DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the:
mechanically tunable microresonator with two stretchable fiber tails and a piezo system of claim 5, and
the two fiber tailed microresonator, one tail being held on a static stage, one tail being held on a single piezo system, a tapered fiber transverse to the fiber tails outlined in claim 8
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 6 refers to obtaining a ratio between “the light wavelengths squared” and “the microresonator diameter” to be between 1 and 100. First, the originally filed specification at pages 4-5 only outlines a single wavelength and therefore not “wavelengths”. Second, the values outlined on pages 4-5 for the single wavelength given and the microresonator diameter range disclosed does not produce a value of 1-100 when made into a ratio. Based on the Applicant’s original disclosure of the instant application it is not clear the Applicant was in possession of the claimed invention in claim 6 at the time the application was filed.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 8 outlines a method of tuning a microresonator’s whispering gallery modes (WGM) by making use of a microresonator having two fiber tails, one tail being on a static stage, the other tail being on a single axis piezo system, bring a tapered fiber in contact with the microresonator to achieve optical coupling where the tapered fiber is transverse to the tails of the microresonator, and thereafter tuning the WGMs by applying a voltage to the piezo system. The Applicant has not provided a figure to show this two tailed, piezo driven, WGM tuning means for a microresonator. Other than repeating the language of claim 8 in the written description the Applicant has not outlined how a microresonator with two fiber tails is physically arranged or constructed. Applicant has not shown how the single axis piezo is arranged relative to the tail and microresonator in order to enable the WGM tuning. Applicant has also not outlined how the tuning of the WGMs occurs when the piezo system is activated.
The amount of experimentation needed to practice the invention is found to be undue or unreasonable based on (see MPEP 2165.01a) (1) C: the state of the prior art as the prior art was not found to teach such a system or a system related thereto, (2) F: the amount of direction provided by the inventor due to the lack of detail in the originally filed disclosure outlined above, (3) G: the lack of showing of working examples, and (4) H: the quantity of experimentation therefore needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure.
Claims 1, 6-8 (and all claims dependent therefrom; 2-5) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 at line 2 makes of use “(longitudinal)” where ‘longitudinal’ is enclosed in parentheses. It is therefore unclear if the term is meant to be an example or to be further limiting.
For purposes of examination, “longitudinal” is understood to be limiting.
Claim 1 at line 2 refers to “fiber coupled diode laser” and at line 3 to “an optical fiber with a tapered region”. It is unclear if the claim is referring to two separate fibers (a first fiber coupled to a diode laser, a second fiber with a taper) or is instead referring to a single fiber which itself has a tapered region. The originally filed disclosure at figure 1 appears to show a laser diode at “1” being connected to a single fiber which has thereon a polarization controller “2” and later a tapered portion “5”. As the originally filed specification appears to outline using a single fiber and claim 1 appears to be written to include more than a single fiber there is an inconsistency between the claimed subject matter and the disclosure which renders the scope of the claim uncertain (see MPEP 2173.03).
For purposes of examination, the claim will be read as making use of two fibers.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the polarization" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim making the scope unclear as more than 1 polarization of light exists.
For purposes of examination the limitation will be read as “a polarization”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the whispering gallery modes" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim making the scope unclear as more than 1 type of mode exists.
For purposes of examination the limitation will be read as “whispering gallery modes”.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the light wavelengths" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim making the scope unclear as more than 1 wavelength of light exists.
For purposes of examination the limitation will be read as “wavelengths of the light”.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the light wavelengths” in line 1. The specification as originally filed only appears to outline production of a single light wavelength (see specification pages 4-5). As the originally filed specification appears to outline using a single wavelength and claim 6 has been written to include more than a single wavelength there is an inconsistency between the claimed subject matter and the disclosure which renders the scope of the claim uncertain (see MPEP 2173.03).
For purposes of examination, the claim will be read as making use of a single wavelength.
The term “long” in claim 7 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “long” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
For purposes of examination “long” will be read as the coherence of the system/method’s laser in the cited prior art.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the closest microresonator’s WGM" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim making the scope unclear.
It is noted that this limitation is confusing on two accounts. First, no presence of a microresonator is positively stated, and second, no presence of WGMs is stated.
For purposes of examination the limitation will be read as “finding a closest WGM of a microresonator”.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the spectral tuning process" in 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim making the scope unclear.
For purposes of examination the limitation will be read as “the tuning process”.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "one of the fiber tails" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim making the scope unclear.
For purposes of examination, the limitations will be read as “a first fiber tail” and “a second fiber tail”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsko et al. (US 2019/0146091) in view of Maleki et al. (US 2012/0194893) and RP Photonics (“Single mode operation”; RP Photonics Encyclopedia; capture date 11/11/2019; https://web.archive.org/web/20191111210335/https://www.rp-photonics.com/single_mode_operation.html).
