DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
The Amendment filed on 08 September 2026 has been entered; claims 1-16 and 34-36 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 5 of the Remarks, filed 08 September 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-16 and 34-36 under 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-16 and 34-36 under 35 USC 112(b) has been withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Applicant's arguments, see Pages 5-8 of the Remarks, filed 08 September 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-9, 12-16, and 36 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding argument (i), it is not found to be persuasive, as counting micropores at a position 0.1 micron inside the macrovoid layer is not precluded by the claimed invention. The Examiner also does not understand this argument, as it is clear from Fig. 1 that this allows for quantification of macrovoids that are definitely within the macrovoid layer. Applicant asserts that the thickness of the dense layer somehow impacts where the macrovoid pores are measured, but JP (‘003) clearly teaches that position D is within the macrovoid layer only, wherein position D is 0.1 micron from the interface between the dense layer and the macrovoid layer (see Fig. 1; Page 5, 4th full paragraph).
Arguments (ii) and (iv) is not found to be persuasive because JP (‘003) also provides macropores per micron (Page 5, second full paragraph). JP (‘003) is not required to teach the method of counting macrovoids in order to teach the macropores/micron that are claimed.
Argument (iii) is not found to be persuasive because JP (‘003) teaches that the macrovoids can range in size from greater than 0.5 micron to less than 5.0 micron, which does not necessarily mean that the macrovoids having a size of 0.5 to less than 1 micron are even present. For example, the teachings of JP (‘003) encompass embodiments where macrovoids having a size of 1.5 micron, or 2.0 micron to less than 5.0 micron are present. Even if macrovoids having a size of 0.5 microns to less than 1.0 micron are present, the Examiner submits that if at least some macrovoids are present that have a size of 1 micron or greater (which is the majority of the disclosed range of JP (‘003), the limitations of claim 1 are met or rendered obvious, especially since the range in macrovoids/micron in the porous support taught by JP (‘003) overlaps and extends beyond the claimed macrovoids/micron; therefore if some macrovoids are present that are too small, the range in macrovoids/micron taught by JP (‘003) would be more likely to correspond to the claimed range in macrovoids/micron.
With respect to Applicant’s arguments regarding the limitations “forward osmosis membrane”, the Examiner submits that these are considered to be intended use limitations which do not further limit the claimed membrane. Since JP (‘003) renders obvious the structural components of the recited membrane, it is submitted that the membrane of JP (‘003) is capable of acting as a forward osmosis membrane. In fact, JP (‘003) does not limit the disclosed semipermeable composite membrane to RO membrane applications, which are only mentioned once among other types of membranes in the Background of the Invention section.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments pertaining to dependent claims 10, 11, 34, and 35, it is submitted that all substantive arguments contained therein were addressed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 12-16, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2018039003 A (both the original document and machine translation provided and relied upon), hereinafter “JP (‘003)”.
With respect to claims 1-4, 6, and 7, JP (‘003) teaches a composite semipermeable membrane composed of a porous support (“support membrane”) and a separation functional layer (see Abstract; Claim 1), wherein the porous support (“support membrane”) is consists entirely of a dense layer in contact with the separation functional layer and a macro-void layer located between the dense layer and a base material, wherein the dense layer is lacking macro-voids (see Fig. 1), the macro-void layer 41 is a layer having macro-voids 42 (see Fig. 1) having a long diameter of 0.5 micron or more (overlapping “1 µm or greater”). JP (‘003) teaches that the thickness of the dense layer is 0.5 µm or more and 5 µm or less (see Page 5, first full paragraph), a discrete range within “1.0 to 9.5 µm” as recited in claim 1 and “8.0 µm or lower” as recited in claim 8.
