DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 4 and 7 are as previously presented. Claims 5-6, 8, and 10 are cancelled. Claims 1-3, and 9 are amended. Claims 10-11 are new. Therefore, claims 1-4, 7, 9, and 11-12 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 06/02/2026 has been entered. Applicant's amendment overcomes the following:
Existing 35 USC § 112(b) Rejections
Drawing objections
Drawings/Specification
The drawings are objected to because of the following.
The amended drawing filed 06/02/2026 may have incorrectly identified items 14 and 18 when read in conjunction Para. 0020 of Applicants PGPub US 2024/0261610 “Wherein the transmitter 1 comprises a cooling medium carrier 13 having an extinguishing effect, the cooling medium carrier 13 being closed on one side by a first terminal 11 under which a communication control unit 15 with a battery 14 is arranged, and on the other side the cooling medium carrier 13 having an extinguishing effect is closed by a second terminal 12.”
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 4, 16, 17, 19, and 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 7, 9, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the communication control unit is configured for setting pairing of wireless communication” in lines 12-13 of claim 1, however the examiner only found support for “setting the pairing” in Para. 0006, 0008, 0021, 0024 of Applicants PGPub (US 2024/0261610) or setting and pairing in claim 3 of Applicants PGPub (US 2024/0261610), where the closest specification support is Para. 0006 and 0021 which states “the communication control unit contains a control LED for setting the pairing of the transmitter with the receiver” which describes “setting the pairing” as a function of the LED (light emitting diode), such as indicating by illuminating or blinking, wherein the LED is comprised by the communication control unit, not the communication control unit alone. Therefore, this limitation is new matter that was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention and is therefore rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claims 2-4, 7 and 9 depend from claim 1, therefore claims 2-4, 7 and 9 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the communication control unit is configured to effect setting and pairing with the receiver” where the only specification support lies in lines 6-7 of claim 3, of Applicants PGPub (US 2024/0261610), which states “the communication control unit includes the control LED for setting and pairing with the receiver” which describes “setting and pairing” as a function of the LED (light emitting diode), such as indicating by illuminating or blinking, wherein the LED is comprised by the communication control unit, not the communication control unit alone. Therefore, this limitation is new matter that was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention and is therefore rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claim 11 recites the limitation “a communication control unit configured for … setting a pairing of the transmitter with the receiver to thereby connect a wireless communication of the transmitter and the receiver ” in lines 8-12 of claim 11 however the examiner only found support for “setting the pairing” in Para. 0006, 0008, 0021, 0024 of Applicants PGPub (US 2024/0261610) where the closest specification support is Para. 0006 and 0021 which states “the communication control unit contains a control LED for setting the pairing of the transmitter with the receiver” which describes “setting the pairing” as a function of the LED (light emitting diode), such as indicating by illuminating or blinking, wherein the LED is comprised by the communication control unit, not the communication control unit alone. Therefore, this limitation is new matter that was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention and is therefore rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claims 12 depend from claim 11, therefore claim 12 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph.
