DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 12-22 and 25-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaisha et al. (US Publication 2022/0159682 A1) further in view of Mu (US Publication 2021/0392672 A1).
In regards to claims 1, 14 and 25, Kaisha et al. (US Publication 2022/0159682 A1) teaches, a user equipment (UE) (see the terminals 1A and 1B in figure 6 and the UE 1300 in figure 13) for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to: set, for frequency hopping of multiple physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) repetitions of multiple transport blocks (TBs) (see figure 8(b)-8(c), see paragraph 287; FIG. 8(b) is an example of PUSCH transmission with intra-slot frequency hopping. FIG. 8(c) is an example of PUSCH transmission with inter-slot frequency hopping. FIG. 8 may be applied to the slot aggregation transmission. FIG. 8 may be applied to the mini-slot aggregation transmission with one repetition transmission within one slot; see figure 9(b)-9(d) and paragraph 291; FIG. 9 is a diagram illustrating another example of the determination of the number of repetition transmissions and the frequency hopping according to the present embodiment. FIG. 9(b) is an example of PUSCH transmission with intra-slot frequency hopping. FIG. 9(c) is another example of PUSCH transmission with intra-slot frequency hopping. FIG. 9(d) is an example of PUSCH transmission with inter-slot frequency hopping), a first frequency for a first frequency hop and a second frequency for a second frequency hop (see figures 8(b),8(c), 9(b), 9(c) and 9(d), first frequency hop and second frequency hop); and transmit the PUSCH repetitions with frequency hopping such that the PUSCH repetitions alternate between the first frequency hop and the second frequency hop (see paragraphs 287, 291; PUSCH repetition transmission(s) in figures 8(b),8(c), 9(b), 9(c) and 9(d)). With respect to claim 14, see figure 6 base station apparatus 3 and the base station 1400 in figure 14 of Kaisha.
In further regards to claims 1, 14 and 25, Kaisha fails to teach, the first and second frequency hops being across the multiple TBs (as presented in the amendment to the claims filed on 2/23/2026).
Mu however teaches, the first and second frequency hops being across the multiple TBs (see figure 5 and paragraph 141; the base station configures two narrow-bands {f1, f2} of the is frequency hopping transmission for four transmission blocks (which are TB1, TB2, TB3 and TB4, respectively) through the schedule information, and the size Z of the alternating transmission unit is 2. For each TB, it needs two repeated transmissions at the frequency position f1. For multiple TBs that are continuously transmitted on f1, the multiple TBs are transmitted alternately, and the size of the alternating transmission unit is 2. For example, the target transmission block is TB1, two continuous transmissions of TB1 are performed on f1 between the terminal and the base station, and two continuous transmissions of TB2 are performed on f1 between the terminal and the base station. After each transmission block is continuously transmitted twice on f1, the terminal and the base station perform two continuous transmissions of each of TB1-TB4 on f2 by means of frequency hopping).
Both Kaisha and Mu deal with data transmission and frequency hopping designs.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to incorporate the use of the hopping patterns across the multiple TBs as shown by Mu into the teachings of Kaisha. The motivation to do so would be to save resources by scheduling of both the repeated transmissions and frequency hopping transmission of multiple transmission blocks at the same time.
