DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the Non-Final Rejection mailed February 13, 2026, the status of the claims was as follows:
Claim(s) 12 and 33 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by SHIN (US 20240121737 A1). Claim(s) 1, 4, 7, 8, 11, 17, 18, 22, 23, 26, 29, 30, 38, and 39 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIN (US 20240121737 A1) in view of WU (US 20220124795 A1). Claim(s) 2 and 24, were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIN (US 20240121737 A1) in view of WU (US 20220124795 A1) in view of WANG (“US 20220408389 A1”). Claim(s) 5-6 and 27-28 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIN (US 20240121737 A1) in view of WU (US 20220124795 A1) in view of Bergstrom (US 20130201910 A1). Claim(s) 19-20 and 40-41 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIN (US 20240121737 A1) in view of TSAI (US 20150346347 A1). Claim(s) 9-10 and 31-32, were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIN (US 20240121737 A1) in view of WU (US 20220124795 A1) in view of TSAI (US 20150346347 A1). Claim(s) 13 and 34 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIN (US 20240121737 A1) in view of KEATING (US 20220295225 A1). Claim(s) 14, 15, 16, 35, 36 and 37 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIN (US 20240121737 A1) in view of LAURIDSEN (US 20230072679 A1). Claim(s) 21 and 42 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIN (US 20240121737 A1) in view of KAZMI (US 9503246 B2). Claim(s) 3 and 25 were objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Responsive to the Non-Final Rejection, Applicants have amended independent claim(s) 12 and 33, and presented arguments in light of the amendments in order to overcome the 103 rejections of claims 12 and 33. In order to overcome the 103 rejection(s) of independent claim 1, Applicants have presented arguments. Claim(s) 1-42 are pending. The arguments and amendments will be addressed below.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Claim 1
In the Non-Final Rejection, Applicants argue that the prior art of record, SHIN (US 20240121737 A1) in view of WU (US 20220124795 A1) fails to render obvious claim 1, specifically pointing to the feature to “…reset, after a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) fix, a cumulative timing advance value based on the one or more timing advance commands from the NTN…” (See Remarks, Page(s) 11-12). In the Non-Final Rejection SHIN was found to be deficient on said feature, and WU was introduced to remedy the deficiency of SHIN. Refer to Non-Final Rejection page(s) 8-9, which recite
“SHIN is silent on resetting, after a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) fix, the cumulative timing advance value based on the one or more timing advance commands from the NTN… WU teaches a feature where in order to perform a timing alignment, a timing advance (TA) value is reset, the TA value is set to an initial value, after a GNSS fix, after a UE obtains its geographical location based on GNSS module, when the TA value is judged to be invalid… Thus based upon the teachings of WU it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the timing alignment feature of SHIN, in a manner similar to that of WU, arrive by resetting, after a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) fix, a cumulative timing advance value based on the one or more timing advance commands from the NTN, to thus arrive at claim 1, in order to accommodate a situation where a timing advance value may be invalid for performing a desired timing alignment/adjustment..”
Applicants disagree with the conclusion of obviousness, pointing to deficiencies of WU. Applicants argue that WU doesn’t teach a cumulative timing advance and that WU further fails to teach resetting, after a GNSS fix, the/a cumulative timing advance value based on the one or more timing advance commands from the NTN (see Remarks, Page 11).
“…In contrast, Wu fails to disclose the cumulative timing advance value, let alone resetting it after GNSS fix…”’
With respect to the cumulative timing advance value, Applicants point to the term, “NTA” in the Instant Application (para 95 – 100), and seek to highlight differences between the WU’s timing advance, “TA”, and the claimed cumulative timing advance value. See Remarks Page(s) 10-11 which recite,
“Here, as in the claim, after the GNSS fix, a specific quantity is reset, namely, the "cumulative timing advance value." As explained in the Specification (para. 95-100), this cumulative timing advance (denoted "NTA") is distinct from other quantity, such as a UE self- estimated timing advance. The cumulative timing advance value is not individual timing advance (TA) commands, rather it is a "value" based on "an accumulation of timing advance (TA) commands from the network." Spec. para. 97.”
The Instant Application recites with respect to the cumulative timing advance value the following
“[0097] NTA is a cumulative timing advance value based on an accumulation of timing advance (TA) commands from the network. NTA= 0 for a PRACH transmission and is updated based on the TA Command field in random access msg2/msgB and/or in a MAC-CE TA command. The network provided timing advance may be referred to as a closed-loop timing advance.”
Thus, Applicants conclude that the timing advance of WU, does not qualify as the claimed cumulative timing advance. The examiner disagrees with this conclusion. As Applicants have highlighted, the claimed cumulative timing advance value, is “…based on an accumulation of timing advance (TA) commands from the network. NTA= 0 for a PRACH transmission and is updated based on the TA Command field in random access msg2/msgB and/or in a MAC-CE TA command”. WU teaches a timing advance, fourth timing advance, that is based on an accumulation of TA commands from a network (i.e. obtaining a fourth timing advance according to a timing advance indicated by the timing advance control command and the third timing advance), and that is updated based on a TA command field in a msg2 (i.e. msg2 such as the RAR, that includes the timing advance control command ). See where WU recites the following:
“[0272] FIG. 10 illustrates a flowchart of an example method performed by a UE in a wireless communication system according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. The method may include the following steps: [0273] S1001: determining a third timing advance based on a first timing advance configured by a base station and/or a second timing advance estimated by a UE, wherein the third timing advance is used for PRACH transmission of an initial random access procedure; [0274] S1002: receiving a timing advance control command indicated by the base station through an RAR; [0275] S1003: obtaining a fourth timing advance according to a timing advance indicated by the timing advance control command and the third timing advance; and [0276] S1004: updating the fourth timing advance based on timing advance drift information.”
Furthermore, this fourth timing advance is different than a UE self-estimated timing advance, as the fourth timing advance is determined based on a timing advance control command indicated by the base station through an RAR and on a third timing advance. The third timing advance which is determined by either of first timing advance latest configured by a base station and/or a second timing advance latest estimated by the UE.
“[0262] According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the UE may receive an absolute timing advance control command indicated by a base station through a MAC CE; and obtain a latest fourth timing advance according to a timing advance indicated by the received absolute timing advance control command and a latest third timing advance, where the latest third timing advance is determined based on a first timing advance latest configured by the base station and/or a second timing advance latest estimated by the UE.”
Finally, with respect to the claimed cumulative timing advance value, Applicants are reminded that the combination of SHIN and WU, was believed to render the cumulative timing advance value obvious. For example, the Non-Final Rejection notes that SHIN teaches a cumulative timing advance value. See Non-Final Rejection, pages 7-8 which recites
“SHIN differs from claim 1, in that while SHIN teaches a cumulative timing advance value, N.sub.TA, the cumulative timing advance value being based on one or more timing advance commands, TAC, from NTN, ([0209] Meanwhile, in a NTN, a TA may be calculated as follows. T.sub.TA=(N.sub.TA+N.sub.TA,UE-specific+N.sub.TA,common+N.sub.TA,offset)×T.sub.c [0210] Here, N.sub.TA and N.sub.TA,offset are the same as the existing TA parameter. Specifically, N.sub.TA is a parameter determined according to a TAC provided through a RAR or a MAC CE. A TAC indicates a predefined difference value (or step size), and a N.sub.TA may be calculated by accumulating a value indicated by a TAC. N.sub.TA,offset corresponds to a TA offset value generated by a duplex mode difference, etc. For example, N.sub.TA,offset is 0 in FDD, and in TDD, it may be defined as a predetermined default value in consideration of a margin for a DL-UL switching time. For example, a default value of N.sub.TA,offset may be given as a different value according to a frequency scope.)”
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Thus, the combination of SHIN in view of WU is believed to at least suggest a cumulative timing advance value.
With respect to WU further failing to teach resetting, after a GNSS fix, a cumulative timing advance value based on the one or more timing advance commands from the NTN, Applicants argue that WU while discloses making a judgement that a TA is invalid, based upon the judgement performing at least one of several actions, that these actions don’t qualify as resetting the accumulative timing advance value.
“In contrast, Wu fails to disclose the cumulative timing advance value, let alone resetting it after GNSS fix. Instead, in response to a deemed "invalid" TA (command), Wu appears to describe various approaches, none of which is resetting the accumulative timing advance value: [0373] If the TA is judged to be invalid in the above events, the UE needs to perform at least one of the following processes: [0374] the UE needs to re-initiate a random access procedure to acquire the TA, which is similar to a UE in an RRC idle/inactive state initiating a random access procedure mentioned above, and needs to acquire an initial TA for PRACH transmission. The UE may determine the initial TA based on a re-estimated TA and/or a common TA latest indicated by the base station. Unlike a UE in an RRC idle/inactive state, the UE may determine the initial TA based on a common TA configured by the base station through UE-specific RRC signaling or MAC CE; [0375] the UE needs to update the TA based on the TA drift mentioned above; [0376] the UE needs to re-estimate a TA and/or receive a common TA latest indicated by the base station, and determine the initial TA based on the re-estimated TA and/or the common latest TA indicated by the base station. Unlike a UE in an RRC idle/inactive state, the UE may determine the initial TA by using a common TA configured through UE-specific RRC signaling or MAC CE, and directly use the initial TA for uplink transmission; and [0377] the UE needs to re-estimate a TA and/or receive a common TA latest indicated by the base station, adjust a timing advance judged to be invalid based on a variation between the latest estimated timing advance and the last estimated timing advance, and/or adjust the timing advance judged to be invalid based on a variation between the latest configured public timing advance and the last configured public timing advance, and use the adjusted timing advance for uplink transmission.”
First in response to this argument, Applicants are reminded again that the combination of SHIN and WU was believed to render obvious said feature and that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Additionally with respect to this argument, Applicants do not provide any further clarity as to what qualifies as a reset of the cumulative timing advance value. Thus, it is unclear what distinguishes, WU’s determining of an initial TA based on a received common TA, after the TA has been judged to be invalid due to a geographical location acquired from a GNSS module from the claimed resetting, after a GNSS fix, a cumulative timing advance value. Therefore, the argument that the combination of SHIN and WU fails to suggest resetting, after a GNSS fix, a cumulative timing advance value based on the one or more timing advance commands from the NTN has been deemed unpersuasive. Accordingly, the rejection of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIN (US 20240121737 A1) in view of WU (US 20220124795 A1) has been maintained.
Claims 12 and 33
In the Non-Final Rejection, claim(s) 12 and 33 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by SHIN (US 20240121737 A1). Applicants have amended each of claim 12 and claim 33, to include a limitation, “…wherein to calculate the adjusted self-estimated delay, the memory and the at least one processor are further configured to filter, or limit, or clip GNSS readings from the GNSS fix and prior GNSS reading…”. Applicants have also presented arguments in light of the amendments. Responsive to the amendments, a new ground of rejection has been made in view of VYUNOVA (US 20210176726 A1). With respect to the arguments, Applicant' s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIN (US 20240121737 A1) in view of VYUNOVA (US 20210176726 A1).
In regards to claim 12, SHIN (US 20240121737 A1) teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory, the memory and the at least one processor configured to: receive one or more timing advance commands from a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (“[0204] In the above-described examples, a common TA and/or a TA command (TAC) (e.g., a TA value indicated through a TAC field such as Msg 2 (RAR) in a random access process), etc. may be configured to perform TA update by a CL method according to a configuration/an indication of a base station. When a base station configures/indicates a terminal to use such a CL TA control method, a terminal may be configured not to performs TA update through OL TA control (e.g., UE-specific TA update) during a pre-promised time (or a time configured/indicated by a base station)… [0209] Meanwhile, in a NTN, a TA may be calculated as follows… [0210] Here, N.sub.TA and N.sub.TA,offset are the same as the existing TA parameter. Specifically, N.sub.TA is a parameter determined according to a TAC provided through a RAR or a MAC CE. A TAC indicates a predefined difference value (or step size), and a N.sub.TA may be calculated by accumulating a value indicated by a TAC….”);
calculate an adjusted self-estimated delay based on at least one global navigation satellite system (GNSS) fix, (SHIN teaches calculating an adjusted self-estimated delay, UE-specific TA, based on a GNSS fix, “[0146] In a NTN, a distance between a satellite and a terminal is changed by movement of a satellite regardless of movement of a terminal. In order to overcome it, a terminal may figure out a position of a terminal through a GNSS (global navigation satellite system) and calculate a UE-specific TA, a round trip delay (RTD) between a terminal and a satellite, through orbit information of a satellite indicated by a base station.”); and
transmit an uplink transmission with a timing advance based on the adjusted self-estimated delay and a cumulative timing advance value based on the one or more timing advance commands from the NTN (“[0163] In S920, a terminal may calculate a TA based on at least one valid TA parameter. [0164] A calculated TA may be applied to uplink transmission timing. Applying a TA to uplink transmission timing may include adjusting/updating uplink transmission timing.[0165] A TA parameter applied to adjustment/update of uplink transmission timing may include a TA parameter provided from a base station in S910. Additionally, a time reference parameter applied to uplink transmission timing may further include a TA parameter other than a TA parameter provided from a base station in S910 (e.g., a TA parameter acquired by a terminal itself such as a UE-specific TA parameter, an OL TA parameter, etc.)… [0169] In S930, a terminal may perform uplink transmission based on a calculated TA (or based on uplink transmission timing to which a calculated TA is applied).”).