Claims 1-4, 7, 9, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the communication control unit is configured for setting pairing of wireless communication ” in lines 12-13 of claim 1. Firstly, it is unclear as to how to interpret “setting pairing,” as it appears to be grammatically incorrect and can be interpreted as “setting the (or “a” for antecedent basis) pairing” as described in Para. 0006, 0008, 0021, 0024 of applicants PGPub (US 2024/0261610) or “setting and pairing” as recited in claim 3 of applicants PGPub (US 2024/0261610). The applicant further discloses those terms in the following manner “a control LED for setting the pairing of the transmitter with the receiver (Para. 0006 of Applicants PGPub US 2024/0261610),” “at least one monitoring LED for setting the pairing with the transmitter (Para. 0008 of Applicants PGPub),” “ a control LED for setting the pairing with the receiver (Para. 0021 of Applicants PGPub),” “at least one monitoring LED for setting the pairing with the transmitter 7 (Para. 0024 of Applicants PGPub),” “a control light emitting diode (LED) for setting the pairing with the receiver … at least one LED for setting the pairing with the transmitter (Claim 1 of Applicants PGPub),” and “the control LED for setting and pairing with the receiver (Claim 3 of Applicants PGPub),” which all describe the terms “setting the paring” and “setting and pairing” as functions completed by light emitting diode, such as indicating by illuminating or blinking, however the claim omits any mention of an LED and thus this claim is indefinite because of this inconsistency between the claimed subject matter and the specification disclosure which renders the scope of the claim uncertain because without an LED performing the function of “setting the paring” and “setting and pairing” take on an unreasonable degree of uncertainty because the functions “setting” and “pairing” may take on different definitions then described in the specification. “A claim, although clear on its face, may also be indefinite when a conflict or inconsistency between the claimed subject matter and the specification disclosure renders the scope of the claim uncertain as inconsistency with the specification disclosure or prior art teachings may make an otherwise definite claim take on an unreasonable degree of uncertainty. In re Moore, 439 F.2d 1232, 1235-36, 169 USPQ 236, 239 (CCPA 1971); In re Cohn, 438 F.2d 989, 169 USPQ 95 (CCPA 1971); In re Hammack, 427 F.2d 1378, 166 USPQ 204 (CCPA 1970).” See MPEP § 2173.03. This claim will be interpreted as best understood by the examiner.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a transmitter arranged in a protected electrical device” in line 4 of claim 1 and then further in line 29 of claim 1 “wherein the one protected electrical device” in line 29 of claim 1 and it is unclear if the protected electrical device and the one protected electrical device are the same devices or different devices. The examiner will interpret the electrical devices as the same device.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein the transmitter comprises a carrier… under which a communication control unit with a battery is arranged … the transmitter being operative passively on its own without power from the battery or from an external power supply so that as a temperature in the at least one protected area rises, the carrier containing the cooling medium with extinguishing effect breaks down to form an opening that allows the cooling medium to discharge from the carrier through the opening and enter into the at least one protected area in which the transmitter is arranged;” in lines 8-19 of claim 1, and it is unclear how a transmitter which provides a function of transmitting (Merriam-Webster defines a transmitter as “one that transmits: such as, a : an apparatus for transmitting radio or television signals b: neurotransmitter”) and it is unclear as to how the transmitter can be operative without power. Secondly it is unclear transmitter comprises the communication control unit, or if it is a separate structural feature. Thirdly if the transmitter comprises the communication control unit as shown in Fig. 2 of the applicant’s specification it is not clear which structural feature of the transmitter claimed by the applicant provides the function of transmitting.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a protected electrical device having at least one protected area and, connected to at least one electrical circuit of an electrical distribution box” in lines 4-5 of claim 1. It is not clear if the connection to the at least one electrical circuit is referring to the transmitter, the protected electrical device, or both
