CTNF 18/566,642 CTNF 97733 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/02/2023 was considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 7-9, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bloomfield et al. (WO2015056066A1, provided by applicant) in view of Amodei et al. (Amodei, D., Egertson, J., MacLean, B. X., Johnson, R., Merrihew, G. E., Keller, A., ... & MacCoss, M. J. (2019). Improving precursor selectivity in data-independent acquisition using overlapping windows. Journal of The American Society for Mass Spectrometry , 30 (4), 669-684.) . Regarding claim 1, Bloomfield teaches A mass spectrometry system (Fig. 8, system 800) , comprising: a mass spectrometer ([0016] “A system is disclosed for reconstructing a separation profile of a precursor ion in a tandem mass spectrometry experiment from multiple scans across a mass range.”; [0073] “System 800 includes mass filter 810, fragmentation device 820, mass analyzer 830, and processor 840.”) that, during each time cycle of a plurality of t time cycles ([0006] “One tandem mass spectrometry technique that was developed to take advantage of this property of high resolution and high speed mass spectrometers is sequential windowed acquisition (SWATH). SWATH allows a mass range to be scanned within a time interval using multiple precursor ion scans of adjacent or overlapping precursor mass windows”; [0064] “For example the product ions from precursor ions in the range 100 Da to 150 Da from a first scan are summed with those from SWATH 100 Da to 150 DA from the next 30 scan cycles. This is repeated for 101 Da to 151 Da, etc.”) , steps (Fig. 4) a precursor ion ([0058] “Plot 410 shows that there is a precursor ion 420 at mass 430”) transmission window (transmission windows 440) of fixed length l mass-to-charge ratio (m/z) in k overlapping steps that are Δm m/z apart entirely across a mass range r m/z (1< r) from a starting ml m/z of the mass range ([0059] Figure 4 is diagram 400 showing how product ion spectra from successive groups of the overlapping rectangular precursor ion transmission windows are summed to produce a triangular function that describes product ion intensity as a function of precursor mass, in accordance with various embodiments. Plot 410 shows that there is a precursor ion 420 at mass 430. Overlapping rectangular precursor ion transmission windows 440 are stepped across a mass range producing a plurality of product ion spectrum. Essentially, a product ion spectrum (not shown) is produced for each window 440.) and n -1 more times (Fig. 5; [0063] “Diagram 500 shows three separate scans 53 1, 532, and 533 of overlapping transmission windows 520 across a mass range”) , producing n scans of the mass range and a total of k x n steps of the transmission window for each time cycle, and, for each step of the transmission window, fragments the transmitted precursor ions and mass analyzes the resulting product ions, producing k x n product ion spectra that are a function of precursor ion m/z for each time cycle (Fig. 5; [0063] Figure 5 is diagram 500 showing how it is possible to reconstruct an elution profile using overlapping precursor ion transmission windows, in accordance with various embodiments. Elution profile 510 is reconstructed using overlapping transmission windows 520. Diagram 500 shows three separate scans 53 1, 532, and 533 of overlapping transmission windows 520 across a mass range.) ; and a processor (Fig. 8, processor 840) that selects at least one product ion from the k x n x t product ion spectra produced over the t time cycles (Fig. 4; [0096] “Processor 840 selects at least one product ion from the plurality of multi-scan product ion spectra that is present at least two or more times in product ion spectra from each of two or more scans. Processor 840 fits a known separation profile of a precursor ion to intensities from the at least one product ion in the plurality of multi-scan product ion spectra to reconstruct a separation profile of a precursor ion of the at least one product ion.”) and for at least one time cycle of the t time cycles, reconstructs an intensity of the at least one product ion as a function of precursor ion m/z (Fig. 4) with a resolving power greater than Δm ([0060] “Plot 460 shows that a product ion of precursor ion 420 acquires a triangular shaped function 470 of product ion intensity with respect to precursor mass. Plot 460 also shows that the apex or center of gravity of function 470 points to mass 430 of precursor ion 420.”; [0058] “A shape that is non-constant with precursor mass is created to more accurately determine the precursor mass. For example, if a triangle is used, the apex or center of gravity can be used to