Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a system for dispensing” in claim 1, “a magnetic system for spraying” in claim 1, “a system for collecting residues” in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Izawa (JP 2004121327, cited by Applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Izawa discloses a device for cleansing and/or applying a cosmetic composition for the hair, comprising a body structure (1) provided with one or more application elements (21), a system (6) for dispensing the cosmetic composition (in 5) contained in a housing (5) connected to a dispensing opening (3) that opens onto the body structure and a handle (10) extending the body structure; the device having a magnetic system (solenoid, see [0012]) for spraying the cosmetic composition from the dispensing opening toward the hair, the magnetic system being powered by a circuit (including power button 15 and a DC power supply, see [0009]) for supplying electric current, wherein the body structure is covered at least partially by a removable support (20).
Regarding claim 3, Izawa discloses the device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the magnetic system has one or more solenoids ([0012]) integrated in the body structure.
Regarding claim 4, Izawa discloses the device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the circuit for supplying electric current has a switch (15).
Regarding claim 5, Izawa discloses the device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the circuit for supplying electric current has a circuit for reversing the polarity of the current ([0013]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Izawa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Parko (US 6112362).
Regarding claim 2, Izawa teaches the device as claimed in claim 1, but does not teach that the device has a system for collecting residues, the residues being waste particles.
Parko teaches a system (16) for collecting residues, the residues being waste particles (col. 3, ll. 10-13).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Izawa with a system for collecting residues, the residues being waste particles as taught by Parko for the purpose of enabling a user to clean the brush (Parko, col. 3, ll. 10-13).
Regarding claim 11, Izawa teaches the device as claimed in claim 1, but does not teach that the removable support is a wipe.
Parko teaches a removable support (16) that is a wipe.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Izawa with a removable support that is a wipe as taught by Parko for the purpose of enabling a user to clean the brush (Parko, col. 3, ll. 10-13).
Claim(s) 6 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charroud (US 2020/0098174).
Regarding claim 6, Izawa teaches the device as claimed in claim 1, but does not teach that the circuit for supplying electric current has a timer circuit.
Charroud teaches a brush with a circuit that includes a timer circuit (¶0004 teaches timestamping, which requires some sort of timer circuit).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Izawa with a timer circuit as taught by Charroud for the purpose of enabling the device to store data related to specific times (Charroud, ¶0002-0004).
Regarding claim 8, Izawa teaches the device as claimed in claim 1, but does not teach a position or movement sensor.
Charroud teaches a device with a position or movement sensor (¶0040).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Izawa with a position or movement sensor as taught by Charroud for the purpose of recording position or movement of the device (Charroud ¶0004, 0040)
Regarding claim 9, Izawa teaches the device as claimed in claim 1, but does not teach a gyroscope.
Charroud teaches a device with a gyroscope (¶0040).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Izawa with a gyroscope as taught by Charroud for the purpose of enabling the device to record positional data (Charroud, ¶0040)
Regarding claim 10, Izawa discloses the device as claimed in claim 1, but does not teach a connection to an operation computer system.
Charroud teaches a device with a connection to an operation computer system (803).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Izawa with an operation computer system as taught by Charroud for the purpose of controlling the operation of the device.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Izawa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Huang (US 2021/0153989).
Regarding claim 7, Izawa teaches the device as claimed in claim 1, but does not teach that the circuit for supplying electric current has a current stabilizer.
Huang teaches a circuit with a current stabilizer (1012).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Izawa with a current stabilizer as taught by Huang for the purpose of providing a stable current to the device (Huang, ¶0095).
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Izawa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Thevenet (US 9609934).
Regarding claim 12, Izawa teaches a kit for cleansing and/or applying a cosmetic composition for the hair, comprising a device as claimed in claim 1, but does not teach a cosmetic composition having magnetic bodies having a nonzero magnetic susceptibility and able to move under the effect of a magnetic field generated by the device.
Thevenet teaches a cosmetic composition having magnetic bodies having a nonzero magnetic susceptibility and able to move under the effect of a magnetic field (col. 1, ll. 16-29).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Izawa with a cosmetic composition having magnetic bodies having a nonzero magnetic susceptibility and able to move under the effect of a magnetic field generated by the device as taught by Thevenet for the purpose of providing the user with a cosmetic that can change appearance under the effect of a magnetic field (Thevenet, col. 1, ll. 33-35).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Izawa and Thevenet teaches the cleansing kit as claimed in claim 12 wherein the cosmetic composition is contained in a reservoir (Izawa, 5) held in a removable manner (Izawa [0008]) in the housing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the cover 20 of Izawa is not removable.
Examiner disagrees. Izawa discloses that the cover is an elastic and flexible material and is retained by a groove (e) about the cover’s perimeter. This is a removable attachment.
In response to Applicant’s arguments that removing the cover of Izawa would render the device inoperable, it is noted that there is no requirement in the claim that the device is operable while the cover is detached. “Removable” does not imply that the device can or should be used while the element is removed, but merely that the element can be removed from the device.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRADLEY S OLIVER/Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/DAVID P ANGWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754