DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-20 are pending and under current examination.
Amendment necessitated new claim rejection as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6-8, 10, 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fremy (US20060025633 A1).
Fremy discloses a method of preparing mercaptan comprising the steps:
treatment of zeolite catalyst with or without promoter up to 10% in following steps:
heating said catalyst under vacuum (1 bar absolute pressure) at temperature, 90-150C or 250C and pressure 10-15 bars
placing such catalyst in contact with H2S at temperature 50- 350C
followed by sulfhydrolysis step in same reactor by reacting H2S with dialkyl sulfide at temperature 50-350C, such as 235C, and pressure 10-15 bars, wherein molar ratio H2S/ dialkyl sulfide (such as dimethylsulfide, diethylsulfide) is in range, such as 2-30, in the presence of above treated catalyst to obtain mercaptan (Entire patent, especially paragraphs 0028- 0078, examples and claims).
Since the cited prior art reads on all the limitations of the instant claims 1, 3, 6-8, 10, 13-16, these claims are anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fremy (US20060025633 A1) and Fremy (FR1911005 A, published 2019; as provided by the applicant on IDS dated 12/04/2023, hereafter referred as Fremy19) in combination.
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art
Fremy discloses a method of preparing mercaptan comprising the steps:
treatment of zeolite catalyst in following steps:
heating said catalyst under vacuum at temperature 250C and pressure 10-15 bars
placing such catalyst in contact with H2S at temperature 50- 350C
followed by sulfhydrolysis step in same reactor by reacting H2S with dialkyl sulfide at temperature 50-350C, such as 235C, and pressure 10-15 bars, wherein molar ratio H2S/ dialkyl sulfide (such as dimethylsulfide, diethylsulfide) is in range, such as 2-30, in the presence of above treated catalyst to obtain mercaptan (Entire patent, especially paragraphs 0028- 0078, examples and claims).
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue
Fremy discloses instant process in presence of zeolite catalyst but fails to teach specific Y-type zeolite; sulfhydrolysis and pretreatment of catalyst in the same reactor; pretreatment in inert gas and is silent about different streams obtained during sulfhydrolysis and synthesis of mercaptan of claim 9 and 17-20.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art
With regards to the above difference of Y-type zeolite- Fremy discloses instant process in presence of zeolite catalyst, which encompass Y-type zeolite.
Thus, based on the guidance provided by the cited prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success that any zeolite may be useful in production of mercaptan as taught by the cited prior art, absent any evidence to the contrary.
With regards to the above difference of sulfhydrolysis and pretreatment of catalyst in the same reactor- Fremy discloses instant process of sulfhydrolysis and pretreatment of catalyst. However, the cited prior art is silent about using same reactor.
Based on the guidance provided by the cited prior art and routine knowledge in chemistry, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success that either same reactor or different reactors may be used to carry out the process.
With regards to the difference of using inert gas in the pretreatment step, Fremy teaches pretreatment under vacuum or any reactive gas atmosphere. Thus, based on the guidance provided by the cited prior art it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success that pretreatment of the catalyst may be carried out in absence of any reactive gas atmosphere that is under vacuum or under inert gas.
With regards to the difference of different streams obtained during sulfhydrolysis and synthesis of mercaptan- Fremy discloses sulfhydrolysis and synthesis of mercaptan in presence of zeolite catalyst but is silent about different streams obtained during the process.
This deficiency is cured by Fremy19.
In the same field of endeavor, Fremy19 teaches a method of preparing mercaptan comprising the steps:
Introducing H2S and at least one alcohol into a first reactor and reacting to obtain an outlet stream and said stream separated into:
a stream comprising mercaptan, optionally recovering mercaptan
a stream comprising dialkylsulfide,
a stream comprising H2S, optionally recycling a part of it to step A
pretreatment of catalyst in following steps:
heating said catalyst in inert gas at temperature 250C and pressure 9 bar absolute
placing such catalyst in contact with H2S at temperature 350C
followed by sulfhydrolysis step in same reactor by reacting H2S with dialkyl sulfide stream (ii), wherein molar ratio H2S/DMS (dimethylsulfide) is 4/1, in the presence of above treated catalyst to obtain stream comprising mercaptan and H2S, recycling H2S to B. Since the reaction is performed in same reactor as treating the catalyst, the pressure is expected to be at least above 1 bar (atmospheric pressure) - 9bar absolute.
(Entire publication, especially examples and claims).
Thus, based on the guidance provided by the cited prior art it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that sulfhydrolysis step, which is same step as in Fremy and Fremy19 may be worked up in same manner as provided by Fremy19. Thus, the cited prior art meets limitation of the instant claims.
Based on the above established facts, it appears that the teachings of above cited prior art read applicants’ process.