In regards to claims 2, 15 and 26, Kaisha teaches, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the PUSCH repetitions with frequency hopping, are configured to apply the frequency hopping such that the first frequency hop is applied to an nth PUSCH transmission occasion if n modulo 2 is 0 (zero) (see figure 8(c) and paragraph 289; In FIG. 8(c), inter-slot frequency hopping may be applied to multi-slot PUSCH transmission. RB.sub.offset is an RB frequency offset between two frequency hops. The starting RB of the PUSCH transmitted in a certain slot may be determined based on the number n.sup.u.sub.s of the slot. In a case that n.sup.u.sub.s mod 2 is 0, the starting RB of the PUSCH in the slot is RB.sub.start; see figure 9(d) and see paragraph 295; In FIG. 9(d), the total number N.sub.total of repetition transmissions of the transport block is seven. The N.sub.total repetition transmissions of the transport block are performed in two slots. The terminal apparatus 1 may perform inter-slot frequency hopping with the transport block repeatedly transmitted. RB.sub.offset is an RB frequency offset between two frequency hops. The starting RB of the PUSCH transmitted in a certain slot may be determined based on the number n.sup.u.sub.s of the slot. In a case that n.sup.u.sub.s mod 2 is 0, the starting RB of the PUSCH in the slot is RB start) and the second frequency hop is applied to the nth PUSCH transmission occasion if n modulo 2 is 1 (one) (see figure 8(c) and paragraph 289; In a case that n.sup.u.sub.s mod 2 is 1, the starting RB of the PUSCH in the slot may be given by (Expression 5) (RB.sub.start+RB.sub.offset) mod N.sup.size.sub.BWP. RB.sub.start may be given by the frequency resource allocation field included in the DCI scheduling the PUSCH; see figure 9(d) and paragraph 295; In a case that n.sup.u.sub.s mod 2 is 1, the starting RB of the PUSCH in the slot may be given by (Expression 5) (RB.sub.start+RB.sub.offset) mod N.sup.size.sub.BWP), and wherein each PUSCH transmission occasion is a PUSCH repetition of a given TB among the multiple PUSCH repetitions for the multiple TBs (see paragraphs 287, 291; PUSCH repetition transmission(s) in figures 8(b),8(c), 9(b), 9(c) and 9(d)).
In regards to claims 3-4 and 16-17, Kaisha teaches, wherein the first frequency hop and the second frequency hop alternate for each slot (see figure 8(c) and figure 9(d); the inter slot frequency hopping) and wherein the first frequency hop and the second frequency hop alternate for each mini-slot (see figure 8(b) and figure 9(b); the intra slot frequency hopping).
In regards to claims 5, 18 and 27 Kaisha teaches, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the PUSCH repetitions with frequency hopping, are configured to apply the frequency hopping such that PUSCH repetitions of a same TB alternate between the first frequency hop and the second frequency hop (see figures 9(b), 9(c) and 9(d); the first and second frequency hops in the TB).
In regards to claims 6, 19 and 28, Kaisha teaches, wherein the one or more processors are configured to receive an indication of whether the frequency hopping is to be applied to the PUSCH repetitions without regard to TB or to be applied to PUSCH repetitions of a same TB, and wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the PUSCH repetitions with frequency hopping, are configured to apply the frequency hopping based at least in part on the indication (see paragraph 400; The higher layer processing unit 34 performs processing for some or all of the Medium Access Control (MAC) layer, the Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) layer, the Radio Link Control (RLC) layer, and the Radio Resource Control (RRC) layer. The higher layer processing unit 34 functions to determine whether to repeatedly transmit the transport block, based on the higher layer signaling transmitted to the terminal apparatus 1. The higher layer processing unit 34 determines whether to perform the frequency hopping transmission of the transport block, based on the higher layer signaling transmitted to the terminal apparatus 1. The higher layer processing unit 34 functions to control the configuration of the first frequency hop and the second frequency hop, based on the number of repetition transmissions of the same transport block within one slot. The higher layer processing unit 34 outputs the frequency hopping information, the aggregation transmission information, and the like to the radio transmission and/or reception unit 30).
In regards to claims 7 and 20, Kaisha teaches, wherein the indication is a radio resource control (RRC) parameter (see paragraph 400; RRC signaling is used to configure the first and second frequency hop).
In regards to claims 8, 21 and 29, Kaisha teaches, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the PUSCH repetitions with the frequency hopping, are configured to apply the frequency hopping such that PUSCH repetitions for a same beam and across the multiple TBs alternate between the first frequency hop and the second frequency hop (see paragraph 400; The higher layer processing unit 34 performs processing for some or all of the Medium Access Control (MAC) layer, the Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) layer, the Radio Link Control (RLC) layer, and the Radio Resource Control (RRC) layer. The higher layer processing unit 34 functions to determine whether to repeatedly transmit the transport block, based on the higher layer signaling transmitted to the terminal apparatus 1. The higher layer processing unit 34 determines whether to perform the frequency hopping transmission of the transport block, based on the higher layer signaling transmitted to the terminal apparatus 1. The higher layer processing unit 34 functions to control the configuration of the first frequency hop and the second frequency hop, based on the number of repetition transmissions of the same transport block within one slot. The higher layer processing unit 34 outputs the frequency hopping information, the aggregation transmission information, and the like to the radio transmission and/or reception unit 30; see paragraph 157 and figure 6 for the using beamforming for the transmission).