SHIN differs from claim 12, in that SHIN is silent on wherein to calculate the adjusted self-estimated delay, the memory and at least one processor are further configured to limit, or clip GNSS readings from the GNSS fix and prior GNSS readings. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving use of GNSS for determining a location of a device.
VYUNOVA (US 20210176726 A1) for example suggests clipping GNSS readings (i.e. filter out GNSS measurements) in order to avoid inaccurate GNSS-position based measurements (“[0092] In yet another example, the mobile device and/or server device could respond to a determination that the mobile device is indoor by causing the mobile device to at least temporarily disable, discard, and/or filter out GNSS measurements while the mobile device is positioned indoors. Since GNSS is typically unavailable or unreliable indoors, it may be beneficial to disable, discard, and/or filter out GNSS measurements while the mobile device is positioned indoors, because doing so may help decrease power consumption by the mobile device and/or may help avoid an inaccurate GNSS-based position estimate, among other advantages. Other examples are also possible.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of VYUNOVA it would have been obvious to modify SHIN’s feature for calculating the adjusted self-estimated delay based on the at least one global navigation satellite system (GNSS) fix, by filtering GNSS fixes/GNSS readings as suggested by VYUNOVA to arrive at wherein to calculate the adjusted self-estimated delay, the memory and at least one processor are further configured to limit, or clip GNSS readings from the GNSS fix and prior GNSS readings. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to avoid use of inaccurate GNSS readings that result due to an indoor positioning of a device.
In regards to claim 33, SHIN (US 20240121737 A1) teaches a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving one or more timing advance commands from a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (“[0204] In the above-described examples, a common TA and/or a TA command (TAC) (e.g., a TA value indicated through a TAC field such as Msg 2 (RAR) in a random access process), etc. may be configured to perform TA update by a CL method according to a configuration/an indication of a base station. When a base station configures/indicates a terminal to use such a CL TA control method, a terminal may be configured not to performs TA update through OL TA control (e.g., UE-specific TA update) during a pre-promised time (or a time configured/indicated by a base station)… [0209] Meanwhile, in a NTN, a TA may be calculated as follows… [0210] Here, N.sub.TA and N.sub.TA,offset are the same as the existing TA parameter. Specifically, N.sub.TA is a parameter determined according to a TAC provided through a RAR or a MAC CE. A TAC indicates a predefined difference value (or step size), and a N.sub.TA may be calculated by accumulating a value indicated by a TAC….”);
calculating an adjusted self-estimated delay based on at least one global navigation satellite system (GNSS) fix,(SHIN teaches calculating a an adjusted self-estimated delay, UE-specific TA, based on a GNSS fix, “[0146] In a NTN, a distance between a satellite and a terminal is changed by movement of a satellite regardless of movement of a terminal. In order to overcome it, a terminal may figure out a position of a terminal through a GNSS (global navigation satellite system) and calculate a UE-specific TA, a round trip delay (RTD) between a terminal and a satellite, through orbit information of a satellite indicated by a base station.”);and
transmitting an uplink transmission with a timing advance based on the adjusted self-estimated delay and a cumulative timing advance value based on the one or more timing advance commands from the NTN(“[0163] In S920, a terminal may calculate a TA based on at least one valid TA parameter. [0164] A calculated TA may be applied to uplink transmission timing. Applying a TA to uplink transmission timing may include adjusting/updating uplink transmission timing.[0165] A TA parameter applied to adjustment/update of uplink transmission timing may include a TA parameter provided from a base station in S910. Additionally, a time reference parameter applied to uplink transmission timing may further include a TA parameter other than a TA parameter provided from a base station in S910 (e.g., a TA parameter acquired by a terminal itself such as a UE-specific TA parameter, an OL TA parameter, etc.)… [0169] In S930, a terminal may perform uplink transmission based on a calculated TA (or based on uplink transmission timing to which a calculated TA is applied).”).
SHIN differs from claim 33, in that SHIN is silent on wherein to calculate the adjusted self-estimated delay, the memory and at least one processor are further configured to limit, or clip GNSS readings from the GNSS fix and prior GNSS readings. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving use of GNSS for determining a location of a device.
VYUNOVA (US 20210176726 A1) for example suggests clipping GNSS readings (i.e. filter out GNSS measurements) in order to avoid inaccurate GNSS-position based measurements (“[0092] In yet another example, the mobile device and/or server device could respond to a determination that the mobile device is indoor by causing the mobile device to at least temporarily disable, discard, and/or filter out GNSS measurements while the mobile device is positioned indoors. Since GNSS is typically unavailable or unreliable indoors, it may be beneficial to disable, discard, and/or filter out GNSS measurements while the mobile device is positioned indoors, because doing so may help decrease power consumption by the mobile device and/or may help avoid an inaccurate GNSS-based position estimate, among other advantages. Other examples are also possible.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of VYUNOVA it would have been obvious to modify SHIN’s feature for calculating the adjusted self-estimated delay based on the at least one global navigation satellite system (GNSS) fix, by filtering GNSS fixes/GNSS readings as suggested by VYUNOVA to arrive at wherein to calculate the adjusted self-estimated delay, the memory and at least one processor are further configured to limit, or clip GNSS readings from the GNSS fix and prior GNSS readings. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to avoid use of inaccurate GNSS readings that result due to an indoor positioning of a device.
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7, 8, 11, 17, 18, 22, 23, 26, 29, 30, 38, and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIN (US 20240121737 A1) in view of WU (US 20220124795 A1)
In regards to claim 1, SHIN (US 20240121737 A1) teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory, the memory and the at least one processor configured to (“[0320] For example, the above-described operation in S105 that a terminal (100 or 200 in FIG. 12) receives the configuration information from a base station (200 or 100 in FIG. 12) may be implemented by a device of FIG. 12 to be described below. For example, in reference to FIG. 12, at least one processor 102 may control at least one transceiver 106 and/or at least one memory 104, etc. to receive the configuration information, and at least one transceiver 106 may receive the configuration information from a network side.”): receive one or more timing advance commands from a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (“[0204] In the above-described examples, a common TA and/or a TA command (TAC) (e.g., a TA value indicated through a TAC field such as Msg 2 (RAR) in a random access process), etc. may be configured to perform TA update by a CL method according to a configuration/an indication of a base station. When a base station configures/indicates a terminal to use such a CL TA control method, a terminal may be configured not to performs TA update through OL TA control (e.g., UE-specific TA update) during a pre-promised time (or a time configured/indicated by a base station)… [0209] Meanwhile, in a NTN, a TA may be calculated as follows… [0210] Here, N.sub.TA and N.sub.TA,offset are the same as the existing TA parameter. Specifically, N.sub.TA is a parameter determined according to a TAC provided through a RAR or a MAC CE. A TAC indicates a predefined difference value (or step size), and a N.sub.TA may be calculated by accumulating a value indicated by a TAC….”); and transmit an uplink transmission with a timing advance based on a self-estimated delay and the cumulative timing advance value (“[0163] In S920, a terminal may calculate a TA based on at least one valid TA parameter. [0164] A calculated TA may be applied to uplink transmission timing. Applying a TA to uplink transmission timing may include adjusting/updating uplink transmission timing.[0165] A TA parameter applied to adjustment/update of uplink transmission timing may include a TA parameter provided from a base station in S910. Additionally, a time reference parameter applied to uplink transmission timing may further include a TA parameter other than a TA parameter provided from a base station in S910 (e.g., a TA parameter acquired by a terminal itself such as a UE-specific TA parameter, an OL TA parameter, etc.)… [0169] In S930, a terminal may perform uplink transmission based on a calculated TA (or based on uplink transmission timing to which a calculated TA is applied).”).
SHIN differs from claim 1, in that while SHIN teaches a cumulative timing advance value, N.sub.TA, the cumulative timing advance value being based on one or more timing advance commands, TAC, from NTN, ([0209] Meanwhile, in a NTN, a TA may be calculated as follows. T.sub.TA=(N.sub.TA+N.sub.TA,UE-specific+N.sub.TA,common+N.sub.TA,offset)×T.sub.c [0210] Here, N.sub.TA and N.sub.TA,offset are the same as the existing TA parameter. Specifically, N.sub.TA is a parameter determined according to a TAC provided through a RAR or a MAC CE. A TAC indicates a predefined difference value (or step size), and a N.sub.TA may be calculated by accumulating a value indicated by a TAC. N.sub.TA,offset corresponds to a TA offset value generated by a duplex mode difference, etc. For example, N.sub.TA,offset is 0 in FDD, and in TDD, it may be defined as a predetermined default value in consideration of a margin for a DL-UL switching time. For example, a default value of N.sub.TA,offset may be given as a different value according to a frequency scope.), SHIN is silent on resetting, after a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) fix, the cumulative timing advance value based on the one or more timing advance commands from the NTN
Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving timing alignment in a wireless communication network. WU teaches a feature where in order to perform a timing alignment, a timing advance (TA) value is reset, the TA value is set to an initial value, after a GNSS fix, after a UE obtains its geographical location based on GNSS module, when the TA value is judged to be invalid (“[0362] For example, the UE may judge that the TA is invalid through at least one of the following events: [0363] If a timer (TimeAlignmentTimer (a time alignment timer)) configured by the base station for maintaining the TA expires, the UE judges that the TA is invalid. Here, the UE starts or restarts the TimeAlignmentTimer every time the TA is updated; [0364] If a beam of the downlink transmission of the UE changes, the UE judges that the TA is invalid; [0365] If a change of the geographical location of the UE exceeds a predefined or preconfigured threshold, the UE judges that the TA is invalid. Here, the UE needs to periodically estimate its own geographical location based on a GNSS module; [0366] If a change of distance between the UE and the satellite exceeds a predefined or preconfigured threshold, the UE judges that the TA is invalid. Here, the UE needs to periodically estimate the distance between itself and the satellite based on a GNSS module and a satellite ephemeris”… [0373] If the TA is judged to be invalid in the above events, the UE needs to perform at least one of the following processes: [0374] the UE needs to re-initiate a random access procedure to acquire the TA, which is similar to a UE in an RRC idle/inactive state initiating a random access procedure mentioned above, and needs to acquire an initial TA for PRACH transmission. The UE may determine the initial TA based on a re-estimated TA and/or a common TA latest indicated by the base station. Unlike a UE in an RRC idle/inactive state, the UE may determine the initial TA based on a common TA configured by the base station through UE-specific RRC signaling or MAC CE; [0375] the UE needs to update the TA based on the TA drift mentioned above;).
Thus based upon the teachings of WU it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the timing alignment feature of SHIN, in a manner similar to that of WU, arrive by resetting, after a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) fix, a cumulative timing advance value based on the one or more timing advance commands from the NTN, to thus arrive at claim 1, in order to accommodate a situation where a timing advance value may be invalid for performing a desired timing alignment/adjustment.
In regards to claim 23, SHIN teaches a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving one or more timing advance commands from a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (“[0204] In the above-described examples, a common TA and/or a TA command (TAC) (e.g., a TA value indicated through a TAC field such as Msg 2 (RAR) in a random access process), etc. may be configured to perform TA update by a CL method according to a configuration/an indication of a base station. When a base station configures/indicates a terminal to use such a CL TA control method, a terminal may be configured not to performs TA update through OL TA control (e.g., UE-specific TA update) during a pre-promised time (or a time configured/indicated by a base station)… [0209] Meanwhile, in a NTN, a TA may be calculated as follows… [0210] Here, N.sub.TA and N.sub.TA,offset are the same as the existing TA parameter. Specifically, N.sub.TA is a parameter determined according to a TAC provided through a RAR or a MAC CE. A TAC indicates a predefined difference value (or step size), and a N.sub.TA may be calculated by accumulating a value indicated by a TAC….”);
transmitting an uplink transmission with a timing advance based on a self-estimated delay and the cumulative timing advance value (“[0163] In S920, a terminal may calculate a TA based on at least one valid TA parameter. [0164] A calculated TA may be applied to uplink transmission timing. Applying a TA to uplink transmission timing may include adjusting/updating uplink transmission timing.[0165] A TA parameter applied to adjustment/update of uplink transmission timing may include a TA parameter provided from a base station in S910. Additionally, a time reference parameter applied to uplink transmission timing may further include a TA parameter other than a TA parameter provided from a base station in S910 (e.g., a TA parameter acquired by a terminal itself such as a UE-specific TA parameter, an OL TA parameter, etc.)… [0169] In S930, a terminal may perform uplink transmission based on a calculated TA (or based on uplink transmission timing to which a calculated TA is applied).”).
