DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ulber et al. (US 2019/0275494).
Regarding claim 1, the reference Ulber et al. discloses a catalytic reactor comprising:
a stack of catalytically active sheets (51) (see paras. [0011]; [0013]; [0070]; Figs. 1, 4, 5);
wherein the catalytically active sheets (51) are stacked in an axial direction (see paras. [0070]; [0073]; Figs. 1, 4, 5);
wherein each of the catalytically active sheets (51) includes a central opening (52) and at least some of the catalytically active sheets include an axially extending flange (54) arranged at least partially around the central opening (see para. [0073]; Figs. 4, 5);
wherein the flange (54) of one catalytically active sheet (51) extends into the central opening of an adjacent catalytically active sheet (see paras. [0070]; [0073]; Figs. 1, 4, 5).
Regarding claim 2, the reference Ulber et al. discloses the catalytic reactor, wherein each of the catalytically active sheets (51) comprises a radially extending portion (55) extending in a radial direction from the central opening (52) (see para. [0071]; Figs. 1, 4, 5).
Regarding claim 3, the reference Ulber et al. discloses the catalytic reactor, wherein the radially extending portion of one catalytically active sheet (55) is arranged with a gap to the radially extending portion of an adjacent catalytically active sheet (55) (see para. [0070]; Figs. 1, 4, 5).
Regarding claim 4, the reference Ulber et al. discloses the catalytic reactor, wherein the radially extending portion (55) is flat (i.e., the radially extending portion 55 extends radially on a flat support plate 53) (see paras. [0070]-[0072]; Figs. 1, 4, 5).
Regarding claim 5, the reference Ulber et al. discloses the catalytic reactor, wherein the radially extending portion (55) extends from the central opening (52) to a periphery of the catalytically active sheet (see paras. [0070]-[0072]; Figs. 1, 4, 5).
Regarding claim 6, the reference Ulber et al. discloses the catalytic reactor, wherein the flange (54) is tapering towards a free end thereof (see Figs. 4, 5).
Regarding claim 7, the reference Ulber et al. discloses the catalytic reactor, wherein the flange (54) extends continuously around the entire central opening (52) (see paras. [0070]; [0073]; Figs. 4, 5).
Regarding claim 9, the reference Ulber et al. discloses the catalytic reactor, wherein each of the catalytically active sheets includes a radially extending portion that is provided with through apertures distributed around the central opening (see paras. [0011]; [0027]).
Regarding claim 10, the reference Ulber et al. discloses the catalytic reactor, wherein the catalytically active sheet is a mesh (see paras. [0011]; [0027]).
Regarding claim 11, the reference Ulber et al. discloses the catalytic reactor, wherein the catalytically active sheet is made of a plate material (see paras. [0011]; [0027]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ulber et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hums (US 4,847,234).
Regarding claim 12, the reference Ulber et al. is silent with respect to each of the catalytically active sheets comprising a substrate and a ceramic layer adhered to the substrate; wherein the ceramic layer is formed with pores provided with a catalytically active material. The reference Hums teaches a plate-shaped catalyst comprising a substrate (1) and a ceramic layer (2) adhered to the substrate; wherein the ceramic layer (21) is formed with pores provided with a catalytically active material (3) (see col. 3, lines 1-11 and lines 34-50; Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ulber et al. and Hums, and have each of the catalytically active sheets comprising a substrate and a ceramic layer adhered to the substrate; wherein the ceramic layer is formed with pores provided with a catalytically active material, as taught by Hums, and claimed by applicant, since the reference Ulber et al. teaches that the catalytically active sheets can be made of metal foils coated with a catalytically active material (see para. [0013]). Furthermore, the reference Hums teaches that the ceramic layer advantageously provides rough and porous surfaces for applying a catalytically active material thereto (see col. 3, lines 34-47).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13-22 of copending Application No. 18/566,867 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instantly claimed catalytic reactor recited in claims 1-12 is taught by claims 13-22 of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 14-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13-22 of copending Application No. 18/566,867 in view of McMullin et al. (US 3,477,833).
Regarding claims 14-15, claims 13-22 of the reference application are silent with respect to the catalytic reactor comprising a reactor vessel having an inlet for a first reactant, at least one inlet for a second reactant, and at least one outlet; wherein the stack of catalytically active sheets is arranged inside the reactor vessel; wherein the inlet for the first reactant is arranged at one end of the stack and is aligned with the central openings of the catalytically active sheets, and wherein at least the central opening is blocked at an opposite end of the stack.
The reference McMullin et al. teaches a catalytic reactor comprising a reactor vessel having an inlet (14) for a first reactant (see col. 4, lines 4-13; Figure), at least one inlet (13) for a second reactant (see col. 3, lines 65-69; Figure), and at least one outlet (17); wherein a plurality of annular catalyst beds (3) having a central opening is arranged inside the reactor vessel (see 3, lines 48-65; Figure); wherein the inlet (14) for the first reactant is arranged at one end of the annular catalyst bed and is aligned with the central opening of the catalyst beds (see Figure), and wherein at least the central opening is blocked at an opposite end of the plurality of catalyst beds (see Figure). The reference McMullin et al. further teaches that the inlet (13) for the second reactant is arranged radially outside the inlet (14) for the first reactant (see Figure).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the catalytic reactor taught by claims 13-22 of the reference application to include a reactor vessel having at least two reactant inlets and at least one outlet in configuration as taught by McMullin et al., and claimed by applicant, to similarly carrying out a catalytic reaction utilizing the discloses stack of catalytically active sheets.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 13 would be allowable because the prior art of record does not disclose or fairly suggest the feature: wherein the catalytically active sheet comprises a first material and particles of a second material having a higher melting point than the first material; wherein the ceramic layer is adhered to the substrate through the first material and the particles of the second material being partially embedded in the first material and projecting into the ceramic layer, as recited in claim 13.
Claims 16-18 are allowed.
Regarding claims 16-18, the claims are allowed because the prior art of record does not disclose or fairly suggest the process steps of: a) feeding a first reactant in an axial direction into a central opening of a catalytically active sheet of a stack of catalytically active sheets; b) guiding some of the first reactant through an axially extending flange arranged at least partially around some of the central openings and extending into the central opening of an adjacent catalytically active sheet in the axial direction; and c) guiding some of the first reactant radially outward from the flange and into contact with a second reactant to provide the catalytic reaction, as recited in claim 16.
Conclusion
/LESSANEWORK SEIFU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774