In regards to claims 9, 22 and 30, Kaisha teaches wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the PUSCH repetitions with the frequency hopping, are configured to apply the frequency hopping such that PUSCH repetitions for a same beam and for a same TB alternate between the first frequency hop and the second frequency hop (see paragraph 400; The higher layer processing unit 34 performs processing for some or all of the Medium Access Control (MAC) layer, the Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) layer, the Radio Link Control (RLC) layer, and the Radio Resource Control (RRC) layer. The higher layer processing unit 34 functions to determine whether to repeatedly transmit the transport block, based on the higher layer signaling transmitted to the terminal apparatus 1. The higher layer processing unit 34 determines whether to perform the frequency hopping transmission of the transport block, based on the higher layer signaling transmitted to the terminal apparatus 1. The higher layer processing unit 34 functions to control the configuration of the first frequency hop and the second frequency hop, based on the number of repetition transmissions of the same transport block within one slot. The higher layer processing unit 34 outputs the frequency hopping information, the aggregation transmission information, and the like to the radio transmission and/or reception unit 30; see paragraph 157 and figure 6 for the using beamforming for the transmission).
In regards to claim 12, Kaisha teaches, wherein the one or more processors are configured to sequentially map the multiple PUSCH repetitions according to TB (see figure 8, 9 and 19).
In regards to claim 13, Kaisha teaches, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cyclic map the multiple PUSCH repetitions of the multiple TBs or interlace the multiple PUSCH repetitions of the multiple TBs (see figures 9(c) and 9(d); the frequency hops have gaps).
Claim(s) 10-11 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaisha and Mu as stated above further in view of Jung et al. (US Publication 2023/0072427 A1).
In regards to claims 10-11 and 23-24, Kaisha and Mu in combination teach all the limitations of the parent claims as stated above.
Kaisha and Mu however fail to teach, wherein the one or more processors are configured to receive an indication of whether the frequency hopping is to be applied to PUSCH repetitions for a same beam without regard to TB or for a same TB, and wherein the one or more processors, to apply the frequency hopping, are configured to apply the frequency hopping based at least in part on the indication and wherein the indication is a radio resource control (RRC) parameter.
Jung however teaches, wherein the one or more processors are configured to receive an indication of whether the frequency hopping is to be applied to PUSCH repetitions for a same beam without regard to TB or for a same TB, and wherein the one or more processors, to apply the frequency hopping, are configured to apply the frequency hopping based at least in part on the indication (see paragraph 45; frequency hopping methods that can effectively provide time, frequency, and spatial diversity gains in multi-beam based PUSCH/PUCCH repetitions and that can be directly applicable to various repetition schemes; see paragraph 50; For PUSCH repetition Type A, in case K>1, the same symbol allocation is applied across the K consecutive slots and the PUSCH is limited to a single transmission layer. The UE shall repeat the transport block (TB) across the K consecutive slots applying the same symbol allocation in each slot) and wherein the indication is a radio resource control (RRC) parameter (see paragraph 90; a UE receives scheduling information of a physical channel, where the scheduling information includes information related to a number of repetitions applied to the physical channel and one or more transmit beams used for transmitting the physical channel. The scheduling information can be received via semi-static signaling (e.g. via a RRC message)).
Jung, Kaisha and Mu both relate to uplink transmission repetitions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to incorporate the use of multi-beam repetitions as taught by Jung into the teachings of Kaisha and Mu. The motivation do so would be improve uplink transmission and reception quality by having hopping method that can provide diversity gains.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 2/23/2026 with respect to the rejection under 35 USC 102 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection under 35 USC 103 presented above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAY P PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466