DETAILED ACTION
Amendment filed on 2/5/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7, 19, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as being anticipated by Yamaoka (US 20120322374 A1).
Re Claim 1: Yamaoka discloses a server apparatus (fig 1: 3) comprising:
at least one memory configured to store instructions; and
at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to perform operations, the operations comprising:
acquiring identification information of a reading device (p41: The server 3 receives portable device identification information for identifying the portable device 1) having a display and medium type information indicating a type of a wireless communication medium (p41: terminal device identification information for identifying the terminal device 2, p104: The type (model) of the terminal device may be included in the terminal device identification information. p106) to be read by the reading device,
acquiring, based on a combination of the identification information and the medium type information (p41: stores the received portable device identification information and terminal device identification information in association with each other. p80:P terminal device identification information is stored in association with the portable device identification information in the owned device management database of the server 3., p96), guide information (p48, p53, p60: antenna position information, p90: a guide pattern corresponding to the terminal device identification information. p106, p115, examiner: Both the antenna position information and the guide pattern are the guide information) for causing the display to display a position of the wireless communication medium relative to the reading device during wireless communication (p111: the guide pattern stored in the guide pattern information storing unit 143 is displayed at the position of the loop antenna 11, p113, p139, p140: the guide line 121 representing the position of the loop antenna 11 is displayed in superposition on the image acquired by the image acquisition unit 21., p141, 143); and
transmitting the guide information to the reading device (p48, p53, p60, p106, p115).
Yamaoka does not disclose that the identification information is model information. However, that the identification information is model information is a non-functional descriptive matter as whether the identification information is model information or another type of identification information does not affect the structure of the apparatus clamed.
Re Claim 7: Yamaoka discloses a reading operation assistance method comprising, by a computer:
acquiring identification information of a reading device (p41: The server 3 receives portable device identification information for identifying the portable device 1) having a display and medium type information indicating a type of a wireless communication medium (p41: terminal device identification information for identifying the terminal device 2, p104: The type (model) of the terminal device may be included in the terminal device identification information. p106) to be read by the reading device;
acquiring, based on a combination of the identification information and the medium type information (p41: stores the received portable device identification information and terminal device identification information in association with each other. p80:P terminal device identification information is stored in association with the portable device identification information in the owned device management database of the server 3., p96), guide information (p48, p53, p60: antenna position information, p90: a guide pattern corresponding to the terminal device identification information. p106, p115, examiner: Both the antenna position information and the guide pattern are the guide information) for causing the display to display a position of the wireless communication medium relative to the reading device during wireless communication (p111: the guide pattern stored in the guide pattern information storing unit 143 is displayed at the position of the loop antenna 11, p113, p139, p140: the guide line 121 representing the position of the loop antenna 11 is displayed in superposition on the image acquired by the image acquisition unit 21., p141, 143); and
transmitting the guide information to the reading device (p48, p53, p60, p106, p115).
Yamaoka does not disclose that the identification information is model information. However, that the identification information is model information is a non-functional descriptive matter as whether the identification information is model information or another type of identification information does not affect the method clamed.
Re Claim 19: Yamaoka discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a program for causing a reading device having a display to perform operations, the operations comprising:
transmitting identification information of the reading device (p41: The server 3 receives portable device identification information for identifying the portable device 1) and medium type information indicating a type of a wireless communication medium (p41: terminal device identification information for identifying the terminal device 2, p104: The type (model) of the terminal device may be included in the terminal device identification information. p106) to be read by the reading device to a server apparatus (fig 1: 3);
receiving guide information (p48, p53, p60: antenna position information, p90: a guide pattern corresponding to the terminal device identification information. p106, p115, examiner: Both the antenna position information and the guide pattern are the guide information) for causing the display to display a position of the wireless communication medium relative to the reading device during wireless communication (p111: the guide pattern stored in the guide pattern information storing unit 143 is displayed at the position of the loop antenna 11, p113, p139, p140: the guide line 121 representing the position of the loop antenna 11 is displayed in superposition on the image acquired by the image acquisition unit 21., p141, 143), the guide information being determined based on a combination of the identification information and the medium type information by the server apparatus (p41: stores the received portable device identification information and terminal device identification information in association with each other. p80:P terminal device identification information is stored in association with the portable device identification information in the owned device management database of the server 3., p96); and
causing the display of the reading device to display, based on the guide information, a display element indicating a position of the wireless communication medium relative to the reading device during wireless communication (p111: the guide pattern stored in the guide pattern information storing unit 143 is displayed at the position of the loop antenna 11, p113, p139, p140: the guide line 121 representing the position of the loop antenna 11 is displayed in superposition on the image acquired by the image acquisition unit 21., p141, 143).
Yamaoka does not disclose that the identification information is model information. However, that the identification information is model information is a non-functional descriptive matter as whether the identification information is model information or another type of identification information does not affect the structure of the medium clamed.
Re Claims 5 and 24: Yamaoka discloses the server apparatus according to claim 3 and the non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 19, wherein
the guide information includes information indicating a position of criterion information being included in a region of the wireless communication medium overlapping the display when the wireless communication medium is placed at a communication position of the reading device (Yamaoka p111: The display unit 12 displays the guide pattern image on the display screen on the basis of the control performed by the guide display control unit 17.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, 8, 10, 20, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaoka (US 20120322374 A1) in view of Ohno (US 20170337403 A1).
Re Claims 2, 8, and 20: Yamaoka discloses the server apparatus according to claim 1, the reading operation assistance method according to claim 7, and the non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 19.
