DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/4/2023, 4/16/2025 and 6/6/2026 has/have been received and complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner, and a copy with initials is attached herewith.
Drawings
4. The drawings were received on 12/4/2023. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claim(s) 1 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Suzuki (US 20210226304 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Suzuki discloses a battery pack (100) where a first battery (1; Figs. 1 and 2 and Fig. A below) where a first positive electrode terminal (2P, Fig. 4) and a first negative electrode terminal (2N, Fig. 4) are disposed at a first distance therebetween in a first direction (Figs. 1-3 and 4), and a second battery (1; Figs. 1 and 2 and Fig. A below) where a second positive electrode terminal (2P) and a second negative electrode terminal (2N) are disposed at a second distance therebetween in the first direction (Figs. 1-3 and 4) are arranged in a second direction that intersects with the first direction (Figs. 1-3), and the first positive electrode terminal (2P) and the second negative electrode terminal (2N) are arranged adjacently to each other in the first direction (Fig. 4), and a bus bar (20P+20N) connects the first positive electrode terminal (2P) and the second negative electrode terminal (2N; Fig. A below), wherein a first conductive member (20P; Fig. 6) of the bus bar (20P+20N) includes: a first joining portion (2220p, in particular the portion at the right hand side of the first conductive member) that is joined with the first positive electrode terminal (2P; Fig. 5); and a first extending portion (24P) that extends in the first direction from the first joining portion (22; Fig. 5), the second conductive member (20N; Fig. 7) of the bus bar (20P+20N) includes a second joining portion (2220N, in particular the portion at the left hand side of the first conductive member) that is joined with the second negative electrode terminal (2N; Fig. 5);
and a second extending portion (24N) that extends in the first direction from the second joining portion (22; Fig. 5), the first conductive member (20P) and the second conductive member (20N) are made of materials differ from each other [paragraph 00351], the first conductive member (20P) and the second conductive member (20N) are connected to each other by a third joining portion (M), an end portion of the first extending portion (24P) and an end portion of the second extending portion (24N) exist in a spaced-apart manner in the first direction from a line that connects the first joining portion (22) and the second joining portion (22; Fig. 5), and the third joining portion (M) is formed on an overlapping portion of the first extending portion (24P) and the second extending portion (24N; Fig. 5; in Fig. 6, the lateral extension featuring the hole 24a is a portion of the first extending portion 24P, which overlaps the portion of the second extending portion 24N featuring the hole 24a (Fig. 7)) with a distance closer to the third joining portion (M) out of a distance between the first joining portion (22) and the third joining portion (M) and a distance between the second joining portion (22) and the third joining portion (M; as shown in Fig. 5, the distance between the third joining portion M and the second joining portion 2220N is less than the distance between the third joining portion M and the first joining portion 2220p).
Regarding claim 11, Suzuki teaches that the first battery and the second battery are each formed of rectangular parallelepiped body, the first positive electrode and the first negative electrode of the first battery are formed on the same surface of the rectangular parallelepiped body, and the second positive electrode and the second negative electrode of the second battery are formed on the same surface of the rectangular parallelepiped body [Fig. 1-3, 5].
Regarding claim 12, Suzuki teaches that a plurality of sets each formed of the first battery and the second battery are arranged in the second direction [Fig. 1-3, 5].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US 20210226304 A1) as applied in claim 1 and further in view of Takahashi (JP 2010103053 A).
Regarding claim 2, Suzuki remains silent of the feature as claimed; however, Takahashi teaches that it is possible to connect the member (5) to the positive terminal of the first battery and the member (6) to the negative terminal of the second battery [Fig. 2, 5; paragraph 0023]. In that case, the first conductive member is ref. 5 and the second conductive member is ref. 5. Therefore, the lateral extension featuring the hole (5h) is the third extending portion claimed in claim 2. Therefore, the claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art (KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007)) and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized such a substitution without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 3, Takahashi teaches that the second extending portion further includes a fourth extending portion that extends in the second direction, and the third joining portion exists in an overlapping portion of the first extending portion and the fourth extending portion [Fig. 5, the lateral extension featuring the hole 5h].
12. Claim(s) 5-7 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US 20210226304 A1) as applied in claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Suzuki teaches that auxiliary tabs or protrusions for voltage detection are a common feature in the art. Departing from the embodiment shown in Figs. 8B and 8C, in which the bolt and nut is replaced by a clip m4 or by a rivet m5, the skilled person would have considered adding a protrusion for voltage detection to either the first conductive member 20N or to the second conductive member 20P, for instance in the first direction, without showing inventive skill.
Regarding claim 6, Suzuki teaches in Fig. 5 which shows that the surface on which the third joining portion M is formed is at an angle of 0o with respect to the respective surfaces of the first joining portion 2220N and the second joining portion 2220p, having therefore "an angle" with respect to said joining portions.
Regarding claim 7, Suzuki teaches that interposing nickel or a nickel alloy between two members in electrical contact, for example by means of a nickel plating, is a common measure to improve the electrical conductivity of such a joint. It would therefore be obvious for the skilled person to apply a nickel plating between the first conductive member 20P and the second conductive member 20N for that purpose.
13. Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US 20210226304 A1) and Takahashi (JP 2010103053 A) as applied in claim 2-3 and further in view of Okada et al (US 20170365827 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Suzuki remains silent of the feature as claimed. However, Okada teaches the inchworm-like bending structure 40 in the transversal portion joining the first connection portion 35 and the second connection portion 36 [Fig. 4]. Therefore, the claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art (KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007)) and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized such a substitution without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 9, Suzuki remains silent of the feature as claimed. However, Takahashi teaches that it is possible to connect the member (5) to the positive terminal of the first battery and the member (6) to the negative terminal of the second battery [Fig. 2, 5; paragraph 0023]. And Okada teaches the inchworm-like bending structure 40 in the transversal portion joining the first connection portion 35 and the second connection portion 36 [Fig. 4]. Therefore, the claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art (KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007)) and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized such a substitution without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
14. Claims 4 and10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
15. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 4: the prior art of record does not anticipate or suggest or render obvious the battery pack with the combination of structural element as claimed, including the second extending portion further includes a fourth extending portion that extends in the second direction, and the third joining portion exists in an overlapping portion of the third extending portion and the fourth extending portion.
/MUHAMMAD S SIDDIQUEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723