point to the precursor mass. In other words, if the intensities of the product ions are successively selected and summed to produce a triangular function of intensity with respect to precursor mass, for example, the apex or center of gravity of the function for each product ion points to the precursor ion mass. The apex or center of gravity of the function is less dependent on the accuracy of the measurements at the edges of the actual transmission window.”). The apex of the function is determined within one Δm, and therefore the resolving power is greater than Δm. by combining intensities of the at least one product ion as a function of precursor ion m/z measured with a resolving power of Δm (Fig. 4) during each of the n scans for the at least one time cycle (Fig. 5, scans 531-533) using a linear reconstruction algorithm (Fig. 4, triangular shaped function 470) . The triangular shaped function includes linear fitting on at least two portions of the data, and therefore is a linear reconstruction algorithm. Bloomfield does not teach the system, wherein the overlapping steps comprise starting at n -1 different offsets from m 1 between m 1 and m 1 + Δm. Amodei teaches an analogous mass spectrometry system, wherein the overlapping steps comprise starting at n -1 different offsets from m 1 between m 1 and m 1 + Δm (Fig. 1C, p.674 “The 20 m/z overlap method also used twenty 20 m/z wide windows, but alternating cycles were offset by − 10 m/z, so that odd-numbered cycles covered windows from 500 to 900 m/z, while even-numbered cycles covered windows from 490 to 890 m/z”). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bloomfield to include the different offsets of Amodei because it is a well-known technique and would yield advantageous results, such as more accurately determining the peak intensity based on comparison of offset of overlapping intensities (Amodei: p.671 “The overlapping of windows makes it possible to computationally assign the proportion of each product ion’s intensity to the left or right side of a given precursor window (Figure 1C, right panel).”). Regarding claim 7, Bloomfield in view of Amodei teaches The system of claim 1, wherein the processor further identifies a precursor ion of the at least one product ion from the reconstructed intensity of the at least one product ion as a function of precursor ion m/z (Bloomfield: Fig. 5; [0064] “product ion spectra from transmission windows 55 1 , 552, and 553, which are from the same step in the mass range, are summed. The summed spectrum is then grouped with neighboring summed spectra to help identify the precursor ion. One skilled in the art can appreciate that although reconstructing an elution profile from multiple scans across a mass range is described first and identifying a precursor ion from a product ion selected from multiple scans across a mass range is described second, these actions can be performed in the reverse order. For example, a precursor ion can be identified from multiple scans across a mass range first, and then the elution profile of that precursor ion can be reconstructed from the same multiple scans across a mass range.”) . Regarding claim 8, teaches Bloomfield in view of Amodei The system of claim 1, wherein the processor further stores the reconstructed intensity of the at least one product ion as a function of precursor ion m/z in a memory device (Bloomfield: Triangular shaped function 470; Elution profile 510; [0096] “Processor 840 fits a known separation profile of a precursor ion to intensities from the at least one product ion in the plurality of multi-scan product ion spectra to reconstruct a separation profile of a precursor ion of the at least one product ion. A known separation profile is, for example, retrieved from a database (not shown) that stored a plurality of known separation profiles or known functions, such as a Gaussian peak. A separation profile can include, but is not limited to, an LC elution profile.”) . Regarding claim 9, Bloomfield teaches A method of mass spectrometry (Abstract; Fig. 8, system 800) , comprising: during each time cycle of a plurality of t time cycles ([0006] “One tandem mass spectrometry technique that was developed to take advantage of this property of high resolution and high speed mass spectrometers is sequential windowed acquisition (SWATH). SWATH allows a mass range to be scanned within a time interval using multiple precursor ion scans of adjacent or overlapping precursor mass windows”; [0064] “For example the product ions from precursor ions in the range 100 Da to 150 Da from a first scan are summed with those from SWATH 100 Da to 150 DA from the next 30 scan cycles. This is repeated for 101 Da to 151 