Claims 2-4, 7 and 9 depends from claim 1, therefore claims 2-4, 7 and 9 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the communication control unit is configured to effect setting and pairing with the receiver ” in lines 6-7 of claim 3, however it is unclear as to how the communication control unit effects the setting and pairing with the receiver. It is further unclear if “setting and pairing” recited in claim 3 of applicants PGPub (US 2024/0261610) is the same function as “setting the pairing” as described in Para. 0006, 0008, 0021, 0024 of applicants PGPub (US 2024/0261610) which function is completed by light emitting diode, such as indicating by illuminating or blinking, however the claim omits any mention of an LED and thus this claim is indefinite because of this inconsistency between the claimed subject matter and the specification disclosure which renders the scope of the claim uncertain because without an LED performing the function, and further “setting and pairing” the claimed language takes on an unreasonable degree of uncertainty because the functions “setting” and “pairing” may take on different definitions then described in the specification. “A claim, although clear on its face, may also be indefinite when a conflict or inconsistency between the claimed subject matter and the specification disclosure renders the scope of the claim uncertain as inconsistency with the specification disclosure or prior art teachings may make an otherwise definite claim take on an unreasonable degree of uncertainty. In re Moore, 439 F.2d 1232, 1235-36, 169 USPQ 236, 239 (CCPA 1971); In re Cohn, 438 F.2d 989, 169 USPQ 95 (CCPA 1971); In re Hammack, 427 F.2d 1378, 166 USPQ 204 (CCPA 1970).” See MPEP § 2173.03. This claim will be interpreted as best understood by the examiner.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “a communication control unit configured for … setting a pairing of the transmitter with the receiver to thereby connect a wireless communication of the transmitter and the receiver ” in lines 8-12 of claim 11,” the applicant further discloses “setting the pairing” in the following manner “a control LED for setting the pairing of the transmitter with the receiver (Para. 0006 of Applicants PGPub US 2024/0261610),” “at least one monitoring LED for setting the pairing with the transmitter (Para. 0008 of Applicants PGPub),” “ a control LED for setting the pairing with the receiver (Para. 0021 of Applicants PGPub),” “at least one monitoring LED for setting the pairing with the transmitter 7 (Para. 0024 of Applicants PGPub),” “a control light emitting diode (LED) for setting the pairing with the receiver … at least one LED for setting the pairing with the transmitter (Claim 1 of Applicants PGPub),” which all describe the term “setting the paring” as functions completed by light emitting diode, such as indicating by illuminating or blinking, however the claim omits any mention of an LED and thus this claim is indefinite because of this inconsistency between the claimed subject matter and the specifications disclosure which renders the scope of the claim uncertain because without an LED performing the function of “setting the paring” the claimed language take on an unreasonable degree of uncertainty because the functions “setting” and “pairing” may take on different definitions then described in the specification. “A claim, although clear on its face, may also be indefinite when a conflict or inconsistency between the claimed subject matter and the specification disclosure renders the scope of the claim uncertain as inconsistency with the specification disclosure or prior art teachings may make an otherwise definite claim take on an unreasonable degree of uncertainty. In re Moore, 439 F.2d 1232, 1235-36, 169 USPQ 236, 239 (CCPA 1971); In re Cohn, 438 F.2d 989, 169 USPQ 95 (CCPA 1971); In re Hammack, 427 F.2d 1378, 166 USPQ 204 (CCPA 1970).” See MPEP § 2173.03. This claim will be interpreted as best understood by the examiner.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “wherein the receiver is configured to disconnect individual electric circuits from electric current in response to receipt of the signal indicative of the sensed rising temperature” in lines 13-14 of claim 1, but claim 11 also recites the limitation “at least one electrical circuit” in line 6 of claim 11, and firstly it is unclear if the “at least one electrical circuit” and “individual electric circuits” are the same circuits. Additionally, it is not clear if the receiver is configured to disconnect one of individual electric circuits, a plurality of the individual electric circuits, or all of the individual electrical circuits. Additionally, it is not clear if the receiver disconnects the individual electric circuits because Paragraph 23 of applicant’s PGPub states “By means of the pairing button, the receiver 1 enables pairing of communication with the transmitter 7, receiving RF, WIFI, Bluetooth, LAN, disconnection of individual electrical circuits 8 of the electrical distribution box 2 from the electric current by means of the disconnector 3 on the basis of the signal from the transmitter 7 about the rising temperature in the protected area 6, sending the signal about the rising temperature in the protected area 6 to the signaling device 5,” and further in Para. 0010 “when the temperature rises in a protected area, such as an electrical outlet, a transmitter located in the protected area sends a signal to a receiver located at the location of the power