Status of Claims
Currently claims 1-3, 5-12 and 14-18 are pending, claims 4 and 13 have been canceled and claims 1, 5, 7, 14, and 16 have been amended.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Transmission assembly in claim 1.
Driving assembly in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG (CN 109819955B) in view of LI (CN115213032A).
With respect to claim 1, Zhang discloses an atomizer for aerial spraying (abstract), comprising a rotary cage atomizer (figure 1, having inner nozzle 11 rotating cage 12), a deflection mechanical arm (spray rod being mounted to 21, figure 1, page 8 paragraph);
wherein the rotary cage atomizer comprises a primary atomizing valve core (11), a secondary atomizing rotary cage (12), a brushless motor (dive motor of drive unit 1, being brushless, see last paragraph of page 7 of the attached translation), a first adapter (upper part of 19 below 1), and a paddle (4); the primary atomizing valve core (9) is arranged in the secondary atomizing rotary cage (as shown I figure 1), the paddle comprises a blade mounting base (base having 2 and 3) and a plurality of blades (see figure 1, there being multiple paddles/blades 4); the blade mounting base comprises a liquid pipeline (7), a side wall arranged on a periphery of the liquid pipeline (sidewall of 7), and a bottom wall for connecting the liquid pipeline and the side wall (as shown the bottom wall beneath 1, where the pipeline 7 protrudes down through, where the sidewall being that about 3 and2, has a bottom wall between the sidewall and the inner sidewall of 7); the side wall is movably covered with the first adapter (via the bolts 15, which if removed released the side wall that is attached to the first adapter (upper part of 19), and the first adapter is opposite to the bottom wall (as shown in figure 1); the first adapter is provided with a liquid inlet in communication with the liquid pipeline (being the liquid inlet about 17), the brushless motor sleeves the liquid pipeline (as shown in figure 1, where the brushless motor is shown sleeved about 7), and the plurality of blades are arranged on a periphery of the side wall in a circumferential direction of the side wall (as shown in figure 1); the secondary atomizing rotary cage is connected to the bottom wall (as shown in figure 1, connected via the sidewall), the first adapter is connected to the deflection mechanical arm (as shown in figure 1). Zhang fails to disclose a transmission assembly and a driving assembly, and the deflection mechanical arm is connected to the driving assembly via the transmission assembly, the deflection mechanical arm comprises a plurality of pairs of spherical gear assemblies arranged in sequence and a second adapter, the second adapter comprises a first sleeve, and a first bottom plate arranged on one side of the first sleeve, the first sleeve sleeves a convex spherical gear in one end pair of the plurality of pairs of spherical gear assemblies, and the first adapter is connected to the first bottom plate.
LI discloses, a deflection arm (figures 1 and 5, having the gears shown at 4-12, 4-13, and 4-14, being the arm between 4-9-1 and ending at 4-18) shown in figure 1 attached to a nozzle assembly at its end), a transmission assembly (transmission rod 4-10 and that of the bionic trunk transmission shown in figure 2), and a driving assembly (having linear motors 4-2). Where the motors transmit rotation to the gears which rotate and move the nozzle itself (abstract). LI discloses, page 4 paragraph 5, that utilizing such remote and robot control allows for a flexible spraying and improved efficiency of spraying work. Li further discloses the deflection mechanical arm comprises a plurality of pairs of spherical gear assemblies arranged in sequence (LI, figure 5, 4-12, 4-13, and 4-14) and a second adapter that comprises a first sleeve (4-18), and a first bottom plate arranged on one side of the first sleeve (taking one side of 4/21 that is connected to 4-18 as being a first plate located on one side of 18, where 4-21 has a middle section a section about 4-16 and two plates about 4-18, taking one of those two plates about 4-18 as the bottom plate), the first sleeve sleeves a convex spherical gear in one end pair of the plurality of pairs (as shown in figures 4 and 5, as it sleeves the end shaft of the gear) and the first adapter is connected to the first bottom plate (as shown in figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the deflection arm, transmission assembly, and driving assembly of LI into the system of Zhang, allowing for improved flexible spraying and spraying efficiency. Further noting that LI is an automated robotic spraying system, which would further automate a spraying system of Zhang to utilize sensors and a controllable deflection arm to move around and spray the desired work areas.