Da, etc.”) , stepping (Fig. 4) a precursor ion ([0058] “Plot 410 shows that there is a precursor ion 420 at mass 430”) transmission window (transmission windows 440) of fixed length l mass-to-charge ratio (m/z) in k overlapping steps that are Δm m/z apart entirely across a mass range r m/z (l< r) from a starting ml m/z of the mass range ([0059] Figure 4 is diagram 400 showing how product ion spectra from successive groups of the overlapping rectangular precursor ion transmission windows are summed to produce a triangular function that describes product ion intensity as a function of precursor mass, in accordance with various embodiments. Plot 410 shows that there is a precursor ion 420 at mass 430. Overlapping rectangular precursor ion transmission windows 440 are stepped across a mass range producing a plurality of product ion spectrum. Essentially, a product ion spectrum (not shown) is produced for each window 440.) and n-1 more times (Fig. 5; [0063] “Diagram 500 shows three separate scans 53 1, 532, and 533 of overlapping transmission windows 520 across a mass range”) producing n scans of the mass range and a total of k x n steps of the transmission window for each time cycle, and, for each step of the transmission window, fragmenting the transmitted precursor ions and mass analyzing the resulting product ions, producing k x n product ion spectra that are a function of precursor ion m/z for each time cycle (Fig. 5; [0063] Figure 5 is diagram 500 showing how it is possible to reconstruct an elution profile using overlapping precursor ion transmission windows, in accordance with various embodiments. Elution profile 510 is reconstructed using overlapping transmission windows 520. Diagram 500 shows three separate scans 53 1, 532, and 533 of overlapping transmission windows 520 across a mass range.) , using a mass spectrometer ([0016] “A system is disclosed for reconstructing a separation profile of a precursor ion in a tandem mass spectrometry experiment from multiple scans across a mass range.”; [0073] “System 800 includes mass filter 810, fragmentation device 820, mass analyzer 830, and processor 840.”) ; selecting at least one product ion from the k x n x t product ion spectra produced over the t time cycles using a processor (Fig. 4; [0096] “Processor 840 selects at least one product ion from the plurality of multi-scan product ion spectra that is present at least two or more times in product ion spectra from each of two or more scans. Processor 840 fits a known separation profile of a precursor ion to intensities from the at least one product ion in the plurality of multi-scan product ion spectra to reconstruct a separation profile of a precursor ion of the at least one product ion.”) ; and for at least one time cycle of the t time cycles, reconstructing an intensity of the at least one product ion as a function of precursor ion m/z (Fig. 4) with a resolving power greater than Δm ([0060] “Plot 460 shows that a product ion of precursor ion 420 acquires a triangular shaped function 470 of product ion intensity with respect to precursor mass. Plot 460 also shows that the apex or center of gravity of function 470 points to mass 430 of precursor ion 420.”; [0058] “A shape that is non- constant with precursor mass is created to more accurately determine the precursor mass. For example, if a triangle is used, the apex or center of gravity can be used to point to the precursor mass. In other words, if the intensities of the product ions are successively selected and summed to produce a triangular function of intensity with respect to precursor mass, for example, the apex or center of gravity of the function for each product ion points to the precursor ion mass. The apex or center of gravity of the function is less dependent on the accuracy of the measurements at the edges of the actual transmission window.”). The apex of the function is determined within one Δm, and therefore the resolving power is greater than Δm. by combining intensities of the at least one product ion as a function of precursor ion m/z measured with a resolving power of Δm (Fig. 4) during each of the n scans for the at least one time cycle (Fig. 5, scans 531-533) using a linear reconstruction algorithm using the processor (Fig. 4, triangular shaped function 470) . The triangular shaped function includes linear fitting on at least two portions of the data, and therefore is a linear reconstruction algorithm. Bloomfield does not teach the method, wherein the overlapping steps comprise starting at n-1 different offsets from ml between ml and mi + Δm. Amodei teaches an analogous mass spectrometry method, wherein the overlapping steps comprise starting at n -1 different offsets from m 1 between m 1 and m 1 + Δm (Fig. 1C, p.674 “The 20 m/z overlap method also used twenty 20 m/z wide windows, but alternating cycles were offset by − 10 m/z, so that odd-numbered cycles covered windows from 500 to 900 m/z, while even-numbered cycles covered windows from 490 to 890 m/z”). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Bloomfield to include the different offsets of Amodei because it is a well-known technique and would yield advantageous results, such as more accurately determining the peak intensity based on comparison of offset of overlapping intensities (Amodei: p.671 “The overlapping of windows makes it possible to computationally assign the proportion of each product ion’s intensity to the left or right side of a given precursor window (Figure 1C, right panel).”). Regarding claim 13, Bloomfield in view of Amodei teaches The method of claim 9, further comprising identifying a precursor ion of the at least one product ion from the reconstructed intensity of the at least one product ion as a function of precursor ion m/z (Bloomfield: Fig. 5; [0064] “product ion spectra from transmission windows 55 1 , 552, and 553, which are from the same step in the mass range, are summed. The summed spectrum is then grouped with neighboring summed spectra to help identify the precursor ion. One skilled in the art can appreciate that although reconstructing an elution profile from multiple scans across a mass range is described first and identifying a precursor ion from a product ion selected from multiple scans across a mass range is described second, these actions can be performed in the reverse order. For example, a precursor ion can be identified from multiple scans across a mass range first, and then the elution profile of that precursor ion can be reconstructed from the same multiple scans across a mass range.”) . Regarding claim 14, Bloomfield in view of Amodei teaches The method of claim 9, further comprising storing the reconstructed intensity of the at least one product ion as a function of precursor ion m/z in a memory device (Bloomfield: Triangular shaped function 470; Elution profile 510; [0096] “Processor 840 fits a known separation profile of a precursor ion to intensities from the at least one product ion in the plurality of multi-scan product ion spectra to reconstruct a separation profile of a precursor ion of the at least one product ion. A known separation profile is, for example, retrieved from a database (not shown) that stored a plurality of known separation profiles or known functions, such as a Gaussian peak. A separation profile can include, but is not limited to, an LC elution profile.”) . Regarding claim 15, teaches A computer program product, comprising a non-transitory tangible computer- readable storage medium whose contents include a program with instructions ([0090] “computer program products include a tangible computer-readable storage medium whose contents include a program with instructions being executed on a processor so as to perform a method for identifying a precursor ion of a product ion in a tandem mass spectrometry experiment. This method is performed by a system that includes one or more distinct software modules.”) being executed on a processor (processor 840) for a mass spectrometry method (Fig. 8, system 800) , comprising: providing a system, wherein the system comprises one or more distinct software modules ([0090] “computer program products include a tangible computer-readable storage medium whose contents include a program with instructions being executed on a processor so as to perform a method for identifying a precursor ion of a product ion in a tandem mass spectrometry experiment. This method is performed by a system that includes one or more distinct software modules.”) , and wherein the distinct software modules comprise a control module and an analysis module ([0091] “Figure 10 is a schematic diagram of a system 1000 that includes one or more distinct software modules that performs a method for identifying a precursor ion of a product ion in a tandem mass spectrometry experiment, in accordance with various embodiments. System 1000 includes measurement module 1010 and analysis module 1020.”). The measurement module controls the measurements, therefore is a control module ; instructing a mass spectrometer ([0016] “A system is disclosed for reconstructing a separation profile of a precursor ion in a tandem mass spectrometry experiment from multiple scans across a mass range.”; [0073] “System 800 includes mass filter 810, fragmentation device 820, mass analyzer 830, and processor 840.”) to, during each time cycle of a plurality of t time cycles ([0006] “One tandem mass spectrometry