SHIN differs from claim 23, in that while SHIN teaches a cumulative timing advance value, N.sub.TA, the cumulative timing advance value being based on one or more timing advance commands, TAC, from NTN, ([0209] Meanwhile, in a NTN, a TA may be calculated as follows. T.sub.TA=(N.sub.TA+N.sub.TA,UE-specific+N.sub.TA,common+N.sub.TA,offset)×T.sub.c [0210] Here, N.sub.TA and N.sub.TA,offset are the same as the existing TA parameter. Specifically, N.sub.TA is a parameter determined according to a TAC provided through a RAR or a MAC CE. A TAC indicates a predefined difference value (or step size), and a N.sub.TA may be calculated by accumulating a value indicated by a TAC. N.sub.TA,offset corresponds to a TA offset value generated by a duplex mode difference, etc. For example, N.sub.TA,offset is 0 in FDD, and in TDD, it may be defined as a predetermined default value in consideration of a margin for a DL-UL switching time. For example, a default value of N.sub.TA,offset may be given as a different value according to a frequency scope.), SHIN is silent on resetting, after a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) fix, the cumulative timing advance value based on the one or more timing advance commands from the NTN
Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving timing alignment in a wireless communication network. WU teaches a feature where in order to perform a timing alignment, a timing advance (TA) value is reset, the TA value is set to an initial value, after a GNSS fix, after a UE obtains its geographical location based on GNSS module, when the TA value is judged to be invalid (“[0362] For example, the UE may judge that the TA is invalid through at least one of the following events: [0363] If a timer (TimeAlignmentTimer (a time alignment timer)) configured by the base station for maintaining the TA expires, the UE judges that the TA is invalid. Here, the UE starts or restarts the TimeAlignmentTimer every time the TA is updated; [0364] If a beam of the downlink transmission of the UE changes, the UE judges that the TA is invalid; [0365] If a change of the geographical location of the UE exceeds a predefined or preconfigured threshold, the UE judges that the TA is invalid. Here, the UE needs to periodically estimate its own geographical location based on a GNSS module; [0366] If a change of distance between the UE and the satellite exceeds a predefined or preconfigured threshold, the UE judges that the TA is invalid. Here, the UE needs to periodically estimate the distance between itself and the satellite based on a GNSS module and a satellite ephemeris”… [0373] If the TA is judged to be invalid in the above events, the UE needs to perform at least one of the following processes: [0374] the UE needs to re-initiate a random access procedure to acquire the TA, which is similar to a UE in an RRC idle/inactive state initiating a random access procedure mentioned above, and needs to acquire an initial TA for PRACH transmission. The UE may determine the initial TA based on a re-estimated TA and/or a common TA latest indicated by the base station. Unlike a UE in an RRC idle/inactive state, the UE may determine the initial TA based on a common TA configured by the base station through UE-specific RRC signaling or MAC CE; [0375] the UE needs to update the TA based on the TA drift mentioned above;).
Thus based upon the teachings of WU it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the timing alignment feature of SHIN, in a manner similar to that of WU, arrive by resetting, after a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) fix, a cumulative timing advance value based on the one or more timing advance commands from the NTN, to thus arrive at claim 23, in order to accommodate a situation where a timing advance value may be invalid for performing a desired timing alignment/adjustment.
In regards to claim 4, SHIN is silent on the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the memory and the at least one processor are configured to reset the cumulative timing advance value in response to expiration of a timer. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving timing alignment in a wireless communication network. WU teaches a feature where in order to perform a timing alignment, a timing advance (TA) value is reset, the TA value is set to an initial value, in response to expiration of a timer, TimeAlingment Timer, the TA value being judged to be invalid responsive to the timer expiring (“[0362] For example, the UE may judge that the TA is invalid through at least one of the following events: [0363] If a timer (TimeAlignmentTimer (a time alignment timer)) configured by the base station for maintaining the TA expires, the UE judges that the TA is invalid. Here, the UE starts or restarts the TimeAlignmentTimer every time the TA is updated; [0364] If a beam of the downlink transmission of the UE changes, the UE judges that the TA is invalid; [0365] If a change of the geographical location of the UE exceeds a predefined or preconfigured threshold, the UE judges that the TA is invalid. Here, the UE needs to periodically estimate its own geographical location based on a GNSS module; [0366] If a change of distance between the UE and the satellite exceeds a predefined or preconfigured threshold, the UE judges that the TA is invalid. Here, the UE needs to periodically estimate the distance between itself and the satellite based on a GNSS module and a satellite ephemeris”… [0373] If the TA is judged to be invalid in the above events, the UE needs to perform at least one of the following processes: [0374] the UE needs to re-initiate a random access procedure to acquire the TA, which is similar to a UE in an RRC idle/inactive state initiating a random access procedure mentioned above, and needs to acquire an initial TA for PRACH transmission. The UE may determine the initial TA based on a re-estimated TA and/or a common TA latest indicated by the base station. Unlike a UE in an RRC idle/inactive state, the UE may determine the initial TA based on a common TA configured by the base station through UE-specific RRC signaling or MAC CE; [0375] the UE needs to update the TA based on the TA drift mentioned above;).
Thus based upon the teachings of WU it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the timing alignment feature of SHIN, in a manner similar to that of WU, arrive by resetting, in response to expiration of a timer, a cumulative timing advance value based on the one or more timing advance commands from the NTN, to thus arrive at claim 4, in order to accommodate a situation where a timing advance value may be invalid for performing a desired timing alignment/adjustment.
In regards to claim 26, SHIN is silent on the method of claim 23, wherein the memory and the at least one processor are configured to reset the cumulative timing advance value in response to expiration of a timer. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving timing alignment in a wireless communication network. WU teaches a feature where in order to perform a timing alignment, a timing advance (TA) value is reset, the TA value is set to an initial value, in response to expiration of a timer, TimeAlingment Timer, the TA value being judged to be invalid responsive to the timer expiring (“[0362] For example, the UE may judge that the TA is invalid through at least one of the following events: [0363] If a timer (TimeAlignmentTimer (a time alignment timer)) configured by the base station for maintaining the TA expires, the UE judges that the TA is invalid. Here, the UE starts or restarts the TimeAlignmentTimer every time the TA is updated; [0364] If a beam of the downlink transmission of the UE changes, the UE judges that the TA is invalid; [0365] If a change of the geographical location of the UE exceeds a predefined or preconfigured threshold, the UE judges that the TA is invalid. Here, the UE needs to periodically estimate its own geographical location based on a GNSS module; [0366] If a change of distance between the UE and the satellite exceeds a predefined or preconfigured threshold, the UE judges that the TA is invalid. Here, the UE needs to periodically estimate the distance between itself and the satellite based on a GNSS module and a satellite ephemeris”… [0373] If the TA is judged to be invalid in the above events, the UE needs to perform at least one of the following processes: [0374] the UE needs to re-initiate a random access procedure to acquire the TA, which is similar to a UE in an RRC idle/inactive state initiating a random access procedure mentioned above, and needs to acquire an initial TA for PRACH transmission. The UE may determine the initial TA based on a re-estimated TA and/or a common TA latest indicated by the base station. Unlike a UE in an RRC idle/inactive state, the UE may determine the initial TA based on a common TA configured by the base station through UE-specific RRC signaling or MAC CE; [0375] the UE needs to update the TA based on the TA drift mentioned above;).
Thus based upon the teachings of WU it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the timing alignment feature of SHIN, in a manner similar to that of WU, arrive by resetting, in response to expiration of a timer, a cumulative timing advance value based on the one or more timing advance commands from the NTN, to thus arrive at claim 26, in order to accommodate a situation where a timing advance value may be invalid for performing a desired timing alignment/adjustment.
In regards to claim 7, SHIN is silent on the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the timing advance for the uplink transmission is further based on a threshold metric including one or more of: a maximum amount of a magnitude of a timing change in one adjustment, a minimum aggregate adjustment rate, or a maximum aggregate adjustment rate. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving timing alignment in a wireless communication network. WU teaches a feature for a timing alignment in a wireless communication network, a timing advance (TA) for an uplink transmission is based upon a threshold metric including a maximum amount of a magnitude of a timing change in one adjustment (“[0367] If the UE calculates that the TA drift after the last update of the TA exceeds a predefined or preconfigured threshold according to a TA drift configured by the base station or estimated by itself, the UE judges that the TA is invalid;”).
Thus based upon the teachings of WU it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the timing alignment feature of SHIN, in a manner similar to that of WU, arrive at where a timing advance for the uplink transmission is further based on a threshold metric include a maximum amount of a magnitude of a timing change in one adjustment, to thus arrive at claim 7, in order to accommodate a situation where a timing advance value may be invalid for performing a desired timing alignment/adjustment.
In regards to claim 17, SHIN is silent on the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the timing advance with which the uplink transmission is transmitted is further based on a threshold metric including one or more of: a maximum amount of a magnitude of a timing change in one adjustment, a minimum aggregate adjustment rate, or a maximum aggregate adjustment rate. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving timing alignment in a wireless communication network. WU teaches a feature for a timing alignment in a wireless communication network, a timing advance (TA) for an uplink transmission is based upon a threshold metric including a maximum amount of a magnitude of a timing change in one adjustment (“[0367] If the UE calculates that the TA drift after the last update of the TA exceeds a predefined or preconfigured threshold according to a TA drift configured by the base station or estimated by itself, the UE judges that the TA is invalid;”).
Thus based upon the teachings of WU it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the timing alignment feature of SHIN, in a manner similar to that of WU, arrive at where a timing advance for the uplink transmission is further based on a threshold metric include a maximum amount of a magnitude of a timing change in one adjustment, to thus arrive at claim 17, in order to accommodate a situation where a timing advance value may be invalid for performing a desired timing alignment/adjustment.
In regards to claim 38, SHIN is silent on the method of claim 33, wherein the timing advance with which the uplink transmission is transmitted is further based on a threshold metric including one or more of: a maximum amount of a magnitude of a timing change in one adjustment, a minimum aggregate adjustment rate, or a maximum aggregate adjustment rate. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving timing alignment in a wireless communication network. WU teaches a feature for a timing alignment in a wireless communication network, a timing advance (TA) for an uplink transmission is based upon a threshold metric including a maximum amount of a magnitude of a timing change in one adjustment (“[0367] If the UE calculates that the TA drift after the last update of the TA exceeds a predefined or preconfigured threshold according to a TA drift configured by the base station or estimated by itself, the UE judges that the TA is invalid;”).
Thus based upon the teachings of WU it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the timing alignment feature of SHIN, in a manner similar to that of WU, arrive at where a timing advance for the uplink transmission is further based on a threshold metric include a maximum amount of a magnitude of a timing change in one adjustment, to thus arrive at claim 38, in order to accommodate a situation where a timing advance value may be invalid for performing a desired timing alignment/adjustment.
In regards to claim 29, SHIN is silent on the method of claim 23, wherein the timing advance with which the uplink transmission is transmitted is further based on a threshold metric including one or more of: a maximum amount of a magnitude of a timing change in one adjustment, a minimum aggregate adjustment rate, or a maximum aggregate adjustment rate. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving timing alignment in a wireless communication network. WU teaches a feature for a timing alignment in a wireless communication network, a timing advance (TA) for an uplink transmission is based upon a threshold metric including a maximum amount of a magnitude of a timing change in one adjustment (“[0367] If the UE calculates that the TA drift after the last update of the TA exceeds a predefined or preconfigured threshold according to a TA drift configured by the base station or estimated by itself, the UE judges that the TA is invalid;”).
Thus based upon the teachings of WU it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the timing alignment feature of SHIN, in a manner similar to that of WU, arrive at where a timing advance for the uplink transmission is further based on a threshold metric include a maximum amount of a magnitude of a timing change in one adjustment, to thus arrive at claim 29, in order to accommodate a situation where a timing advance value may be invalid for performing a desired timing alignment/adjustment.
In regards to claim 8, SHIN is silent on the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the threshold metric is based on at least one of a subcarrier spacing, a satellite type, a satellite orbit, a GNSS accuracy, a look up table associated with a satellite. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving timing alignment in a wireless communication network. WU teaches a feature for a timing alignment in a wireless communication network, a timing advance (TA) for an uplink transmission is based upon a threshold metric including a maximum amount of a magnitude of a timing change in one adjustment (“[0367] If the UE calculates that the TA drift after the last update of the TA exceeds a predefined or preconfigured threshold according to a TA drift configured by the base station or estimated by itself, the UE judges that the TA is invalid;”) WU also teaches where a TA drift depends on a satellite orbit, satellite ephemeris (“[0282] Example 2-3: UE updates TA based on an estimated TA drift. [0283] For example, since a moving speed of a satellite relative to a UE is relatively constant, the UE may estimate the relative moving speed through a GNSS module and a satellite ephemeris, and then estimate a distance change between the UE and the satellite within a unit time, so as to obtain a variation of a TA within a unit time, that is, a TA drift of the TA in time, and the UE may continuously update the TA based on the estimated TA drift. This method has at least the following advantages: a base station needs not to transmit a TA command frequently, thus saving a lot of signaling overhead, and also the TA may be adjusted quickly and dynamically. This method may also be used in combination with the above examples 2-1 and 2-2.”)
Thus based upon the teachings of WU it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the timing alignment feature of SHIN, in a manner similar to that of WU, arrive the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the threshold metric is based on at least one of a subcarrier spacing, a satellite type, a satellite orbit, a GNSS accuracy, a look up table associated with a satellite., in order to accommodate a situation where a timing advance value may be invalid for performing a desired timing alignment/adjustment.