With respect to claim 2, Zhang as modified discloses the secondary atomizing rotary cage comprises a rotary cage body (being the body of the cage shown in figure 1) and a first connecting portion (where 12 connects to the body about spacer 6), an opening of the rotary cage body is covered with the first connecting portion (being covered by the spacer 6 at its bottom), and the first connecting portion is provided with a first via hole (the hole in the spacer that 7/11 extend through); the primary atomizing valve core comprises a valve core body (the body about valve 9) and a second connecting portion (where the valve body connects within 7); an opening of the valve core body is covered with the second connecting portion (as its connected at the bottom portion to 7), and the second connecting portion is provided with a second via hole (allowing the fluid from 7 to flow through the valve to the nozzle 11); the first connecting portion is provided with a first side and a second side opposite to each other (top and bottom side of spacer 6), the second connecting portion is arranged on the first side (as shown in figure 1), the bottom wall is arranged on the second side (as shown in figure 1), and the first via hole, the second via hole, the liquid pipeline and the liquid inlet are in communication with one another in sequence (as shown in figure 1, as fluid flows through the first hole, within the housing, then through the second hold within the fluid tube heading to valve 9).
With respect to claim 3, Zhang as modified discloses a projection area of the bottom wall (being the projection of the spacer 5 about the bottom wall) on the first connecting portion is less than an area of the first connecting portion (being that of the spacer about the bottom (as the interior spacer 6 is larger than that of 5).
With respect to claim 5, Zhan as modified discloses a case that the deflection mechanical arm comprises three pairs of spherical gear assemblies (as shown in figures 4 and 5 of LI), the deflection mechanical arm further comprises a primary holder (holder between 4-19), a secondary holder (4-20), a tertiary holder (4-21, being the middle and bottom part of 4-21, not the plate part of 4/21 that is then attached to 4-18 being taken as the first bottom plate), and a bottom hood (the hood abou4 4-9); the primary holder is connected to the bottom hood (as shown in figure 4, where 19 extends from the bottom hood, being the cylinder beneath it), the bottom hood is connected to a convex spherical gear in a first pair of spherical gear assembly (as shown in figure 5), the primary holder is connected to a concave spherical gear in a second pair of spherical gear assembly (as 4-19 attaches with that of 4-15), the secondary holder is connected to a concave spherical gear in the first pair of spherical gear assembly (as shown in figure 4) and a concave spherical gear in a third pair of spherical gear assembly (as shown in figure 4, where 4-20 connects the bottom of 4-14’s holder), and the tertiary holder is connected to a convex spherical gear in the third pair of spherical gear assembly (as shown in figure 4) and the concave spherical gear in the second pair of spherical gear assembly (as shown In figure 4).
With respect to claim 6, Zhang as modified discloses the first adapter comprises a cover body (being the end of 19 that covers the above elements), a first vertical portion extending to a circumferential side of the cover body (being the vertical portion of 19 adjacent the cover body), an inclined portion bent from the first vertical portion (the inclined portion of 19 shown in figure 1), and a second vertical portion extending from the inclined portion (being the vertical portion at the right of 19); the side wall is movably covered with the cover body (as shown in the above rejection of claim 1, by the removal of the bolts), the cover body is provided with the liquid inlet (as shown in figure 1), and the second vertical portion is connected to the convex spherical gear in the third pair of spherical gear assembly (as shown in the combination, where instead of the rod inserted to the vertical portion the arm of LI is, and thus the third pair of the gears and its housing is affixed to the nozzle arm of the noted vertical portion).
With respect to claim 8, Zhang discloses the driving assembly comprises a driving motor (motor 4-2 of Li; the rejection of this claim will be directed to the elements shown in LI), and a driving motor mounting base (Li, figure 2, the base 4-2 is shown mounted on as well as the base at the end where 4-4 then extends from); the transmission assembly comprises a worm wheel (the worm wheels shown at 4-11, being the screw 4-3 within the screw sleeve which becomes meshed together within that of 4-4 to 4-5), a first worm (a first worm of 4/3 and 11), a second worm (the noted second, as there is shown two), and a third adapter (the connecting piece within the middle sleeve 4-8); the driving motor is arranged on the driving motor mounting base (as shown in figure 2), the worm wheel is arranged on an output shaft of the driving motor (as shown in figure 2), the first worm and the second worm are meshed with the worm wheel (as they are both meshed within that of 4-5), the first worm penetrates through the driving motor mounting base and is movably connected to a periphery of the bottom hood (as shown in figures 2-3, where the first worm penetrates through the driving motor, and the rotation of it is movably connected to that of the bottom hood shown above it in figure 2 to impart motion); the second worm penetrates through the driving motor mounting base and is movably connected to the periphery of the bottom hood (as shown in figures 2-3, where the second worm penetrates through the driving motor, and the rotation of it is movably connected to that of the bottom hood shown above it in figure 2 to impart motion); the first worm and the second worm are arranged in parallel (as shown in figure 2); one end of the third adapter is movably connected to the convex spherical gear in the first pair of spherical gear assembly (as shown in figure 2, where the third adapter is what adapts the rotation of the two elements of 4-3 into the rotation going to the gear), and another end of the third adapter is movably connected to the driving motor mounting base (as shown in figures 2-3).
