DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8, 11, 12 and 14-17 in the reply filed on 12/15/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 18-21, 23 and 24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/15/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 11, 12 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Flynn (US 1,560,555).
Regarding claim 1, Flynn discloses a wrapping material roll (Figs. 1-5) comprising a flexible sheet (material 1) having a length and a width, and an outer and an inner surface (Figs. 1-5), wherein the sheet is rolled concentrically about an axis substantially parallel to the direction of the width such that the outer surface faces radially outwards with respect to the axis (Figs. 1-2), the inner surface faces radially inwards with respect to the axis (Figs. 1-2), and a longitudinal end of the sheet is located along a circumferential side of the wrapping material roll (Figs. 1-5), wherein at least a part of the longitudinal end is folded along a folding line over at least part of the width toward the inner surface of the sheet (Figs. 3-4; claims 1-2).
The limitation “wrapping material” in claim 1 has not been given patentable weight because it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause. The preamble “wrapping material” is merely reciting the intended use of the claimed structure and a preamble is generally not accorded any patentable weight where it merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure, and where the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead, the process steps or structural limitations are able to stand alone. See MPEP 2111.02.
Regarding claim 2, Flynn discloses the folding line is arranged over at least 50 percent of the width (Figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 3, Flynn discloses the folding line being arranged at an acute folding angle with respect to the width direction (Figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 4, Flynn discloses the folding line being arranged to extend circumferentially over at least 30 percent of the circumferential side (Figs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 5, Flynn discloses the folding angle is between 3 and 45 degrees (Figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 6, Flynn discloses the longitudinal end comprising a longitudinal edge (7) along the circumferential side, and wherein the folding line is arranged to extend from a folding point along the longitudinal edge to a lateral edge of the sheet (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Flynn discloses the folding point being located centrally with respect to the width of the sheet (Figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 8, Flynn discloses a seal (10), wherein a seal (10) is configured to secure the longitudinal end to the outer surface of the rolled sheet (Figs. 1-5), and/or wherein the seal comprises adhesive surface arranged to secure the longitudinal end to the outer surface of the rolled sheet (page 1, lines 65-105).
Regarding claim 11, Flynn discloses a first part of the longitudinal end is folded along a first folding line extending to a first lateral edge of the sheet, and wherein a second part of the longitudinal end is folded along a second folding line arranged to extend from a folding point along the longitudinal edge to a second lateral edge of the sheet opposite to the first lateral edge (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 12, Flynn discloses the folding lines are arranged to extend from the same folding point along the longitudinal edge such that the longitudinal end is V-shaped (Figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 14, Flynn discloses the first folding line being arranged at a first acute folding angle with respect to the width direction, wherein the second folding line is arranged at a second acute folding angle with respect to the width direction (Figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 15, Flynn discloses the first folding angle and the second folding angle differ (Figs. 3-6).
Regarding claim 16, Flynn discloses the first folding angle being equal to the second folding angle (Figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 17, Flynn discloses the folding line being arranged over less than 100 percent of the width (Figs. 3-4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. JP200894458 is cited for further teaching a wrapping material roll similar to that of the claimed wrapping material roll.
CATHERINE A. SIMONE
Examiner
Art Unit 1781
/Catherine A. Simone/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781