DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
After detailed examination and further consideration, the election requirement mailed 2/27/26 has been withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “by means of” in claim 4.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda (JP 2006283584 – SHARP KK), which discloses substantially all of the claimed limitations. Ueda discloses:
Claim 1 (Currently Amended): A cooking appliances comprising: a housing 10; a cooking chamber 20 disposed in the housing and bounded by cooking chamber walls of the housing (fig. 2); a cooking chamber door 12 configured to close a cooking chamber opening of the cooking chamber in a closed position of the cooking chamber door (fig. 1); at least one heater 50 for heating configured to heat the cooking chamber; a fan 58 configured to circulate cooking chamber air present in the cooking chamber, a fan wheel of the fan 58 being disposed in the cooking chamber (fig. 3 – although separated by screen 54 it can still be considered part of the cooking chamber), and a motor 59 of the fan being mounted on the housing outside the cooking chamber (fig. 3), and the fan wheel being torque-transmittingly connected to the motor via a drive shaft 58a extending through a drive shaft opening in one of the cooking chamber walls 51, and a controller 80 configured to control the heater (para. 0048-0050; fig. 1,4,5).
Claim 3 (Currently Amended): The cooking appliance of claim 1 further comprising: at least one sensor 36 connected in signal communication with the controller and configured to automatically sense at least one cooking parameter of the cooking process (para. 0041-0043,0052).
Claim 11 (Currently Amended): A method for operating the cooking appliance of claims 1 comprising: (see previous claims).
Claim 13 (Currently Amended): The method of claim 11 wherein the cooking appliance has at least one sensor connected in signal communication with the controller and configured to automatically sense at least one cooking parameter of the cooking process (see previous claims).
Claims 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda (JP 2006283584) in view of Bhogal (US 2018/0292092).
Ueda discloses substantially all of the claimed limitations, but fails to explicitly the sensor comprising a camera.
Bhogal, in the same or related field of endeavor (i.e., cooking appliances), teaches that it is known in the art to provide a sensor 700 comprising a camera (para. 0042).
Bhogal teaches that such an arrangement provides for enhanced cooking control (para. 0043,0044).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention incorporate the camera sensor as taught by Bhogal into the invention disclosed by Ueda, so as to provide for enhanced cooking control.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4-10, 12, 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. These references disclose devices with many of the claimed components. Nevertheless, in order to avoid overburdening the applicant with redundant rejections, these references were not applied.
Conclusion
To contact the examiner’s supervisor please call MICHAEL HOANG whose telephone number is 571 272 6460.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the Tech Center telephone number is 571 272 3700.
May 4, 2026
/ALFRED BASICHAS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762