DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDSes filed 3/11/24, 4/16/25, 9/11/25 and 5/26/26 have all been considered and placed of record. The four initialed copies are attached herewith.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Re claim 7, the limitation “the load” has already been introduced in claim 1.
Re claims 8-14, they are indefinite for depending on rejected claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 7-9, 23, 39, 45 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tenconi et al. (US 2017/0368950).
Re claim 1, the reference discloses a circuit (fig 1) to deliver energy to a load in repeated cycles and recover a portion of the energy, the circuit (fig 1) having, inter alia, an energy-storage component (C1, C1a) to receive energy from a voltage source or current source (G1, G2); a first switch (S1, S2) to reversibly couple the energy-storage component to a load (LR) along a first circuit path, the first switch configured to attain a first state such that, when the first switch is in the first state during a first portion of a first cycle of the repeated cycles, forward current flows from the energy-storage component to the load (para 62-68); and a second switch (D1, D2) to reversibly couple the energy-storage component to the load along a second circuit path, wherein the second circuit path is different, at least in part, from the first circuit path, the second switch configured to attain a first state such that, when the second switch is in the first state of the second switch during a second portion of the first cycle, energy from the load is returned to the energy-storage component such that at least a portion of the energy returned is available for a first portion of a second cycle of the repeated cycles that follows the first cycle (para 11 and 63-66).
Re claim 4, the reference discloses the energy storage component is a capacitor (C1, C1a).
Re claim 7, the reference discloses the load (LR).
Re claim 8, the reference discloses the first energy storage component maybe a capacitor (C1a) and the second energy storage component maybe the load (LR).
Re claim 9, the reference discloses the second energy storage component maybe an inductor (L).
Re claims 23 and 45, the components of claim 1 performed the steps of claims 23 and 45.
Re claim 39, the reference discloses the load maybe an inductor (L) producing a magnetic field.
Re claim 49, the reference discloses a system having, inter alia, a first energy-storage component (C1); a second energy-storage component (C1a); a load (LR); a first switch (S1, S2) to reversibly couple the first energy-storage component and the second energy-storage component to the load along a first circuit path during a first portion of an operational cycle of the system such that current flows from the first energy-storage component to the second energy-storage component and to the load (para 62-68); and a second circuit path different, at least in part, from the first circuit path and having a second switch (D1, D2) to reversibly couple the load to the first energy-storage component during a second portion of the operational cycle, the second circuit path configured to return energy from the load to the first energy-storage component so that the returned energy is available for a start of a next operational cycle of the system and a voltage polarity across the first energy-storage component at [[the]] an end of the second portion of the operational cycle is a same voltage polarity as the voltage polarity across the first energy-storage component at a beginning of the first portion of the operational cycle (para 11 and 63-66).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 5, 6, 10-12, 15, 19, 31, 40 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tenconi et al. (US 2017/0368950).
Re claims 2 and 3, the reference does not specifically disclose the specific claimed numbers. It would have been well within the skill of one versed in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have selected the claimed values since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Re claims 5, 6, 11 and 40, the reference does not specifically disclose the specific claimed range. It would have been well within the skill of one versed in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have selected the claimed range values since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Re claim 10, the reference discloses the second energy storage component maybe an inductor (L). Inductors are electromagnetic coils. However, the reference does not disclose whether the coils are single-turn or segmented coils. It would have been well within the skill of one versed in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have selected the coils to be single-turn or segmented since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known materiale on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Re claim 12, the reference does not disclose the second energy storage component is a second capacitor. It would have been well within the skill of one versed in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have selected a second capacitor as the second energy storage component since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known materiale on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Re claims 15, 19 and 46, the reference is silent on the type of switches being SCRs. It would have been well within the skill of one versed in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have selected SCRs as switches since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known materiale on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Re claim 31, the reference does not specifically disclose the second amount of energy is 90% more of the first amount of energy. It would have been well within the skill of one versed in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have selected the claimed value of 90% since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13, 14, 16-18, 20-22, 24-30, 32-38, 41-44, 47 and 48 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The Examiner’s SPE is Drew Dunn and he can be reached at 571.272.2312. The fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is 571.273.8300.
/EDWARD TSO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 571.272.2087