DETAILED ACTION
This is the second Office Action regarding application number 18/567,145, filed on 12/05/2023, which is a 371 of PCT/US2022/072777, filed on 06/06/2022, and which claims priority to provisional application number 63/197,652, filed on 06/07/2021.
This action is in response to the Applicant’s Response received 11/06/2025 and 02/19/2026.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3-14, and 16-18 are currently pending.
Claims 16-18 are new.
Claim 2 is canceled.
Claims 1, 4, 10, 12-14, and 16 are amended.
Claims 1, 3-14, and 16-18 are examined below.
The Office’s objections to the Drawings are withdrawn in light of the Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. § 102 has been withdrawn in light of the Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. § 103 has been withdrawn in light of the Applicant’s amendments.
Upon further examination, the Office has set forth a new ground of rejection.
No claim is allowed.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments received 11/06/2025 have been carefully considered but they are moot in light of the Office’s new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim*** rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIANG (“Dion-Jacobson 2D-3D perovskite solar cells with improved efficiency and stability”) in view of ZHU (US 2020/0090876 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 4, 5, 6, 14, and 18, JIANG teaches a composition and device comprising:
a first layer comprising a first perovskite having a 3-dimensional (3D) crystalline structure (3D perovskite layer); and
a plurality of second layers, each comprising a second perovskite having a 2-dimensional (2D) crystalline structure (2D perovskite layer; please see that in Fig. 1(a), that there are at least three DJ 2D perovskite layers, and that they uniformly cover the first layer),
wherein: the 3D crystalline structure comprises ABX3 ((FA0.85MA0.15)Pb(I0.85Br0.15)3, pg. 3), the 2D crystalline structure comprises AʹBX4, A comprises a first cation, B comprises a second cation, X comprises an anion, and Aʹ comprises a third cation having a 2+ charge (the ODA cation has a 2+ charge, forming a ODAPbI4 film).
JIANG does not disclose expressly that Aʹ comprises at least one of N,N-dimethyl-1,3-propane diammonium (DMePDA2+) or 3-(aminomethyl)pyridinium (3-AMPY2+) (claims 1, 14, 18), that the first perovskite comprises (FA0.85MA0.15)Pb(I0.85Br0.15)3 (claim 6)
ZHU teaches compositions having both 2D and 3D perovskites, and describes FA1-x-yMAxCsyPb(I1-zBrz)3 as an excellent 3D perovskite and also PbI4-anions combined with cations such as N,N-dimethylpropane-1,3-diammonium (DMePDA2+) (paras. 61 and 71). ZHU provides a number of examples using the diammonium cations.
Skilled artisans would have found it obvious to modify JIANG and combine in the 2D and 3D perovskite materials because they are known options and are also described favorably in the prior art. ZHU describes FA1-x-yMAxCsyPb(I1-zBrz)3 as having faster carrier mobility and longer carrier lifetime (para. 61). ZHU also describes the 2D material classes as generating improved overall perovskite structures and result in markedly improved charge-carrier mobility and lifetime (para. 76).
Regarding claims 3, 7-9, and 11-13, modified JIANG teaches the composition of claim 1.
The device taught by the combined prior art references is substantially, if not entirely, identical to the device recited by these dependent claim (see rejection of claim 1 above). Regarding product and apparatus claims, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. It is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP 2112.01).
Since the examiner does not have proper means to conduct experiments, the burden of proof is now shifted to applicants to show otherwise. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977); In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). The applicant shall provide proof in its next reply that the device taught by the combined prior art references does not possess the claimed properties.
Regarding claim 10, modified JIANG teaches the composition of claim 1, wherein the second layer uniformly covers the first layer (see Figs. 2g-2i where the 2D perovskite second layer uniformly and completely covers the 3D perovskite first layer).
Regarding claims 15-17, modified JIANG teaches a device comprising, in order: a glass substrate; a layer comprising fluorine-doped tin oxide; a layer comprising at least one of SnO2 or TiO2; a layer comprising a 3-dimensional (3D) perovskite; a layer comprising a 2-dimensional (2D) perovskite; a layer comprising a hole-transport material (HTL, spiro-OMeTAD); and a metal layer (gold) (Fig. 1b teaches all of the layers).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
The examiner also cites LI ("Two-Dimensional Dion−Jacobson Hybrid Lead Iodide Perovskites with Aromatic Diammonium Cations") as related prior art, to teach 3-AMPY.
The Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). The Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 C.F.R. § 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/ANGELO TRIVISONNO/
Primary Examiner