Prior Art Rejection
3. Claims 1-5 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2006/037026 A2.
WO 2006/037026 A2 discloses a polyurethane composition, used as coating on substrates, including metal and vehicles (see page 4, lines 4-1`3), wherein the polyurethane composition comprises a prepolymer produced by reacting toluene diisocyanate (an aromatic polyisocyanate) with a polyol, such as polyether polyol, polyester polyol, and polycaprolactone polyol (see page 5, line 15 through page 7, line 7 and page 9, lines 3-12). The polyurethane is produced by reacting the prepolymer with chain extenders (see page 9, lines 23-30). Tear strengths are disclosed within Table IX of 80 to 122 kN/m and type A hardness values are disclosed within Table XI of 95 and 97. Though the claimed temperature conditions are not disclosed, given the disclosed tear strengths and hardness values and considering that the polyurethane composition components correspond to those claimed, the position is taken that the claimed properties at the claimed temperature conditions are inherent properties of the disclosed composition. Regarding claim 5, statements of intended use do not carry patentable weight.
4. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2006/037026 A2 in view of EP 1369614 A1.
WO 2006/037026 A2 discloses a polyurethane composition, used as coating on substrates, including metal and vehicles (see page 4, lines 4-13), wherein the polyurethane composition comprises a prepolymer produced by reacting toluene diisocyanate (an aromatic polyisocyanate) with a polyol, such as polyether polyol, polyester polyol, and polycaprolactone polyol (see page 5, line 15 through page 7, line 7 and page 9, lines 3-12). The polyurethane is produced by reacting the prepolymer with chain extenders (see page 9, lines 23-30). Tear strengths are disclosed within Table IX of 80 to 122 kN/m and type A hardness values are disclosed within Table XI of 95 and 97. Though the claimed temperature conditions are not disclosed, given the disclosed tear strengths and hardness values and considering that the polyurethane composition components correspond to those claimed, the position is taken that the claimed properties at the claimed temperature conditions are intrinsic properties of the disclosed composition.
5. Though the primary reference discloses that compositions may be applied to metal substrates and vehicles, the reference fails to disclose the application of the compositions to springs. Still, the application of polyurethane coatings to springs was known at the time of invention, as evidenced by the teachings within EP 1369614 A1 at paragraphs [0010] and [0011]. EP 1369614 A1 discloses that polyurethanes having Shore A hardness values of 50-100 may be used to coat springs. Accordingly, given this teaching, the position is taken that it would have been obvious to apply the polyurethane composition of the primary reference to such items as springs to provide for their protection from corrosion and damage.
Conclusion
/RABON A SERGENT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765