With respect to claim 9, Zhang as modified discloses the driving assembly further comprises a second sleeve (the sleeve of 4-5) and a second bottom plate (bottom plate that 4-5 is mounted to, shown in figure 2); the second sleeve is arranged on a periphery of the driving motor mounting base (as shown about its periphery in figure 2) via the second bottom plate (as shown in figure 2), each of the first worm and the second worm penetrates through the driving motor mounting base and the second bottom plate in sequence (as shown in figure 3, where they each penetrate through the second bottom plate in sequence (being parallel) both the bae at the one side and the second bottom plate in the other side), and the other end of the third adapter is movably connected to the second sleeve (as the second sleeve is sleeved about and connected with the third adapter, see figures 2 and 3).
Claim(s) 10-15 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang and Li as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Grim (U.S. 2018/0319500).
With respect to claim 10, Zhang as modified discloses the atomizer for aerial spraying according to any one of claims claim 1, but fails to disclose comprising: acquiring an ambient wind speed and a wind direction; in a case that the ambient wind speed is greater than a preset wind speed, adjusting an orientation of the rotary cage atomizer by a deflection mechanical arm, making each blade perpendicular to the wind direction; and in a case that the ambient wind speed is less than the preset wind speed, adjusting the orientation of the rotary cage atomizer by the deflection mechanical arm, enabling each blade parallel to the wind direction, and increasing a rotation speed of the brushless motor. Zhang does disclose making each blade perpendicular with respect to its body (page 7 paragraphs 5-9) and adjusting the orientation of the blades as well as control of the motor itself with the blades to improve the utilization rate of the wind energy.
Grim, paragraph 0074, discloses receiving data such as wind speed and wind direction as well as making adjustments based on that data to generate the desired spray.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the teachings of Grim into that of Zhang, allowing the wind speed and wind direction to be used to make adjustments to the system, such as to improve the desired spray. Furthermore, adjusting the angles of the wings is already being done to utilize wind energy in Zhang, further information such as the speed and direction of the wind would be obvious to incorporate to improve the utilization rate of wind energy already happening in Zhang by utilizing the movement of their system (and thus deflection arm) as well as changing the angle of the blades already being done in Zhang.
With respect to claim 11, Zhang as modified discloses the secondary atomizing rotary cage comprises a rotary cage body (being the body of the cage shown in figure 1) and a first connecting portion (where 12 connects to the body about spacer 6), an opening of the rotary cage body is covered with the first connecting portion (being covered by the spacer 6 at its bottom), and the first connecting portion is provided with a first via hole (the hole in the spacer that 7/11 extend through); the primary atomizing valve core comprises a valve core body (the body about valve 9) and a second connecting portion (where the valve body connects within 7); an opening of the valve core body is covered with the second connecting portion (as its connected at the bottom portion to 7), and the second connecting portion is provided with a second via hole (allowing the fluid from 7 to flow through the valve to the nozzle 11); the first connecting portion is provided with a first side and a second side opposite to each other (top and bottom side of spacer 6), the second connecting portion is arranged on the first side (as shown in figure 1), the bottom wall is arranged on the second side (as shown in figure 1), and the first via hole, the second via hole, the liquid pipeline and the liquid inlet are in communication with one another in sequence (as shown in figure 1, as fluid flows through the first hole, within the housing, then through the second hold within the fluid tube heading to valve 9).
With respect to claim 12, Zhang as modified discloses a projection area of the bottom wall (being the projection of the spacer 5 about the bottom wall) on the first connecting portion is less than an area of the first connecting portion (being that of the spacer about the bottom (as the interior spacer 6 is larger than that of 5).
With respect to claim 14, Zhan as modified discloses the deflection mechanical arm comprises three pairs of spherical gear assemblies (as shown in figures 4 and 5 of LI), the deflection mechanical arm further comprises a primary holder (holder between 4-19), a secondary holder (4-20), a tertiary holder (4-21), and a bottom hood (the hood abou4 4-9); the primary holder is connected to the bottom hood (as shown in figure 4, where 19 extends from the bottom hood, being the cylinder beneath it), the bottom hood is connected to a convex spherical gear in a first pair of spherical gear assembly (as shown in figure 5), the primary holder is connected to a concave spherical gear in a second pair of spherical gear assembly (as 4-19 attaches with that of 4-15), the secondary holder is connected to a concave spherical gear in the first pair of spherical gear assembly (as shown in figure 4) and a concave spherical gear in a third pair of spherical gear assembly (as shown in figure 4, where 4-20 connects the bottom of 4-14’s holder), and the tertiary holder is connected to a convex spherical gear in the third pair of spherical gear assembly (as shown in figure 4) and the concave spherical gear in the second pair of spherical gear assembly (as shown In figure 4).