technique that was developed to take advantage of this property of high resolution and high speed mass spectrometers is sequential windowed acquisition (SWATH). SWATH allows a mass range to be scanned within a time interval using multiple precursor ion scans of adjacent or overlapping precursor mass windows”; [0064] “For example the product ions from precursor ions in the range 100 Da to 150 Da from a first scan are summed with those from SWATH 100 Da to 150 DA from the next 30 scan cycles. This is repeated for 101 Da to 151 Da, etc.”) , step (Fig. 4) a precursor ion ([0058] “Plot 410 shows that there is a precursor ion 420 at mass 430”) transmission window (transmission windows 440) of fixed length l mass-to-charge ratio (m/z) in k overlapping steps that are Δm m/z apart entirely across a mass range r m/z (l< r) from a starting ml m/z of the mass range ([0059] Figure 4 is diagram 400 showing how product ion spectra from successive groups of the overlapping rectangular precursor ion transmission windows are summed to produce a triangular function that describes product ion intensity as a function of precursor mass, in accordance with various embodiments. Plot 410 shows that there is a precursor ion 420 at mass 430. Overlapping rectangular precursor ion transmission windows 440 are stepped across a mass range producing a plurality of product ion spectrum. Essentially, a product ion spectrum (not shown) is produced for each window 440.) and n-1 more times (Fig. 5; [0063] “Diagram 500 shows three separate scans 53 1, 532, and 533 of overlapping transmission windows 520 across a mass range”) starting at n-1 different offsets from m 1 between m 1 and m 1 +Δm, producing n scans of the mass range and a total of k x n steps of the transmission window for each time cycle (Fig. 5; [0063] Figure 5 is diagram 500 showing how it is possible to reconstruct an elution profile using overlapping precursor ion transmission windows, in accordance with various embodiments. Elution profile 510 is reconstructed using overlapping transmission windows 520. Diagram 500 shows three separate scans 53 1, 532, and 533 of overlapping transmission windows 520 across a mass range.) , and, for each step of the transmission window, fragment the transmitted precursor ions and mass analyze the resulting product ions, producing k x n product ion spectra that are a function of precursor ion m/z for each time cycle (Fig. 4; [0096] “Processor 840 selects at least one product ion from the plurality of multi-scan product ion spectra that is present at least two or more times in product ion spectra from each of two or more scans. Processor 840 fits a known separation profile of a precursor ion to intensities from the at least one product ion in the plurality of multi-scan product ion spectra to reconstruct a separation profile of a precursor ion of the at least one product ion.”) , using the control module (Measurement module 1010) ; selecting at least one product ion from the k x n xt product ion spectra produced over the t time cycles using the analysis module (Fig. 4; [0096] “Processor 840 selects at least one product ion from the plurality of multi-scan product ion spectra that is present at least two or more times in product ion spectra from each of two or more scans. Processor 840 fits a known separation profile of a precursor ion to intensities from the at least one product ion in the plurality of multi-scan product ion spectra to reconstruct a separation profile of a precursor ion of the at least one product ion.”) ; and for at least one time cycle of the t time cycles, reconstructing an intensity of the at least one product ion as a function of precursor ion m/z with a resolving power greater than Δm ([0060] “Plot 460 shows that a product ion of precursor ion 420 acquires a triangular shaped function 470 of product ion intensity with respect to precursor mass. Plot 460 also shows that the apex or center of gravity of function 470 points to mass 430 of precursor ion 420.”; [0058] “A shape that is non-constant with precursor mass is created to more accurately determine the precursor mass. For example, if a triangle is used, the apex or center of gravity can be used to point to the precursor mass. In other words, if the intensities of the product ions are successively selected and summed to produce a triangular function of intensity with respect to precursor mass, for example, the apex or center of gravity of the function for each product ion points to the precursor ion mass. The apex or center of gravity of the function is less dependent on the accuracy of the measurements at the edges of the actual transmission window.”). The apex of the function is determined within one Δm, and therefore the resolving power is greater than Δm. by combining intensities of the at least one product ion as a function of precursor ion m/z measured with a resolving power of Δm (Fig. 4) during each of the n scans for the at least one time cycle (Fig. 5, scans 531-533) using a linear reconstruction algorithm using the analysis module (Fig. 4, triangular shaped function 470) . The triangular shaped function includes linear fitting on at least two portions of the data, and therefore is a linear reconstruction algorithm . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 2-6 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bloomfield in view of Amodei as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fruchter et al. (Fruchter et al. "Drizzle: A Method for Linear Reconstruction of Undersampled Images," Publications of the Astronomical Society of the Pacific, San Francisco, US, vol. 114, 2/1/2002, pages 144-152, XP003009554, provided by applicant) . Regarding claim 2, Bloomfield in view of Amodei teaches The system of claim 1. Bloomfield in view of Amodei does not teach the system, wherein the linear reconstruction algorithm comprises an interlacing algorithm. Fruchter teaches an analogous analysis system, wherein the linear reconstruction algorithm (Abstract) comprises an interlacing algorithm (p.144 “In the lower right panel of Figure 1 we display an image made using one of the family of techniques we refer to as “linear reconstruction.” The most commonly used of these techniques are shift-and-add and interlacing. In interlacing, the pixels from the independent images are placed in alternating pixels on the output image according to the alignment of the pixel centers in the original images.”) . It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bloomfield in view of Amodei to substitute the reconstruction algorithm with the interlacing algorithm of Fruchter because it is a well-known technique in the interpolation of data (e.g. between measured data points) and would yield predictable results. Regarding claim 3, Bloomfield in view of Amodei and Fruchter teaches The system of claim 2, wherein the interlacing algorithm comprises a variable- pixel reconstruction algorithm (Fruchter: Abstract, “The algorithm, known as Variable-Pixel Linear Reconstruction, or informally as ‘Drizzle’”) with a fractional pixel overlap value of 0 (p.146 “When a pixel (x i , y i ) from an input image i with data value d xiyi and user-defined weight w xiyi is added to an output image pixel (x o , y o ) with value I xoyo , weight W xoyo , and fractional pixel overlap 0 < a xiyi xoyo < 1, the resulting values and weights of that same pixel I’ and W’, are [Equations 4 and 5]”; “It is worth noting that in nearly all cases a xiyi xoyo = 0, since very few input pixels overlap a given output pixel.”) . Regarding claim 4, Bloomfield in view of Amodei teaches The system of claim 1. Bloomfield in view of Amodei does not teach the system, wherein the linear reconstruction algorithm comprises a variable-pixel reconstruction algorithm. Fruchter teaches an analogous analysis system, wherein the linear reconstruction algorithm comprises a variable-pixel reconstruction algorithm (Abstract, “The algorithm, known as Variable-Pixel Linear Reconstruction, or informally as ‘Drizzle’”) . It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bloomfield in view of Amodei to substitute the linear reconstruction algorithm with the variable-pixel reconstruction algorithm of Fruchter because it is a well-known technique and would yield predictable results. Regarding claim 5, Bloomfield in view of Amodei teaches The system of claim 1. Bloomfield in view of Amodei does not teach the system, wherein the linear reconstruction algorithm comprises a shift-and-add algorithm. Fruchter teaches an analogous analysis system, wherein the linear reconstruction algorithm comprises a shift-and-add algorithm (p.144 “In the other standard linear reconstruction technique, shift-and-add, a pixel is shifted to the appropriate location and then added onto a subsampled image.”; p. 146 “Thus, interlacing is equivalent to Drizzle in the limit of pixfrac → 0.0, while shift-and-add is equivalent to pixfrac = 1.0.”) . It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bloomfield in view of Amodei to substitute the linear reconstruction algorithm with the shift-and-add algorithm of Fruchter because it is a well-known technique and would yield predictable results. Regarding claim 6, Bloomfield in view of Amodei and Fruchter teaches wherein the shift-and-add algorithm comprises a variable-pixel reconstruction algorithm with a fractional pixel overlap value of 1 (Fruchter: p.144 “In the