DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because of the following:
Reference character “1” has been used to designate a pair of separators (see Figure 1 and paragraph [0117] of specification), a reaction precipitate (see paragraphs [0152] and [0153] of specification), a metal composite hydroxide (see paragraphs [0153] and [0154] of specification), a metal composite oxide (see paragraphs [0154]-[0156] and [0170] of specification), a total amount (see paragraph [0155] of specification), a mixture (see paragraphs [0155], [0156], and [0170] of specification), a reaction product (see paragraphs [0156]-[0158] and [0174] of specification), and a calcined product (see paragraphs [0158] and [0159] of specification).
Reference character “2” has been used to designate a positive electrode (see Figure 1; and paragraphs [0117] and [0118] of specification), a reaction precipitate (see paragraphs [0163] and [0164] of specification), a metal composite hydroxide (see paragraphs [0164]-[0166] and [0177] of specification), a mixture (see paragraphs [0165] and [0166] of specification), a reaction product (see paragraphs [0166] and [0167] of specification), and a calcined product (see paragraphs [0167] and [0168] of specification).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph [0069], 4th line, delete “and” after “which”.
In paragraph [0089], 5th line, replace “of” with “is” before “lower”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 6, 8, and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, 2nd line, add “said positive electrode active material” before “comprising” for clarity.
In claim 6, 3rd line, it is believed that “wherein” should be replaced with “comprising” for clarity.
In claim 8, 2nd line, add “said positive electrode active material” before “comprising” for clarity.
In claim 13, 3rd line, it is believed that “wherein” should be replaced with “comprising” for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-10, 12, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2019/187953 A1, of which a complete copy of the Japanese document with an English abstract was provided with Information Disclosure Statement dated December 4, 2023, with an English equivalent to Inoue et al. (US 2021/0057746) for use in reference to translated text (rather than a machine translation of WO 2019/187953 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, WO ‘953 (refer to equivalent US 2021/0057746) discloses a positive electrode active material for a secondary lithium battery (abstract; paragraphs [0035]-[0071]; Examples 1, 6, and 7; and Figures 1A, 1B, and 2-4), in which the positive electrode active material comprises a lithium metal composite oxide containing at least Li and Ni, and satisfying aspects (1) and (2):
(1) a pore volume in a range of pore diameter of 2 to 10 nm is 9.0 x 10-4 cm3/g or less in a pore diameter distribution in an adsorption isotherm as determined by measurement of an adsorption isotherm and a desorption isotherm of nitrogen gas and a Barrett-Joyner-Halenda method (see Figure 2; and paragraphs [0037], [0054], [0055], and [0065]-[0071] of US ‘746); and
(2) a pore diameter at which a log differential pore volume is a maximum value in a log differential pore volume in a range of pore diameter of 2 to 200 nm based on a pore diameter distribution in a desorption isotherm as determined by measurement of an adsorption isotherm and a desorption isotherm of nitrogen gas and a Barrett-Joyner-Halenda method is more than 10 nm and 200 nm or less (see Figure 4; and paragraphs [0038] and [0065]-[0071] of US ‘746).
Regarding claim 2, WO ‘953 (US ‘746) discloses that the lithium metal composite oxide is represented by Li[Lim(Ni(1-n)Xn)1-m]O2, wherein X represents one or more elements selected from Mn, Fe, Cu, Ti, Mg, Al, W, B, Mo, Zn, Sn, Zr, Ga, Nb, and V (more preferably Mn, Al, W, B, and Zr – see paragraph [0049]), and satisfies -0.1 ≤ m ≤ 0.2 and 0 ≤ n ≤ 0.7 (see paragraphs [0035], [0036], and [0049]).
Regarding claims 3 and 10, WO ‘953 (US ‘746) discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 2 above, and further discloses that a maximum value of log differential pore volume in a range of pore diameter of 5 nm or less is less than 0.005 cm3/g in the pore diameter distribution in the desorption isotherm (see Figure 2; and paragraphs [0037], [0038], [0054], [0055], and [0065]-[0071] of US ‘746).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, WO ‘953 (US ‘746) discloses that a pore volume in a range of pore diameter of 2 to 200 nm is 2.0 x 10-3 cm3/g or more in the pore diameter distribution in the desorption isotherm (see Figure 4; and paragraphs [0038] and [0065]-[0071] of US ‘746).
Regarding claims 8, 9, 15, and 16, WO ‘953 (US ‘746) discloses a positive electrode (2) of a lithium secondary battery (10) that includes the above claimed positive electrode active material (see abstract; paragraphs [0123]-[0126]; and Figures 1A and 1B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6, 7, 11, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2019/187953 A1 (equivalent to Inoue et al. (US 2021/0057746)).
Regarding claims 4 and 11, WO ‘953 (US ‘746) discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 2 above, and further discloses that the positive electrode active material further comprises at least a trace amount of Na (sodium) in the form of sodium hydroxide (see Examples 1, 6, and 7), wherein a product of a proportion of a mass of Na to a total mass of the positive electrode active material for the lithium secondary battery and a BET specific surface area of the positive electrode active material for the lithium secondary battery would be at low levels, including within a range of 2.0 x 10-4 m2/g or less (including at or near zero), in which a proportion of a mass of Na as a trace amount per Examples 1, 6, and 7. In this instance, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the optimization of an amount of Na by routine experimentation with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to optimize the properties of the positive electrode active material (see abstract). Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to choose the instantly claimed ranges through process optimization, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (1980).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, WO ‘953 (US ‘746) discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 2 above, but does not explicitly disclose a BET specific surface area of 0.5 m2/g or more and less than 1.2 m2/g. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that components in the positive electrode active material of claims 1 and 2 of WO ‘953 (US ‘746) are substantially similar to that of applicant’s claims, such that the claimed range of BET specific surface area would include substantial overlap to at least render obvious the respective BET specific surface area ranges due to similar presence of components of the positive electrode active material (see paragraphs [0035], [0036], and [0049] of US ‘746). Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to choose the instantly claimed ranges through process optimization, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (1980).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, WO ‘953 (US ‘746) discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 2 above, but does not explicitly disclose that a value of S/(V x 1000) is less than 0.30 m2/cm3, where S is a BET specific surface area of the positive electrode active material for the lithium secondary battery, and V is a pore volume in a range of pore diameter of 2 to 200 nm. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that components in the positive electrode active material of claims 1 and 2 of WO ‘953 (US ‘746) are substantially similar to that of applicant’s claims, such that the claimed ranges would include substantial overlap to at least render obvious the respective S/(V x 1000) and BET specific surface area ranges due to similar presence of components of the positive electrode active material (see paragraphs [0035], [0036], and [0049] of US ‘746). Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to choose the instantly claimed ranges through process optimization, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (1980).
Conclusion
/KEVIN P KERNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735 August 18, 2026