In regards to claim 18, SHIN is silent on the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the threshold metric is based on at least one of a subcarrier spacing, a satellite type, a satellite orbit, a GNSS accuracy, a look up table associated with a satellite. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving timing alignment in a wireless communication network.
WU teaches a feature for a timing alignment in a wireless communication network, a timing advance (TA) for an uplink transmission is based upon a threshold metric including a maximum amount of a magnitude of a timing change in one adjustment (“[0367] If the UE calculates that the TA drift after the last update of the TA exceeds a predefined or preconfigured threshold according to a TA drift configured by the base station or estimated by itself, the UE judges that the TA is invalid;”) WU also teaches where a TA drift depends on a satellite orbit, satellite ephemeris (“[0282] Example 2-3: UE updates TA based on an estimated TA drift. [0283] For example, since a moving speed of a satellite relative to a UE is relatively constant, the UE may estimate the relative moving speed through a GNSS module and a satellite ephemeris, and then estimate a distance change between the UE and the satellite within a unit time, so as to obtain a variation of a TA within a unit time, that is, a TA drift of the TA in time, and the UE may continuously update the TA based on the estimated TA drift. This method has at least the following advantages: a base station needs not to transmit a TA command frequently, thus saving a lot of signaling overhead, and also the TA may be adjusted quickly and dynamically. This method may also be used in combination with the above examples 2-1 and 2-2.”)
Thus based upon the teachings of WU it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the timing alignment feature of SHIN, in a manner similar to that of WU, arrive the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the threshold metric is based on at least one of a subcarrier spacing, a satellite type, a satellite orbit, a GNSS accuracy, a look up table associated with a satellite., in order to accommodate a situation where a timing advance value may be invalid for performing a desired timing alignment/adjustment.
In regards to claim 30, SHIN is silent on the method of claim 29, wherein the threshold metric is based on at least one of a subcarrier spacing, a satellite type, a satellite orbit, a GNSS accuracy, a look up table associated with a satellite. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving timing alignment in a wireless communication network.
WU teaches a feature for a timing alignment in a wireless communication network, a timing advance (TA) for an uplink transmission is based upon a threshold metric including a maximum amount of a magnitude of a timing change in one adjustment (“[0367] If the UE calculates that the TA drift after the last update of the TA exceeds a predefined or preconfigured threshold according to a TA drift configured by the base station or estimated by itself, the UE judges that the TA is invalid;”) WU also teaches where a TA drift depends on a satellite orbit, satellite ephemeris (“[0282] Example 2-3: UE updates TA based on an estimated TA drift. [0283] For example, since a moving speed of a satellite relative to a UE is relatively constant, the UE may estimate the relative moving speed through a GNSS module and a satellite ephemeris, and then estimate a distance change between the UE and the satellite within a unit time, so as to obtain a variation of a TA within a unit time, that is, a TA drift of the TA in time, and the UE may continuously update the TA based on the estimated TA drift. This method has at least the following advantages: a base station needs not to transmit a TA command frequently, thus saving a lot of signaling overhead, and also the TA may be adjusted quickly and dynamically. This method may also be used in combination with the above examples 2-1 and 2-2.”)
Thus based upon the teachings of WU it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the timing alignment feature of SHIN, in a manner similar to that of WU, arrive the method of claim 29, wherein the threshold metric is based on at least one of a subcarrier spacing, a satellite type, a satellite orbit, a GNSS accuracy, a look up table associated with a satellite., in order to accommodate a situation where a timing advance value may be invalid for performing a desired timing alignment/adjustment.
In regards to claim 39, SHIN is silent on the method of claim 38, wherein the threshold metric is based on at least one of a subcarrier spacing, a satellite type, a satellite orbit, a GNSS accuracy, a look up table associated with a satellite. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving timing alignment in a wireless communication network.
WU teaches a feature for a timing alignment in a wireless communication network, a timing advance (TA) for an uplink transmission is based upon a threshold metric including a maximum amount of a magnitude of a timing change in one adjustment (“[0367] If the UE calculates that the TA drift after the last update of the TA exceeds a predefined or preconfigured threshold according to a TA drift configured by the base station or estimated by itself, the UE judges that the TA is invalid;”) WU also teaches where a TA drift depends on a satellite orbit, satellite ephemeris (“[0282] Example 2-3: UE updates TA based on an estimated TA drift. [0283] For example, since a moving speed of a satellite relative to a UE is relatively constant, the UE may estimate the relative moving speed through a GNSS module and a satellite ephemeris, and then estimate a distance change between the UE and the satellite within a unit time, so as to obtain a variation of a TA within a unit time, that is, a TA drift of the TA in time, and the UE may continuously update the TA based on the estimated TA drift. This method has at least the following advantages: a base station needs not to transmit a TA command frequently, thus saving a lot of signaling overhead, and also the TA may be adjusted quickly and dynamically. This method may also be used in combination with the above examples 2-1 and 2-2.”)
Thus based upon the teachings of WU it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the timing alignment feature of SHIN, in a manner similar to that of WU, arrive the method of claim 38, wherein the threshold metric is based on at least one of a subcarrier spacing, a satellite type, a satellite orbit, a GNSS accuracy, a look up table associated with a satellite., in order to accommodate a situation where a timing advance value may be invalid for performing a desired timing alignment/adjustment.
In regards to claim 11, SHIN teaches the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: at least one antenna; and a transceiver coupled to the at least one antenna and the at least one processor (“[0320] For example, the above-described operation in S105 that a terminal (100 or 200 in FIG. 12) receives the configuration information from a base station (200 or 100 in FIG. 12) may be implemented by a device of FIG. 12 to be described below. For example, in reference to FIG. 12, at least one processor 102 may control at least one transceiver 106 and/or at least one memory 104, etc. to receive the configuration information, and at least one transceiver 106 may receive the configuration information from a network side.”, also refer to [Fig. 12] which illustrates antennas 108/208 coupled with the transceiver):
In regards to claim 22, SHIN teaches the apparatus of claim 12, further comprising: at least one antenna; and a transceiver coupled to the at least one antenna and the at least one processor (“[0320] For example, the above-described operation in S105 that a terminal (100 or 200 in FIG. 12) receives the configuration information from a base station (200 or 100 in FIG. 12) may be implemented by a device of FIG. 12 to be described below. For example, in reference to FIG. 12, at least one processor 102 may control at least one transceiver 106 and/or at least one memory 104, etc. to receive the configuration information, and at least one transceiver 106 may receive the configuration information from a network side.”, also refer to [Fig. 12] which illustrates antennas 108/208 coupled with the transceiver):
Claim(s) 2 and 24, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIN (US 20240121737 A1) in view of WU (US 20220124795 A1) in view of WANG (“US 20220408389 A1”).
In regards to claim 2, SHIN is silent on the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the memory and the at least one processor are configured to reset the cumulative timing advance value to zero in response to the GNSS fix, and are further configured to: add, to the cumulative timing advance value, at least one additional timing advance from at least one additional timing advance command after the GNSS fix.
However, SHIN does teach the cumulative timing advance value and performing the GNSS fix. Furthermore, regarding adding at least one additional timing advance from at least one additional timing advance command after the GNSS fix, similar features have been seen in other prior art involving timing alignment for wireless communication networks. WANG (“US 20220408389 A1”) teaches adding to a cumulative timing advance value, TAC_ac, at least one additional timing advance, second of two TAC adjustments, from at least one additional timing advance ([0696] To save signaling overheads for reporting TA values by the UE, the UE may report a TA change rate (TA rate) TA_R that is being used by the UE and a TA value TA_Va that is being used by the UE to the gNB. The UE may obtain the TA change rate through calculation based on information such as a location of the UE, a location of a satellite, a speed direction, and a speed size. Both the UE and the gNB may calculate the TA value to be subsequently used by the UE based on the TA_R and the TA_Va, and then calculate the Koffset value. For example, Koffset=┌[TA_R*(t−t0)+TA_Va]/slot_duration┐, where t represents a moment at which Koffset is to be calculated or to be used, and t0 represents a moment at which the UE uses a TA_Va value. If the gNB subsequently sends a TAC instruction to the UE to adjust the TA value, the calculation Koffset formula may be adjusted to Koffset=┌[TA_R*(t−t0)+TA_Va+TAC_ac]slot_duration┐, where TAC_ac represents a cumulative value of the TAC instruction sent by the gNB to the UE. For example, the gNB sends the TAC to the UE twice, and the sum of two TAC adjustments is TAC_ac. It may be agreed that both the UE and the gNB calculate the Koffset value according to the foregoing formula, and update the Koffset value to the latest Koffset value. Alternatively, the gNB calculates the Koffset value according to the foregoing formula, and if the Koffset value needs to be updated, the gNB indicates an updated latest Koffset value or a difference between the latest Koffset value and the original Koffset to the UE.)
Thus, based upon the teachings of WANG, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, the timing alignment feature of SHIN, such that after the GNSS fix is performed, add, to the cumulative timing advance value, at least one additional timing advance from at least one additional timing advance command, to thus arrive at claim 2. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to effectively provide a cumulative timing advance value, by allowing the cumulative timing advance value, to continue to accumulate timing advances after performing the GNSS fix.
In regards to claim 24, SHIN is silent on the method of claim 23, wherein the UE resets the cumulative timing advance value to zero in response to the GNSS fix, the method further comprising: adding, to the cumulative timing advance value, at least one additional timing advance from at least one additional timing advance command after the GNSS fix. However, SHIN does teach the cumulative timing advance value and performing the GNSS fix. Furthermore, regarding adding at least one additional timing advance from at least one additional timing advance command after the GNSS fix, similar features have been seen in other prior art involving timing alignment for wireless communication networks.
WANG (“US 20220408389 A1”) teaches adding to a cumulative timing advance value, TAC_ac, at least one additional timing advance, second of two TAC adjustments, from at least one additional timing advance ([0696] To save signaling overheads for reporting TA values by the UE, the UE may report a TA change rate (TA rate) TA_R that is being used by the UE and a TA value TA_Va that is being used by the UE to the gNB. The UE may obtain the TA change rate through calculation based on information such as a location of the UE, a location of a satellite, a speed direction, and a speed size. Both the UE and the gNB may calculate the TA value to be subsequently used by the UE based on the TA_R and the TA_Va, and then calculate the Koffset value. For example, Koffset=┌[TA_R*(t−t0)+TA_Va]/slot_duration┐, where t represents a moment at which Koffset is to be calculated or to be used, and t0 represents a moment at which the UE uses a TA_Va value. If the gNB subsequently sends a TAC instruction to the UE to adjust the TA value, the calculation Koffset formula may be adjusted to Koffset=┌[TA_R*(t−t0)+TA_Va+TAC_ac]slot_duration┐, where TAC_ac represents a cumulative value of the TAC instruction sent by the gNB to the UE. For example, the gNB sends the TAC to the UE twice, and the sum of two TAC adjustments is TAC_ac. It may be agreed that both the UE and the gNB calculate the Koffset value according to the foregoing formula, and update the Koffset value to the latest Koffset value. Alternatively, the gNB calculates the Koffset value according to the foregoing formula, and if the Koffset value needs to be updated, the gNB indicates an updated latest Koffset value or a difference between the latest Koffset value and the original Koffset to the UE.)
Thus, based upon the teachings of WANG, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, the timing alignment feature of SHIN, such that after the GNSS fix is performed, add, to the cumulative timing advance value, at least one additional timing advance from at least one additional timing advance command, to thus arrive at claim 24. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to effectively provide a cumulative timing advance value, by allowing the cumulative timing advance value, to continue to accumulate timing advances after performing the GNSS fix.
Claim(s) 5-6 and 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIN (US 20240121737 A1) in view of WU (US 20220124795 A1) in view of Bergstrom (US 20130201910 A1)
In regards to claim 5, SHIN is silent on the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the memory and the at least one processor are further configured to: skip accumulation of a timing advance command to the cumulative timing advance value based on one or more of: a propagation delay change that meets a delay threshold value, a GNSS location change that meets a location change threshold value, a time difference between reception of the timing advance command and a last uplink transmission being more than a timing threshold value, or the timing advance command indicating a same sign of positive or negative change as the self-estimated delay. Despite these changes similar features have been seen in other prior art involving timing alignment for wireless communication networks. Bergstrom (US 20130201910 A1) teaches skipping or ignoring accumulation of a timing advance command to a cumulative timing advance value based on more of a propagation delay change that meets a threshold value (“[0142] According to some of the example embodiments, a timing advance value of zero may be maintained, for example, if the user equipment is located in close proximity of a receiver and/or if an uplink cell size of the user equipment is relatively small or within a threshold value. The granularity of the time alignment value may be approximately 0.5 .mu.s. As the time alignment value shall compensate for the round-trip delay, the time alignment granularity in one-way propagation distance may therefore be approximately 0.25 .mu.s. A 0.25 .mu.s propagation delay equals approximately 75-80 meters. This value may, for example, be used as a threshold value. Another, example, threshold value may be based on how large the time alignment error the receiver can cope with. One eNB may be able to correctly receive a signal even though the time alignment value is incorrect by a small value, e.g. 3-4 time alignment granularity steps… [0146] According to some of the example embodiments, the updating 16 may further comprise ignoring 22 the TAC MAC CE command and maintaining the timing advance value of zero. The processing circuitry 520 may be configured to ignore the TAC MAC CE command and maintain the timing advance value of zero. It should be appreciated that, according to some of the example embodiments, the TA timer may be restarted after ignoring the TAC MAC CE command and maintaining the timing advance value of zero.”)
