DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed10/23/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 4 under 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Suzuki US 20090164078 A1 in view of Abe US 2009/0038866 A1.
Applicant’s other arguments are not persuasive and the citations have been expanded to address Applicant’s arguments.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitation “arithmetic unit”, “limiting unit” and “controlling unit” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “unit” coupled with functional language the preceding descriptive verb without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim(s) 1-6 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: The units are disclosed as being a part of the ECU via figure 1.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Suzuki US 20160221446 A1.
As to claim 1, Suzuki discloses a vehicle control device that controls a slipping state of a wheel mounted on a vehicle, the vehicle control device comprising [Suzuki: Fig. 4, 5, 8]:
an arithmetic unit [Suzuki: #513 and #517] that calculates a target slip ratio serving as a target value of a slip ratio of the wheel;
a limiting unit [Suzuki: #516 and #518] that sets an upper limit value of the target slip ratio, the upper limit value being based on at least a vehicle velocity of the vehicle [Suzuki: Fig. 9], and limits the target slip ratio calculated by the arithmetic unit to a value equal to or less than the upper limit value; and
a controlling unit [Suzuki: #519] that controls driving torque of the vehicle such that a wheel velocity that achieves the target slip ratio limited by the limiting unit is obtained,
wherein the arithmetic unit calculates the target slip ratio based on a demanded driving force and an estimated driving force [Suzuki: Fig. 8 and Fig. 12 #513 and #516 demanded driving force is TDRV and VC is the estimated driving force/calculated drive wheel speeds. #517 changes the limits 0068 and receives inputs from both TDRV (via #516) and VC (via #513, #514, #515, #516)].
As to claim 2, Suzuki discloses wherein the limiting unit limits the upper limit value according to an amount of operation by a driver of the vehicle, a vehicle state [Suzuki: 0045, 0054-0055 acceleration and steering angel], or a road surface state.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki US 20090164078 A1 in view of Abe US 2009/0038866 A1.
As to claim 4, Suzuki discloses wherein the vehicle comprises a differential mechanism [Suzuki: #3] that applies a torque difference to left [Suzuki: FL] and right [Suzuki: FR]
the vehicle control device controls the slip states of the left and right wheels independently of each other by controlling operating states of the electric motors [Suzuki: 0081 occurs in a mu-jump], and
the limiting unit sets, based on a rotational angular velocity of the electric motors, respective upper limit values of the target slip ratios of the left and right wheels [Suzuki: 0081, 0085 occurs in a mu-jump].
Suzuki discloses the control aspects but does not disclose there being two electric motors. However, Abe discloses the vehicle comprises a differential mechanism [Abe: Fig. 2] that applies a torque difference to left [Abe: Fig. 2 WRL] and right [Abe: Fig. 2 WRR] wheels and a pair of electric motors [Abe: Fig. 2 #10, #11] coupled to the differential mechanism [Abe: Fig. 2]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the physical structure of Suzuki to have two motors as disclosed in Abe as it merely uses a known device (Abe) in a known way (Suzuki) with predictable results and a good likelihood of success for the benefit of applying the control structure to more physical configurations.
Claim 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki US 20090164078 A1 in view of OUE US 20090164078 A1.
As to claim 5, Suzuki does not explicitly disclose the mapping of limits. However, OUE discloses wherein the limiting unit has a map that defines a relationship between the vehicle velocity and the upper limit value [OUE: Fig. 6a-6b, with 7 OUE’s Target slip amount is treated as Applicant’s limit. The slope from t1 to t2 and from t2 to t3 of total target slip of Fig. 7 when used with the relationship from Fi.6B and 6A],
the map has a first vehicle velocity region in which the upper limit value increases with increase in the vehicle velocity and a second vehicle velocity region which is on a higher velocity side than the first vehicle velocity region and in which the upper limit value decreases with increase in the vehicle velocity [OUE: Fig. 6a-6b, with 7 OUE’s Target slip amount is treated as Applicant’s limit. The slope from t1 to t2 and from t2 to t3 of total target slip of Fig. 7 when used with the relationship from Fi.6B and 6A],
an absolute value of an ascent gradient of the upper limit value with respect to the vehicle velocity in the first vehicle velocity region is larger than an absolute value of a descent gradient of the upper limit value with respect to the vehicle velocity in the second vehicle velocity region [OUE: Fig. 6a-6b, with 7 OUE’s Target slip amount is treated as Applicant’s limit. The slope from t1 to t2 and from t2 to t3 of total target slip of Fig. 7 when used with the relationship from Fi.6B and 6A, The slope from t1 to t2 is greater than the slope from t2 to t3 of c]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the slip control of Suzuki to have the limit mapping of OUE as they are in similar fields of invention merely use known device in a known way with predictable results with a good likelihood of success for the benefit of smoother control.
As to claim 6, Suzuki does not explicitly disclose the mapping of limits. However, OUE discloses wherein the map further has a third vehicle velocity region which is on a lower velocity side than the first vehicle velocity region and in which the upper limit value is set to a first predetermined value irrespective of a largeness of the vehicle velocity and a fourth vehicle velocity region which is on a higher velocity side than the second vehicle velocity region and in which the upper limit value is set to a second predetermined value irrespective of a largeness of the vehicle velocity[OUE: Fig. 7 graph part c when viewed with the lines associated with speed the front tail and back tail of c (from y-axis to t1 and from t3 to the end have the flat c that is irrespective of speed.], and
the first predetermined value is smaller than the second predetermined value [OUE: Fig. 7 graph part c when viewed with the lines associated with speed]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the slip control of Suzuki to have the limit mapping of OUE as they are in similar fields of invention merely use known device in a known way with predictable results with a good likelihood of success for the benefit of smoother control.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 8886435 B2 A lock-up device supplies hydraulic pressure to a lock-up clutch when lock-up capacity becomes insufficient with increasing accelerator operation amount during slip control. The lock-up device (1) sets a hydraulic unit pressure command value corresponding to drive source torque so rotational speed difference becomes target slip speed when a variation in accelerator operation amount is in a predefined range, and deriving an estimated drive source output torque corresponding to the accelerator operation amount to set the pressure command value corresponding to the estimated drive source torque so the rotational speed difference becomes target slip speed when accelerator operation amount variation exceeds the range's upper limit, and (2) controls the hydraulic unit to supply hydraulic pressure corresponding to hydraulic pressure command value to the lock-up clutch.
The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record in the body of this action for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. Applicant should consider the entire prior art as applicable as to the limitations of the claims. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the response, to consider fully the entire references as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Inquiry
/FREDERICK M BRUSHABER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665