DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-7 are examined herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
Takanashi et al. (IDS; Virol Methods. 2008 Mar;148(1-2):1-8).
Regarding claim 1, Takanashi teaches an immunochromatographic method of testing stool samples for noroviruses (Title and Abstract). The reference teaches that a stool sample is diluted with water and mixed with a reaction buffer comprising 0.5% Tween 20 (pg. 3, col. 1, par. 2). Tween 20 is a water-soluble polymer of instant invention.
Regarding claim 2, Tween 20 is polyoxyethylenesorbitan monolaurate - a compound containing a polyoxyethylene moiety (pg. 3, col. 1, par. 2).
Regarding claim 4, the reaction buffer comprising 0.5% Tween 20 is an extraction liquid for the stool sample (pg. 3, col. 1, par. 2).
Regarding claim 6, the immunochromatographic test strip taught by Takanashi (Fig. 1 and pg. 3, col. 1, par. 2) comprises an anti-norovirus antibody – an immobilized polyclonal antibody applied on the test line (id.), and detects norovirus in the fecal sample (Title).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takanashi, as applied to claim 2 above, in view of Doerflinger et al. (mSphere. 2016 Oct 12;1(5): e00219-16), and as evidenced by Dow (Triton X-100 Surfactant Technical Data Sheet, pg.1).
The teachings of Takanashi have been set forth above.
Regarding claim 3, Takanashi fails to teach the compound containing a polyoxyethylene moiety is at least one selected from the group consisting of polyoxyethylene distyrenated phenyl ether, polyethylene glycol, polyoxyethylene lauryl ether, and octylphenol ethoxylate.
Regarding claim 3, Doerflinger teaches Development of a Nanobody-Based Lateral Flow Immunoassay for Detection of Human Norovirus (Title). Doerflinger also teaches polyoxyethylene moiety is octylphenol ethoxylate.
Specifically, Doerflinger teaches detection of noroviruses by immunochromatography using a mobile solvent comprising Triton X-100 (pg. 2, last par.). Triton X-100 is also known as octylphenol ethoxylate (Dow, 2026, pg. 1, Chemical Description) meeting the limitation of claim 3 reciting octylphenol ethoxylate.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Takanashi, by employing Triton X-100 surfactant as taught by Doerflinger, as an obvious matter of simple substitution of one known surfactant for another to obtain predictable results.
One having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the prior art references because both references teach detecting noroviruses in stool samples using immunochromatography, and Tween 20 and Triton X-100 are well-known surfactants, that can be used interchangeably.
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takanashi, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Daughtridge et al. (WO 2019075487).
The teachings of Takanashi have been set forth above.
Regarding claims 5 and 7, Takanashi fails to teach the water-soluble polymer is contained in a sample drop region of an immunochromatographic test piece and an immunochromatographic test piece for testing a fecal sample, the test piece comprising a water-soluble polymer in a sample drop region.
Regarding claims 5 and 7, Daughtridge teaches a lateral flow immunoassay for monitoring anti-retroviral treatment (Abstract). Daughtridge also teaches a water-soluble polymer is contained in a sample drop region of an immunochromatographic test piece and an immunochromatographic test piece comprising a water-soluble polymer in a sample drop region.
Specifically, Daughtridge teaches that sample pads of immunochromatographic test strips may be treated with surfactants, such as Tween 20 or Triton X-100 (pg. 67, lines 18-23).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Takanashi, by placing a water-soluble polymer in a sample drop region of an immunochromatographic test piece as taught by Daughtridge, in order to promote resolubilization of conjugate-pad constituents, and to block non-specific binding sites in other components of a lateral flow device (Daughtridge pg. 67, lines 20-21). One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a change because lateral flow assays require resolubilization of dried conjugate-pad constituents and benefit from blocking non-specific binding sites in other components of the lateral flow device. The use of such combination would have been desirable to those of ordinary skill in the art for the reasons mentioned above.
One having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the prior art references because both references teach lateral flow assay methods and strips comprising water-soluble polymer Tween 20.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER ALEXANDROVIC VOLKOV/Examiner, Art Unit 1677
/REBECCA M GIERE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1677