source, such as an electrical distribution box, where a disconnector disconnects the electrical circuit where the transmitter is located,” and therefore the disconnector is the structural feature that allows for the disconnection of individual electric circuits and the transmitter merely sends a signal to the disconnector. Therefore, specifications disclosure renders the scope of the claim uncertain because without a disconnector performing the function of “disconnect individual electric circuits from electric current” the claimed language take on an unreasonable degree of uncertainty because the claimed receiver may not be read separately from the specification which does not allow for the claimed receiver to disconnect individual electric circuits from electric current . “A claim, although clear on its face, may also be indefinite when a conflict or inconsistency between the claimed subject matter and the specification disclosure renders the scope of the claim uncertain as inconsistency with the specification disclosure or prior art teachings may make an otherwise definite claim take on an unreasonable degree of uncertainty. In re Moore, 439 F.2d 1232, 1235-36, 169 USPQ 236, 239 (CCPA 1971); In re Cohn, 438 F.2d 989, 169 USPQ 95 (CCPA 1971); In re Hammack, 427 F.2d 1378, 166 USPQ 204 (CCPA 1970).” See MPEP § 2173.03. This claim will be interpreted as best understood by the examiner.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “a disconnector arranged and configured to disconnect the electrical circuit in response to the receiver receiving from the transmitter a signal indicative of the temperature rising in the at least one protected electrical device,” in lines 13-14 of claim 12 however claim 11 recites the limitation “wherein the receiver is configured to disconnect individual electric circuits from electric current in response to receipt of the signal indicative of the sensed rising temperature,” in lines 4-6 of claim 12. Firstly, it is unclear if the electrical circuit disclosed in claim 12 is the same as the individual electric circuits of claim 11. Secondly the disconnector and receiver both appear to have the same function of disconnecting electrical circuits and it is not clear if both structures disconnect electrical circuits or if the receiver merely receives a signal to actuate the disconnector. Additionally, the claim does not disclose where the disconnector is arranged.
Claims 12 depends from claim 11, therefore claim 12 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
The above are just examples of inconsistencies and problematic issues noted by the Examiner. Applicant is advised to carefully review and amend the application to correct other deficiencies. For the purpose of examination, the claims will be examined as best understood by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(Note 1: cross-out limitations in this office action indicates the lack of explicit teaching in the primary reference; the limitation is addressed by the teaching reference(s) below).
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 9, and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Critchley (US 11,547,883) in view of Dinulescu (NPL Titled “Breaker Box Anatomy: How Do Electrical Panels Work?”) and Koelewijn (US 8,496,067).
Regarding Claim 1, Critchley discloses an automatic communication system (Fig. 1-2 & Fig. 4, all structural features) for local suppression of rising temperature or fire extinguishing in electrical equipment connected to a power source, comprising:
a transmitter ({Fig. 1-2 & Fig. 4, 100} & {Fig. 4, (70, 72, 76, 80)}) arranged near (Underline to emphasize difference from the claimed language) a protected electrical device (Col. 3: Ln. 21-25 – “appliance control switches/circuit boards”) having at least one protected area (Col. 3: Ln. 21-25; Area near the protected electrical device) and, connected to at least one electrical circuit (Fig. 4, Circuit connecting 80 to 70, 72, 76, and 78)
wherein the transmitter comprises a carrier ({Fig. 1-2 & Fig. 4}, 40) containing a cooling medium (Fig. 4, 50) with extinguishing effect and which is closed by a first terminal (Fig. 2, 42) on one side of the carrier and which is closed by a second terminal (Fig. 2, 44) on another side of the carrier and under which a communication control unit (Fig. 4, {70, 76, & 80})
a disconnector (Fig. 4, 78; Col. 6: Ln. 56-60; The utility cut-off features/disconnector can cut off the power source fueling the fire … circuit breakers.) arranged and configured to disconnect the electrical circuit on a basis of
wherein the one protected electrical device is an electrical appliance (“Col. 3: Ln. 21-25 – “appliance control switches/circuit boards”),
Critchley does not disclose at least one electrical circuit of an electrical distribution box, the transmitter arranged in a protected electrical device having at least one protected area, the communication control unit with a battery is arranged under the carrier, the communication control unit is configured for setting pairing of wireless communication with the receiver and with the transmitter.
