DETAILED ACTION
Final
Response to Amendment/Arguments
Claims 1-3, 5-8 are pending. Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, and 8 are currently amended. Claim 4 is canceled. It appears that no new matter has been entered. The amendments to the claims have required further search and/or consideration and adjustment of the rejections to meet the amended claim limitations. Regarding the remarks, it is noted that Miyazawa does teach the plurality of gate on the outside circumference of a resin portion as discussed below to meet the claim limitations. Applicant merely cites one particular embodiment and fails to recognize the related art teaching the claimed gate distribution, and it is noted that Miyazawa does not teach away from any of the alternative because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed. See In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 73 USPQ2d 1141 (Fed. Cir. 2004); MPEP 2143.01 I. Miyazawa is more concerned with the spacing of the pole polar teeth relative to the gate locations that that of the distribution of the gates about the circumference. For the above reasons the rejection must be made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhejiang (CN 102142727) in view of Miyazawa (US 5598046);
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhejiang in view of Miyazawa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Arai (US 8794591).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhejiang in view of Miyazawa.
Zhejiang discloses in claim 1: (see at least annotated figure 2 below)
A stator unit (figure 6) comprising: a yoke (generally at 3/4) having a hollow annular shape (the yoke is hollow and annular); a bobbin (generally at 1) around which a coil (2) is wound, the bobbin having a circular cylindrical shape (to carry the circular cylindrical coil 2 and fit annularly in the yoke) and disposed in an inner space (inner volume of 3/4) of the yoke; a first resin portion (5 figure 1); and a second resin portion (8 figure 1-6), wherein the yoke includes pole teeth (at 2008/2010 and generally seen at 3 figures 2 and 3) arranged circumferentially in an inner circumference of the yoke (as shown), wherein the first resin portion includes a filling part filling the inner space of the yoke (2004 adjacent the coil outer surface and inside the yoke as seen in figure 1), wherein the second resin portion includes a sealing part (at 2002 where 8 is interposed and is…) filling a space between the pole teeth (as shown), and wherein the bobbin is a component different from the first and second resin portions (bobbin 1 is a separate component than that of the resin bodies, and is different in shape and function) and separates (is radially/circumferentially interposed between 2004 and 8 so as to separate…) the filling part (2004) from the sealing part (2002); wherein the second resin portion further includes an annular part (annular inner surface of 2002) having a circular annular shape and disposed on an inner circumferential edge of an end surface of the yoke (inner end of 3), and wherein the annular part includes resin-part connection portions arranged circumferentially and connected to the sealing part (at 8/2006);. Zhejiang does not disclose: the bobbin made of resin; wherein a plurality of gate portions through which the second resin portion is injected are arranged on an outer circumferential side of the annular part; but considering that Miyazawa teaches: forming the coil bobbin of resin (see abstract, for the purpose of for example mitigating magnetic flux eddy currents, as is standard in bobbin construction); and using a plurality of gate portions (20 see Col 1 ln 35-40) through which the second resin portion is injected are arranged on an outer circumferential side (the outside portion of the inner surface of the resin part) of the annular part (for the purpose of providing for example uniform distribution of the resin and faster injection of the part.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide as taught in Miyazawa for that of Zhejiang, to form the coil bobbin of resin, as taught in Miyazawa, for the purpose of for example mitigating magnetic flux eddy currents, as is standard in bobbin construction; and furthermore to utilize as taught in Miyazawa for that of Zhejiang, a plurality of gate portions as taught in Miyazawa through which the second resin portion can be injected and which are arranged on an outer circumferential side of the annular part of Zhejiang as taught in Miyazawa, all for the purpose of providing for example uniform distribution of the resin and faster injection of the part.
Zhejiang discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 2: The stator unit according to claim 1, wherein a resin of the first resin portion (paragraph 0056 as discussed as epoxy resin) is molded at a first pressure (the expoy resin molding pressure) that is (usually) a lower pressure than a second pressure (resin molding pressure) at which a resin of the second resin (8 is a thermoset resin) portion is molded, the second pressure enables the resin of the second resin portion to fill the space between the pole teeth and is not applied to the coil (as shown where the thermoset resin is stiffer and usually a higher specific gravity requiring more pressure to flow than that of epoxy resin), Zhejiang does not explicitly disclose: a gate portion through which the first resin portion is injected is disposed outside the yoke; but considering that Miyazawa teaches: using multiple gate potions formed at appropriate intervals or locations for introducing resin;
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide a separately arranged gate portion arranged outside the yoke of Zhejiang through which the first resin portion of Zhejiang can be injected as taught in Miyazawa, all for the purpose of providing uniform distribution of resin and fast injection of the past; and Lastly, considering one of ordinary skill in the art of manufacturing would consider flow rates and pressure during forming, setting and an injection molding process to provide efficient manufacturing throughput,
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to utilize for Zhejiang as discussed above, a lower specific gravity and more flowable/injectable material such as Epoxy resin for the first resin portion of the rotor and stiffer and higher specific gravity thermoset resin second resin portion of the rotor as common in the art of manufacturing, all for the purpose of providing flow rates and pressure during such a forming, setting and injection molding process that provides efficient manufacturing throughput.
