DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 13, 15, 29, 30, 35, 36 and 41 are pending in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amendment 02/25/2026 filed have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 13, 15, 29, 30, 35, 36 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (US 2024/0049346 A1) in view of R2-2103175 (HARQ related issues, 3GPP TSG-RAN2 #113bise) (cited in newly submitted IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a method for starting a discontinuous reception (DRX) timer, performed by a terminal, comprising: starting the DRX timer according to a transmission type of at least one of an uplink transmission and/or or a downlink transmission (Liu: [0346]-[0351], starting HARQ RTT timer based on UE receiving PUSCH/uplink transmission resource; see also Table 1 and [0319] for DRX),
wherein the transmission type comprises one of: an uplink transmission based on configured grant (CG), an uplink transmission based on physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) dynamic scheduling or a downlink transmission based on configured downlink assignment; determining the transmission type of the uplink transmission is the uplink transmission based on CG (Liu: [0207]; [0247], uplink transmission indicated by a configured grant or DCI).
Liu does not explicitly disclose increasing a timing period of an uplink DRX hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) round-trip-time (RTT) timer by a predetermined duration.
R2-2103175 teaches increasing a timing period of an uplink DRX hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) round-trip-time (RTT) timer by a predetermined duration (R2-2103175: Section 2.1 on Page 1; Proposal 1: increasing drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL length by an offset).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Liu by increasing a timing period of an uplink DRX hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) round-trip-time (RTT) timer by a predetermined duration as disclosed by R2-2103175 to provide a system downlink and uplink HARQ procedure (R2-2103175, section 2).
Regarding claim 29, Liu teaches a communication device, comprising: a memory storing computer-executable instructions; and a processor connected to the memory, and configured to start a discontinuous reception (DRX) timer according to a transmission type of at least one of an uplink transmission or a downlink transmission (Liu: [0346]-[0351], starting HARQ RTT timer based on UE receiving PUSCH/uplink transmission resource; see also Table 1 and [0319] for DRX), wherein the transmission type comprises one of: an uplink transmission based on configured grant (CG), an uplink transmission based on physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) dynamic scheduling or a downlink transmission based on configured downlink assignment; determining the transmission type of the uplink transmission is the uplink transmission based on CG (Liu: [0207]; [0247], uplink transmission indicated by a configured grant or DCI).
Liu does not explicitly disclose increasing a timing period of an uplink DRX hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) round-trip-time (RTT) timer by a predetermined duration.
R2-2103175 teaches increasing a timing period of an uplink DRX hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) round-trip-time (RTT) timer by a predetermined duration (R2-2103175: Section 2.1 on Page 1; Proposal 1: increasing drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL length by an offset).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Liu by increasing a timing period of an uplink DRX hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) round-trip-time (RTT) timer by a predetermined duration as disclosed by R2-2103175 to provide a system downlink and uplink HARQ procedure (R2-2103175, section 2).
Regarding claim 30, Liu teaches a computer non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon computer executable instructions that, when executed by a processor of a communication device, cause the communication device to perform a method for starting a discontinuous reception (DRX) timer, the method comprising: starting the DRX timer according to a transmission type of at least one of an uplink transmission or a downlink transmission (Liu: [0346]-[0351], starting HARQ RTT timer based on UE receiving PUSCH/uplink transmission resource; see also Table 1 and [0319] for DRX), wherein the transmission type comprises one of: an uplink transmission based on configured grant (CG), an uplink transmission based on physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) dynamic scheduling or a downlink transmission based on configured downlink assignment; determining the transmission type of the uplink transmission is the uplink transmission based on CG (Liu: [0207]; [0247], uplink transmission indicated by a configured grant or DCI).
Liu does not explicitly disclose increasing a timing period of an uplink DRX hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) round-trip-time (RTT) timer by a predetermined duration.
R2-2103175 teaches increasing a timing period of an uplink DRX hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) round-trip-time (RTT) timer by a predetermined duration (R2-2103175: Section 2.1 on Page 1; Proposal 1: increasing drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL length by an offset).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Liu by increasing a timing period of an uplink DRX hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) round-trip-time (RTT) timer by a predetermined duration as disclosed by R2-2103175 to provide a system downlink and uplink HARQ procedure (R2-2103175, section 2).
Regarding claims 13 and 41, Liu teaches determining the transmission type of the uplink transmission is the uplink transmission based on PDCCH dynamic scheduling; wherein starting the DRX timer comprises: starting an uplink DRX retransmission according to a predetermined processing pattern (Liu: [0164], [0169], starting retransmission timer; [0033], receiving DCI for uplink scheduling).
Regarding claims 15 and 36, Liu teaches wherein the predetermined processing pattern comprises one of: a pattern of starting the uplink DRX retransmission timer after receiving data on the PDCCH; a pattern of starting the uplink DRX retransmission timer from a first orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol after the uplink transmission ends (Liu: [0039], [0342], retransmission based on PUSCH transmission); a pattern of starting the uplink DRX retransmission timer from an initial orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol of the uplink transmission; [[or]] a pattern of starting the uplink DRX retransmission timer from a first orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol after a first retransmission of the uplink transmission; a pattern of starting the uplink DRX retransmission timer after generating a corresponding physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) data packet according to a PDCCH indication; or a pattern of starting the uplink DRX retransmission timer after a processing delay when data on the PDCCH are received.
Regarding claim 35, Liu teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: determine the transmission type of the uplink transmission is the uplink transmission based on PDCCH dynamic scheduling; and start an uplink DRX retransmission timer according to a predetermined processing pattern (Liu: [0164], [0169], starting retransmission timer; [0033], receiving DCI for uplink scheduling).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478