Regarding the limitations pertaining to the macro-voids/µm in region A (depth of up 0 to 5.0 µm up to the interface with the separation functional layer), JP (‘003) teaches that the dense layer (which accounts for the porous support that is adjacent to the separation functional layer and ranges in thickness up to 5 microns) does not have macro-voids, as the dense layer comprises holes with long diameters which range from 0.05 to 0.5 microns (see Page 4, embedded figures through Page 5, first full paragraph). As such, the dense layer is consistent with the limitations “the macro-voids are present at 0 to 0.20/µm in region A”, “the macro-voids are present at 0 to 0.16/µm in region A”, and “the macro-voids are present at 0 to 0.12/µm in region A”, because there are 0 macro-voids per micron.
Regarding the limitations pertaining to macro-voids/micron in region B (depth of 5-10 micron), JP (‘003) teaches that the macro-void layer comprises 0.3-1.8 macro-voids/micron (see Page 4, embedded figures through Page 5, 2nd full paragraph), which overlaps “0.04 to 0.40/µm” as recited in claim 1 and touches “0.06 to 0.30/µm” as recited in claim 3, wherein the number of macro-voids in region B is greater than the number of macro-voids in region A (which has none as discussed above).
JP (‘003) and the claims differ in that JP does not teach the exact same proportions for the macro-void long diameter size or the number of macro-voids per micrometer as recited in the instant claims; however, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the macro-void long diameter size and range of the number of macro-voids per micrometer taught by JP (‘003) overlap the instantly claimed proportions and therefore are considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in JP (‘003), particularly in view of the fact that; “The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages”, In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003).
With respect to claim 5, JP (‘003) teaches that the macro-void layer comprises 0.3-1.8 macro-voids/µm (see Page 4, embedded figures through Page 5, 2nd full paragraph), which is substantially close to that of the instant claim, which recites that the macro-voids are present at “0.08 o 0.20/µm”. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art do not overlap but are close enough that one in ordinary skill in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 f.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2144.05.
With respect to claim 9, JP (‘003) and the claims differ in that JP (‘003) does not teach the exact same proportions for the thickness of the dense layer (disclosed to be 0.5 to 5 micron) as recited in the instant claim, which recites “1.5 to 6.0 µm”; however, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the range in dense layer thickness taught by JP (‘003) overlaps the instantly claimed proportions and therefore are considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in JP (‘003), particularly in view of the fact that; “The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages”, In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003).
With respect to claims 12 and 13, JP (‘003) teaches that the rate of change of the average thickness of the porous support is calculated from SEM images (see Page 10, third paragraph), the results shown in Table 3, column 7, where at least 12 entries have variation in thickness percentages that are less than 30% (see Table 3 of original document).
With respect to claims 6, 14, and 15, JP (‘003) teaches that the porous support comprises polysulfone (see Page 4, paragraphs 4-6).
With respect to claim 16, JP (‘003) teaches that the composite semipermeable membrane is housed within a pressure vessel (“housing”) (see Page 9, 6th full paragraph).
Claims 10, 11, 34, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2018039003 A (both the original document and machine translation provided and relied upon) as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Yu et al. (Separation Purification Technology, 2006, 51, 1-9), hereinafter “JP (‘003)” and “Yu”.
With respect to claims 10, 11, 34, and 35, JP (‘003) does not specifically teach that the support membrane is a hollow fiber membrane as claimed.
Yu teaches hollow fiber membranes comprising a dense layer with a thickness of about 6 microns and multiple microns below, wherein a skin layer (separation functional layer) is present on the dense layer (see Section 3.3, first sentence, and see Fig. 3), and wherein the dense layer is directly adjacent to the skin layer which is on the inner surfaces of the hollow fibers (see Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to format the porous membrane with support of JP (‘003) as a hollow fiber membrane as taught by Yu because both references teach membranes that can be formed from polyacrylonitrile (see Yu: Abstract and see JP (‘003): Page and which have a similar asymmetric membrane structure comprising a separation functional layer and a porous support composed of dense and macro-void layers (see Yu: Section 3.3 and Fig. 3), and because Yu teaches that the hollow fiber membranes can be formulated to possess the advantages of increased tensile strength and higher retention (See Abstract).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CLARE M. PERRIN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1779
/CLARE M PERRIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779 06 November 2026