DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipate by Nordlund et al. (Nature communications, published 2 July 2014, pp. 1-8, disclosed by applicant).
Nordlund et al. disclose a first vesicle containing a SMAP-25/syntaxin on its surface and carrying ATP synthase and a second vesicle containing synaptobrevin on its surface and carrying ubiquinol bo3 oxidase. Nordlund et al. disclose both peptides specifically bind together facilitating fusion of both vesicles resulting in formation of a nano-vesicle reactor capable of producing ATP (p. 2, column 2 and Fig. 1). Nordlund et al. discloses extracellular vesicles and the first and second vesicle carry different enzymes; wherein an average diameter of 30-800nm. Nordlund et al. disclose a method wherein the vesicles are prepared and mixed to initiate fusion (p. 2, right column, 3rd and 4th paragraph; Fig.1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nordlund et al. (Nature communications, published 2 July 2014, pp. 1-8, disclosed by applicant) in view of Voskuhl et al. (Chem. Soc. Rev., 2009, Vo. 38, pp. 495-505, disclosed by applicant).
Nordlund et al. disclose a first vesicle containing a SMAP-25/syntaxin on its surface and carrying ATP synthase and a second vesicle containing synaptobrevin on its surface and carrying ubiquinol bo3 oxidase. Nordlund et al. disclose both peptides specifically bind together facilitating fusion of both vesicles resulting in formation of a nano-vesicle reactor capable of producing ATP (p. 2, column 2 and Fig. 1). Nordlund et al. discloses extracellular vesicles and the first and second vesicle carry different enzymes; wherein an average diameter of 30-800nm. Nordlund et al. disclose a method wherein the vesicles are prepared and mixed to initiate fusion (p. 2, right column, 3rd and 4th paragraph; Fig.1).
Nordlund et al. differs from the instant claims the claimed ligand systems.
Voskuhl et al. disclose aggregation and fusion of vesicles induced by coordination of metals to membrane embedded ligands including receptors on the surface thereof. Voskuhl et al. disclose Fe2+ binds to amphiphilic terpyridines, EU3+ binds to amphiphilic diketones, and Ni2+ and Co2+ bind to amphiphilic dipyrdines (p. 500, Fig.5). Voskuhl et al. disclose representation of vesicle fusion (p. 498, Fig.2). Voskuhl et al. disclose ligands which appear to meet the limitation of bonding compound of the instant claims (p. 499, Fig.3). Voskuhl et al. disclose the average diameter of the vesicles is about 150 nm with a membrane thickness of 4-5 nm (p. 501, paragraph 3).
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions, each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose. The idea for combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. See MPEP 2144.06. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have combined the vesicle formulation of the references to formulate the nan-vesicle reactor of the instant claims.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have varied the proteins of the vesicles motivated by the function of the proteins needed by the vesicle.
Conclusion
/NANNETTE HOLLOMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612