However, Dinulescu teaches a prior art comparable electrical device (Annotated Figure), comprising at least one electrical circuit (Annotated Figure) of an electrical distribution box (Annotated Figure – “Electrical Panel”), wherein the at least one electrical circuit is connected to a circuit breaker (Annotated Figure – “Branch Circuit breaker”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of at least one electrical circuit of an electrical distribution box, wherein the at least one electrical circuit is connected to a circuit breaker because Critchley discloses a circuit breaker (Fig. 4, 78; Col. 6: Ln. 56-60) and incorporating the circuit breaker into the electrical distribution box taught by Dinulescu protects the circuit breaker from damage and prevents an individual to be electrocuted due to exposed circuit and/or circuit breaker.
Critchley in view of Dinulescu, does not teach the transmitter arranged in a protected electrical device having at least one protected area, the communication control unit with a battery is arranged under the carrier, the communication control unit is configured for setting pairing of wireless communication with the receiver and with the transmitter .
However, Koelewijn teaches a prior art comparable fire extinguishing system (Fig. {1-2 & 6}, all structural features), comprising
a transmitter (Fig. {1-2 & 6}, 1), arranged in a protected electrical device (Fig. 1, C; A personal computer is a protected electrical device and further an electrical appliance) having at least one protected area (Fig. 1, area inside the computer);
a receiver (Fig. 6, 32-33)
wherein the transmitter comprises a carrier ({Fig. 1-2 & 6}, 3) containing a cooling medium (Col. 6: Ln. 45-53 – “extinguishing material”) with extinguishing effect and which is closed by a first terminal (Fig. 2, 2A) on one side of the carrier and which is closed by a second terminal (Fig. 2, 2) on another side of the carrier and under which a communication control unit , (Fig. 2, 5-8 & Fig. 6, {5-8 & 30-31}) with a battery (Fig. 6, 8) is arranged, the communication control unit is configured for setting pairing of wireless communication (Col. 9: Ln. 53 to Col 10. Ln. 8) with the receiver and with the transmitter .
Therefore, the examiner finds that the prior art contained the automatic communication system taught by Critchley in view of Dinulescu upon which the claimed invention can be seen as an "improvement,” that the prior art contained a "comparable" device, namely the fire extinguishing system taught by Koelewijn that has been improved the same way as the claimed invention (a transmitter arranged in a protected electrical device having at least one protected area; a receiver; wherein the transmitter comprises a carrier containing a cooling medium with extinguishing effect and which is closed by a first terminal on one side of the carrier and which is closed by a second terminal on another side of the carrier and under which a communication control unit , with a battery is arranged the transmitter further comprising a communication control unit (Fig. 6, 5-8 & 30-31}) is configured for setting pairing of wireless communication with the receiver and with the transmitter ), and that one of ordinary skill in the art could before the effective filing date of the claimed invention have applied the known "improvement" technique in the same way to the "base" device (method, or product) and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art, namely suppressing a fire in a protected electrical device having at least one protected area and transmitting the status of the device with the benefit of protecting the inner space of an object against fire while transmitting status messages of the devices and transmitting the status messages to an external control room or controller (Koelewijn – Col. 5: Ln. 22-30), without damaging sensitive equipment such as electronic components (Koelewijn – Col. 1: Ln. 50-56), with a reasonable expectation of success.
Critchley in view of Dinulescu and Koelewijn does not teach the receiver arranged in the electrical distribution box.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the receiver arranged in the electrical distribution box because Critchley discloses the electronic connections and transmissions described herein may be accomplished wireless means (Col. 8: Ln. 12-14) and thus arranging the receiver taught by Koelewijn into the electrical distribution box taught by Dinulescu to activate the disconnector (circuit breaker) taught by Critchley because the disconnector is located inside the destruction box and thus locating the receiver in the same location makes connecting the receiver to the disconnector for activation easier with a reasonable expectation of success.
Additionally, relocating the receiver in the electrical distribution box is a mere rearrangement of parts, and the courts have held that rearrangement of parts requires only ordinary skill in the art and hence is considered a routine expedient. “In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950): Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.” MPEP § 2144.04-VI-C. Please note that in the instant application, Para. 0007 of PGPub, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Annotated Figure(s)
Regarding Claim 2, Critchley in view of Dinulescu and Koelewijn teaches the system according to claim 1.
