DETAILED ACTION
Withdrawn Rejections
The 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection of claims 1-8, 11, 12 and 14-17 as anticipated by Flynn (US 1,560,555) of record in the previous Office Action mailed on 1/16/2026 has been withdrawn due to Applicant's amendment filed on 4/14/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-8, 11, 12, 14-17 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hodaka et al. (JP2008094458A) [hereinafter Hodaka] in view of Fisher et al. (US 2005/0269386) [hereinafter Fisher].
Regarding claim 1, Hodaka discloses a wrapping material roll (Figs.1 and 5-7) comprising a flexible sheet (wrap film 2) having a length and a width (page 4), and an outer and an inner surface (Figs. 1 and 5-7), wherein the sheet is rolled concentrically about an axis substantially parallel to the direction of the width such that the outer surface faces radially outwards with respect to the axis (Figs. 1 and 5-7), the inner surface faces radially inwards with respect to the axis (Figs. 1 and 5-7), and a longitudinal end of the sheet is located along a circumferential side of the wrapping material roll (Figs. 1 and 5-7), wherein at least a part of the longitudinal end is folded along a folding line over at least part of the width toward the outer surface of the sheet (Figs. 1 and 7), wherein the folding line is arranged at an acute folding angle of between 3 and 30 degrees with respect to the width direction (Fig. 7; last paragraph on page 4).
Hodaka fails to specifically teach the flexible sheet comprising a paper or cellophane; and fails to teach the longitudinal end of the sheet being folded along the folding line toward the inner surface of the sheet.
Fisher teaches that it is well known in the food packing art to have a wrap film formed of cellophane in order to provide an acceptable viewing area in the completed wrap and/or paper in order to provide a surface for product identification or printing (paragraphs [0022] and [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the material of the flexible sheet in Hodaka to be cellophane and/or paper as suggested by Fisher, if so desired, in order to provide an acceptable viewing area in the completed wrap and/or provide a surface for product identification or printing in the completed.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fold at the longitudinal end of the sheet in Hodaka to be folded along the folding line toward the inner surface of the sheet instead of towards the outer surface of the sheet, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding claim 2, Hodaka discloses the folding line is arranged over at least 50 percent of the width (Figs. 1 and 7).
Regarding claim 4, Hodaka discloses the folding line being arranged to extend circumferentially over at least 30 percent of the circumferential side (Figs. 1 and 7).
Regarding claim 5, Hodaka discloses the folding angle is between 15 and 25 degrees (Figs. 1 and 7; page 4).
Regarding claim 6, Hodaka discloses the longitudinal end comprising a longitudinal edge along the circumferential side, and wherein the folding line is arranged to extend from a folding point along the longitudinal edge to a lateral edge of the sheet (Figs. 1 and 7).
Regarding claim 7, Hodaka discloses the folding point being located centrally with respect to the width of the sheet (Figs. 1 and 7).
Regarding claim 8, Hodaka discloses a seal (7), wherein a seal is configured to secure the longitudinal end to the outer surface of the rolled sheet (Fig. 1), and/or wherein the seal (7) comprises adhesive surface arranged to secure the longitudinal end to the outer surface of the rolled sheet (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Hodaka discloses a first part of the longitudinal end is folded along a first folding line extending to a first lateral edge of the sheet, and wherein a second part of the longitudinal end is folded along a second folding line arranged to extend from a folding point along the longitudinal edge to a second lateral edge of the sheet opposite to the first lateral edge (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 12, Hodaka discloses a wrapping material roll (Figs.1 and 5-7) comprising a flexible sheet (wrap film 2) having a length and a width (page 4), and an outer and an inner surface (Figs. 1 and 5-7), wherein the sheet is rolled concentrically about an axis substantially parallel to the direction of the width such that the outer surface faces radially outwards with respect to the axis (Figs. 1 and 5-7), the inner surface faces radially inwards with respect to the axis (Figs. 1 and 5-7), and a longitudinal end of the sheet is located along a circumferential side of the wrapping material roll (Figs. 1 and 5-7), wherein at least a part of the longitudinal end is folded along a folding line over at least part of the width toward the outer surface of the sheet (Figs. 1 and 7), wherein the longitudinal end comprises a longitudinal edge along the circumferential side, wherein a first part of the longitudinal end is folded along a first folding line arranged to extend from a first folding point along the longitudinal edge to a first lateral edge of the sheet, and wherein a second part of the longitudinal end is folded along a second folding line arranged to extend from a second folding point along the longitudinal edge to a second lateral edge of the sheet opposite to the first lateral edge (Fig. 7).
Hodaka fails to specifically teach the flexible sheet comprising a paper or cellophane; fails to teach the first folding point and the second folding point being spaced apart such that the longitudinal end is u-shaped, and fails to teach the longitudinal end being folded along the folding line toward the inner surface of the sheet.