Zhejiang discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 3: The stator unit according to claim 1, wherein a resin of the second resin portion has higher fluidity than a resin of the first resin portion (8 may be less viscous than 2004 (as discussed as applied in claim 2, and for the purpose of providing a lower cost material or shorter set time for manufacturing.)
For the reasons as modified above, it would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to as taught in Zhejiang utilize a second resin with lower viscosity than that of the first resin, for the purpose of providing a lower cost material or shorter set time for manufacturing.
Zhejiang discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 5: The stator unit according to claim 1, wherein the yoke includes a first plate portion (at 4 top outer leg) having a circular annular shape, a second plate portion (at 3 bottom inner leg) having a circular annular shape and disposed parallel to the first plate portion with a space in between, first pole teeth (2008) connected to an inner circumferential edge of the first plate portion at right angles to the first plate portion (at figure 3) and pointing toward the second plate portion (downward), and second pole teeth (2010) connected to an inner circumferential edge of the second plate portion at right angles to the second plate portion and pointing toward the first plate portion (up), wherein the first and second pole teeth are arranged alternately (as shown) and circumferentially in the yoke, and wherein the annular part (annular edge of 2002) is disposed on the inner circumferential edge of the first plate portion.
Zhejiang discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 6: The stator unit according to claim 1 further comprising: a cover (12) made of resin (ph 0019), wherein the cover is molded integrally with an assembly including the yoke, the first resin portion, and the second resin portion and houses the assembly (as discussed the cover is molded and then integrally assembled with the other component parts), and the cover includes a peripheral wall portion (the cylindrical portion of 12) in which the yoke and the annular part of the second resin portion are embedded (i.e. covered.)
Zhejiang discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 7: An electric valve (motor operated solenoid valve ph 0080 - and see figures 11 and 12) comprising: the stator unit according to claim 1; but does not explicitly disclose, although Arai teaches: a can (at 30) having a circular cylindrical shape and disposed inside the stator unit (1a); a magnet rotor (8) disposed inside the can; and a valve member (60) driven by (the transmission of…) the magnet rotor (for the purpose of controlling fluid through the valve.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide as taught in Arai for that of Zhejiang, the electric valve with the stator unit of Zhejiang and including a can as taught in Arai having a circular cylindrical shape and disposed inside the stator unit and having a magnet rotor disposed inside the can with a valve member driven by the transmission of the magnet rotor, all for the purpose of controlling fluid through the valve.
Zhejiang discloses in claim 8: [An apparatus that is produced via…] A method for manufacturing a stator unit (figure 2 -8) including a yoke (3/4) having a hollow annular shape, a bobbin (1) around which a coil is wound, the bobbin having a circular cylindrical shape and disposed in an inner space of the yoke, a first resin portion (5), and a second resin portion (8), the yoke including pole teeth (2008/2010) arranged circumferentially in an inner circumference of the yoke, the first resin portion including a filling part (at 2004 fills the inside of the yoke) filling the inner space of the yoke, the second resin portion including a sealing part (at 2002 where 8 is interposed and seals the inside) filling a space between the pole teeth and an annular part (annular inner surface of 2002) having a circular annular shape and disposed on an inner circumferential edge of an end surface of the yoke (inner end of 3), and wherein the annular part includes resin-part connection portions arranged circumferentially and connected to the sealing part (at 8/2006), the method comprising: disposing the bobbin in the inner space of the yoke (figures 2 and 8) to separate the inner space (diametrically) of the yoke from the space between the pole teeth by the bobbin, placing the yoke in a cavity of a mold (12), injecting a resin (paragraph 0050-0056), the resin being a first resin, into a cavity part of the cavity corresponding to the first resin portion (P1, id), applying a pressure to the first resin (necessary to force the resin into the cavity), injecting a resin (injected molded resin 8 ph 0050-0056), the resin being a second resin (different than the first), into a cavity part of the cavity corresponding to the second resin portion, and applying, to the second resin, a pressure higher than a pressure applied to the first resin (where thermoplastic resin is stiffer and higher specific gravity requiring more pressure to flow than that of epoxy resin) Zhejiang does not disclose: the bobbin made of resin; wherein a plurality of gate portions through which the second resin portion is injected are arranged on an outer circumferential side of the annular part; but considering that Miyazawa teaches: forming the coil bobbin of resin (see abstract, for the purpose of for example mitigating magnetic flux eddy currents, as is standard in bobbin construction); and using a plurality of gate portions (20 see Col 1 ln 35-40) through which the second resin portion is injected are arranged on an outer circumferential side of the annular part (for the purpose of providing for example uniform distribution of the resin and faster injection of the part.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide as taught in Miyazawa for that of Zhejiang, to form the coil bobbin of resin, as taught in Miyazawa, for the purpose of for example mitigating magnetic flux eddy currents, as is standard in bobbin construction; and furthermore to utilize as taught in Miyazawa for that of Zhejiang, a plurality of gate portions as taught in Miyazawa through which the second resin portion can be injected and which are arranged on an outer circumferential side of the annular part of Zhejiang as taught in Miyazawa, all for the purpose of providing for example uniform distribution of the resin and faster injection of the part.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Matthew W Jellett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753