Critchley further discloses the carrier containing the cooling medium with extinguishing effect is made of polymeric materials (Col. 3: Ln. 57-60; A thermoplastic is a polymeric material.).
Critchley in view of Dinulescu and Koelewijn does not teach wherein the carrier of the cooling medium with extinguishing effect is a low pressure device with a pressure up to 1 MPa (The examiner is interpreting a low pressure device as a device capable of use with a pressure up to 1 MPa).
However, Critchley discloses the pressure of the carrier is a results effective variable (Col. 5: Ln. 16-31) is a results effective variable. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the carrier of the cooling medium with extinguishing effect is a low pressure device with a pressure up to 1 MPa, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. MPEP 2144.05-II-A. Please note that in the instant application, Para. 0006 and 0020 of Applicants PGPub, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 3, Critchley in view of Dinulescu and Koelewijn teaches the system according to claim 1.
Critchley further discloses wherein the communication control unit includes a sensor (Fig. 4, 70; Col. 6: Ln. 10-11)
Koelewijn further teaches an RF transmitter (Fig. 6, 30-33) for wireless communication between the transmitter and the receiver via communication transmission networks (Col. 11: Ln. 17-20), and further the communication control unit is configured to effect setting and pairing with the receiver (The transmitter and receiver are inherently paired when transmitting messages wirelessly; Merriam-Webster defines pairing as “to establish a connection between (a set of networked devices or systems) or from (a networked device or system),” and thus he transmitter and receiver are inherently paired when transmitting messages wirelessly as taught in Col. 11: Ln. 17-20, Col. 11: Ln. 48-52, Col. 10: Ln. 48 to Col. 11: Ln. 31).
Regarding claim 7 Critchley in view of Dinulescu and Koelewijn teaches the system according to claim 1.
Koelewijn further teaches wherein activation of the system is from 30° C. in the protected area (Col. 12: Ln 58 to Col. 13: Ln. 9; 60).
Regarding Claim 9, Critchley in view of Dinulescu and Koelewijn teaches the system according to claim 1 and further teaches wherein the receiver is configured to release the cooling medium with the extinguishing effect from the carrier arranged in the transmitter , wherein due to increasing temperature the carrier is damaged, the cooling medium with the extinguishing effect is released into the at least one protected area (Critchley – Col. 3: Ln. 48-58), and signal is sent by the transmitter to the receiver (Critchley – Col. 6: Ln. 10-11; Col. 6: Ln. 17-18; Col. 6: Ln. 36-60; The signal is sent to the receive to activate the disconnector when a fire is detected.)
Regarding claim 11, Critchley discloses an automatic communication apparatus (Fig. 1-2 & Fig. 4, all structural features) for local suppression of rising temperature or fire extinguishing in electrical equipment connected to a power source, comprising:
a transmitter ({Fig. 1-2 & Fig. 4, 100} & {Fig. 4, (70, 72, 76, 80)}) arranged near (Underline to emphasize difference from the claimed language) the transmitter having a communication control unit (Fig. 4, {70, 76, & 80}) configured for sensing a rising temperature near (Underline to emphasize difference from the claimed language) the at least one protected device (Col. 6: Ln. 10-11; Col. 6: Ln. 17-18; Col. 6: Ln. 36-60; A thermocouple detecting a fire is indicative of a temperature rising.) and for setting a pairing
whereinthe automatic communication apparatus (underline to emphasize difference from the claimed language) is configured to disconnect individual electric circuits from electric current in response to receipt of the signal indicative of the sensed rising temperature (Fig. 4, 78; Col. 6: Ln. 56-60; The utility cut-off features/disconnector can cut off the power source fueling the fire.; Col. 6: Ln. 10-11; Col. 6: Ln. 17-18; Col. 6: Ln. 36-60; A thermocouple detecting a fire is indicative of a temperature rising.; See 112(b));
wherein the carrier is configured to break down from the rising temperature to form an opening through which the contained cooling medium discharges from the carrier (Col. 3: Ln. 48-58) to escapenear the at least one protected device to cool the rising temperature and/or extinguish resulting fire; and
wherein the at least one protected device is an electrical appliance (“Col. 3: Ln. 21-25 – “appliance control switches/circuit boards”),
