DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on July 21, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-35 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Negahi Shirazi ("Polymer Crosslinking: a new Strategy to Enhance Mechanical Properties and Structural Stability of Bioactive Glasses", The University of Sydney, March 2015) in view of Mariappan et al (Influence of silver on the structure, dielectric and antibacterial effect of silver doped bioglass-ceramic nanoparticles, 2017, Ceramics International, Vol. 43, p.2196-220).
Regarding Claims 1-2: Negahi Shirazi teaches a biomaterial containing gelatin methacryloyl (GelMA) and bioactive glass, wherein the bioactive glass is chemically attached to the GelMA by way of a covalent bond (p.vi, Abstract). Negahi Shirazi further teaches the incorporation of ionic silver into ceramic materials (p.20, para. 3) but does not specifically teach a silver-containing bioactive glass.
Mariappan teaches a silver-containing bioglass (p.2196, Abstract), wherein the incorporation of silver imparts the bioactive glass with antibacterial properties (p.2200, col. 1). Mariappan and Negahi Shirazi are analogous art because they are directed toward the same field of endeavor, namely bioactive glasses for use in bone tissue healing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate silver into the bioactive glass taught by Negahi Shirazi in order to impart it with antibacterial properties and prevent infection.
Regarding Claims 3-4: Negahi Shirazi teaches a (3-glycidyloxypropyl)trimethoxysilane (GPTMS) crosslinker on the GelMA (p.41, Section 3.7), wherein the GPTMA creates a covalent bridge between the GelMA and the bioactive glass (p.63, para. 2).
Regarding Claim 5: Negahi Shirazi teaches that silicon is the essential component of bioactive glass and that other ionic components, such as calcium and phosphorus, may be incorporated (p.21, para. 1). However, Negahi Shirazi does not specifically teach that the bioactive glass comprises oxides of silicon, calcium, and phosphorus.
Mariappan teaches a bioglass comprising oxides of silicon, calcium, and phosphorus (p.2197, Section 2), wherein said oxides facilitate the formation of hydroxyapatite, which allows the bioactive glass to bond with living hard tissue/bone (p.2201, col. 1, para. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate oxides of silicon, calcium, and phosphorus into the bioactive glass of Negahi Shirazi in order to form a hydroxyapatite layer and allow for bonding of the bioactive glass to hard tissue.
Regarding Claim 7: Mariappan teaches silver oxide as the silver source in the bioactive glass (p.2197, Section 2).
Regarding Claim 8: Negahi Shirazi teaches that the composition is dissolved in an aqueous solvent (p.23, Section 2.5.1; p.41, Section 3.7, PBS solution).
Regarding Claim 9: Negahi Shirazi teaches a photoinitiator (p.41, Section 3.7).
Regarding Claim 10: Negahi Shirazi teaches that the composition contains a plurality of cells (p.46, Section 3.15.1, cell seeding).
Regarding Claims 11-12: Negahi Shirazi teaches cell-derived products such as the nuclei of dead cells (p.46, Section 3.15.2).
Regarding Claim 13: Negahi Shirazi teaches growth factors (p.19, para. 1), and pharmaceutically active proteins (p.100, para. 1).
Regarding Claim 14: Negahi Shirazi teaches imaging agents such as 4' 6-diamidino-2-phenylindole (p.46, Section 3.15.2).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Negahi Shirazi ("Polymer Crosslinking: a new Strategy to Enhance Mechanical Properties and Structural Stability of Bioactive Glasses", The University of Sydney, March 2015) in view of Mariappan et al (Influence of silver on the structure, dielectric and antibacterial effect of silver doped bioglass-ceramic nanoparticles, 2017, Ceramics International, Vol. 43, p.2196-220) and Chen et al (A new sol-gel process for producing Na2O-containing bioactive glass ceramics, 2010, Acta Biomaterialia, Vol. 6, p.4143-4153).
Negahi Shirazi and Mariappan teach the limitations of claim 5, as set forth above. However, Negahi Shirazi and Mariappan are silent to the bioactive glass containing oxides of sodium, potassium, or aluminum.
Chen teaches a bioactive glass containing sodium oxide (p.4143, Abstract), wherein the Na2O-containing bioglass displayed an optimal combination of mechanical properties and biodegradability compared to a glass not containing Na2O (p.4152, Conclusions). Chen and Negahi Shirazi are analogous art because they are directed toward the same field of endeavor, namely bioactive glass compositions for bone repair. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate sodium oxide into the bioactive glass of Negahi Shirazi in order to improve the mechanical strength and biodegradability of the bioactive glass.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Negahi Shirazi ("Polymer Crosslinking: a new Strategy to Enhance Mechanical Properties and Structural Stability of Bioactive Glasses", The University of Sydney, March 2015) in view of Mariappan et al (Influence of silver on the structure, dielectric and antibacterial effect of silver doped bioglass-ceramic nanoparticles, 2017, Ceramics International, Vol. 43, p.2196-220).
Negahi Shirazi teaches a biomaterial containing a methacrylated polymer (GelMA) and bioactive glass, wherein the bioactive glass is chemically attached to the GelMA (p.vi, Abstract). Negahi Shirazi further teaches the incorporation of ionic silver into ceramic materials (p.20, para. 3) but does not specifically teach a silver-containing bioactive glass.
Mariappan teaches a silver-containing bioglass (p.2196, Abstract), It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate silver into the bioactive glass taught by Negahi Shirazi in order to impart it with antibacterial properties and prevent infection.
Correspondence
/C.N.I./Examiner, Art Unit 1767
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767