Thus based upon the teachings of Bergstrom (US 20130201910 A1) it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, the timing alignment feature of SHIN, by skipping accumulation of a timing advance command to the cumulative timing advance value based on one or more of: a propagation delay change that meets a delay threshold value, as similarly seen in timing alignment feature of Bergstrom to thus arrive at claim 5. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to provide a benefit of efficient application of timing advance adjustment to a timing advance value.
In regards to claim 27, SHIN is silent on the method of claim 23, further comprising: skipping accumulation of a timing advance command to the cumulative timing advance value based on one or more of: a propagation delay change that meets a delay threshold value, a GNSS location change that meets a location change threshold value, a time difference between reception of the timing advance command and a last uplink transmission being more than a timing threshold value, or the timing advance command indicating a same sign of positive or negative change as the self-estimated delay. Despite these changes similar features have been seen in other prior art involving timing alignment for wireless communication networks.
Bergstrom (US 20130201910 A1) teaches skipping or ignoring accumulation of a timing advance command to a cumulative timing advance value based on more of a propagation delay change that meets a threshold value (“[0142] According to some of the example embodiments, a timing advance value of zero may be maintained, for example, if the user equipment is located in close proximity of a receiver and/or if an uplink cell size of the user equipment is relatively small or within a threshold value. The granularity of the time alignment value may be approximately 0.5 .mu.s. As the time alignment value shall compensate for the round-trip delay, the time alignment granularity in one-way propagation distance may therefore be approximately 0.25 .mu.s. A 0.25 .mu.s propagation delay equals approximately 75-80 meters. This value may, for example, be used as a threshold value. Another, example, threshold value may be based on how large the time alignment error the receiver can cope with. One eNB may be able to correctly receive a signal even though the time alignment value is incorrect by a small value, e.g. 3-4 time alignment granularity steps… [0146] According to some of the example embodiments, the updating 16 may further comprise ignoring 22 the TAC MAC CE command and maintaining the timing advance value of zero. The processing circuitry 520 may be configured to ignore the TAC MAC CE command and maintain the timing advance value of zero. It should be appreciated that, according to some of the example embodiments, the TA timer may be restarted after ignoring the TAC MAC CE command and maintaining the timing advance value of zero.”)
Thus based upon the teachings of Bergstrom (US 20130201910 A1) it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, the timing alignment feature of SHIN, by skipping accumulation of a timing advance command to the cumulative timing advance value based on one or more of: a propagation delay change that meets a delay threshold value, as similarly seen in timing alignment feature of Bergstrom to thus arrive at claim 27. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to provide a benefit of efficient application of timing advance adjustment to a timing advance value.
In regards to claim 6, SHIN is silent on the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the memory and the at least one processor are further configured to: restart a time alignment timer in response to skipping the accumulation of the timing advance command to the cumulative timing advance value.
Despite these changes similar features have been seen in other prior art involving timing alignment for wireless communication networks. Bergstrom (US 20130201910 A1) teaches skipping or ignoring accumulation of a timing advance command to a cumulative timing advance value based on more of a propagation delay change that meets a threshold value, and restarting a timing alignment timer, TA timer, in response to the skipping (“[0142] According to some of the example embodiments, a timing advance value of zero may be maintained, for example, if the user equipment is located in close proximity of a receiver and/or if an uplink cell size of the user equipment is relatively small or within a threshold value. The granularity of the time alignment value may be approximately 0.5 .mu.s. As the time alignment value shall compensate for the round-trip delay, the time alignment granularity in one-way propagation distance may therefore be approximately 0.25 .mu.s. A 0.25 .mu.s propagation delay equals approximately 75-80 meters. This value may, for example, be used as a threshold value. Another, example, threshold value may be based on how large the time alignment error the receiver can cope with. One eNB may be able to correctly receive a signal even though the time alignment value is incorrect by a small value, e.g. 3-4 time alignment granularity steps… [0146] According to some of the example embodiments, the updating 16 may further comprise ignoring 22 the TAC MAC CE command and maintaining the timing advance value of zero. The processing circuitry 520 may be configured to ignore the TAC MAC CE command and maintain the timing advance value of zero. It should be appreciated that, according to some of the example embodiments, the TA timer may be restarted after ignoring the TAC MAC CE command and maintaining the timing advance value of zero.”)
Thus based upon the teachings of Bergstrom (US 20130201910 A1) it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, the timing alignment feature of SHIN, arrive at the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the memory and the at least one processor are further configured to: restart a time alignment timer in response to skipping the accumulation of the timing advance command to the cumulative timing advance value. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to provide a benefit of efficient application of timing advance adjustment to a timing advance value.
In regards to claim 28, SHIN is silent on the method of claim 27, further comprising: restarting a time alignment timer in response to skipping the accumulation of the timing advance command to the cumulative timing advance value. Despite these changes similar features have been seen in other prior art involving timing alignment for wireless communication networks. Bergstrom (US 20130201910 A1) teaches skipping or ignoring accumulation of a timing advance command to a cumulative timing advance value based on more of a propagation delay change that meets a threshold value, and restarting a timing alignment timer, TA timer, in response to the skipping (“[0142] According to some of the example embodiments, a timing advance value of zero may be maintained, for example, if the user equipment is located in close proximity of a receiver and/or if an uplink cell size of the user equipment is relatively small or within a threshold value. The granularity of the time alignment value may be approximately 0.5 .mu.s. As the time alignment value shall compensate for the round-trip delay, the time alignment granularity in one-way propagation distance may therefore be approximately 0.25 .mu.s. A 0.25 .mu.s propagation delay equals approximately 75-80 meters. This value may, for example, be used as a threshold value. Another, example, threshold value may be based on how large the time alignment error the receiver can cope with. One eNB may be able to correctly receive a signal even though the time alignment value is incorrect by a small value, e.g. 3-4 time alignment granularity steps… [0146] According to some of the example embodiments, the updating 16 may further comprise ignoring 22 the TAC MAC CE command and maintaining the timing advance value of zero. The processing circuitry 520 may be configured to ignore the TAC MAC CE command and maintain the timing advance value of zero. It should be appreciated that, according to some of the example embodiments, the TA timer may be restarted after ignoring the TAC MAC CE command and maintaining the timing advance value of zero.”)
Thus based upon the teachings of Bergstrom (US 20130201910 A1) it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, the timing alignment feature of SHIN, arrive at the method of claim 27, wherein the memory and the at least one processor are further configured to: restart a time alignment timer in response to skipping the accumulation of the timing advance command to the cumulative timing advance value. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to provide a benefit of efficient application of timing advance adjustment to a timing advance value.
Claim(s) 19-20 and 40-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIN (US 20240121737 A1) in view of VYUNOVA (US 20210176726 A1) in view of TSAI (US 20150346347 A1).
In regards to claim 19, SHIN in view of VYUNOVA is silent on the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the at least one GNSS fix is based on a GNSS time period associated with a velocity of the UE. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving use of GNSS. TSAI (US 20150346347 A1) teaches a GNSS feature, where a GNSS fix is based on a GNSS time period, GNSS long, medium, short update state, associated with a speed of a device, GNSS receiver (“[0026] Please refer to FIG. 3, which is a simplified diagram illustrating state switching of the GNSS receiver 100 as shown in FIG. 1 according to an embodiment of the present invention. As shown in FIG. 3, the GNSS receiver 100 comprises the normal state 302 and a plurality of operation states including a short update state 304, a medium update state 306, and a long update state 308. The GNSS receiver 100 initially enters the normal state 302, and then enters the short update state 304 when starting to collect satellite information, i.e. one satellite information collection. After completing the satellite information collection, the GNSS receiver 100 exits the short update state 304 and then enters the normal state 302. The short update state 304, medium update state 306, and the long update state 308 are different operation states in which the GNSS receiver 100 collects/updates satellite information respectively at different working frequencies. Assuming that the working period of each satellite information collection performed by the GNSS receiver 100 is substantially identical to another satellite information collection, these different operation states indicate different time intervals between the current satellite information collection performed by the GNSS receiver 100 and the next satellite information collection performed by the GNSS receiver 100. That is, a time interval is placed between the timing at which the GNSS receiver 100 starts to collect satellite information and the next timing at which the GNSS receiver 100 starts to collect/update satellite information again… [0028] In a first embodiment, the positioning unit 108 provides the history of the obtained positioning information indicating a speed value of the GNSS receiver 100. The speed value is one of a current speed value of the GNSS receiver 100 and a resultant speed value that is recorded and calculated during a past time period. Since the GNSS receiver 100 may be installed within a vehicle or within a portable communication device carried by a person, the GNSS receiver 100 therefore may be moved from a location to another location and the speed value can be derived. The specific criterion is associated with two predetermined threshold values including a low threshold value TH1 and a high threshold value TH2. If the speed value indicated by the history of the obtained positioning information is lower than the low threshold value TH1, this implies that the user carrying the GNSS receiver 100 may move at a slower speed and the GNSS receiver 100 may be moved at the slower speed due to the user. The controlling unit 110 determines that it is not required for the GNSS receiver 100 to perform the satellite information collection/update frequently. The GNSS receiver 100 remains in the long update state 308 or switches from other update states 304 and 306 into the long update state 308. For example, the user may be in the office or in the house, so he/she may move slowly or may not move; the history of the obtained positioning information may indicate that the moving speed/rate of the GNSS receiver is very slow or almost zero. In this situation, the GNSS receiver 100 remains in the long update state 308, or switches from the other operation states 304 and 306 into the long update state 308 if the GNSS receiver 100 was originally in other operation states 304 and 306. Thus, if the GNSS receiver 100 currently is not under the long update state 308, the controlling unit 110 determines to switch from the other states to the long update state 308 when the speed value is lower than the low threshold value TH1.
[0029] Additionally, if the speed value indicated by the history of the obtained positioning information is higher than the high threshold value TH2, this implies that the user carrying the GNSS receiver 100 may move at a faster speed and the GNSS receiver 100 may be moved at the faster speed due to the user. The controlling unit 110 determines that it is necessary for the GNSS receiver 100 to perform the satellite information collection/update frequently. The GNSS receiver 100 remains in the short update state 304, or switches from other operation states 306 and 308 into the short update state 304 if the GNSS receiver 100 was originally in other operation states 306 and 308. For example, the user may drive a car or take a bus, so he/she may move fast; the history of the obtained positioning information may indicate that the speed value of the GNSS receiver is higher. In this situation, the GNSS receiver 100 remains in the short update state 304, or switches from the other states 306 and 308 into the short update state 304 if the GNSS receiver 100 was originally in other operation states306 and 308. Thus, if the GNSS receiver 100 currently is not under the short update state 304, the controlling unit 110 determines to switch from the other states to the short update state 304 when the speed value is higher than the high threshold value TH2...”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of TSAI, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the GNSS feature of SHIN in view of VYUNOVA, by having the GNSS fix be based on a GNSS time period associated with a speed/velocity of a GNSS device, such as the UE, to thus arrive at claim 19. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to obtain reduction of unnecessary power consumption involved in the use of SHIN in view of VYUNOVA’s GNSS feature (See TSAI where it recites, “[0004] Therefore, one of the objectives of the present invention is to provide a GNSS receiver and corresponding method for determining whether to switch from an operation state to another operation state based on user behaviors or environment conditions, so as to achieve reduction of unnecessary power consumption and solve the problems mentioned above.”).
