DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06/23/26, 02/11/2025, 12/05/23 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 12/05/2023. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract reads “…and improving the ionic conductivity of lithium ion.” The abstract should read “…and improving the ionic conductivity of the electrode.”
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Claims 1-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim Min et al. (KR-20180036631-A, “Kim Min” hereinafter, a machine translation is being used for the references) in view of Ebner, Martin (WO2023099069A2 “Ebner” hereinafter; US 20230166923 A1 is being used as a translation).
Regarding claim 1, Kim Min discloses an electrode manufacturing device (see figure 1, below) and discloses a drying furnace (drying oven [0064] see element 300 figure 1, and a drying step may be performed by directly applying heat to the upper side of the current collector coated with the slurry or applying hot air thereto [0065]) for heating the electrode sheets. Kim Min further discloses a magnetic binder polymer for fixing and connecting between the electrode active material particles and the electrode active material and the current collector [0008]). Kim Min indirectly discloses a transportation device (rollers, 200 figure 1) but fails to disclose the conveyor line in detail. Ebner discloses a specific electrode manufacturing device, (a transport device for the production of electrodes, abstract; roller-to-roller press [0005]), comprising: a conveyor line (transport device, having at least two rollers, abstract) configured to be loaded with electrode sheets (carrier, abstract; comprising electrically conducting material [0005]). Ebner further discloses details about the electrode sheets and teaches that the electrode sheets are having an active material layer formed on a current collector material (coated carrier, [0005]), the active material layer (coating, [0003]) including an electrode active material (graphite or mixtures of different types of graphite [0003]), a conductor (conductivity additives [0003]) and a binder (binders [0003]); and teaches rollers for driving the conveyor line (roller-to-roller process,… by rotation of the driven roller…transport the carrier from roller to roller [0005]), wherein at least one of the rollers is a roller comprising a magnet (permanent magnets in a Halbach array being disposed along the circumference of the cylindrical roller [0038]). Kim Min and Ebner are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely manufacturing of lithium-ion batteries. In seeking a uniform high loading electrode with reduced travel paths for ions before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use a carbon material bonded with a magnetic material as disclosed by Kim Min for the production of an electrode and using the transportation device disclosed by Ebner as doing so would amount to nothing more than to use a known material for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely predictable result.
Figure 1: Kim Min figure 2
Regarding claim 2, Kim Min discloses an electrode manufacturing device and Ebner discloses that the roller is comprising a magnet. Kim Min further discloses that the magnet is located between a starting point on which the electrode sheet with the active material layer is loaded and a point at which the electrode sheet exits through the drying furnace. (The magnetic element may be arranged to apply a magnetic field in the entire area of the drying step of drying the slurry or may be arranged in only some areas [0067].)
Regarding claim 3, Kim Min discloses an electrode manufacturing device according to claim 1 and Kim Min discloses that the roller which comprises the magnet is located within a section where the electrode sheet passes through the drying furnace (The magnetic element may be arranged to apply a magnetic field in the entire area of the drying step of drying the slurry, or may be arranged in only some areas, [0067]).
Regarding claim 4, Ebner discloses that the magnet comprises at least one among a permanent magnet and an electromagnet (the permanent magnets per se can in turn have the shape of a cuboid or of a hallow cylinder for example [0018]).
Regarding claim 5, Kim Min discloses an electrode manufacturing device according to claim 1. Kim Min further discloses that the permanent magnet includes at least one neodymium magnet (Ne-Fe-B), a samarium cobalt magnet (Sm-Co), an alnico magnet (Fe-Al-Ni-Co), or a ferrite magnet. (Ne-Fe-B magnet, Sm-Co magnet or Al-Ni-Co magnet [0011]).
Regarding claim 6, Kim Min discloses an electrode manufacturing device according to claim 1. Kim Min further discloses that the magnetic field strength formed by the magnet is in a range of 1,000 G to 100,000 G (Kim Min: 15,000 G to 100,000 G, [0068]).
Regarding claim 8, Kim Min discloses an electrode manufacturing device and discloses that the drying furnace is configured to heat the electrode sheet by hot air drying, heating coil drying, or induction heat-drying (According to an embodiment of the present invention, the drying step may be performed by directly applying heat to the upper side of the current collector coated with the slurry or applying hot air thereto [0065]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Kim Min et al. (KR-20180036631-A, “Kim Min” hereinafter, a machine translation is being used for the references) in view of Ebner, Martin (WO2023099069A2 “Ebner” hereinafter; US 20230166923 A1 is being used as a translation) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kishimoto (CN-113555530-A).
Regarding claims 7, Ebner discloses an electrode manufacturing device of claim 1, but fails to disclose a roller comprising magnets disposed in the interior hallow of the roller.
Figure 2: Modified Kishimoto Figure 3
The disclosed and prior art structures are not identical, but the claim is nonetheless anticipated. The prior art element performs the identical function specified in the claim in substantially the same way and produces substantially the same results as the corresponding element disclosed in the specification. Kemco Sales, Inc. v. Control Papers Co., 208 F.3d 1352, 1364, 54 USPQ2d 1308, 1315 (Fed. Cir. 2000).
Alternatively, Kishimoto discloses a roller with magnets disposed on the hallow inside of the roller (see fig. 1 below). Ebner and Kishimoto are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely manufacturing of electrodes for lithium-ion batteries. Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the roller disclosed by Ebner with a roller disclosed by Kishimoto as doing so would amount to nothing more than to substitute a known component for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely predictable result.