With respect to claim 15, Zhang as modified discloses the first adapter comprises a cover body (being the end of 19 that covers the above elements), a first vertical portion extending to a circumferential side of the cover body (being the vertical portion of 19 adjacent the cover body), an inclined portion bent from the first vertical portion (the inclined portion of 19 shown in figure 1), and a second vertical portion extending from the inclined portion (being the vertical portion at the right of 19); the side wall is movably covered with the cover body (as shown in the above rejection of claim 1, by the removal of the bolts), the cover body is provided with the liquid inlet (as shown in figure 1), and the second vertical portion is connected to the convex spherical gear in the third pair of spherical gear assembly (as shown in the combination, where instead of the rod inserted to the vertical portion the arm of LI is, and thus the third pair of the gears and its housing is affixed to the nozzle arm of the noted vertical portion).
With respect to claim 17, Zhang discloses the driving assembly comprises a driving motor (motor 4-2 of Li; the rejection of this claim will be directed to the elements shown in LI), and a driving motor mounting base (Li, figure 2, the base 4-2 is shown mounted on as well as the base at the end where 4-4 then extends from); the transmission assembly comprises a worm wheel (the worm wheels shown at 4-11, being the screw 4-3 within the screw sleeve which becomes meshed together within that of 4-4 to 4-5), a first worm (a first worm of 4/3 and 11), a second worm (the noted second, as there is shown two), and a third adapter (the connecting piece within the middle sleeve 4-8); the driving motor is arranged on the driving motor mounting base (as shown in figure 2), the worm wheel is arranged on an output shaft of the driving motor (as shown in figure 2), the first worm and the second worm are meshed with the worm wheel (as they are both meshed within that of 4-5), the first worm penetrates through the driving motor mounting base and is movably connected to a periphery of the bottom hood (as shown in figures 2-3, where the first worm penetrates through the driving motor, and the rotation of it is movably connected to that of the bottom hood shown above it in figure 2 to impart motion); the second worm penetrates through the driving motor mounting base and is movably connected to the periphery of the bottom hood (as shown in figures 2-3, where the second worm penetrates through the driving motor, and the rotation of it is movably connected to that of the bottom hood shown above it in figure 2 to impart motion); the first worm and the second worm are arranged in parallel (as shown in figure 2); one end of the third adapter is movably connected to the convex spherical gear in the first pair of spherical gear assembly (as shown in figure 2, where the third adapter is what adapts the rotation of the two elements of 4-3 into the rotation going to the gear), and another end of the third adapter is movably connected to the driving motor mounting base (as shown in figures 2-3).
With respect to claim 18, Zhang as modified discloses the driving assembly further comprises a second sleeve (the sleeve of 4-5) and a second bottom plate (bottom plate that 4-5 is mounted to, shown in figure 2); the second sleeve is arranged on a periphery of the driving motor mounting base (as shown about its periphery in figure 2) via the second bottom plate (as shown in figure 2), each of the first worm and the second worm penetrates through the driving motor mounting base and the second bottom plate in sequence (as shown in figure 3, where they each penetrate through the second bottom plate in sequence (being parallel) both the bae at the one side and the second bottom plate in the other side), and the other end of the third adapter is movably connected to the second sleeve (as the second sleeve is sleeved about and connected with the third adapter, see figures 2 and 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claims 7 and 16, the prior art fails to disclose “the first sleeve sleeves the convex spherical gear in the third pair of spherical gear assembly, and the second vertical portion is connected to the first bottom plate” as it further modifies the structural elements of the deflection mechanical arm in preceding claims.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
The Amendment filed (06/23/2026) has been entered. Currently claims 1-3, 5-12 and 14-18 are pending, claims 4 and 13 have been canceled and claims 1, 5, 7, 14, and 16 have been amended. Applicants amendments to the claims has failed to overcome each and every rejection previously set forth in the Office Action dated (03/30/2026).Applicant's arguments filed 06/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues the 112(f) interpretation should be given their broadest reasonable interpretation, examiner agrees, being given the broadest interpretation that they are what the specification discloses them being and their “equivalents” which the examiner notes is in itself their broadest reasonable “equivalents.”
Applicant argues that the amendments would be allowable, examiner respectfully disagrees, as the sleeve and bottom plate being part of the second adapter reads on the prior art (see above rejection). The allowable subject matter indicated all the limitations of preceding claims. It is noted that the sleeve itself of applicant (261) and that of Li, both sleeve the gear such that they sleeve the shaft of the gear (and not the head of the gear itself). Furthermore, it could be understood that the first plate is that of 19 of Zhang itself, which would be what attaches to that end of the system of Li when Li is used as the deflection mechanical arm (i.e. the end of 19 forms the first plate that Li itself attaches to).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH A GREENLUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752