DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by WO 21017016428.
WO teaches a use of a composition in preparation of a medicament for treating skin diseases, wherein the composition comprises an effective amount of extract of mangosteen rind, the extract of mangosteen rind is a water extract and/or an alcohol extract of mangosteen rind, the mangosteen rind is the outer rind and/or the inner rind of the mangosteen rind, the extract of mangosteen rind comprises α-mangostin and γ-mangostin, the composition is a parenteral preparation, the parenteral preparation is an external preparation, the skin diseases include, but are not limited to, psoriasis, psoriatic lesions, see claims 1-5, 8-10, description, paragraph 29.
Applicant argues that allegedly 1-8 % of the mangosteen fruit extract is not administered in WO. This is simply not the case or in the very least it would have been obvious to use such an amount since clearly WO does in fact use 20 mg/kg to 200 mg/kg and it is noted on page 9 that 0.5 % to 5% mangosteen creams are used. The animal test in Example 2 of WO clearly indicates that 1 time/1 day was administered for a week. Therefore, all of the limitations of the claims are indeed taught by WO.
Applicant alleges that “the relevant part” of a reference entitled “CBC Biotechnological & Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd., KARAC CREAM, Health Department Pharmaceutical Production License No. 049670 Certificate Information, September 18, 2018-September 18, 2028” in Applicant’s IDS is submitted but the entire disclosure needs to be properly translated into English. In any event, applicant argues that this allegedly shows that much more than 5-7 days is needed to achieve beneficial results but this is clearly not the case since WO teaches 7 days (one week) as noted above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 21017016428.
WO teaches a use of a composition in preparation of a medicament for treating skin diseases, wherein the composition comprises an effective amount of extract of mangosteen rind, the extract of mangosteen rind is a water extract and/or an alcohol extract of mangosteen rind, the mangosteen rind is the outer rind and/or the inner rind of the mangosteen rind, the extract of mangosteen rind comprises α-mangostin and γ-mangostin, the composition is a parenteral preparation, the parenteral preparation is an external preparation, the skin diseases include, but are not limited to, psoriasis, psoriatic lesions, see claims 1-5, 8-10, description, paragraph 29.
MPEP 2144.05, subsection II.
II. ROUTINE OPTIMIZATION
A. Optimization Within Prior Art Conditions or Through Routine Experimentation
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."). See also KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007) (identifying "the need for caution in granting a patent based on the combination of elements found in the prior art.").
B. There Must Be an Articulated Rationale Supporting the Rejection
In order to properly support a rejection on the basis that an invention is the result of "routine optimization", the examiner must make findings of relevant facts, and present the underpinning reasoning in sufficient detail. The articulated rationale must include an explanation of why it would have been routine optimization to arrive at the claimed invention and why a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to formulate the claimed range. See In re Stepan, 868 F.3d 1342, 1346, 123 USPQ2d 1838, 1841 (Fed. Cir. 2017). See also In re Van Os, 844 F.3d 1359,1361,121 USPQ2d 1209, 1211 (Fed. Cir. 2017 ("Absent some articulated rationale, a finding that a combination of prior art would have been ‘common sense’ or ‘intuitive’ is no different than merely stating the combination ‘would have been obvious.’"); Arendi S.A.R.L. v. Apple Inc., 832 F.3d 1355, 1362, 119 USPQ2d 1822 (Fed. Cir. 2016) ("[R]eferences to ‘common sense’ … cannot be used as a wholesale substitute for reasoned analysis and evidentiary support … .").
The Supreme Court has clarified that an "obvious to try" line of reasoning may properly support an obviousness rejection. In In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), the CCPA held that a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation, because "obvious to try" is not a valid rationale for an obviousness finding. However, in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007), the Supreme Court held that "obvious to try" was a valid rationale for an obviousness finding, for example, when there is a "design need" or "market demand" and there are a "finite number" of solutions. 550 U.S. at 421 ("The same constricted analysis led the Court of Appeals to conclude, in error, that a patent claim cannot be proved obvious merely by showing that the combination of elements was ‘[o]bvious to try.’ ... When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under §103."). Thus, after KSR, the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the only, motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process.
The amount of mangosteen fruit shell extract is clearly a result effective variable, thus making it obvious to use 1%-5 % of the mangosteen fruit shell extract especially when WO teaches that the effective dose of the mangosteen is from 20 mg/kg to 200 mg/kg clearly giving support and motivation to use at such low amounts.
Applicant argues that allegedly 1-8 % of the mangosteen fruit extract is not administered in WO. This is simply not the case or in the very least it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to use such an amount since clearly WO does in fact use 20 mg/kg to 200 mg/kg and it is noted on page 9 that 0.5 % to 5% mangosteen creams are used. The animal test in Example 2 of WO clearly indicates that 1 time/1 day was administered for a week. Therefore, all of the limitations of the claims are indeed taught by WO.
Applicant alleges that “the relevant part” of a reference entitled “CBC Biotechnological & Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd., KARAC CREAM, Health Department Pharmaceutical Production License No. 049670 Certificate Information, September 18, 2018-September 18, 2028” in Applicant’s IDS is submitted but the entire disclosure needs to be properly translated into English. In any event, applicant argues that this allegedly shows that much more than 5-7 days is needed to achieve beneficial results but this is clearly not the case since WO teaches 7 days (one week) as noted above.
MICHAEL V. MELLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1655
/MICHAEL V MELLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1655