DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zwartbol et al (EP0413274, cited on the 12/4/23 IDS).
Zwartbol, abstract, teaches an aqueous suspension comprising 8 to 28%, by weight of the total suspension, of water-soluble hydroxyethylcellulose dispersed in an aqueous solution comprising 20 to 35%, by weight of the total potassium carbonate and water, of potassium carbonate, 0.2 to 0.8%, by weight of the total suspension, of a wetting agent having a HLB of 6 to 9, and 0.08 to 0.6%, by weight of the total suspension, of a water-soluble or water-swellable thickener.
Zwartbol, paragraph 14, teaches the desired concentration of potassium carbonate in water varies with the hydroxyethylcellulose type and quantity.
Zwartbol, paragraph 16, teaches the thickener can be a xanthan gum which reads on a stabilizer as claimed in claim 1.
Zwartbol, paragraph 17, teaches the wetting agent can be sodium salt of polyacrylic acid which reads on a superplasticizer as claimed in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Zwartbol teaches hydroxyethylcellulose.
Regarding claim 3, Zwartbol, paragraph 12, teaches the polymers of this invention have a hydroxyethyl molar substitution (number of hydroxyethyl groups per anhydroglucose unit) of about 1.0 to about 4.2.
Regarding claims 5-6, the reference teaches xanthan gum.
Regarding claim 7, Zwartbol, abstract, teaches an aqueous suspension comprising 8 to 28%, by weight of the total suspension, of water-soluble hydroxyethylcellulose dispersed in an aqueous solution comprising 20 to 35%, by weight of the total potassium carbonate and water, of potassium carbonate, 0.2 to 0.8%, by weight of the total suspension, of a wetting agent having a HLB of 6 to 9, and 0.08 to 0.6%, by weight of the total suspension, of a water-soluble or water-swellable thickener.
Regarding claim 8, Zwartbol, paragraph 14, teaches the desired concentration of potassium carbonate in water varies with the hydroxyethylcellulose type and quantity.
Regarding claim 9, the reference composition is the same composition as claimed in claim 1 and therefore it would be expected that the composition as taught in the reference is stable for 30 days or more when left undisturbed on a level surface from 22-24oC and visually inspected for sedimentation or separation as claimed in claim 9.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Although the reference teaches an aqueous suspension comprising 8 to 28%, by weight of the total suspension, of water-soluble hydroxyethylcellulose, the reference does not teach a polycarboxylate ether as claimed in claim 4.
There is no motivation in the reference to add a polycarboxylate ether into the composition.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US20080017078 teaches a liquid admixture composition.
/STEFANIE J COHEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1732 9/23/26
/STEFANIE J COHEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1732 9/23/26