Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 8/18/26 is acknowledged. Because Applicant has amended all claims to depend from claim 1, all claims will be examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the feeding control command.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites “feeder unit for feeding…according to whether to interlock with the master driving unit or not interlock with the master driving unit….” Claim 3 recites “driving units…being interlocked with each other by a gear,” and claim 5 recites “interlocking operation of one motor and one gear.” Applicant does not define the word “interlock” in the specification, and thus the dictionary definition is one of: “to become locked together or interconnected,” or “ to lock together” or “to connect so that the motion or operation of any part is constrained by another.” [See Merriam-Webster.com, accessed 9/3/26]. However, it is not clear which, if any, of these definitions apply to the current situation. See Annotated Fig. 1 below. The master driving unit and feeder unit are shown as being spaced apart from one another by connection support unit 20, so the feeder unit is “separated” from the master driving unit [Par. 10]. It is unclear how they can be interlocked according to one of the above definitions. Instead, in Par. 64, the specification describes an “interworking operation mode” or “interoperation mode” and “non-interoperation (single driving) mode” in which the feeder unit is driven alone. Based on the Examiner’s best understanding of the application, it is believed that “interlocking” is used here to mean something closer to “interoperation” or “cooperation,” that is, that the master driving and feeder units can either operate cooperatively or not, the latter being a case wherein the feeder unit operates on its own. Applicant is requested to further clarify the usage of the term in the reply to this Action.
Claim 2 recites “the connection support unit.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites “the driving shafts.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 4 and 6 recite ”the roller driving shaft.” However, a plurality of roller driving shafts were recited, so it is unclear to which this refers.
Claims 4 and 6 recites “the driving shaft.” However, a plurality of driving shafts were recited, so it is unclear to which this refers.
Claim 6 recites “the roller rotation driving unit.” However, a plurality of these were recited so it is unclear to which this refers.
Claim 6 recites “the driving shaft of the roller rotation driving unit.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites “the driving shaft of the roller horizontal movement driving unit.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites “the driving shaft of the feeder driving unit” and “the coupling shaft.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites “the plurality of rollers of the roller module unit.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites “the plurality of roller rotation shafts.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 25 has been amended to recite “The apparatus for preventing buckling of a flexible surgical instrument of claim 15,” without any recited limitations. This renders the claim indefinite. In the interest of compact prosecution, the examiner assumes that this claim was intended to read, “The apparatus for preventing buckling of a flexible surgical instrument of claim 15, wherein a restraint disk is formed on one side of the first and second coupling disk units in a circumferential direction, and a restraint disk insertion groove is formed on the other side in the circumferential direction,” as previously recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagano et al. [2011/0028941 A1, hereinafter “Nagano”]
Re. claim 1, as best understood, Nagano discloses an apparatus (“for preventing buckling of a flexible surgical instrument” comprises the intended use of the device, not given further patentable weight), the apparatus comprising:
a master driving unit [20, Fig. 1] for receiving a driving command from a user [Par. 0088]; and
a feeder unit [51] for feeding surgical instruments according to whether to interlock with the master driving unit or not interlock with the master driving unit [Par. 0150 discloses both cooperating and independent movement, see 112(b) above], and feeding the surgical instruments supplied from the master driving unit so as to prevent the surgical instruments from buckling by means of the feeding control command [Par. 0150. Note that this is the intended use of the device. The movement described in Par. 0150 indicates that this device is capable of such use].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagano in view of Stahler et al. US 2012/0071895 A1 [hereinafter “Stahler”].
