 13, Nilsson further discloses wherein the one or more frequency resources or the one or more PSS or SSS sequences associated with the beam type are preconfigured or predetermined (configured to transmit SSB bursts that comprise the PSS and SSS sequences, see figs. 1 and 2, [0003], [0033], [0044]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 16, Nilsson discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a base station (network node 200, see fig. 2, [0032]), comprising:
a memory (230, see fig. 2, [0069]); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory (210, see fig. 7, [0069]) and configured to:
select at least one of one or more two-dimensional (2D) beams for at least one first synchronization signal block (SSB) of a plurality of SSBs or one or more three-dimensional (3D) beams for at least one second SSB of the plurality of SSBs (network node 200 transmits two-dimensional bursts of SSBs to terminal device 150, consecutive SSB bursts transmitted with different polarizations, see fig. 2, [0043]-[0045], [0048], [0051]-[0053], [0059]); and
transmit, to at least one user equipment (UE) (terminal device 150, see fig. 2, [0032]), at least one of the at least one first SSB via the one or more 2D beams or the at least one second SSB via the one or more 3D beams (network node 200 transmits two-dimensional bursts of SSBs to terminal device 150, see fig. 2, [0059]), a beam type of at least one of the one or more 2D beams or the one or more 3D beams being associated with at least one of one or more frequency resources or one or more primary synchronization signal (PSS) or secondary synchronization signal (SSS) sequences (see fig. 1, [0003]).
Regarding claim 17 as applied to claim 16, Nilsson further discloses wherein the one or more 2D beams are associated with SSB coverage including a near field and a far field, and the one or more 3D beams are associated with one or more SSB low-signal-strength holes in the near field (network node transmits cell-wide SSB that covers the whole cell, see [0003], [0059]).
Regarding claim 18 as applied to claim 16, Nilsson further discloses wherein the one or more frequency resources or the one or more PSS or SSS sequences associated with the beam type are preconfigured or predetermined (configured to transmit SSB bursts that comprise the PSS and SSS sequences, see figs. 1 and 2, [0003], [0033], [0044]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 19 as applied to claim 16, Nilsson further discloses wherein the at least one first SSB is associated with a first frequency resource set, and the at least one second SSB is associated with a second frequency resource set different from the first frequency resource set (see figs. 5-6, [0003], [0049]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 20 as applied to claim 16, Nilsson further discloses wherein the at least one first SSB is associated with a first PSS or SSS sequence set, and the at least one second SSB is associated with a second PSS or SSS sequence set different form the first PSS or SSS sequence set (SSBs with different timing, SSB index, transmission pattern information in them because of the periodicity of SSB bursts and polarization, see fig. 4, [0003], [0051], [0059]).
Regarding claim 21 as applied to claim 16, Nilsson further discloses wherein a plurality of physical broadcast channels (PBCHs) of the plurality of SSBs is associated with time division multiplexing (TDM), and a plurality of PSS or SSS sequences of the plurality of SSBs is associated with spatial division multiplexing (SDM) (see fig. 1, [0002]-[0003]).
Regarding claim 22 as applied to claim 21, Nilsson further discloses wherein an SSB index of at least one SSB of the plurality of SSBs is based on a corresponding PSS-to-PBCH interval (see fig. 1, [0003]).
Regarding claim 27 as applied to claim 16, Nilsson further discloses further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor (see fig. 8, [0072]).
Regarding claim 28, Nilsson discloses a method of wireless communication at a base station (network node 200, see fig. 2, [0032]), comprising:
selecting at least one of one or more two-dimensional (2D) beams for at least one first synchronization signal block (SSB) of a plurality of SSBs or one or more three-dimensional (3D) beams for at least one second SSB of the plurality of SSBs (network node 200 transmits two-dimensional bursts of SSBs to terminal device 150, consecutive SSB bursts transmitted with different polarizations, see fig. 2, [0043]-[0045], [0048], [0051]-[0053], [0059]); and
transmitting, to at least one user equipment (UE) (terminal device 150, see fig. 2, [0032]), at least one of the at least one first SSB via the one or more 2D beams or the at least one second SSB via the one or more 3D beams (network node 200 transmits two-dimensional bursts of SSBs to terminal device 150, see fig. 2, [0059]), a beam type of at least one of the one or more 2D beams or the one or more 3D beams being associated with at least one of one or more frequency resources or one or more primary synchronization signal (PSS) or secondary synchronization signal (SSS) sequences (see fig. 1, [0003]).
Regarding claim 29 as applied to claim 28, Nilsson further discloses wherein the one or more 2D beams are associated with SSB coverage including a near field and a far field, and the one or more 3D beams are associated with one or more SSB low-signal-strength holes in the near field (network node transmits cell-wide SSB that covers the whole cell, see [0003], [0059]).
Regarding claim 30 as applied to claim 28, Nilsson further discloses wherein the one or more frequency resources or the one or more PSS or SSS sequences associated with the beam type are preconfigured or predetermined (configured to transmit SSB bursts that comprise the PSS and SSS sequences, see figs. 1 and 2, [0003], [0033], [0044]-[0045]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-11 and 23-26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claims 8, the instant invention discloses “receive, from the base station, an indication of a threshold number of SSBs, wherein the threshold number of SSBs include more than 64 SSBs.” Regarding claim 23, the instant invention discloses “transmit, to the at least one UE, an indication of a threshold number of SSBs, wherein the threshold number of SSBs include more than 64 SSBs.” This feature, in combination with the other recited limitations in claims 1 and 16 respectively, are not taught, suggested, or made obvious by Nilsson, or any other prior art of record, alone, or in combination. Claims 9-11 and 24-26 depend on claims 8 and 23 respectively, and are objected to by virtue of being dependent on claims 8 and 23.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li US 20230300890 and Lin US 20220210841 discloses transmission of SSBs, wherein the maximum number of SSBs that can be sent is 64.
Xiang et al US 10,972,199 discloses RSSI measurement method, network device, and terminal device.
Li et al US 20190007147 discloses radio resource management for RSSI measurement.
/OLUMIDE AJIBADE AKONAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645