DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I (peptide prodrugs) and the compound of claim 75 in the reply filed on 26 May, 2026 and the phone call with Rick Shoop, applicant’s representative, on 8 June, 2026 is acknowledged.
The requirement is deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Applicants have elected the compound of claim 75. A search was conducted for this invention, and references rendering it obvious were found. As a result, claims 43, 48, and 75-77 were examined and claims 49-53 and 78-95 have been withdrawn from consideration.
Claims Status
Claims 43, 48-53, and 75-95 are pending.
Claims 43, 48, and 50-53 have been amended.
Claims 75-79 are new.
Claims 49-53 and 78-95 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 26 May and 8 June, 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 2 July, 2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. The application data file had three references which were not clearly the same as the citations in the information disclosure statement. One of the references was illegible. Thus, they were not considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
first rejection
Claims 43 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 43, and claims dependent on it, describes a structure EY005-R, which is a tetrapeptide with an R group attached directly to the C-terminus by an ester bond. However, the claim also states that the R group can be attached to the C-terminus through a linker, which is not in the structure. In other words, the claims state that there is no linker (in the structure) and that there can be a linker (in the text), which is contradictory.
second rejection
Claims 76 and 77 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 76 and 77 require that the ester bond be cleaved under different conditions, but the tests are poorly defined. For example, claim 76 requires that carboxyesterases in the eye can cleave the ester bond. At pH 12 with PPT concentrations of the enzyme, for 30 seconds, it is not likely to have significant cleavage, even if under a different set of conditions the construct will cleave. Similarly, claim 77 requires “physiological conditions.” That can be in the gastric acid of the stomach or immured in a lipid bilayer. Nor is it clear if this test is conducted without the everpresent esterases found in tissue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 43, 48, and 75-77 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pang et al (Med. Hypothesis Discov. Imnov. Ophthalmol. (2015) 4(3) p120-126) in view of Barot et al (Med. Chem. (2012) 8(4) p753-768), Larsen et al (Eur. J. Pharmaceut. Sci. (2004) 22 p399-408) and Kabanov et al (Prot. Eng. (1989) 3(1) p39-42).
Pang et al teach that facet of glaucoma is optic nerve head cupping and visual field defects caused by apoptosis of retinal ganglion cells (RGC) (p120, 1st column, 1st paragraph), and that lowering the pressure, the standard therapy for the disorder, by itself, cannot prevent progressive loss of visual field (p120, 2nd column, 1st paragraph). At least part of this is due to mitochondrial dysfunction (p121, 1st column, 1st paragraph). A pharmacological agent that ameliorates oxidative stress and enhances RGCs mitochondrial function should be able to reduce the rate of visual field loss in glaucoma (p122, 1st column, 3d paragraph). SS-31 is suggested as an agent that will be successful in this role (p122, 2nd column, 1st paragraph). Note that this is the same sequence as applicant’s elected species, save for the C-terminal modification (compare fig 1, 122, 2nd column, bottom of page with applicant’s elected species). In a different optical disorder, the peptide was shown to protect RGCs (p123, 2nd column, 2nd paragraph).
The difference between this reference and the examined claims is that this reference does not discuss an ester bond to a fatty alcohol (or other moiety).
Barot et al discuss prodrug strategies for ocular delivery (title). Topical administration is favored due to localized drug activity (1st page, 1st paragraph). However, poor penetration is a major restriction of this route of administration, which can be helped with a prodrug approach (1st page, 1st paragraph). This can improve passage through biological barriers (2nd page, 1st paragraph). The prodrug is preferably soluble (for administration as eyedrops) but possess optimal lipophilicity to diffuse across optical barriers (2nd page, 2nd paragraph). Ester prodrugs are the most common ophthalmic prodrug strategy (3d page, 2nd paragraph), which can greatly increase corneal penetration compared to unmodified drugs (3d page, 3d paragraph). Enzyme catalyzed hydrolysis is dependent on the ester, with unhindered straight chain aliphatic esters most rapidly hydrolyzed, compared to more sterically hindered esters (3d page, 4th paragraph). The hydrolysis of the ester bond can lead to low levels of the prodrug in the eye, which drives diffusion across the cornea (4th page, 1st paragraph). Note that varying the prodrug moiety can yield relatively large differences in hydrophobicity and permeation (4th page, 1st and 2nd paragraphs). Lipid prodrug moieties readily diffuse across the cornea, but, if too lipophilic, can be trapped there, showing that there is an optimal lipophilicity for transport (9th page, 2nd and 3d paragraphs). This reference discusses attachments of fatty alcohols to carboxylate drugs to allow for topical administration of optical drugs to cross the corneal barrier.
Larsen et al discuss ester prodrugs to increase hydrophobicity of peptides for oil based depot formulations (abstract). While for a different purpose, this is the same principle as that described in Barot et al; esterification of a carboxylate with a fatty alcohol to increase lipophilicity, which can be cleaved off in vivo. The structure used a model peptide, Gly-Phe, with fatty alcohols of various lengths attached via an ester linkage to the C-terminus (fig 1, p401, 1st column, top of page). The rate of hydrolysis of the ester (not enzyme catalyzed) was inversely related to the length of the fatty alcohol (fig 4, p405, 1st column, bottom of page). While considerably enhanced, the same pattern was seen in human plasma (table 1, p406, 1st column, top of page), which is attributed to esterase cleavage (p406, 1st column, 2nd paragraph). This reference discusses ester prodrugs of peptides, using the C-terminal carboxylate as the binding site.