In regards to claim 40, SHIN in view of VYUNOVA is silent on the method of claim 33, wherein the at least one GNSS fix is based on a GNSS time period associated with a velocity of the UE. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving use of GNSS. TSAI (US 20150346347 A1) teaches a GNSS feature, where a GNSS fix is based on a GNSS time period, GNSS long, medium, short update state, associated with a speed of a device, GNSS receiver (“[0026] Please refer to FIG. 3, which is a simplified diagram illustrating state switching of the GNSS receiver 100 as shown in FIG. 1 according to an embodiment of the present invention. As shown in FIG. 3, the GNSS receiver 100 comprises the normal state 302 and a plurality of operation states including a short update state 304, a medium update state 306, and a long update state 308. The GNSS receiver 100 initially enters the normal state 302, and then enters the short update state 304 when starting to collect satellite information, i.e. one satellite information collection. After completing the satellite information collection, the GNSS receiver 100 exits the short update state 304 and then enters the normal state 302. The short update state 304, medium update state 306, and the long update state 308 are different operation states in which the GNSS receiver 100 collects/updates satellite information respectively at different working frequencies. Assuming that the working period of each satellite information collection performed by the GNSS receiver 100 is substantially identical to another satellite information collection, these different operation states indicate different time intervals between the current satellite information collection performed by the GNSS receiver 100 and the next satellite information collection performed by the GNSS receiver 100. That is, a time interval is placed between the timing at which the GNSS receiver 100 starts to collect satellite information and the next timing at which the GNSS receiver 100 starts to collect/update satellite information again… [0028] In a first embodiment, the positioning unit 108 provides the history of the obtained positioning information indicating a speed value of the GNSS receiver 100. The speed value is one of a current speed value of the GNSS receiver 100 and a resultant speed value that is recorded and calculated during a past time period. Since the GNSS receiver 100 may be installed within a vehicle or within a portable communication device carried by a person, the GNSS receiver 100 therefore may be moved from a location to another location and the speed value can be derived. The specific criterion is associated with two predetermined threshold values including a low threshold value TH1 and a high threshold value TH2. If the speed value indicated by the history of the obtained positioning information is lower than the low threshold value TH1, this implies that the user carrying the GNSS receiver 100 may move at a slower speed and the GNSS receiver 100 may be moved at the slower speed due to the user. The controlling unit 110 determines that it is not required for the GNSS receiver 100 to perform the satellite information collection/update frequently. The GNSS receiver 100 remains in the long update state 308 or switches from other update states 304 and 306 into the long update state 308. For example, the user may be in the office or in the house, so he/she may move slowly or may not move; the history of the obtained positioning information may indicate that the moving speed/rate of the GNSS receiver is very slow or almost zero. In this situation, the GNSS receiver 100 remains in the long update state 308, or switches from the other operation states 304 and 306 into the long update state 308 if the GNSS receiver 100 was originally in other operation states 304 and 306. Thus, if the GNSS receiver 100 currently is not under the long update state 308, the controlling unit 110 determines to switch from the other states to the long update state 308 when the speed value is lower than the low threshold value TH1.
[0029] Additionally, if the speed value indicated by the history of the obtained positioning information is higher than the high threshold value TH2, this implies that the user carrying the GNSS receiver 100 may move at a faster speed and the GNSS receiver 100 may be moved at the faster speed due to the user. The controlling unit 110 determines that it is necessary for the GNSS receiver 100 to perform the satellite information collection/update frequently. The GNSS receiver 100 remains in the short update state 304, or switches from other operation states 306 and 308 into the short update state 304 if the GNSS receiver 100 was originally in other operation states 306 and 308. For example, the user may drive a car or take a bus, so he/she may move fast; the history of the obtained positioning information may indicate that the speed value of the GNSS receiver is higher. In this situation, the GNSS receiver 100 remains in the short update state 304, or switches from the other states 306 and 308 into the short update state 304 if the GNSS receiver 100 was originally in other operation states306 and 308. Thus, if the GNSS receiver 100 currently is not under the short update state 304, the controlling unit 110 determines to switch from the other states to the short update state 304 when the speed value is higher than the high threshold value TH2...”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of TSAI, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the GNSS feature of SHIN in view of VYUNOVA, by having the GNSS fix be based on a GNSS time period associated with a speed/velocity of a GNSS device, such as the UE, to thus arrive at claim 40. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to obtain reduction of unnecessary power consumption involved in the use of SHIN in view of VYUNOVA’s GNSS feature (See TSAI where it recites, “[0004] Therefore, one of the objectives of the present invention is to provide a GNSS receiver and corresponding method for determining whether to switch from an operation state to another operation state based on user behaviors or environment conditions, so as to achieve reduction of unnecessary power consumption and solve the problems mentioned above.”).
In regards to claim 20, SHIN in view of VYUNOVA is silent on the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the velocity of the UE is based on at least one of a difference between GNSS readings or inertial sensor readings. TSAI (US 20150346347 A1) teaches a GNSS feature, where a GNSS fix is based on a GNSS time period, GNSS long, medium, short update state, associated with a speed of a device, GNSS receiver (“[0026] Please refer to FIG. 3, which is a simplified diagram illustrating state switching of the GNSS receiver 100 as shown in FIG. 1 according to an embodiment of the present invention. As shown in FIG. 3, the GNSS receiver 100 comprises the normal state 302 and a plurality of operation states including a short update state 304, a medium update state 306, and a long update state 308. The GNSS receiver 100 initially enters the normal state 302, and then enters the short update state 304 when starting to collect satellite information, i.e. one satellite information collection. After completing the satellite information collection, the GNSS receiver 100 exits the short update state 304 and then enters the normal state 302. The short update state 304, medium update state 306, and the long update state 308 are different operation states in which the GNSS receiver 100 collects/updates satellite information respectively at different working frequencies. Assuming that the working period of each satellite information collection performed by the GNSS receiver 100 is substantially identical to another satellite information collection, these different operation states indicate different time intervals between the current satellite information collection performed by the GNSS receiver 100 and the next satellite information collection performed by the GNSS receiver 100. That is, a time interval is placed between the timing at which the GNSS receiver 100 starts to collect satellite information and the next timing at which the GNSS receiver 100 starts to collect/update satellite information again… [0028] In a first embodiment, the positioning unit 108 provides the history of the obtained positioning information indicating a speed value of the GNSS receiver 100. The speed value is one of a current speed value of the GNSS receiver 100 and a resultant speed value that is recorded and calculated during a past time period. Since the GNSS receiver 100 may be installed within a vehicle or within a portable communication device carried by a person, the GNSS receiver 100 therefore may be moved from a location to another location and the speed value can be derived. The specific criterion is associated with two predetermined threshold values including a low threshold value TH1 and a high threshold value TH2. If the speed value indicated by the history of the obtained positioning information is lower than the low threshold value TH1, this implies that the user carrying the GNSS receiver 100 may move at a slower speed and the GNSS receiver 100 may be moved at the slower speed due to the user. The controlling unit 110 determines that it is not required for the GNSS receiver 100 to perform the satellite information collection/update frequently. The GNSS receiver 100 remains in the long update state 308 or switches from other update states 304 and 306 into the long update state 308. For example, the user may be in the office or in the house, so he/she may move slowly or may not move; the history of the obtained positioning information may indicate that the moving speed/rate of the GNSS receiver is very slow or almost zero. In this situation, the GNSS receiver 100 remains in the long update state 308, or switches from the other operation states 304 and 306 into the long update state 308 if the GNSS receiver 100 was originally in other operation states 304 and 306. Thus, if the GNSS receiver 100 currently is not under the long update state 308, the controlling unit 110 determines to switch from the other states to the long update state 308 when the speed value is lower than the low threshold value TH1.
[0029] Additionally, if the speed value indicated by the history of the obtained positioning information is higher than the high threshold value TH2, this implies that the user carrying the GNSS receiver 100 may move at a faster speed and the GNSS receiver 100 may be moved at the faster speed due to the user. The controlling unit 110 determines that it is necessary for the GNSS receiver 100 to perform the satellite information collection/update frequently. The GNSS receiver 100 remains in the short update state 304, or switches from other operation states 306 and 308 into the short update state 304 if the GNSS receiver 100 was originally in other operation states 306 and 308. For example, the user may drive a car or take a bus, so he/she may move fast; the history of the obtained positioning information may indicate that the speed value of the GNSS receiver is higher. In this situation, the GNSS receiver 100 remains in the short update state 304, or switches from the other states 306 and 308 into the short update state 304 if the GNSS receiver 100 was originally in other operation states306 and 308. Thus, if the GNSS receiver 100 currently is not under the short update state 304, the controlling unit 110 determines to switch from the other states to the short update state 304 when the speed value is higher than the high threshold value TH2...”).
TSAI further teaches where the speed of the GNSS device is based on at least one of a difference between GNSS readings, different locations identified by GNSS receiver (“[0006] According to the embodiment of the present invention, a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver is disclosed. The GNSS receiver is operated in a first operation state, and comprises a memory, a positioning unit, and a controlling unit. The memory is utilized for providing a state switching criterion. The positioning unit is utilized for obtaining positioning information. The controlling unit is coupled to the positioning unit and the memory and utilized for determining whether to switch from the first operation state to a second operation state according to the obtained positioning information and the state switching criterion, wherein a power consumption of the GNSS receiver operating under the first operation state and the second operation state is different. The obtained positioning information includes at least one of a speed value of the GNSS receiver, a satellite distribution value of the GNSS receiver, a satellite signal strength value of the GNSS receiver, a location identification of the GNSS receiver, instant motion information from a motion sensor, or location information from a WLAN device, a Bluetooth device or a UV light sensor… [0028] In a first embodiment, the positioning unit 108 provides the history of the obtained positioning information indicating a speed value of the GNSS receiver 100. The speed value is one of a current speed value of the GNSS receiver 100 and a resultant speed value that is recorded and calculated during a past time period. Since the GNSS receiver 100 may be installed within a vehicle or within a portable communication device carried by a person, the GNSS receiver 100 therefore may be moved from a location to another location and the speed value can be derived.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of TSAI, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the GNSS feature of SHIN in view of VYUNOVA, by having the GNSS fix be based on a GNSS time period associated with a speed/velocity of a GNSS device, such as the UE and to additionally modify SHIN in view of VYUNOVA, such that the speed/velocity of the GNSS device, the UE, is based on at least one of a difference between GNSS readings, thus arriving at claim 20. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to obtain reduction of unnecessary power consumption involved in the use of SHIN in view of VYUNOVA’s GNSS feature (See TSAI where it recites, “[0004] Therefore, one of the objectives of the present invention is to provide a GNSS receiver and corresponding method for determining whether to switch from an operation state to another operation state based on user behaviors or environment conditions, so as to achieve reduction of unnecessary power consumption and solve the problems mentioned above.”).
In regards to claim 41, SHIN in view of VYUNOVA is silent on the method of claim 40, wherein the velocity of the UE is based on at least one of a difference between GNSS readings or inertial sensor readings. TSAI (US 20150346347 A1) teaches a GNSS feature, where a GNSS fix is based on a GNSS time period, GNSS long, medium, short update state, associated with a speed of a device, GNSS receiver (“[0026] Please refer to FIG. 3, which is a simplified diagram illustrating state switching of the GNSS receiver 100 as shown in FIG. 1 according to an embodiment of the present invention. As shown in FIG. 3, the GNSS receiver 100 comprises the normal state 302 and a plurality of operation states including a short update state 304, a medium update state 306, and a long update state 308. The GNSS receiver 100 initially enters the normal state 302, and then enters the short update state 304 when starting to collect satellite information, i.e. one satellite information collection. After completing the satellite information collection, the GNSS receiver 100 exits the short update state 304 and then enters the normal state 302. The short update state 304, medium update state 306, and the long update state 308 are different operation states in which the GNSS receiver 100 collects/updates satellite information respectively at different working frequencies. Assuming that the working period of each satellite information collection performed by the GNSS receiver 100 is substantially identical to another satellite information collection, these different operation states indicate different time intervals between the current satellite information collection performed by the GNSS receiver 100 and the next satellite information collection performed by the GNSS receiver 100. That is, a time interval is placed between the timing at which the GNSS receiver 100 starts to collect satellite information and the next timing at which the GNSS receiver 100 starts to collect/update satellite information again… [0028] In a first embodiment, the positioning unit 108 provides the history of the obtained positioning information indicating a speed value of the GNSS receiver 100. The speed value is one of a current speed value of the GNSS receiver 100 and a resultant speed value that is recorded and calculated during a past time period. Since the GNSS receiver 100 may be installed within a vehicle or within a portable communication device carried by a person, the GNSS receiver 100 therefore may be moved from a location to another location and the speed value can be derived. The specific criterion is associated with two predetermined threshold values including a low threshold value TH1 and a high threshold value TH2. If the speed value indicated by the history of the obtained positioning information is lower than the low threshold value TH1, this implies that the user carrying the GNSS receiver 100 may move at a slower speed and the GNSS receiver 100 may be moved at the slower speed due to the user. The controlling unit 110 determines that it is not required for the GNSS receiver 100 to perform the satellite information collection/update frequently. The GNSS receiver 100 remains in the long update state 308 or switches from other update states 304 and 306 into the long update state 308. For example, the user may be in the office or in the house, so he/she may move slowly or may not move; the history of the obtained positioning information may indicate that the moving speed/rate of the GNSS receiver is very slow or almost zero. In this situation, the GNSS receiver 100 remains in the long update state 308, or switches from the other operation states 304 and 306 into the long update state 308 if the GNSS receiver 100 was originally in other operation states 304 and 306. Thus, if the GNSS receiver 100 currently is not under the long update state 308, the controlling unit 110 determines to switch from the other states to the long update state 308 when the speed value is lower than the low threshold value TH1.
[0029] Additionally, if the speed value indicated by the history of the obtained positioning information is higher than the high threshold value TH2, this implies that the user carrying the GNSS receiver 100 may move at a faster speed and the GNSS receiver 100 may be moved at the faster speed due to the user. The controlling unit 110 determines that it is necessary for the GNSS receiver 100 to perform the satellite information collection/update frequently. The GNSS receiver 100 remains in the short update state 304, or switches from other operation states 306 and 308 into the short update state 304 if the GNSS receiver 100 was originally in other operation states 306 and 308. For example, the user may drive a car or take a bus, so he/she may move fast; the history of the obtained positioning information may indicate that the speed value of the GNSS receiver is higher. In this situation, the GNSS receiver 100 remains in the short update state 304, or switches from the other states 306 and 308 into the short update state 304 if the GNSS receiver 100 was originally in other operation states306 and 308. Thus, if the GNSS receiver 100 currently is not under the short update state 304, the controlling unit 110 determines to switch from the other states to the short update state 304 when the speed value is higher than the high threshold value TH2...”).
