Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “sulfur compound addition means for adding a sulfur compound containing a peroxide group to water…” in claim 1, and its dependent claims and also the, “…sulfur compound removal means…” in Claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 1-8 indicate either a pure water production apparatus or a pure water production method. The claims neither indicate how pure water is produced in the apparatus nor pure water is produced in the method. It Is unclear how the apparatus produces pure water and how the method produces pure water.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sitkiewitz (US10550020).
Applicant’s claims are directed toward an apparatus and a method.
Regarding Claims 1-7, Sitkiewitz discloses a pure water production apparatus comprising (See Figure 1b, which incorporates Figure 1A):
A). Sulfur compound addition means for adding a sulfur compound containing a peroxide group to water to be treated that contains organic materials (See Figure 1B which incorporates Figure 1A Items 140 and 150; persulfate Feed tank and persulfate feed pump. Persulfate is a common name for peroxydisulfate which is a sulfur compound that contains a peroxide group);
B). An ultraviolet ray radiation apparatus that irradiates with ultraviolet rays the water to be treated to which the sulfur compound was added (See Figure 1B which incorporates Figure 1A Items 210 and 220; plug flow reactor with UV lights);
C). A reverse osmosis membrane apparatus through which passes the water to be treated that was irradiated with the ultraviolet rays (See Figure 1B which incorporates Figure 1A; Figure 1B indicates that Figure 1A Item 100 can be positioned before RO#2 or At Reuse System Item 440; which would put Item 100 before RO#1)
and
D). An ion exchange resin-filled apparatus through which passes the water to be treated that was treated by the reverse osmosis membrane apparatus (See Figure 1B which incorporates Figure 1A; Item IX – Ion Exchange).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Regarding Claim 2, Sitkiewitz discloses the pure water production apparatus according to claim 1, wherein concentration of the sulfur compound in the water to be treated that is supplied to the ion exchange resin-filled apparatus is 0.5 mg/L or less (See Column 2 lines 54-57. 0.5 ppm appears to correlate to 0.5 mg/L).
Regarding Claim 3, Sitkiewitz The pure water production apparatus according to claim 2, further comprising a control unit, wherein the control unit controls (See Column 4 lines 42-56; Column 5 lines 36-49; Column 7 lines 24-44; TOC/TDS Analyzer inherently would have a control unit that performs at least one of the functions as recited. Please see claim mapping): at least one of an amount of the sulfur compound added by the sulfur compound addition means, an operation condition of the reverse osmosis membrane apparatus, and an operation condition of the ultraviolet ray radiation apparatus based on at least one of: TOC in water that is supplied to the ultraviolet ray radiation apparatus, TOC in treated water of the ultraviolet ray radiation apparatus, concentration of the sulfur compound in water that is supplied to the reverse osmosis membrane apparatus, and concentration of the sulfur compound in water that is supplied to the ion exchange resin-filled apparatus such that the concentration of the sulfur compound in the water to be treated is 0.5 mg/L or less.
Regarding Claim 4, Sitkiewitz discloses the pure water production apparatus according to Claim 1, further comprising sulfur compound removal means between the reverse osmosis membrane apparatus and the ion exchange resin-filled apparatus (See Figure 1B Items RO#1/RO#2 when the AOP Item 100 is placed at Item 440. RO#1 or #2 are able to remove sulfur compound removal means. Also Item 120 contains Items 180 and 190 additional UV lamps, which degrade the persulfate anion – which is interpreted to correlate to the, “sulfur compound removal means claims limitation).”
Regarding Claim 5, Sitkiewitz discloses the pure water production apparatus according to claim 1, wherein concentration of the sulfur compound in the water to be treated that is to be treated by the reverse osmosis membrane apparatus is 400 mg/L or less (See Column 2 lines 54-57. 0.5 ppm appears to correlate to 0.5 mg/L).
Regarding Claim 6 Sitkiewitz discloses the pure water production apparatus according to claim 5, further comprising a control unit, wherein the control unit controls at least one of (See Column 4 lines 42-56; Column 5 lines 36-49; Column 7 lines 24-44; TOC/TDS Analyzer inherently would have a control unit that performs at least one of the functions as recited. Please see claim mapping): an amount of the sulfur compound added by the sulfur compound addition means, an operation condition of the reverse osmosis membrane apparatus, and an operation condition of the ultraviolet ray radiation apparatus based on at least one of: TOC in water that is supplied to the ultraviolet ray radiation apparatus, TOC in treated water of the ultraviolet ray radiation apparatus, concentration of the sulfur compound in water that is supplied to the reverse osmosis membrane apparatus, and concentration of the sulfur compound in water that is supplied to the ion exchange resin-filled apparatus such that the concentration of the sulfur compound in the water to be treated that is to be treated by the reverse osmosis membrane apparatus is 400 mg/L or less.
Regarding Claim 7, Sitkiewitz discloses the pure water production apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a second reverse osmosis membrane apparatus that is provided between the reverse osmosis membrane apparatus and the ion exchange resin-filled apparatus (See Rejection of Claim 1, when the Reverse Osmosis of Claim 1 is RO#1, and RO#2 is the second Reverse Osmosis).
Regarding Claim 8, Sitkiewitz discloses the pure water production method comprising: adding a sulfur compound containing a peroxide group to water to be treated that contains organic materials; irradiating with ultraviolet rays the water to be treated to which the sulfur compound was added; passing the water to be treated that was irradiated by the ultraviolet rays through a reverse osmosis membrane apparatus; and supplying the water to be treated that was treated by the reverse osmosis membrane apparatus to an ion exchange resin-filled apparatus.
Conclusion
Pertinent art to the invention in the instant application:
Marjanovic et al, Water Research, 140, 2018, pp.220-231.
Marjanovic et al discloses the use of persulfate for the use of advanced oxidation treatment of water (See Tables 1 & 2, P223 persulfate concentration to be 1.8 x 10-5M, 3.6 x 10-5M, and 9 x 10-5 M).
/Bobby Ramdhanie/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1779