DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-7 are objected to because of the following informalities: at line 1, the recitation of “securing an outboard motor in water vessels” (emphasis added) should be --securing an outboard motor on water vessels—(emphasis added). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: at line 2, the recitation of “not shown in the figures” should be deleted. Reference to figures in the claims is improper. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means of bearings” in claim 1.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, hence claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the rear corners" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2, line 2, the recitation of “move rotationally in asymmetry from a center to the sides” appears to be incorrect. The rigid structures appear to move rotationally in a symmetrical way from the center to the sides, see figures 3 and 4. Perhaps applicant intended to say that the rigid structures are configured to move pivotally from a center to the sides, making an arc of an order of 180o and are capable of being moved independently of each other (as shown in figure 5). Is it assumed that the rigid structures are configured to move pivotally and independently of each other.
Regarding claim 3, line 2, the phrase "has a possibility" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
As to claim 4, line 3, the recitation of “it” is confusing. It is not readily understood as to what “it” refers. Pronouns should be avoided in the claims.
Regarding claim 7, line 2, the phrase "wherein optionally" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Insofar as understood, claim(s) 1, 4, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ehni (US 4,890,811).
As to claim 1, Ehni discloses an articulated mount 36 for securing an outboard motor 18 on water vessels, comprising two rigid structures of high strength consisting of metallic tubes (76, 76A) reinforced with metallic plates (40,42,44,46), which are secured to rear portions of sides of the vessel or at the rear corners, by means of bearings 68.
As to claim 4, Ehni discloses (see figure 1) wherein each rigid structure is installed on a rear portion of the water vessel, so that in a working position it is locked transversely to a stern.
As to claim 6, Ehni discloses wherein locks (hydraulic cylinders) are provided to keep the mount stable both in a working position and in an open position.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ehni (US 4,890,811) in view of Otobe et al (US 7,189,127).
As to claim 3, Ehni discloses all that is claimed except wherein each rigid structure has a possibility to install inflatable buoys in any part of a lower portion. Otobe disclose installing buoys 22 on a rigid structure 23. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to install buoys on a rigid structure as disclosed by Otobe, since doing so provides the expected benefit of providing stability to a water vessel.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5, and 7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/FREDERICK L LAGMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678