CTNF 18/566,635 CTNF 101396 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 12/02/2023 and 08/22/2024 have been considered by the examiner. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation Claim 5 recites inter alia a “normal temperature” which is supported in the specification by the range of 18 to 28 degrees Celsius (0084). This range is interpreted as a limiting definition for the phrase “normal temperature.” Without such a range being defined, the phrase would otherwise render the limitation indefinite in scope. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pantea et al. 2002, Dislocation density and graphitization of diamond crystals. PHYSICAL REVIEW B., 2002, vol. 66, 094106-1 to 094106-6, provided in the IDS filed on 12/02/2023 . Regarding claim 1, Pantea discloses a sample D1 of polycrystalline diamond comprising diamond particles (having crystallites, Table II) wherein a content of the diamond particles is more than 99% by volume (graphite content is less than 1.0% by volume, Table II) of the total volume of the polycrystalline diamond; a median diameter of the diamond particles (crystallites) is 10 nm or more and 200 nm or less ( m is 43 nm, Table II); and a dislocation density of the diamond particles is 0.1x10^15 m -2 or more and 1.0x10^15 m -2 or less (8.5x10^14 m -2 , Table II; equivalent to 0.85x10^15 m -2 ). Further, while Pantea uses the term “crystallites” to describe the sample sizes, it is made clear that the term is used interchangeably with “particle” size, since Pantea discloses that the crystal size of the D0 sample approaches 1 micron, therefore requiring a quasi-single crystal diffraction technique (p. 3, A. “Sample D0”) while samples D1, D2, and D3 are “true” powder diffraction experiments “unlike in the case of the D0 specimen” due to the “size of the crystallites” being reduced to the nanometer range (p. 4, B. “Samples D1, D2, and D3”). Later, Pantea discloses that the defects/dislocations are expected “where two crystals press into one another,” and a small concentration of defects “is expected near voids between diamond crystals” (p. 5 column 1). It is therefore made abundantly clear that the use of the term “crystals” and “crystallites” by Pantea in the disclosure includes discontinuous crystal particles as well as continuous polycrystalline crystals. This is supported by the instant specification, which discloses that the term “particle” may be understood as a crystal grain (0027). It would therefore be reasonable for one of ordinary skill in the art to understand that Pantea teaches the instant claimed invention, prior to the effective filing date of the invention. Regarding claim 2, Pantea teaches the polycrystalline diamond as discussed for claim 1, with a dislocation density falling within the claimed range (8.5x10^14 m -2 , Table II; equivalent to 0.85x10^15 m -2 ). Regarding claim 3, Pantea teaches the polycrystalline diamond as discussed for claim 1, with a median diameter falling within the claimed range ( m is 43 nm, Table II) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pantea, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Sumiya 2008, US 20080022806 A1, herein referred to as Sumiya, provided on the IDS filed on 12/02/2023 . Regarding claim 4, Pantea teaches the polycrystalline diamond as discussed for claim 1. Pantea does not teach that the polycrystalline diamond further comprises boron wherein a content of the boron is 0.01% by mass or more and 1% by mass or less based on a total mass of the polycrystalline diamond. However, Sumiya teaches a high-hardness conductive diamond polycrystalline body (0014) wherein a content of the boron in the diamond polycrystalline body is at least 10 ppm and at most 1,000 ppm of boron (0014); this corresponds to a range of 0.001 - 0.1% content of boron by mass. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention taught by Pantea by including the boron content taught by Sumiya, and arrive at the presently claimed invention. One would be motivated to do so because Sumiya teaches that the conductivity of the diamond is improved (0014), graphitization or crack generation does not occur even in vacuum at 1,400 Celsius (0034), and the oxidation resistance is increased by the formation of a boron oxide protective film (0034). Sumiya teaches that these properties are advantageous for using the polycrystalline diamond to form cutting tools (0034). Regarding the overlapping ranges of the boron content taught by Sumiya and claimed in the instant claim, as set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art," a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim , 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff , 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. 1990). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to obtain the polycrystalline diamond as suggested by Pantea and Sumiya where the boron content is in any workable or optimum range overlapping with 10-1000 ppm as taught by Sumiya, including the claimed range, in order to obtain a boron content suitable for realizing the properties of boron in the polycrystalline diamond. Regarding claim 6, Pantea teaches the polycrystalline diamond as discussed for claim 1. Pantea does not teach a content of at least one metal element selected from the group consisting of a Group 4 element, a Group 5 element and a Group 6 element in the periodic table, and iron, aluminum, silicon, cobalt and nickel is less than 1% by volume. However, Sumiya teaches a high-hardness conductive diamond polycrystalline body (0014) wherein no sintering aid or metal catalyst is incorporated (0037); Sumiya further defines a sintering aid as being known in the art and typically including iron or an iron group metal such as cobalt or nickel (0007, 0008), which therefore implicitly discloses that these elements are not contained in the polycrystalline diamond of the invention. This falls within the claimed range of less than 1% by volume, since the content is necessarily 0% by volume. It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the invention taught by Pantea by ensuring that the content of a sintering aid or binder is 0% or approaches 0%, as taught by Sumiya; one would be motivated to do so because Sumiya teaches that the presence of these elements promotes graphitization in the diamond, thus lowering the heat resistance (0008), that the difference in thermal expansion between the sintering aid and the diamond results in cracks formed in the diamond (0008), that the use of a metal such as Co deteriorates the hardness/strength of the diamond (0008), and that the use of a sintering aid to increase the heat resistance only to remove it creates a porous crystal, which also decreases the strength of the material (0008). Sumiya further teaches that these mechanical properties are advantageous for implementing a polycrystalline diamond in tools for cutting, where strength and durability are crucial to minimize wear or deterioration (0010, 0011). One skilled in the art would therefore arrive at the claimed invention . