DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, CLAIMS 16-29, in the reply filed on 09 March 2026 is acknowledged.
Group II, CLAIM 30, is herein withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
In compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a), the inventorship must be corrected upon the cancellation of any claims drawn to a non-elected invention if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by (i) an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name, and (ii) the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to for the following reasons.
Figures 7 and 8 include solid black shaded areas, which are not permitted. See 37 C.F.R. 1.84(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
CLAIM(S) 25 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maisch (US 5,493,977 A).
CLAIM 25 Maisch ‘977 (“Maisch”) shows a seed insertion device for placing seeds inside a growth substrate, wherein the seed insertion device comprises:
a tip (30) arranged to penetrate the growth substrate and to form a growth pocket inside the growth substrate;
a feed channel (72) into which the seeds are fed for feeding to the growth substrate, the feed channel having a feed head (18) adapted to be arranged inside the growth substrate such that the seeds are fed through the feed head to the growth pocket; and
an aperture (at 70; Fig. 8) provided at the feed head through which the seeds are fed from the feed channel (72) into the growth pocket of the growth substrate; and
CLAIM 26 wherein an insertion tube (66) forms the feed channel having the feed head (18), and the tip (30) is provided at the feed head of the feed channel such that the aperture (at 70) extends through the feed head at the tip.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
CLAIM(S) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maisch (US 5,493,977 A) in view of Nagy-Szakaly (US 4,843,982 A).
CLAIM 28 In the seed insertion device of Maisch, the tip (30) is provided at the feed head (18) of the feed channel such that the aperture (at 70, Fig. 8) extends through the feed head at the tip.
Maisch fails to teach a spreading insert. Nagy-Szakaly ‘982 (“Nagy-Szakaly”) shows a seed insertion device comprising a spreading insert (46) that forms part of a feed channel (Figs. 15 and 16). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the feed head (Maisch, 18) of the prior art seed insertion device such that it would have comprised a spreading insert (Nagy-Szakaly, 46). The motivation for making the modification would have been to include means for enlarging the diameter of the growth pocket, and to have done so with a reasonable expectation of success.
CLAIM(S) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maisch (US 5,493,977 A) in view of Fish, Jr. (US 2,065,678 A).
CLAIM 29 The seed insertion device of Maisch further comprises a seed tube (88) connected to the feed channel (72).
Maisch fails to teach a pressurized air source. Fish, Jr. ‘678 (“Fish”) discloses an insertion device useful for placing solid fertilizer particles in a substrate, wherein the device comprises a tube connected to a pressurized air source such that the tube is arranged to supply pressurized air together with solid particles (p.2, col. 1, ll. 35-47). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the seed tube (Maisch, 88) such that it would have been connected to a pressurized air source, as suggested by Fish. The motivation for making the modification would have been to have induced consistent seed flow, and to have done so with a reasonable expectation of success.
CLAIM(S) 16-19 and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maisch (US 5,493,977 A) in view of Chiu et al. (EP 3036989 A1).
CLAIMS 16, 22 All of the method steps recited therein are inherent to use of the seed insertion device of Maisch, as applied above to CLAIM 26, with the exception of the step of closing the growth pocket by elastic force. Chiu et al. ‘989 (“Chiu”) discloses an elastic growth substrate (100) useful for cultivating plants. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have use the seed insertion device of Maisch with the elastic growth substrate of Chiu. The motivation for making the modification would have been to have provided for germination of the seeds indoors, and to have done so with a reasonable expectation of success.
CLAIM 17 All of the method steps recited therein are taught by the combination of Maisch and Chiu.
CLAIM 18 All of the method steps recited therein are taught by the combination of Maisch and Chiu.
CLAIM 19 All of the method steps recited therein are taught by the combination of Maisch and Chiu. Additionally, Maisch teaches a pushing core (52) provided inside the insertion tube (66).
CLAIM 21 All of the method steps recited therein are taught by the combination of Maisch and Chiu.
CLAIM 23 All of the method steps recited therein are taught by the combination of Maisch and Chiu, with the exception of applying a pressing force. However, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the prior art method with the additional step of applying a pressing force to the growth substrate, since the examiner takes Official Notice of the practice, both manually and mechanically, for covering seeds positioned in a pocket. The motivation for making the modification would have been to have assisted the elastic force.
CLAIM(S) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maisch (US 5,493,977 A) in view of Chiu et al. (EP 3,036,989 A1), as applied to CLAIM 17 above, and further in view of Nagy-Szakaly (US 4,843,982 A).
CLAIM 20 The combination of Maisch and Chiu fails to teach a spreading insert. Nagy-Szakaly ‘982 (“Nagy-Szakaly”) shows a seed insertion device comprising a spreading insert (46) that forms part of a feed channel (Figs. 15 and 16). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the feed head (Maisch, 18) of the prior art seed insertion device such that it would have comprised a spreading insert (Nagy-Szakaly, 46). The motivation for making the modification would have been to include means for enlarging the diameter of the growth pocket, and to have done so with a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
CLAIMS 24 and 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TARA MAYO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/tm/
09 May 2026