Re. Claim 2, Nagano discloses: The apparatus for preventing buckling of a flexible surgical instrument of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the feeder unit [10] includes a plurality of rollers [121,122, Fig. 3] distance and parallel to each other on the plurality of roller driving shafts [Fig. 3], and
the plurality of rollers are disposed near an affected area [Fig. 1] to prevent buckling [“to prevent buckling…” is the intended use of the above limitations] of the surgical instrument by translating
Nagano fails to teach the connection support mechanically connecting the master driving and feeder units, with the roller spaced apart from the master driving unit by a predetermined distance. However, Stahler teaches, in an apparatus for preventing buckling of a flexible surgical instrument [Fig. 53A], the apparatus comprising a feeder unit [184]: a connection support [500a, Fig. 53A] mechanically connecting and supporting a first driving unit [182] and the feeder unit [184, with the feeder unit having rollers disposed at an end of the connection support unit spaced apart from the master driving unit by a predetermined distance [the starting distance being the predetermined distance, the compressed length of the anti buckling device] and parallel to each other on the plurality of rotating shafts [It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Nagano by adding a connection support mechanically connecting and supporting the master driving unit and the feeder unit, as taught by Stahler, in order to allow for an adjustable connection which further limits buckling [Par. 0476].
Nagano fails to teach the plurality of rollers rotating the surgical instrument. However, Stahler further teaches, the plurality of rollers to prevent buckling of the surgical instrument by translating and rotating the surgical instrument [Fig. 79A-B, 1124 and 1104, Pars. 0542 and 0544]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Nagano by configuring the rollers to rotate the surgical instrument, as taght by Stahler, in order to navigate the instrument to tortuous anatomy [Stahler Par. 0540]
Regarding the feeder unit includes a plurality of rollers disposed at one end of the connection support, where the rollers are disposed near the affected area, given the above teachings of Nagano and Stahler, one of ordinary skill would reasonably be apprised of the benefits as claimed.
Re. Claim 3, as best understood, Nagano discloses: The apparatus for preventing buckling of a flexible surgical instrument of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of roller driving shafts arranged in parallel to each other [the shafts on which rollers 121,122, are mounted, Fig. 3]; and
Nagano fails to teach a plurality of roller rotation driving units, the gear, and the roller horizontal movement driving unit.
Stahler teaches, in a feeder unit [Figs 79A-B] having a plurality of roller driving shafts arranged in parallel to each other[Fig. 79C], a plurality of roller rotation driving units [1102,1122] to translate the surgical instrument by rotating the plurality of driving shafts in different directions [Par. 0548] while being interlocked with each other by a gear [1134,1135].
Stahler further teaches a roller horizontal movement driving unit [1108,1128] to generate driving force to horizontally move the plurality of roller driving shafts in different directions [Fig. 80B] and transfer the driving force to the driving shafts to rotate the surgical instrument [Par. 0551: “leadscrew actuators 1108, 1128 may function in a similar manner but alternatively cause one roller to translate upwards while the other roller translates downwards at a substantially similar rate. This motion will drive the guide wire 1060 in a roll or torque motion.” Note that “horizontal” has not been limited so it in this case, the “up-down” direction of Stahler is assigned to the horizontal direction, which is a matter of preference].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Nagano by adding, to the feeder unit, a plurality of roller driving units interlocked by a gear, and a roller horizontal movement driving unit to generate driving force to horizontally move the plurality of roller driving shafts in different directions and transfer the driving force to the driving shafts to rotate the surgical instrument, as taught by Stahler in order to robotically control the feeding of the flexible surgical instrument in terms of both insertion and retraction and roll/twist [Stahler Par. 0543].
Re. claim 4, as best understood, Stahler further teaches a coupling module unit [see Annotated Fig. 81] for coupling the roller driving shaft and the driving shaft to each other to able to be attached to and detached from each other in a horizontal direction to prevent mechanical restraint. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Nagano by configuring the above shafts to be connected by a coupling module unit as taught by Stahler in order to allow the components to be separated, such as for replacement. See MPEP 2144.04.V.C.
Re. claim 5, Stahler further teaches wherein the plurality of roller rotation driving units rotate the plurality of roller driving shafts in different directions [Fig. 79D] by interlocking operation of one motor [Par. 0549] and one gear [1135]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Nagano such that the driving units rotate the roller driving shafts in different directions by interlocking operation of one motor and one gear because this amounts to a simple substitution of one driving apparatus for another known in the art with predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Due to the 112(b) rejections above, the examiner is unable to determine allowability of the claims not rejected over the prior art. However, it is likely that claims 6, 8, 9, 21 contain allowable subject matter, as well as potentially other dependent claims, once appropriate corrections are made.
Conclusion
/ERIN MCGRATH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771