Fisher teaches that it is well known in the food packing art to have a wrap film formed of cellophane in order to provide an acceptable viewing area in the completed wrap and/or paper in order to provide a surface for product identification or printing (paragraphs [0022] and [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the material of the flexible sheet in Hodaka to be cellophane and/or paper as suggested by Fisher, if so desired, in order to provide an acceptable viewing area in the completed wrap and/or provide a surface for product identification or printing in the completed wrap.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the spacing between the first and second folding points of the wrapping material in Hodaka, such that the longitudinal end is U-shaped, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of the component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art and is therefore obvious. MPEP 2144.04.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fold at the longitudinal end of the sheet in Hodaka to be folded along the folding line toward the inner surface of the sheet instead of towards the outer surface of the sheet, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding claim 14, Hodaka discloses the first folding line being arranged at a first acute folding angle with respect to the width direction, wherein the second folding line is arranged at a second acute folding angle with respect to the width direction (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 15, Hodaka discloses a wrapping material roll (Figs.1 and 5-7) comprising a flexible sheet (wrap film 2) having a length and a width (page 4), and an outer and an inner surface (Figs. 1 and 5-7), wherein the sheet is rolled concentrically about an axis substantially parallel to the direction of the width such that the outer surface faces radially outwards with respect to the axis (Figs. 1 and 5-7), the inner surface faces radially inwards with respect to the axis (Figs. 1 and 5-7), and a longitudinal end of the sheet is located along a circumferential side of the wrapping material roll (Figs. 1 and 5-7), wherein at least a part of the longitudinal end is folded along a folding line over at least part of the width toward the outer surface of the sheet (Figs. 1 and 7), wherein the longitudinal end comprises a longitudinal edge along the circumferential side, wherein a first part of the longitudinal end is folded along a first folding line extending from a folding point along the longitudinal edge to a first lateral edge of the sheet, and wherein a second part of the longitudinal end is folded along a second folding line extending from a folding point along the longitudinal edge to a second lateral edge of the sheet opposite to the first lateral edge (Fig. 7), and wherein the first folding line is arranged at a first acute folding angle with respect to the width direction, wherein the second folding line is arranged at a second acute folding angle with respect to the width direction (Fig. 7; last paragraph on page 4).
Hodaka fails to specifically teach the flexible sheet comprising a paper or cellophane; fails to teach the first folding angle and the second folding angle differing; and fails to teach the longitudinal end being folded along the folding line toward the inner surface of the sheet.
Fisher teaches that it is well known in the food packing art to have a wrap film formed of cellophane in order to provide an acceptable viewing area in the completed wrap and/or paper in order to provide a surface for product identification or printing (paragraphs [0022] and [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the material of the flexible sheet in Hodaka to be cellophane and/or paper as suggested by Fisher, if so desired, in order to provide an acceptable viewing area in the completed wrap and/or provide a surface for product identification or printing in the completed wrap.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and second folding angles of the wrapping material in Hodaka to differ, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of the component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art and is therefore obvious. MPEP 2144.04.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fold at the longitudinal end of the sheet in Hodaka to be folded along the folding line toward the inner surface of the sheet instead of towards the outer surface of the sheet, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding claim 16, Hodaka discloses the first folding angle being equal to the second folding angle (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 17, Hodaka discloses the folding line being arranged over less than 100 percent of the width (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 27, Hodaka discloses a wrapping material roll (Figs.1 and 5-7) comprising a flexible sheet (wrap film 2) having a length and a width (page 4), and an outer and an inner surface (Figs. 1 and 5-7), wherein the sheet is rolled concentrically about an axis substantially parallel to the direction of the width such that the outer surface faces radially outwards with respect to the axis (Figs. 1 and 5-7), the inner surface faces radially inwards with respect to the axis (Figs. 1 and 5-7), and a longitudinal end of the sheet is located along a circumferential side of the wrapping material roll (Figs. 1 and 5-7), wherein at least a part of the longitudinal end is folded along a folding line over at least part of the width toward the outer surface of the sheet (Figs. 1 and 7), wherein the longitudinal end comprises a longitudinal edge along the circumferential side, wherein a first part of the longitudinal end is folded along a first folding line extending from the longitudinal edge to a first lateral edge of the sheet, and wherein a second part of the longitudinal end is folded along a second folding line extending from the longitudinal edge to a second lateral edge of the sheet opposite to the first lateral edge (Fig. 7), and wherein the first folding line extends from a first folding point along the longitudinal edge at a first distance from the first lateral edge, wherein the second folding line extends from a second folding point along the longitudinal edge at a second distance from the second lateral edge (Fig. 7).
Hodaka fails to specifically teach the flexible sheet comprising a paper or cellophane; fails to teach the first and second distances differing; and fails to teach the longitudinal end being folded along the folding line toward the inner surface of the sheet.
Fisher teaches that it is well known in the food packing art to have a wrap film formed of cellophane in order to provide an acceptable viewing area in the completed wrap and/or paper in order to provide a surface for product identification or printing (paragraphs [0022] and [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the material of the flexible sheet in Hodaka to be cellophane and/or paper as suggested by Fisher, if so desired, in order to provide an acceptable viewing area in the completed wrap and/or provide a surface for product identification or printing in the completed wrap.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and second distances in Hodaka to differ, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of the component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art and is therefore obvious. MPEP 2144.04.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fold at the longitudinal end of the sheet in Hodaka to be folded along the folding line toward the inner surface of the sheet instead of towards the outer surface of the sheet, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 4/14/2026, with respect to claims 1, 2, 4-8, 11, 12, 14-17 and 27 have been considered, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection which are presented above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CATHERINE A. SIMONE
Examiner
Art Unit 1781
/Catherine A. Simone/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781