DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8, and 17-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beale (US 2021/0357267 ) (hereinafter Beale) in view of Zhu et al (US 2023/0168919) (hereinafter Zhu).
As per claim 1, Beale teaches:
A method for accelerated computation of data, comprising:
acquiring, by an accelerating device, computation acceleration control information from a memory of a host (Beale, [0002]—under BRI, acquiring computation acceleration control information can acquiring a first processor state from register grouping A);
acquiring, based on the input parameter address information, parameters to be computed from the memory of the host (Beale, [0002]—under BRI, acquiring, based on the input parameter address information, parameters to be computed from the memory of the host can be acquiring data from register grouping A); and
controlling, based on the computation configuration information, a computation unit to perform a computation operation on the parameters to be computed, and obtaining a computation result (Beale, [0002]).
Beale does not expressly teach:
wherein the computation acceleration control information comprises input parameter address information and computation configuration information;
However, Zhu discloses:
wherein the computation acceleration control information comprises input parameter address information and computation configuration information (Zhu, [0009]);
Both Zhu and Beale pertain to the art of processor configuration.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Zhu’s method to use input parameter address information and computation configuration information because it is well-known in the art that using input parameter address information and computation configuration information has the benefit of controlling system in run time to avoid static configuration and restart costs.
As per claim 11, see rejection on claim 1.
As per claim 13, see rejection on claim 1.
As per claim 14, Beale/Zhu teaches:
The method for accelerated computation of data according to claim 1 (See rejection on claim 1), wherein the computation acceleration control information is information data for managing and controlling a process of the accelerating device (Beale, [0002]—under BRI, a process of the accelerating device can be the act of process data).
As per claim 15, Beale/Zhu teaches:
The method for accelerated computation of data according to claim 1 (See rejection on claim 1 ) , wherein the input parameter address information is used to determine an address of an input parameter in the host (Zhu, [0009]).
As per claim 16, Beale/Zhu teaches:
The method for accelerated computation of data according to claim 1(see rejection on claim 1) , wherein the computation configuration information is information for configuring a computation process (Beale, [0002]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beale/Zhu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Keely et al (US 2023/0195664 ) (hereinafter Keely).
As per claim 9, Beale/Zhu teaches:
The method for accelerated computation of data according to claim 1 (see rejection on claim 1).
Beale/Zhu does not expressly teach:
further comprising: sending an interrupt signal to the host when the writing of the computation result completes.
However, Keely discloses:
further comprising: sending an interrupt signal to the host when the writing of the computation result completes (Keely, [0068]).
Both Keely and Beale/Zhu pertain to the art of memory access.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Keely’s method to interrupt a host after writing of the computation result completes because it is well-known in the art that interrupt enables the system to perform other tasks while waiting for the write to complete, thus reducing latency and improving overall system performance
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 10664181 teaches a method of using in memory configuration registers.
/CHARLIE SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2198