TSAI further teaches where the speed of the GNSS device is based on at least one of a difference between GNSS readings, different locations identified by GNSS receiver (“[0006] According to the embodiment of the present invention, a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver is disclosed. The GNSS receiver is operated in a first operation state, and comprises a memory, a positioning unit, and a controlling unit. The memory is utilized for providing a state switching criterion. The positioning unit is utilized for obtaining positioning information. The controlling unit is coupled to the positioning unit and the memory and utilized for determining whether to switch from the first operation state to a second operation state according to the obtained positioning information and the state switching criterion, wherein a power consumption of the GNSS receiver operating under the first operation state and the second operation state is different. The obtained positioning information includes at least one of a speed value of the GNSS receiver, a satellite distribution value of the GNSS receiver, a satellite signal strength value of the GNSS receiver, a location identification of the GNSS receiver, instant motion information from a motion sensor, or location information from a WLAN device, a Bluetooth device or a UV light sensor… [0028] In a first embodiment, the positioning unit 108 provides the history of the obtained positioning information indicating a speed value of the GNSS receiver 100. The speed value is one of a current speed value of the GNSS receiver 100 and a resultant speed value that is recorded and calculated during a past time period. Since the GNSS receiver 100 may be installed within a vehicle or within a portable communication device carried by a person, the GNSS receiver 100 therefore may be moved from a location to another location and the speed value can be derived.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of TSAI, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the GNSS feature of SHIN in view of VYUNOVA, by having the GNSS fix be based on a GNSS time period associated with a speed/velocity of a GNSS device, such as the UE and to additionally modify SHIN in view of VYUNOVA, such that the speed/velocity of the GNSS device, the UE, is based on at least one of a difference between GNSS readings, thus arriving at claim 41. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to obtain reduction of unnecessary power consumption involved in the use of SHIN in view of VYUNOVA’s GNSS feature (See TSAI where it recites, “[0004] Therefore, one of the objectives of the present invention is to provide a GNSS receiver and corresponding method for determining whether to switch from an operation state to another operation state based on user behaviors or environment conditions, so as to achieve reduction of unnecessary power consumption and solve the problems mentioned above.”).
Claim(s) 9-10 and 31-32, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIN (US 20240121737 A1) in view of WU (US 20220124795 A1) in view of TSAI (US 20150346347 A1).
In regards to claim 9, SHIN is silent on the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the GNSS fix is based on a GNSS time period associated with a velocity of the UE. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving use of GNSS. TSAI (US 20150346347 A1) teaches a GNSS feature, where a GNSS fix is based on a GNSS time period, GNSS long, medium, short update state, associated with a speed of a device, GNSS receiver (“[0026] Please refer to FIG. 3, which is a simplified diagram illustrating state switching of the GNSS receiver 100 as shown in FIG. 1 according to an embodiment of the present invention. As shown in FIG. 3, the GNSS receiver 100 comprises the normal state 302 and a plurality of operation states including a short update state 304, a medium update state 306, and a long update state 308. The GNSS receiver 100 initially enters the normal state 302, and then enters the short update state 304 when starting to collect satellite information, i.e. one satellite information collection. After completing the satellite information collection, the GNSS receiver 100 exits the short update state 304 and then enters the normal state 302. The short update state 304, medium update state 306, and the long update state 308 are different operation states in which the GNSS receiver 100 collects/updates satellite information respectively at different working frequencies. Assuming that the working period of each satellite information collection performed by the GNSS receiver 100 is substantially identical to another satellite information collection, these different operation states indicate different time intervals between the current satellite information collection performed by the GNSS receiver 100 and the next satellite information collection performed by the GNSS receiver 100. That is, a time interval is placed between the timing at which the GNSS receiver 100 starts to collect satellite information and the next timing at which the GNSS receiver 100 starts to collect/update satellite information again… [0028] In a first embodiment, the positioning unit 108 provides the history of the obtained positioning information indicating a speed value of the GNSS receiver 100. The speed value is one of a current speed value of the GNSS receiver 100 and a resultant speed value that is recorded and calculated during a past time period. Since the GNSS receiver 100 may be installed within a vehicle or within a portable communication device carried by a person, the GNSS receiver 100 therefore may be moved from a location to another location and the speed value can be derived. The specific criterion is associated with two predetermined threshold values including a low threshold value TH1 and a high threshold value TH2. If the speed value indicated by the history of the obtained positioning information is lower than the low threshold value TH1, this implies that the user carrying the GNSS receiver 100 may move at a slower speed and the GNSS receiver 100 may be moved at the slower speed due to the user. The controlling unit 110 determines that it is not required for the GNSS receiver 100 to perform the satellite information collection/update frequently. The GNSS receiver 100 remains in the long update state 308 or switches from other update states 304 and 306 into the long update state 308. For example, the user may be in the office or in the house, so he/she may move slowly or may not move; the history of the obtained positioning information may indicate that the moving speed/rate of the GNSS receiver is very slow or almost zero. In this situation, the GNSS receiver 100 remains in the long update state 308, or switches from the other operation states 304 and 306 into the long update state 308 if the GNSS receiver 100 was originally in other operation states 304 and 306. Thus, if the GNSS receiver 100 currently is not under the long update state 308, the controlling unit 110 determines to switch from the other states to the long update state 308 when the speed value is lower than the low threshold value TH1.
[0029] Additionally, if the speed value indicated by the history of the obtained positioning information is higher than the high threshold value TH2, this implies that the user carrying the GNSS receiver 100 may move at a faster speed and the GNSS receiver 100 may be moved at the faster speed due to the user. The controlling unit 110 determines that it is necessary for the GNSS receiver 100 to perform the satellite information collection/update frequently. The GNSS receiver 100 remains in the short update state 304, or switches from other operation states 306 and 308 into the short update state 304 if the GNSS receiver 100 was originally in other operation states 306 and 308. For example, the user may drive a car or take a bus, so he/she may move fast; the history of the obtained positioning information may indicate that the speed value of the GNSS receiver is higher. In this situation, the GNSS receiver 100 remains in the short update state 304, or switches from the other states 306 and 308 into the short update state 304 if the GNSS receiver 100 was originally in other operation states306 and 308. Thus, if the GNSS receiver 100 currently is not under the short update state 304, the controlling unit 110 determines to switch from the other states to the short update state 304 when the speed value is higher than the high threshold value TH2...”).
Thus based upon the teachings of TSAI, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the GNSS feature of SHIN, by having the GNSS fix be based on a GNSS time period associated with a speed/velocity of a GNSS device, such as the UE, to thus arrive at claim 9. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to obtain reduction of unnecessary power consumption involved in the use of SHIN’s GNSS feature (See TSAI where it recites, “[0004] Therefore, one of the objectives of the present invention is to provide a GNSS receiver and corresponding method for determining whether to switch from an operation state to another operation state based on user behaviors or environment conditions, so as to achieve reduction of unnecessary power consumption and solve the problems mentioned above.”)
In regards to claim 31, SHIN is silent on the method of claim 23, wherein the GNSS fix is based on a GNSS time period associated with a velocity of the UE. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving use of GNSS. TSAI (US 20150346347 A1) teaches a GNSS feature, where a GNSS fix is based on a GNSS time period, GNSS long, medium, short update state, associated with a speed of a device, GNSS receiver (“[0026] Please refer to FIG. 3, which is a simplified diagram illustrating state switching of the GNSS receiver 100 as shown in FIG. 1 according to an embodiment of the present invention. As shown in FIG. 3, the GNSS receiver 100 comprises the normal state 302 and a plurality of operation states including a short update state 304, a medium update state 306, and a long update state 308. The GNSS receiver 100 initially enters the normal state 302, and then enters the short update state 304 when starting to collect satellite information, i.e. one satellite information collection. After completing the satellite information collection, the GNSS receiver 100 exits the short update state 304 and then enters the normal state 302. The short update state 304, medium update state 306, and the long update state 308 are different operation states in which the GNSS receiver 100 collects/updates satellite information respectively at different working frequencies. Assuming that the working period of each satellite information collection performed by the GNSS receiver 100 is substantially identical to another satellite information collection, these different operation states indicate different time intervals between the current satellite information collection performed by the GNSS receiver 100 and the next satellite information collection performed by the GNSS receiver 100. That is, a time interval is placed between the timing at which the GNSS receiver 100 starts to collect satellite information and the next timing at which the GNSS receiver 100 starts to collect/update satellite information again… [0028] In a first embodiment, the positioning unit 108 provides the history of the obtained positioning information indicating a speed value of the GNSS receiver 100. The speed value is one of a current speed value of the GNSS receiver 100 and a resultant speed value that is recorded and calculated during a past time period. Since the GNSS receiver 100 may be installed within a vehicle or within a portable communication device carried by a person, the GNSS receiver 100 therefore may be moved from a location to another location and the speed value can be derived. The specific criterion is associated with two predetermined threshold values including a low threshold value TH1 and a high threshold value TH2. If the speed value indicated by the history of the obtained positioning information is lower than the low threshold value TH1, this implies that the user carrying the GNSS receiver 100 may move at a slower speed and the GNSS receiver 100 may be moved at the slower speed due to the user. The controlling unit 110 determines that it is not required for the GNSS receiver 100 to perform the satellite information collection/update frequently. The GNSS receiver 100 remains in the long update state 308 or switches from other update states 304 and 306 into the long update state 308. For example, the user may be in the office or in the house, so he/she may move slowly or may not move; the history of the obtained positioning information may indicate that the moving speed/rate of the GNSS receiver is very slow or almost zero. In this situation, the GNSS receiver 100 remains in the long update state 308, or switches from the other operation states 304 and 306 into the long update state 308 if the GNSS receiver 100 was originally in other operation states 304 and 306. Thus, if the GNSS receiver 100 currently is not under the long update state 308, the controlling unit 110 determines to switch from the other states to the long update state 308 when the speed value is lower than the low threshold value TH1.
[0029] Additionally, if the speed value indicated by the history of the obtained positioning information is higher than the high threshold value TH2, this implies that the user carrying the GNSS receiver 100 may move at a faster speed and the GNSS receiver 100 may be moved at the faster speed due to the user. The controlling unit 110 determines that it is necessary for the GNSS receiver 100 to perform the satellite information collection/update frequently. The GNSS receiver 100 remains in the short update state 304, or switches from other operation states 306 and 308 into the short update state 304 if the GNSS receiver 100 was originally in other operation states 306 and 308. For example, the user may drive a car or take a bus, so he/she may move fast; the history of the obtained positioning information may indicate that the speed value of the GNSS receiver is higher. In this situation, the GNSS receiver 100 remains in the short update state 304, or switches from the other states 306 and 308 into the short update state 304 if the GNSS receiver 100 was originally in other operation states306 and 308. Thus, if the GNSS receiver 100 currently is not under the short update state 304, the controlling unit 110 determines to switch from the other states to the short update state 304 when the speed value is higher than the high threshold value TH2...”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of TSAI, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the GNSS feature of SHIN, by having the GNSS fix be based on a GNSS time period associated with a speed/velocity of a GNSS device, such as the UE, to thus arrive at claim 31. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to obtain reduction of unnecessary power consumption involved in the use of SHIN’s GNSS feature (See TSAI where it recites, “[0004] Therefore, one of the objectives of the present invention is to provide a GNSS receiver and corresponding method for determining whether to switch from an operation state to another operation state based on user behaviors or environment conditions, so as to achieve reduction of unnecessary power consumption and solve the problems mentioned above.”).