Therefore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled person in the art could have modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness
To establish a prima facie case of obviousness, three basic criteria must be met: (1) the prior art reference must teach or suggest all the claim limitations; (2) there must be some suggestion or motivation, either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the reference or to combine reference teachings; and (3) there must be a reasonable expectation of success; and (MPEP § 2143).
In this case, Fremy discloses instant process in presence of zeolite catalyst, wherein zeolite catalyst was pretreated in same manner as in the instant claims. Fremy19 discloses similar process and sulfhydrolysis step with details of work up of the sulfhydrolysis step.
In KSR International Vo. V. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d (U.S. 2007), the Supreme Court particularly emphasized “the need for caution in granting a patent based on a combination of elements found in the prior art,” (Id. At 1395) and discussed circumstances in which a patent might be determined to be obvious. Importantly, the Supreme Court reaffirmed principles based on its precedent that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” (Id. At 1395). See MPEP 2143 - Examples of Basic Requirements of a Prima Facie Case of Obviousness [R-9].
In this case at least prong (E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success would apply.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103.”KSR, 550 U.S. at ___, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. If any of these findings cannot be made, then this rationale cannot be used to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Further, there is reasonable expectation of success that sulfhydrolysis step, which is same step as in Fremy and Fremy19 may be worked up in same manner as provided by Fremy19 and can be made by teachings of the above cited prior art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by taking advantage of the teaching of the above cited references and to make the instantly claimed process with a reasonable expectation of success. Modifying such parameters is prima facie obvious because an ordinary artisan would be motivated to develop an alternative process for economic reasons or convenient purposes from a known individual reaction steps, and to arrive applicants process with a reasonable expectation of success, since it is within the scope to modify the process through a routine experimentation
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 in the instant application are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11897837 B2 in view of Fremy (US20060025633 A1), since the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the “right to exclude" already granted in the patent.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons:
The claims of instant application and claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11897837 B2 are drawn to a process of making same mercaptan using same reactant, and reaction conditions with a difference that U.S. Patent No. 11897837 B2 is silent about pretreatment of zeolite catalyst.
The difference is cured by Fremy (US20060025633 A1). Fremy discloses a method of preparing mercaptan comprising the steps:
treatment of zeolite catalyst in following steps:
heating said catalyst under vacuum at temperature 250C and pressure 10-15 bars
placing such catalyst in contact with H2S at temperature 50- 350C
followed by sulfhydrolysis step in same reactor by reacting H2S with dialkyl sulfide at temperature 50-350C, such as 235C, and pressure 10-15 bars, wherein molar ratio H2S/ dialkyl sulfide (such as dimethylsulfide, diethylsulfide) is in range, such as 2-30, in the presence of above treated catalyst to obtain mercaptan (Entire patent, especially paragraphs 0028- 0078, examples and claims).
For the foregoing reasons, the instantly claimed process is made obvious.
Furthermore, there is no apparent reason why applicant was prevented from presenting claims corresponding to those of the instant application during prosecution of the application which matured into a patent. See also MPEP § 804.
Claims 1-20 in the instant application are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims 1-10 of co-pending US application 18567183 in view of Fremy (US20060025633 A1). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons:
The claims of instant application and co-pending application are drawn to a process of making same mercaptan using same reactant, and reaction conditions with a difference co-pending US application 18567183 is silent about pretreatment of zeolite catalyst.
The difference is cured by Fremy(US20060025633 A1). Fremy discloses a method of preparing mercaptan comprising the steps:
treatment of zeolite catalyst in following steps:
heating said catalyst under vacuum at temperature 250C and pressure 10-15 bars
placing such catalyst in contact with H2S at temperature 50- 350C
followed by sulfhydrolysis step in same reactor by reacting H2S with dialkyl sulfide at temperature 50-350C, such as 235C, and pressure 10-15 bars, wherein molar ratio H2S/ dialkyl sulfide (such as dimethylsulfide, diethylsulfide) is in range, such as 2-30, in the presence of above treated catalyst to obtain mercaptan (Entire patent, especially paragraphs 0028- 0078, examples and claims).
For the foregoing reasons, the instantly claimed process is made obvious.
This is provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not been patented yet.
Response to Argument
Applicants’ remarks and amendments, filed on September 18, 2026, have been fully considered but not found persuasive.
Applicant argued that Fremy teaches treatment of catalysts with H2 vs the instant claims, which requires contacting catalyst with H2S.
This is not found persuasive and the instant claims stand rejected under 102 and 103. This is because the instant claims recite “comprising” which includes steps such as contacting with hydrogen. Further, Fremy teaches contacting catalyst with H2S and thus read on contacting catalyst with H2S limitation the instant claims.
Rest of Applicants argument is moot in view of new rejection as set forth above.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
No Claim is allowed.
/PANCHAM BAKSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623