Kabanov et al discuss lipid modification of proteins for membrane transport (title). This modification can be used to allow proteins to pass through the blood brain barrier, and the cell membrane (abstract). In other words, it is a general approach to endowing proteins with generic membrane permeability. The lipid modification uses stearoyl chloride (p39, 2nd column, 2nd paragraph, fig 2, p40, 1st column, middle of page, fig 3, p40, 2nd column, top of page, for example). This reference shows that relatively long lipid chains (C18, stearoyl) can be used to lipidate polypeptides for membrane transport.
Therefore, it would be obvious to lipidate the peptide of Pang et al, to allow for topical administration, as described by Barot et al, as a preferred administration route. As Barot et al describes a number of examples, an artisan in this field would attempt this modification with a reasonable expectation of success.
Furthermore, it would be obvious to attach the lipid as an ester to the C-terminus of the peptide of Pang et al as Larsen et al show this is a strategy that can be used for peptide compounds. As Barot et al state that the ester prodrug is the most common prodrug strategy, an artisan in this filed would attempt this modification with a reasonable expectation of success.
Finally, it would be obvious to optimize the length of the fatty alcohol used in the prodrug strategy, as Barot et al teaches that the lipophilicity of the drug can be optimized to maximize diffusion across the cornea while minimizing the amount that remains in the cornea. As this is a simple homologous series, an artisan in this field would attempt this optimization with a reasonable expectation of success.
Pang et al teach the SS-31 peptide for treatment of glaucoma. Barot et al render obvious making an ester prodrug, while Larsen et al render obvious attaching the ester at the C-terminus. Thus, the combination of references renders obvious claim 43.
Barot et al teaches that the length of the fatty alcohol must be optimized to allow diffusion through the cornea while not remaining in the cornea. Kabanov et al shows that longer lipid lengths may be necessary. This will mean a homologous series of fatty lipids, rendering obvious claims 48 and 75.
Larsen et al and Barot et al both discuss cleavage of the esters by carboxyesterases, rendering obvious claim 76.
Larsen et al discusses hydrolysis of the ester in PBS (a proxy for physiological conditions), rendering obvious claim 77.
Double Patenting
Claims 43, 48, and 75-78 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 32 and 40-42 of copending Application No. 18,566,629 in view of Pang et al (Med. Hypothesis Discov. Imnov. Ophthalmol. (2015) 4(3) p120-126) and Larsen et al (Eur. J. Pharmaceut. Sci. (2004) 22 p399-408).
Competing claim 32 specifies a formulation of a drug. Competing claim 40 specifies a prodrug formulation where the drug is linked via a cleavable bond to a Markush group of compounds, which include fatty alcohols. Competing claim 41 specifies a Markush group of bonds, including an ester bond. Competing claim 42 describes a Markush group of fatty alcohols, including stearoyl alcohol, applicant’s elected lipid.
The difference between the competing claims and the examined claims is that the competing claims do not describe the peptide sequence.
Pang et al teach that facet of glaucoma is optic nerve head cupping and visual field defects caused by apoptosis of retinal ganglion cells (RGC) (p120, 1st column, 1st paragraph), and that lowering the pressure, the standard therapy for the disorder, by itself, cannot prevent progressive loss of visual field (p120, 2nd column, 1st paragraph). At least part of this is due to mitochondrial dysfunction (p121, 1st column, 1st paragraph). A pharmacological agent that ameliorates oxidative stress and enhances RGCs mitochondrial function should be able to reduce the rate of visual field loss in glaucoma (p122, 1st column, 3d paragraph). SS-31 is suggested as an agent that will be successful in this role (p122, 2nd column, 1st paragraph). Note that this is the same sequence as applicant’s elected species, save for the C-terminal modification (compair fig 1, 122, 2nd column, bottom of page with applicant’s elected species). In a different optical disorder, the peptide was shown to protect RGCs (p123, 2nd column, 2nd paragraph). This reference discusses a drug for treating an ocular disorder.
Larsen et al discuss ester prodrugs to increase hydrophobicity of peptides for oil based depot formulations (abstract). While for a different purpose, this is the same principle as that described in Barot et al; esterification of a carboxylate with a fatty alcohol to increase lipophilicity, which can be cleaved off in vivo. The structure used a model peptide, Gly-Phe, with fatty alcohols of various lengths attached via an ester linkage to the C-terminus (fig 1, p401, 1st column, top of page). The rate of hydrolysis of the ester (not enzyme catalyzed) was inversely related to the length of the fatty alcohol (fig 4, p405, 1st column, bottom of page). While considerably enhanced, the same pattern was seen in human plasma (table 1, p406, 1st column, top of page), which is attributed to esterase cleavage (p406, 1st column, 2nd paragraph). This reference discusses ester prodrugs of peptides, using the C-terminal carboxylate as the binding site. This reference teaches attaching a fatty alcohol to a peptide via an ester linkage at the C-terminus.
Therefore, it would be obvious to use the drug of Pang et al for the drug of the competing claims, as a substitution of one known element for another yielding expected results. As the drug of the competing claims is generic, an artisan in this field would attempt this substitution with a reasonable expectation of success.
Furthermore, it would be obvious to attach the fatty alcohol to the C-terminus as an ester, as described by Larsen et al, as a substitution of one known element for another yielding expected results. As the competing claims describe a genus that includes this construct, an artisan in this filed would attempt this modification with a reasonable expectation of success.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/FRED H REYNOLDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1658