other standard linear reconstruction technique, shift-and-add, a pixel is shifted to the appropriate location and then added onto a subsampled image.”; p. 146 “Thus, interlacing is equivalent to Drizzle in the limit of pixfrac → 0.0, while shift-and-add is equivalent to pixfrac = 1.0.”) . Regarding claim 10, Bloomfield in view of Amodei teaches The method of claim 9. Bloomfield in view of Amodei does not teach the method, wherein the linear reconstruction algorithm comprises an interlacing algorithm. Fruchter teaches an analogous analysis method, wherein the linear reconstruction algorithm (Abstract) comprises an interlacing algorithm (p.144 “In the lower right panel of Figure 1 we display an image made using one of the family of techniques we refer to as “linear reconstruction.” The most commonly used of these techniques are shift-and-add and interlacing. In interlacing, the pixels from the independent images are placed in alternating pixels on the output image according to the alignment of the pixel centers in the original images.”) . It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Bloomfield in view of Amodei to substitute the reconstruction algorithm with the interlacing algorithm of Fruchter because it is a well-known technique in the interpolation of data (e.g. between measured data points) and would yield predictable results. Regarding claim 11, Bloomfield in view of Amodei teaches The method of claim 9. Bloomfield in view of Amodei wherein the linear reconstruction algorithm comprises a variable-pixel reconstruction algorithm. Fruchter teaches an analogous analysis method, wherein the linear reconstruction algorithm comprises a variable-pixel reconstruction algorithm (Abstract, “The algorithm, known as Variable-Pixel Linear Reconstruction, or informally as ‘Drizzle’”) . It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Bloomfield in view of Amodei to substitute the linear reconstruction algorithm with the variable-pixel reconstruction algorithm of Fruchter because it is a well-known technique and would yield predictable results. Regarding claim 12, teaches The method of claim 9. Bloomfield in view of Amodei does not teach the method, wherein the linear reconstruction algorithm comprises a shift-and-add algorithm. Fruchter teaches an analogous analysis method, wherein the linear reconstruction algorithm comprises a shift-and-add algorithm (p.144 “In the other standard linear reconstruction technique, shift-and-add, a pixel is shifted to the appropriate location and then added onto a subsampled image.”; p. 146 “Thus, interlacing is equivalent to Drizzle in the limit of pixfrac → 0.0, while shift-and-add is equivalent to pixfrac = 1.0.”) . It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bloomfield in view of Amodei to substitute the linear reconstruction algorithm with the shift-and-add algorithm of Fruchter because it is a well-known technique and would yield predictable results. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BRIAN GEISS whose telephone number is (571)270-1248. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 7:30 am - 4:30 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Catherine Rastovski can be reached at (571) 270-0349. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /B.B.G./Examiner, Art Unit 2857 /Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/566,642 Page 2 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/566,642 Page 3 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/566,642 Page 4 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/566,642 Page 5 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/566,642 Page 6 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/566,642 Page 7 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/566,642 Page 8 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/566,642 Page 9 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/566,642 Page 10 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/566,642 Page 11 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/566,642 Page 12 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/566,642 Page 13 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/566,642 Page 14 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/566,642 Page 15 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/566,642 Page 16 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/566,642 Page 17 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/566,642 Page 18 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/566,642 Page 19 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/566,642 Page 20 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/566,642 Page 21 Art Unit: 2857