Critchley does not disclose a receiver arranged in an electrical distribution box; at least one electrical circuit of the electrical distribution box; the transmitter arranged in at least one protected electrical device, the communication control unit configured for sensing a rising temperature in the at least one protected device and for setting a pairing of the transmitter with the receiver to thereby connect a wireless communication, of the transmitter and the receiver and for causing a signal indicative of the sensed rising temperature to be transmitted from the transmitter to the receiver; wherein the receiver is configured to disconnect individual electric circuits from electric current in response to receipt of the signal indicative of the sensed rising temperature;
However, Dinulescu teaches a prior art comparable electrical device (Annotated Figure of claim 1), comprising at least one electrical circuit (Annotated Figure of claim 1) of an electrical distribution box (Annotated Figure of claim 1 – “Electrical Panel”), wherein the at least one electrical circuit is connected to a circuit breaker (Annotated Figure of claim 1– “Branch Circuit breaker”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of at least one electrical circuit of an electrical distribution box, wherein the at least one electrical circuit is connected to a circuit breaker because Critchley discloses a circuit breaker (Fig. 4, 78; Col. 6: Ln. 56-60) and incorporating the circuit breaker into the electrical distribution box taught by Dinulescu protects the circuit breaker from damage and prevents an individual to be electrocuted due to exposed circuit and/or circuit breaker.
Critchley in view of Dinulescu does not teach the transmitter arranged in at least one protected electrical device, the communication control unit configured for sensing a rising temperature in the at least one protected device and for setting a pairing of the transmitter with the receiver to thereby connect a wireless communication, of the transmitter and the receiver and for causing a signal indicative of the sensed rising temperature to be transmitted from the transmitter to the receiver; wherein the receiver is configured to disconnect individual electric circuits from electric current in response to receipt of the signal indicative of the sensed rising temperature
However, Koelewijn teaches a prior art comparable fire extinguishing system (Fig. {1-2 & 6}, all structural features), comprising
a receiver (Fig. 6, 32-33)
a transmitter (Fig. {1-2 & 6}, 1) arranged in at least one protected electrical device (Fig. 1, C; A personal computer is a protected electrical device and further an electrical appliance), a communication control unit (Fig. 2, 5-8 & Fig. 6, {5-8 & 30-31}) configured for sensing a rising temperature in the at least one protected device (Col. 12: Ln. 58 to Col. 13: Ln. 9) and for setting a pairing of the transmitter with the receiver (Col. 9: Ln. 53 to Col 10. Ln. 8) to thereby connect a wireless communication, of the transmitter and the receiver and for causing a signal indicative of the sensed rising temperature to be transmitted from the transmitter to the receiver (Col. 12: Ln. 58 to Col. 13: Ln. 9; Col. 9: Ln. 53 to Col 10. Ln. 8).
Therefore, the examiner finds that the prior art contained the automatic communication system taught by Critchley in view of Dinulescu upon which the claimed invention can be seen as an "improvement,” that the prior art contained a "comparable" device, namely the fire extinguishing system taught by Koelewijn that has been improved the same way as the claimed invention (a prior art comparable fire extinguishing system, comprising a receiver , a transmitter arranged in at least one protected electrical device, a communication control unit configured for sensing a rising temperature in the at least one protected device and for setting a pairing of the transmitter with the receiver to thereby connect a wireless communication, of the transmitter and the receiver and for causing a signal indicative of the sensed rising temperature to be transmitted from the transmitter to the receiver ) and that one of ordinary skill in the art could before the effective filing date of the claimed invention have applied the known "improvement" technique in the same way to the "base" device (method, or product) and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art, namely suppressing a fire in a protected electrical device having at least one protected area and transmitting the status of the device with the benefit of protecting the inner space of an object against fire while transmitting status messages of the devices and transmitting the status messages to an external control room or controller (Koelewijn – Col. 5: Ln. 22-30), without damaging sensitive equipment such as electronic components (Koelewijn – Col. 1: Ln. 50-56), with a reasonable expectation of success.
