DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motohashi et al (US 2018/0190955).
Regarding claim 1, Motohashi teaches a battery pack (title) which comprises an anergy storage apparatus comprising an energy storage device 250 (batteries) comprising a case and an outer case body 240 comprising upper case 241 and lower case 243 in which the batteries are accommodated (Fig. 7). Restraining plate 220 is considered to constitute the instant claimed plate-shaped member aligned with the energy storage device in a first direction and disposed along the outer case, wherein the plate-shaped member protrusions can be seen (Fig. 7). While Motohashi fails to expressly teach that the encased batteries comprise attached case body and case lid body components, there does not appear to be any structural distinction other than nominal insomuch as the battery disclosed by Motohashi is ultimately fully encased, as would be accomplished with attached “body” and “lid.” Regardless, at least one component that would function as a “lid” is expected to be required in order to seal the case after placement of the battery cell active components.
The limitations of claim 2 are satisfied by the protrusion beads 222 of the restraining plate 220 (Fig. 7 and par. 74).
Regarding claim 3, Motohashi teaches a plurality of batteries 250 a-d aligned in a longitudinal direction of the case lid body in a third direction intersecting with the claimed first and second directions, and the restraining plate 220 includes a plurality of protrusion beads 222 aligned in the third direction (Fig. 7 and par. 74).
Regarding claim 4, Motohashi teaches that the restraining plate 220 is attached to an outer surface of the outer case body 240, specifically the upper case 241 (Fig. 7 and par. 62).
Regarding claim 5, Motohashi teaches that the restraining plate 220 is disposed in contact with the outer case body 240, specifically the upper case 241 (Fig. 7 and par. 62). As seen in Figure 7, when restraining plate 220 is disposed on upper case 241, a space will be formed between at least the beads on the surface of upper plate 241 and the lower surface of restraining plate 220.
Regarding claim 6, Motohashi teaches that the beads 248 of the upper case 241 improve the rigidity of the upper case 241 and the body 240 in the particular direction they are formed (par. 70) and that the beads 222 of the restraining plate 220 improve the rigidity of the restraining plate in the particular direction they are formed. Further, the direction of the beads 222 are not limited (par. 74). Absent a showing of unexpected results, the claimed configuration of protrusions is considered to be within the scope of the teachings of Motohashi, as Motohashi teaches that the beads function to add strength and support to the structure in any given direction in which they are placed.
Conclusion
/Colin W. Slifka/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732