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim Min et al. (KR-20180036631-A, “Kim Min” hereinafter, a machine translation is being used for the references) in view of Ebner, Martin (WO2023099069A2 “Ebner” hereinafter; US 20230166923 A1 is being used as a translation).
Regarding claim 9, An electrode manufacturing method (a method of manufacturing an electrode for a lithium secondary battery [0057]), comprising: a transporting step and a drying step ((drying step may be performed by directly applying heat to the upper side of the current collector coated with the slurry or applying hot air thereto [0065]) in which the electrode sheets are heated in a drying furnace (drying oven [0064]) located in a moving path of the conveyor line (see figure 1). Kim Min further discloses that the slurry contains a carbon material bonded with a magnetic material (a magnetic binder polymer for fixing and connecting between the electrode active material particles and the electrode active material and the current collector [0008])). Kim Min indirectly teaches a transportation step (see figure 1) but fails to disclose that at least one of the rollers is a roller including a magnet and fails to include details regarding the transportation step. Ebner discloses rollers (permanent magnets in a Halbach array being disposed along the circumference of the cylindrical roller [0038]) and discloses the transportation step via a transport device for the production of electrodes, abstract) in which an electrode sheet having an active material layer formed on a current collector material ((carrier, abstract; comprising electrically conducting material [0005])) is loaded on a conveyor line driven by rollers and transported thereon (transport device, having at least two rollers, abstract)), the active material layer (coating, [0003]) includes an electrode active material (graphite or mixtures of different types of graphite [0003]), a conductor (conductivity additives [0003]), and a binder (binders [0003]).
Regarding claim 10, Kim Min discloses the electrode manufacturing method of claim 9, wherein content of the conductor and the binder in the electrode sheet subjected to the drying step but fails to teach Equation 1. The equation describes the distribution of binder and conductor in an upper and lower layer of the active material layer. For a totally uniform distribution this ratio would be 1 exactly. Kim Min discloses an electrode capable of uniformly distributing a binder polymer [0001], increasing the uniformity of the binder in the electrode and further describes that the deterioration and irregularity of the electrode can be improved, and a uniformly loaded electrode can be provided [0020]. Kim Min does not disclose the equation explicitly, but claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claim 11, Kim Min discloses the electrode manufacturing method and discloses the transporting step comprises a process in which the electrode sheet passes through a magnetic field region formed by a roller comprising a magnet. (A magnetic member capable of applying electromagnetic attraction is disposed under the current collector coated with the slurry in the drying process of the electrode manufacturing [0063].) Ebner further specifies a magnetic member, the roller comprising a magnet (a permanent magnet roller [0024]).
Regarding claim 12, Kim Min discloses the electrode manufacturing device of claim 11. Kim Min further discloses that the magnetic field strength formed by the magnet is in a range of 1,000 G to 100,000 G (Kim Min: 15,000 G to 100,000 G, [0068]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim Min et al. (KR-20180036631-A, “Kim Min” hereinafter, a machine translation is being used for the references) in view of Ebner, Martin (WO2023099069A2 “Ebner” hereinafter; US 20230166923 A1 is being used as a translation).
Regarding claim 13, Kim Min discloses an electrode for a secondary battery, wherein content of the conductor and the binder in the electrode sheet subjected to the drying step but fails to teach Equation 1. The equation describes the distribution of binder and conductor in an upper and lower layer of the active material layer. For a totally uniform distribution this ratio would be 1 exactly. Kim Min discloses an electrode capable of uniformly distributing a binder polymer [0001], increasing the uniformity of the binder in the electrode, and further describes that the deterioration and irregularity of the electrode can be improved, and a uniformly loaded electrode can be provided [0020]. Kim Min does not disclose the equation explicitly, but claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim Min et al. (KR-20180036631-A, “Kim Min” hereinafter, a machine translation is being used for the references) in view of Ebner, Martin (WO2023099069A2 “Ebner” hereinafter; US 20230166923 A1 is being used as a translation) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Huyan.
Regarding claim 14, Kim Min discloses an electrode for a secondary battery according to claim 13 and discloses carbon materials but fails to disclose carbon nano tubes explicitly. Huyan discloses a lithium-ion battery including carbon nano tubes (CNTs) bonded to a magnetic material (Title: Magnetic tubular carbon nanofibers as anode electrodes for high-performance lithium-ion batteries). Kim Min and Huyan are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely electrodes for Lithium-Ion Batteries. In seeking a high-performance lithium-ion battery, before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use the magnetic carbon nano tubes disclosed by Huyan as the carbon material for an electrode as described by Kim Min as doing so would amount to nothing more than to use a known material for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely predictable result.
Regarding claim 15, Kim Min discloses an electrode for secondary battery according to claim 13, wherein the magnetic material comprises one or more among of iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), platinum (Pt), ruthenium (Ru), rhodium (Rh), molybdenum (Mo), osmium (Os), iridium (Ir), rhenium (Re), palladium (Pd), vanadium (V), tungsten (W), cobalt (Co), selenium (Se), bismuth (Bi), tin (Sn), chromium (Cr), titanium (Ti), gold (Au), cerium (Ce), silver (Ag), and or copper (Cu). (The magnetic powder may include at least one of Fe+2 and Fe+3, tetra-oxide (Fe3O4), and ferrite (MFe2O4, where M is Mn, Zn, Mg, Fe, Cu, Co, and the like) [0027])
Conclusion
/S.L.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725