In combination Critchley in view of Dinulescu and Koelewijn teaches wherein the receiver is configured to disconnect individual electric circuits from electric current in response to receipt of the signal indicative of the sensed rising temperature because the receiver of Koelewijn activates the portion of the automatic communication apparatus disclosed by Critchley (Fig. 4, 78) to disconnect individual electric circuits from electric current in response to receipt of the signal indicative of the sensed rising temperature.
Critchley in view of Dinulescu and Koelewijn does not teach the receiver arranged in the electrical distribution box.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the receiver arranged in the electrical distribution box because Critchley discloses the electronic connections and transmissions described herein may be accomplished wireless means (Col. 8: Ln. 12-14) and thus arranging the receiver taught by Koelewijn into the electrical distribution box taught by Critchley in view of Dinulescu and Koelewijn to activate the portion of the automatic communication apparatus disclosed by Critchley (Fig. 4, 78) to disconnect individual electric circuits from electric current in response to receipt of the signal indicative of the sensed rising temperature disclosed by Critchley because the disconnector (circuit breaker) is located inside the destruction box, and thus locating the receiver in the same location makes connecting the receiver to the disconnector for activation easier with a reasonable expectation of success.
Furthermore, relocating the receiver in the electrical distribution box is a mere rearrangement of parts, and the courts have held that rearrangement of parts requires only ordinary skill in the art and hence is considered a routine expedient. “In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950): Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.” MPEP § 2144.04-VI-C. Please note that in the instant application, Para. 0007 of PGPub, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 12, Critchley in view of Dinulescu and Koelewijn teaches the automatic communication apparatus for local suppression of rising temperature or fire extinguishing in electrical equipment connected to a power source of claim 11, further comprising:
Critchley in view of Dinulescu and Koelewijn further discloses a disconnector (Critchley – Fig. 4, 78; Col. 6: Ln. 56-60; The utility cut-off features/disconnector can cut off the power source fueling the fire.) arranged and configured to disconnect the electrical circuit in response to the receiver receiving from the transmitter (In combination the receiver taught by Koelewijn activates the disconnector taught by Critchley) a signal indicative of the temperature rising in the at least one protected electrical device (Col. 6: Ln. 10-11; Col. 6: Ln. 17-18; Col. 6: Ln. 36-60; A thermocouple detecting a fire is indicative of a temperature rising.).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Critchley in view of Dinulescu and Koelewijn or alternately rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Critchley in view of Critchley in view of Dinulescu and Koelewijn, and further in view of Ganaza (ES 2685973 A1).
The examiner is interpreting wherein the receiver is DIN rail compatible and is interpreting this limitation as a functional limitation with no recited structure. The Examiner is providing an alternate rejection for the purpose’s compact prosecution.
Regarding claim 4, Critchley in view of Dinulescu and Koelewijn teaches the system according to claim 1, and further teaches wherein the receiver is DIN rail compatible (The prior art device discloses all of the required structural components of the receiver and therefore is DIN rail compatible in the same way as the claimed invention. “DIN rail” is a term well-known and obvious to a one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and therefore the examiner will interpret this term as any rail capable of mounting electronic components. Additionally, the receiver is DIN rail compatible is a manner of operating the device that does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art. “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus”. See MPEP § 2114-II.).
In the alternate, Ganaza teaches a prior art comparable electronic device (Fig. 1-4; Para. 0018) is DIN rail compatible (Para. 0018).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the receiver, which is an electronic device, is DIN rail compatible to allow for a standardized module, for use, among other things, in DIN rail systems of electrical cabinets (Para. 0018).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the rejection of claims under 35 USC § 103 the applicant has described differences between the individual references and the applicants instant claimed invention, but the examiner has not found any specific argument relating to the rejected claims and therefore the examiner asserts the following.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW DOMENIC ONDREJCAK/ Examiner, Art Unit 3752
August 18, 2026
/TUONGMINH N PHAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752