In regards to claim 10, SHIN is silent on the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the velocity of the UE is based on at least one of a difference between GNSS readings or inertial sensor readings. TSAI (US 20150346347 A1) teaches a GNSS feature, where a GNSS fix is based on a GNSS time period, GNSS long, medium, short update state, associated with a speed of a device, GNSS receiver (“[0026] Please refer to FIG. 3, which is a simplified diagram illustrating state switching of the GNSS receiver 100 as shown in FIG. 1 according to an embodiment of the present invention. As shown in FIG. 3, the GNSS receiver 100 comprises the normal state 302 and a plurality of operation states including a short update state 304, a medium update state 306, and a long update state 308. The GNSS receiver 100 initially enters the normal state 302, and then enters the short update state 304 when starting to collect satellite information, i.e. one satellite information collection. After completing the satellite information collection, the GNSS receiver 100 exits the short update state 304 and then enters the normal state 302. The short update state 304, medium update state 306, and the long update state 308 are different operation states in which the GNSS receiver 100 collects/updates satellite information respectively at different working frequencies. Assuming that the working period of each satellite information collection performed by the GNSS receiver 100 is substantially identical to another satellite information collection, these different operation states indicate different time intervals between the current satellite information collection performed by the GNSS receiver 100 and the next satellite information collection performed by the GNSS receiver 100. That is, a time interval is placed between the timing at which the GNSS receiver 100 starts to collect satellite information and the next timing at which the GNSS receiver 100 starts to collect/update satellite information again… [0028] In a first embodiment, the positioning unit 108 provides the history of the obtained positioning information indicating a speed value of the GNSS receiver 100. The speed value is one of a current speed value of the GNSS receiver 100 and a resultant speed value that is recorded and calculated during a past time period. Since the GNSS receiver 100 may be installed within a vehicle or within a portable communication device carried by a person, the GNSS receiver 100 therefore may be moved from a location to another location and the speed value can be derived. The specific criterion is associated with two predetermined threshold values including a low threshold value TH1 and a high threshold value TH2. If the speed value indicated by the history of the obtained positioning information is lower than the low threshold value TH1, this implies that the user carrying the GNSS receiver 100 may move at a slower speed and the GNSS receiver 100 may be moved at the slower speed due to the user. The controlling unit 110 determines that it is not required for the GNSS receiver 100 to perform the satellite information collection/update frequently. The GNSS receiver 100 remains in the long update state 308 or switches from other update states 304 and 306 into the long update state 308. For example, the user may be in the office or in the house, so he/she may move slowly or may not move; the history of the obtained positioning information may indicate that the moving speed/rate of the GNSS receiver is very slow or almost zero. In this situation, the GNSS receiver 100 remains in the long update state 308, or switches from the other operation states 304 and 306 into the long update state 308 if the GNSS receiver 100 was originally in other operation states 304 and 306. Thus, if the GNSS receiver 100 currently is not under the long update state 308, the controlling unit 110 determines to switch from the other states to the long update state 308 when the speed value is lower than the low threshold value TH1.
[0029] Additionally, if the speed value indicated by the history of the obtained positioning information is higher than the high threshold value TH2, this implies that the user carrying the GNSS receiver 100 may move at a faster speed and the GNSS receiver 100 may be moved at the faster speed due to the user. The controlling unit 110 determines that it is necessary for the GNSS receiver 100 to perform the satellite information collection/update frequently. The GNSS receiver 100 remains in the short update state 304, or switches from other operation states 306 and 308 into the short update state 304 if the GNSS receiver 100 was originally in other operation states 306 and 308. For example, the user may drive a car or take a bus, so he/she may move fast; the history of the obtained positioning information may indicate that the speed value of the GNSS receiver is higher. In this situation, the GNSS receiver 100 remains in the short update state 304, or switches from the other states 306 and 308 into the short update state 304 if the GNSS receiver 100 was originally in other operation states306 and 308. Thus, if the GNSS receiver 100 currently is not under the short update state 304, the controlling unit 110 determines to switch from the other states to the short update state 304 when the speed value is higher than the high threshold value TH2...”).
TSAI further teaches where the speed of the GNSS device is based on at least one of a difference between GNSS readings, different locations identified by GNSS receiver (“[0006] According to the embodiment of the present invention, a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver is disclosed. The GNSS receiver is operated in a first operation state, and comprises a memory, a positioning unit, and a controlling unit. The memory is utilized for providing a state switching criterion. The positioning unit is utilized for obtaining positioning information. The controlling unit is coupled to the positioning unit and the memory and utilized for determining whether to switch from the first operation state to a second operation state according to the obtained positioning information and the state switching criterion, wherein a power consumption of the GNSS receiver operating under the first operation state and the second operation state is different. The obtained positioning information includes at least one of a speed value of the GNSS receiver, a satellite distribution value of the GNSS receiver, a satellite signal strength value of the GNSS receiver, a location identification of the GNSS receiver, instant motion information from a motion sensor, or location information from a WLAN device, a Bluetooth device or a UV light sensor… [0028] In a first embodiment, the positioning unit 108 provides the history of the obtained positioning information indicating a speed value of the GNSS receiver 100. The speed value is one of a current speed value of the GNSS receiver 100 and a resultant speed value that is recorded and calculated during a past time period. Since the GNSS receiver 100 may be installed within a vehicle or within a portable communication device carried by a person, the GNSS receiver 100 therefore may be moved from a location to another location and the speed value can be derived.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of TSAI, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the GNSS feature of SHIN, by having the GNSS fix be based on a GNSS time period associated with a speed/velocity of a GNSS device, such as the UE and to additionally modify SHIN, such that the speed/velocity of the GNSS device, the UE, is based on at least one of a difference between GNSS readings, thus arriving at claim 10. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to obtain reduction of unnecessary power consumption involved in the use of SHIN’s GNSS feature (See TSAI where it recites, “[0004] Therefore, one of the objectives of the present invention is to provide a GNSS receiver and corresponding method for determining whether to switch from an operation state to another operation state based on user behaviors or environment conditions, so as to achieve reduction of unnecessary power consumption and solve the problems mentioned above.”).
In regards to claim 32, SHIN is silent on the method of claim 31, wherein the velocity of the UE is based on at least one of a difference between GNSS readings or inertial sensor readings. TSAI (US 20150346347 A1) teaches a GNSS feature, where a GNSS fix is based on a GNSS time period, GNSS long, medium, short update state, associated with a speed of a device, GNSS receiver (“[0026] Please refer to FIG. 3, which is a simplified diagram illustrating state switching of the GNSS receiver 100 as shown in FIG. 1 according to an embodiment of the present invention. As shown in FIG. 3, the GNSS receiver 100 comprises the normal state 302 and a plurality of operation states including a short update state 304, a medium update state 306, and a long update state 308. The GNSS receiver 100 initially enters the normal state 302, and then enters the short update state 304 when starting to collect satellite information, i.e. one satellite information collection. After completing the satellite information collection, the GNSS receiver 100 exits the short update state 304 and then enters the normal state 302. The short update state 304, medium update state 306, and the long update state 308 are different operation states in which the GNSS receiver 100 collects/updates satellite information respectively at different working frequencies. Assuming that the working period of each satellite information collection performed by the GNSS receiver 100 is substantially identical to another satellite information collection, these different operation states indicate different time intervals between the current satellite information collection performed by the GNSS receiver 100 and the next satellite information collection performed by the GNSS receiver 100. That is, a time interval is placed between the timing at which the GNSS receiver 100 starts to collect satellite information and the next timing at which the GNSS receiver 100 starts to collect/update satellite information again… [0028] In a first embodiment, the positioning unit 108 provides the history of the obtained positioning information indicating a speed value of the GNSS receiver 100. The speed value is one of a current speed value of the GNSS receiver 100 and a resultant speed value that is recorded and calculated during a past time period. Since the GNSS receiver 100 may be installed within a vehicle or within a portable communication device carried by a person, the GNSS receiver 100 therefore may be moved from a location to another location and the speed value can be derived. The specific criterion is associated with two predetermined threshold values including a low threshold value TH1 and a high threshold value TH2. If the speed value indicated by the history of the obtained positioning information is lower than the low threshold value TH1, this implies that the user carrying the GNSS receiver 100 may move at a slower speed and the GNSS receiver 100 may be moved at the slower speed due to the user. The controlling unit 110 determines that it is not required for the GNSS receiver 100 to perform the satellite information collection/update frequently. The GNSS receiver 100 remains in the long update state 308 or switches from other update states 304 and 306 into the long update state 308. For example, the user may be in the office or in the house, so he/she may move slowly or may not move; the history of the obtained positioning information may indicate that the moving speed/rate of the GNSS receiver is very slow or almost zero. In this situation, the GNSS receiver 100 remains in the long update state 308, or switches from the other operation states 304 and 306 into the long update state 308 if the GNSS receiver 100 was originally in other operation states 304 and 306. Thus, if the GNSS receiver 100 currently is not under the long update state 308, the controlling unit 110 determines to switch from the other states to the long update state 308 when the speed value is lower than the low threshold value TH1.
[0029] Additionally, if the speed value indicated by the history of the obtained positioning information is higher than the high threshold value TH2, this implies that the user carrying the GNSS receiver 100 may move at a faster speed and the GNSS receiver 100 may be moved at the faster speed due to the user. The controlling unit 110 determines that it is necessary for the GNSS receiver 100 to perform the satellite information collection/update frequently. The GNSS receiver 100 remains in the short update state 304, or switches from other operation states 306 and 308 into the short update state 304 if the GNSS receiver 100 was originally in other operation states 306 and 308. For example, the user may drive a car or take a bus, so he/she may move fast; the history of the obtained positioning information may indicate that the speed value of the GNSS receiver is higher. In this situation, the GNSS receiver 100 remains in the short update state 304, or switches from the other states 306 and 308 into the short update state 304 if the GNSS receiver 100 was originally in other operation states306 and 308. Thus, if the GNSS receiver 100 currently is not under the short update state 304, the controlling unit 110 determines to switch from the other states to the short update state 304 when the speed value is higher than the high threshold value TH2...”).
TSAI further teaches where the speed of the GNSS device is based on at least one of a difference between GNSS readings, different locations identified by GNSS receiver (“[0006] According to the embodiment of the present invention, a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver is disclosed. The GNSS receiver is operated in a first operation state, and comprises a memory, a positioning unit, and a controlling unit. The memory is utilized for providing a state switching criterion. The positioning unit is utilized for obtaining positioning information. The controlling unit is coupled to the positioning unit and the memory and utilized for determining whether to switch from the first operation state to a second operation state according to the obtained positioning information and the state switching criterion, wherein a power consumption of the GNSS receiver operating under the first operation state and the second operation state is different. The obtained positioning information includes at least one of a speed value of the GNSS receiver, a satellite distribution value of the GNSS receiver, a satellite signal strength value of the GNSS receiver, a location identification of the GNSS receiver, instant motion information from a motion sensor, or location information from a WLAN device, a Bluetooth device or a UV light sensor… [0028] In a first embodiment, the positioning unit 108 provides the history of the obtained positioning information indicating a speed value of the GNSS receiver 100. The speed value is one of a current speed value of the GNSS receiver 100 and a resultant speed value that is recorded and calculated during a past time period. Since the GNSS receiver 100 may be installed within a vehicle or within a portable communication device carried by a person, the GNSS receiver 100 therefore may be moved from a location to another location and the speed value can be derived.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of TSAI, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the GNSS feature of SHIN, by having the GNSS fix be based on a GNSS time period associated with a speed/velocity of a GNSS device, such as the UE and to additionally modify SHIN, such that the speed/velocity of the GNSS device, the UE, is based on at least one of a difference between GNSS readings, thus arriving at claim 32. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to obtain reduction of unnecessary power consumption involved in the use of SHIN’s GNSS feature (See TSAI where it recites, “[0004] Therefore, one of the objectives of the present invention is to provide a GNSS receiver and corresponding method for determining whether to switch from an operation state to another operation state based on user behaviors or environment conditions, so as to achieve reduction of unnecessary power consumption and solve the problems mentioned above.”).
Claim(s) 13 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIN (US 20240121737 A1) in view of VYUNOVA (US 20210176726 A1) in view of KEATING (US 20220295225 A1)
In regards to claim 13, SHIN is silent on the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the adjusted self-estimated delay is a function of at least a current GNSS fix and a prior GNSS fix. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving timing alignment in wireless communications networks. KEATING (US 20220295225 A1) teaches a feature where an adjustment self-estimated delay, TA, is a function of a current GNNS fix, current location obtained using GNSS, and a prior GNNS fix, previous location obtained using GNSS (“[0152] If GNSS is used, the UE may determine its location from GNSS. If the UE's location is within a distance threshold from the previous location, the UE may proceed with PUR and estimate its TA as described above. The distance threshold may be configured based on, for example, acceptable TA error at the gNB, or cyclic prefix length (since longer cyclic prefix can accommodate larger TA error). A distance threshold may be configured based upon an acceptable timing advance threshold (or error range or error threshold) or a cyclic prefix length.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of KEATING it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the timing alignment feature of SHIN in view of VYUNOVA, such that the adjustment self-estimated delay is a function of at least a current GNSS fix and a prior GNSS fix, to thus arrive at claim 13, in order to provide a benefit of an effective/valid timing advance value.
In regards to claim 34, SHIN is silent on the method of claim 33, wherein the adjusted self-estimated delay is a function of at least a current GNSS fix and a prior GNSS fix. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving timing alignment in wireless communications networks. KEATING (US 20220295225 A1) teaches a feature where an adjustment self-estimated delay, TA, is a function of a current GNNS fix, current location obtained using GNSS, and a prior GNNS fix, previous location obtained using GNSS (“[0152] If GNSS is used, the UE may determine its location from GNSS. If the UE's location is within a distance threshold from the previous location, the UE may proceed with PUR and estimate its TA as described above. The distance threshold may be configured based on, for example, acceptable TA error at the gNB, or cyclic prefix length (since longer cyclic prefix can accommodate larger TA error). A distance threshold may be configured based upon an acceptable timing advance threshold (or error range or error threshold) or a cyclic prefix length.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of KEATING it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the timing alignment feature of SHIN in view of VYUNOVA, such that the adjustment self-estimated delay is a function of at least a current GNSS fix and a prior GNSS fix, to thus arrive at claim 34, in order to provide a benefit of an effective/valid timing advance value.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3, 14, 15, 16, 21, 25, 35, 36, 37, and 42, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TARELL A HAMPTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476