With respect to claim 1, Matsko teaches an apparatus comprising :a multimode (longitudinal) (fig.1 #102, [0026], fig.6 #600 spectrum showing multi longitudinal modes based on multi wavelength output, [0065]), fiber coupled laser diode ([0037] laser light coupled to fiber before microresonator and before mirror #222), an optical fiber with a tapered region ([0031]), coupled to the said diode, a microresonator (fig.2 #201) in contact with the tapered region of said fiber (fig.2, at least optically in contact to transfer light), a first temperature controller that controls temperature and wavelength of the laser diode ([0062]), a device for modifying the whispering gallery modes (WGM) distribution of the microresonator ([0031-32]), and a control feedback system that adjusts the modes distribution of the microresonator (fig.4, [0043]). Matsko does not teach a polarization controller that controls the polarization of the light in the tapered region. Maleki teaches a related injection locked laser system using a WGM microresonator (fig.10) and further teaches controlling polarization at the output of the laser before the coupler into the microresonator (fig.10 #1021). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the system of Matsko to make use of a polarization controller that controls the polarization of light in the tapered region (i.e. coupler) as Maleki has demonstrated such an arrangement which would be beneficial to control TE/TM mode behavior (Maleki, [0045]).
Matsko further does not teach single transverse mode laser output. RP Photonics teaches single transverse mode laser operation is useful to provide high beam quality at/near diffraction limits. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the device of Matsko to use a laser with single transverse mode output as taught by RP Photonics in order to enable using a high-quality beam at/near the diffraction limit for focusing to small spots and/or coupling to optics.
With respect to claim 2, Matsko teaches said control feedback system is configured to ensure lasing stability ([0036], low noise/linewidth).
With respect to claim 4, Matsko teaches said device is a temperature controller ([0031]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsko, Maleki, RP Photonics in view of Bilenko et al. (US 2020/0313389).
With respect to claim 3, Matsko, as modified, teaches the device outlined above, including the control system to continuously scan the WGM-locked laser diode wavelength by using current ([0067]) and tuning of the laser wavelength based on temperature ([0062]), but does not teach said control feedback system is configured to continuously scan said WGM-locked laser diode wavelength through said first temperature controller. Bilenko teaches a related injection locked laser system using a microresonator (fig.1) including continuous scanning the wavelengths using temperature control of the laser ([0033], [0089] compared to [0091]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the system of Matsko to preform the continuous scan of laser wavelengths based on temperature control instead of current control as Bilenko has demonstrated each means is suitable for the given application (see MPEP 2144.06 II, 2144.07) and would provide an alternate means of sweeping.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsko, Maleki and RP Photonics in view of Painter et al. (US 6741628).
With respect to claim 5, Matsko, as modified, teaches the device outlined above, including the mechanical tunability of the microresonator using a piezo system ([0032]), but does not teach said device is based on a microresonator with two stretchable fiber tails. Painter teaches a related WGM microresonator device using a tapered fiber coupler (fig.2) having two tails (fig.2 left/right sides of taper) wherein the tapered fiber coupler uses a fiber type which is stretchable (col.4 lines 12-15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to make use of a fiber with two tails and taper forming method of Painter in the system of Matsko in order to utilize a demonstrated fiber taper arrangement shown to couple to WGM microresonators as well as to employ a means of manufacture shown to create the desired fiber taper type which is able to couple to microresonators.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bilenko in view of Maleki et al. (US 2008/0310463, hereafter ‘463) and Maleki.
With respect to claim 7, Bilenko teaches a method to obtain a tunable long coherence laser (fig.1, output achieved by Bilenko considered ‘long’ coherence as not defined in the claim), comprising: defining a desired laser wavelength ([0087], match frequency of laser), said desired laser wavelength being within a tunability range of said tunable long coherence laser ([0087] necessarily true to obtain wavelength); finding the closest microresonator's WGM to the desired laser wavelength ([0087], match frequency of the microresonator); bringing the microresonator to its pre-modified initial conditions of temperature or tensile stress (condition before applying tuning); setting the temperature of the laser to lock the laser to that closest WGM ([0087]); tuning the laser temperature and the microresonator's WGM using a feedback control system ([0087], fig.6b) that ensures the stability of the locking during the spectral tuning process (fig.8, [0090], 1 stable, low linewidth, locked mode achieved); and stopping the tuning process when the desired laser wavelength is obtained ([0087] tuning process ends at match). Bilenko does not specify tuning the laser temperature and the microresonator's WGM occurs simultaneously. ‘463 teaches a related locked laser system using a WGM microresonator (fig.1) which includes simultaneous tuning of the laser and microresonator systems ([0032-33]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the method of Bilenko to tune the laser and microresonator simultaneously as demonstrated by ‘463 in order to reduce adjustment time by doing the operations concurrently.
Bilenko does not teach a polarization controller that controls the polarization of the light as part of the process. Maleki teaches a related injection locked laser system using a WGM microresonator (fig.10) and further teaches controlling polarization at the output of the laser before the coupler into the microresonator (fig.10 #1021). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the method of Bilenko to make use of a polarization controller that controls the polarization of light as Maleki has demonstrated such an arrangement which would be beneficial to control TE/TM mode behavior (Maleki, [0045]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Please see the included PTO892 form for a list of related art directed to injection locked lasers using microresonators and/or details of related microresonators.
/TOD T VAN ROY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828