However, Yamaoka does not disclose that the guide information includes information indicating a position of at least a part of an edge of the wireless communication medium when the wireless communication medium is placed at a communication position of the reading device.
Ohno however discloses that the guide information includes information indicating a position of at least a part of an edge of the wireless communication medium when the wireless communication medium is placed at a communication position of the reading device (fig 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinarily skill in the art to incorporate Ohno’s teaching in the apparatus and method of Yamaoka for the purpose of assisting the user to precisely place the wireless communication medium when the wireless communication medium is notably smaller than the reading device.
Re Claims 4, 10, and 23: Yamaoka discloses the server apparatus according to claim 3 and the reading operation assistance method according to claim 7, and the non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 19.
However, Yamaoka does not disclose that the guide information includes information indicating an appearance of a region of the wireless communication medium overlapping the display when the wireless communication medium is placed at a communication position of the reading device.
Ohno however discloses that the guide information includes information indicating an appearance of a region of the wireless communication medium overlapping the display when the wireless communication medium is placed at a communication position of the reading device (fig 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinarily skill in the art to incorporate Ohno’s teaching in the apparatus and method of Yamaoka for the purpose of assisting the user to precisely place the wireless communication medium when the wireless communication medium is notably smaller than the reading device.
Claim(s) 6 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaoka (US 20120322374 A1) in view of HIROSE (JP 2010109594 A).
Re Claims 6 and 25: Yamaoka discloses the server apparatus according to claim 3 and the non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 19.
However, Yamaoka does not disclose the guide information includes information indicating a change over time in a display magnification and a display position relating to an image indicating an appearance of the wireless communication medium.
HIROSE however discloses the guide information includes information indicating a change over time in a display magnification and a display position relating to an image indicating an appearance of the wireless communication medium (fig 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinarily skill in the art to incorporate HIROSE’s teaching in the apparatus and medium of Yamaoka for the purpose of visually guiding for best position for communication.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaoka (US 20120322374 A1) modified by HIROSE (JP 2010109594 A) in view of Ohno (US 20170337403 A1).
Re Claim 26: Yamaoka modified by HIROSE discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 25.
However, Yamaoka modified by HIROSE does not disclose that the operations further comprise displaying, on the display, an entire image indicating an appearance of the wireless communication medium, and then, changing, based on the guide information, a display state of the image indicating the appearance of the wireless communication medium.
Ohno however discloses that the operations further comprise displaying, on the display, an entire image indicating an appearance of the wireless communication medium, and then, changing, based on the guide information, a display state of the image indicating the appearance of the wireless communication medium (figs 4, 5, 6, & 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinarily skill in the art to incorporate Ohno’s teaching in the apparatus and medium of Yamaoka modified by HIROSE for the purpose of visually guiding for best position for communication.
Claim(s) 21 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaoka (US 20120322374 A1) in view of MAFUNE (JP 2009199320 A).
Re Claim 21: Yamaoka discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 19.
However, However, Yamaoka does not disclose that the operations further comprise causing the display to further display information indicating a remaining time until reading completion according to the model information while the wireless communication medium is placed at a communication position of the reading device.
MAFUNE however discloses that the operations further comprise causing the display to further display information indicating a remaining time until reading completion (p56, p57: stable reading time Ts) according to the model information while the wireless communication medium is placed at a communication position of the reading device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinarily skill in the art to incorporate MAFUNE’s teaching in the medium of Yamaoka for the purpose of guiding a user to keep the wireless communication medium placed at a communication position until the reading completion.
Re Claim 28: Yamaoka discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 19, wherein the operations further comprise reading completion according to a combination of the model information and the medium type information.
However, Yamaoka does not disclose that the operations further comprise causing the display to further display information indicating a remaining time until reading completion, while the wireless communication medium is placed at a communication position of the reading device.
MAFUNE however discloses that the operations further comprise causing the display to further display information indicating a remaining time until reading completion (p56, p57: stable reading time Ts), while the wireless communication medium is placed at a communication position of the reading device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinarily skill in the art to incorporate MAFUNE’s teaching in the medium of Yamaoka for the purpose of guiding a user to keep the wireless communication medium placed at a communication position until the reading completion.
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaoka (US 20120322374 A1) and HIROSE (JP 2010109594 A) modified by Ohno (US 20170337403 A1) in view of Rule (WO 2020072687 A1).
Re Claim 27: Yamaoka modified by HIROSE and Ohno discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 26, indicating the appearance of the wireless communication medium, based on information indicating a change over time in a display magnification and a display position of the guide information (HIROSE fig 6).
However, Yamaoka modified by HIROSE and Ohno does not disclose expressing, by an animation, a change in a display state of the image.
Rule however discloses expressing, by an animation, a change in a display state of the image (p196, p197).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinarily skill in the art to incorporate Rule’s teaching in the medium of Yamaoka modified by HIROSE and Ohno for the purpose of guiding and indicating a successful placement of the contactless card (Rule p197).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot due to the new ground of rejection.
Yamaoka discloses acquiring, based on a combination of the identification information and the medium type information (p41: stores the received portable device identification information and terminal device identification information in association with each other. p80:P terminal device identification information is stored in association with the portable device identification information in the owned device management database of the server 3., p96), guide information (p48, p53, p60: antenna position information, p90: a guide pattern corresponding to the terminal device identification information. p106, p115, examiner: Both the antenna position information and the guide pattern are the guide information).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAE W KIM/
Examiner, Art Unit 2876
/STEVEN S PAIK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2876