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pantea, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Sumiya et al. 2020, US 20200340140 A1, referred to herein as Sumiya 2, provided on the IDS filed on 12/02/2023 . Regarding claim 5, Pantea teaches the polycrystalline diamond as discussed for claim 1. Pantea does not teach the polycrystalline diamond having a Knoop hardness at a normal temperature of 80 GPa or more. However, Sumiya 2 discloses a diamond polycrystal and tool including the diamond polycrystal (0001) wherein a Knoop hardness is measured at 100 to 140 GPa at 23 ° C.±5° C (0021, 0057). Sumiya 2 further teaches that the hardness of the material is obtained by the substantial lack of a binder phase or sintering aid, the diamond is predominantly composed of pure diamond (0030). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to measure the hardness of the material taught by Pantea with the Knoop hardness test, since Sumiya 2 discloses that this technique is known in the art (0057). Further, since Sumiya 2 teaches that the values of Knoop hardness come from the composition of the polycrystalline diamond having no sintering aid, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the polycrystalline diamond disclosed by Pantea must necessarily have the same physical properties and would therefore predictably yield a value for the Knoop’s hardness that falls within the instant claimed range. Regarding claim 7, Pantea teaches the polycrystalline diamond as discussed for claim 1. Pantea does not teach a content of at least one inevitable impurity selected from the group consisting of hydrogen, oxygen, nitrogen, an alkali metal, and an alkaline earth metal is less than 0.1% by volume. However, Sumiya 2 discloses a diamond polycrystal and tool including the diamond polycrystal (0001) which has low concentrations of impurities of hydrogen, oxygen, and nitrogen (0041). It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the invention taught by Pantea by ensuring that the content of impurities of hydrogen, oxygen, or nitrogen are minimized, as Sumiya 2 teaches; one would be motivated to do so because Sumiya 2 teaches that a content of impurities less than 0.1 ppm improves the strength of the diamond (0042) and suppresses crystal grain growth and promotes direct conversion to diamond (0091). Sumiya 2 teaches that this is advantageous to obtain a diamond that can be used in a cutting tool, since Sumiya teaches that a larger grain size results in a precision of the cutting edge that is deteriorated and is more likely to be chipped (0046). While Sumiya 2 does not explicitly disclose that the content of hydrogen/oxygen/nitrogen impurities is less than 0.1% by volume, a range of 0-0.1 ppm necessarily overlaps with a range of 0-0.1% by volume. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art," a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim , 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff , 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. 1990). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to obtain the polycrystalline diamond as suggested by Pantea and Sumiya 2, where the content of the hydrogen/oxygen/nitrogen impurities is in any workable or optimum range overlapping with 0-0.1 ppm as taught by Sumiya 2, including the claimed range, in order to obtain a content of impurity suitable for the polycrystalline diamond obtained . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sumiya 2, in view of Pantea as applied to claim 1 above . Regarding claim 8, Sumiya teaches a tool comprising a polycrystalline diamond (0012). Sumiya does not teach that the polycrystalline diamond has a structure according to claim 1. However, Pantea teaches a polycrystalline diamond as applied to claim 1, wherein a sample D1 of polycrystalline diamond comprises diamond particles (having crystallites, Table II) wherein a content of the diamond particles is more than 99% by volume (graphite content is less than 1.0% by volume, Table II) of the total volume of the polycrystalline diamond; a median diameter of the diamond particles (crystallites) is 10 nm or more and 200 nm or less ( m is 43 nm, Table II); and a dislocation density of the diamond particles is 0.1x10^15 m -2 or more and 1.0x10^15 m -2 or less (8.5x10^14 m -2 , Table II; equivalent to 0.85x10^15 m -2 ). It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the polycrystalline diamond taught by Pantea for use in the tool disclosed by Sumiya 2. The combination of known elements in the prior art according to known methods has been held by the courts to support a prima facie case of obviousness, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007); see MPEP 2142(I)(A) regarding combining elements to yield predictable results. In the instant case, the polycrystalline diamond disclosed by Pantea exhibits properties of graphitization and mobility of dislocations with increasing temperature (p. 5 column 1) that are known in the art, and has a size of crystallites that fall within the range of sizes of the crystallites disclosed by Sumiya 2 (grain size, 0049), and therefore would result in predictable performance when implemented in a tool such as disclosed by Sumiya 2, since Sumiya teaches that the size determines suitability for application in a cutting tool (0046-0048). One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore arrive at the claimed invention prior to the effective filing date. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Eileen Moudou whose telephone number is (571)272-1768. The examiner can normally be reached M-Th 8 AM - 4 PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Sally Merkling can be reached at (571)272-6297. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Eileen Moudou/Examiner, Art Unit 1738 /MICHAEL FORREST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738 Application/Control Number: 18/566,635 Page 2 Art Unit: 1738 Application/Control Number: 18/566,635 Page 3 Art Unit: 1738 Application/Control Number: 18/566,635 Page 4 Art Unit: 1738 Application/Control Number: 18/566,635 Page 5 Art Unit: 1738 Application/Control Number: 18/566,635 Page 6 Art Unit: 1738 Application/Control Number: 18/566,635 Page 7 Art Unit: 1738 Application/Control Number: 18/566,635 Page 8 Art Unit: 1738