DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
at least one retractable and extendible support beam
tube handling unit
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Specifically in regards to Claim 1, phrases such as “for carrying a package unit” and “the package unit to be transported” are unclear. Neither phrase positively recites the package unit as part of the transport vehicle. Is the package unit part of the transport vehicle, or is it intended use? For the purposes of examination, Examiner considers the package unit part of the transport vehicle.
The remaining claims inherit the rejection by dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 10, 12, 14, and 15 is/are rejected, to the degree definite, under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et al (CN 210287638; see translation).
In regards to Claim 1, Xu teaches a transport vehicle (Figure 1) for a textile mill, the transport vehicle comprising:
a driving unit (beneath the vehicle) designed to drive autonomously to a defined destination within the textile mill (follows Detail 8);
a carrying unit (see annotated figure below) arranged on the driving unit, the carrying unit having an upper carrying surface facing away from the driving unit for carrying a package unit (Details 6, 7) to be transported which can have a textile material loaded thereon and unloaded therefrom; and
a loading and unloading device with a loading and unloading arm (see annotated figure below) having a conveyor unit (at the end of the arm) for loading the textile material onto the package unit to be transported and unloading the textile material from the package unit;
wherein the package unit to be transported is formed by at least one of the following:
a package buffer (Illustrated as carrying multiple wound tube bodies on storage points) on the upper carrying surface, the package buffer having a plurality of storage points, each of the plurality of storage points being for storying at least one wound or non-wound tube body; and
a tube handling unit (end of arm) arranged on the carrying unit at least for autonomous handling of the at least one wound or non-wound tube body which can be stored in at least one storage point arranged on the upper carrying surface; and
wherein the loading and unloading device is fixed on the carrying unit or to the package unit to be transported (annotated figure below shows the arm mounted to the carrying unit), and wherein the plurality of storage points can be loaded and unloaded by the loading and unloading device with the at least one wound or non-wound tube body.
In regards to Claim 2, Xu teaches the loading and unloading arm is linearly movable with the conveyor unit along a linear guide extending vertically to the upper carrying surface (the vertical component of the carrying unit in the annotated figure above would be the linear guide, and the arm is movable linearly along the guide as its movable in multiple directions).
In regards to Claim 3, Xu teaches the at least one wound or non-wound tube body comprises at least two tube bodies, and wherein the package unit to be transported is formed at least by the package buffer, with at least one storage point of the plurality of storage points being adapted to store the at least two tube bodies in series along a tube body length thereof (Figure 1 shows at least two tube bodies on the package buffer in series).
In regards to Claim 4, Xu teaches the package unit to be transported is formed at least by the package buffer having at least two storage segment units each having at least one storage point of the plurality of storage points, with the at least two storage segment units and the loading and unloading device being adapted to rotate relative to one another (the storage segment units have storage points, which allow the tubes to rotate, which would allow relative rotation to the loading and unloading device).
In regards to Claim 7, Xu teaches the at least one wound or non-wound tube body comprises a wound tube body, and wherein the package unit to be transported is formed by the tube handling unit, the tube handing unit have a thread catching unit (Detail 5 is capable of catching a thread end) for catching a thread end of the wound tube body.
In regards to Claim 10, Xu teaches the transport vehicle is designed to supply at least the carrying unit, the package unit to be transported and/or the loading and unloading device with operating energy and/or an operating medium autonomously or via an interface (Detail 5 has a servo motor which gets its energy from the transport vehicle).
In regards to Claim 12, Xu teaches the driving unit has at least one protection unit for protecting a driving component from dirt lying around on a roadway of the transport vehicle in at least one direction of travel of the transport vehicle of the driving unit (the front of the transport vehicle would act as a bumper for a large mound of dirt and could be considered part of the driving unit).
In regards to Claim 14, Xu teaches the transport vehicle is part of a textile material handling system in a textile mill (Detail 1, spinning device) further comprising a control system by which the transport vehicle is controlled for moving to defined locations within the textile mill (magnetic strip 8 controls where the transport vehicle moves).
In regards to Claim 15, Xu teaches the textile handling system forms a system for distributing textile material in the textile mill, the textile material handling system further comprising:
a textile removal station (where the bobbins originated);
a textile material receiving station (spinning machine 1); and
the transport vehicle (Figure 1) for moving the textile material form the textile material removal station to the textile material receiving station;
at least the control system and the transport vehicle are interconnected for exchanging distribution information regarding textile material removal at the textile material removal station and textile material delivery at the textile material receiving station (last paragraph of the summary of the invention; sends instructions).
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 10, 12, 14, and 15 is/are rejected, to the degree definite, under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu (CN 109537203; see translation).
In regards to Claim 1, Xu teaches a transport vehicle (Figure 4) for a textile mill, the transport vehicle comprising:
a driving unit (Details 102) designed to drive autonomously to a defined destination within the textile mill;
a carrying unit (Detail 1) arranged on the driving unit, the carrying unit having an upper carrying surface facing away from the driving unit for carrying a package unit to be transported which can have a textile material loaded thereon and unloaded therefrom; and
a loading and unloading device (Detail 4) with a loading and unloading arm having a conveyor unit for loading the textile material onto the package unit to be transported and unloading the textile material from the package unit;
wherein the package unit to be transported is formed by at least one of the following:
a package buffer (Detail 2) on the upper carrying surface, the package buffer having a plurality of storage points (underneath Details 3), each of the plurality of storage points being for storying at least one wound or non-wound tube body (Detail 3); and
a tube handling unit (end of arm) arranged on the carrying unit at least for autonomous handling of the at least one wound or non-wound tube body which can be stored in at least one storage point arranged on the upper carrying surface; and
wherein the loading and unloading device is fixed on the carrying unit (Figure 4) or to the package unit to be transported, and wherein the plurality of storage points can be loaded and unloaded by the loading and unloading device with the at least one wound or non-wound tube body.
In regards to Claim 2, Xu teaches the loading and unloading arm is linearly movable with the conveyor unit along a linear guide (Detail 406) extending vertically to the upper carrying surface.
In regards to Claim 3, Xu teaches the at least one wound or non-wound tube body comprises at least two tube bodies, and wherein the package unit to be transported is formed at least by the package buffer, with at least one storage point of the plurality of storage points being adapted to store the at least two tube bodies in series along a tube body length thereof (Figure 4 shows this orientation).
In regards to Claim 4, Xu teaches the package unit to be transported is formed at least by the package buffer having at least two storage segment units each having at least one storage point of the plurality of storage points, with the at least two storage segment units and the loading and unloading device being adapted to rotate relative to one another (Details 2 rotate).
In regards to Claim 7, Xu teaches the at least one wound or non-wound tube body comprises a wound tube body (Detail 3), and wherein the package unit to be transported is formed by the tube handling unit, the tube handing unit have a thread catching unit for catching a thread end of the wound tube body (end of arm can catch a thread).
In regards to Claim 10, Xu teaches the transport vehicle is designed to supply at least the carrying unit, the package unit to be transported and/or the loading and unloading device with operating energy and/or an operating medium autonomously or via an interface (Detail 409 is a servo motor powered by the transport vehicle).
In regards to Claim 12, Xu teaches the driving unit has at least one protection unit for protecting a driving component from dirt lying around on a roadway of the transport vehicle in at least one direction of travel of the transport vehicle of the driving unit (the front of the transport vehicle would act as a bumper for a large mound of dirt and could be considered part of the driving unit).
In regards to Claim 14, Xu teaches the transport vehicle is part of a textile material handling system in a textile mill further comprising a control system by which the transport vehicle is controlled for moving to defined locations within the textile mill (4th paragraph before Description, and must be instructed to go to embroidery machine).
In regards to Claim 15, Xu teaches the textile handling system forms a system for distributing textile material in the textile mill, the textile material handling system further comprising:
a textile removal station (where the bobbins originated);
a textile material receiving station (embroidery machine); and
the transport vehicle (Figure 4) for moving the textile material form the textile material removal station to the textile material receiving station;
at least the control system and the transport vehicle are interconnected for exchanging distribution information regarding textile material removal at the textile material removal station and textile material delivery at the textile material receiving station (4th paragraph before Description, and must be instructed to go to embroidery machine).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al (CN 210287638) in view of Chen et al (CN 112405490; see translation).
In regards to Claim 11, while Xu ‘638 essentially teaches the invention as detailed above, it fails to specifically teach at least a weight of the package buffer or a weight of at least one loaded or unloaded tube body can be detected for evaluation and/or display. Chen, however, teaches that it is well known to include a device to measure the weight of an object on a transport vehicle (Detail 33). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a weight sensor as taught by Chen in the device of Xu, so as to better understand the tube bodies. The ordinarily skilled artisan would appreciate the additional information, allowing for more precise handling, and would know to include the sensor as taught.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (CN 109537203) in view of Chen et al (CN 112405490; see translation).
In regards to Claim 11, while Xu ‘203 essentially teaches the invention as detailed above, it fails to specifically teach at least a weight of the package buffer or a weight of at least one loaded or unloaded tube body can be detected for evaluation and/or display.
Chen, however, teaches that it is well known to include a device to measure the weight of an object on a transport vehicle (Detail 33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a weight sensor as taught by Chen in the device of Xu, so as to better understand the tube bodies. The ordinarily skilled artisan would appreciate the additional information, allowing for more precise handling, and would know to include the sensor as taught.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al (CN 210287638) in view of Clarke et al (20150107075).
In regards to Claim 13, while Xu ‘638 essentially teaches the invention as detailed above, it fails to specifically teach at least one retractable and extendible support beam for supporting the transport vehicle when stationary.
Clarke, however, teaches that such beams are well known (Figure 7, Detail 33; hydraulic stabilizer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the beam as taught by Clarke in the device of Xu, so as to better stabilize the transport vehicle. The ordinarily skilled artisan would appreciate the improved stability and known to include the beam as taught.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al (CN 109537203) in view of Clarke et al (20150107075).
In regards to Claim 13, while Xu ‘203 essentially teaches the invention as detailed above, it fails to specifically teach at least one retractable and extendible support beam for supporting the transport vehicle when stationary.
Clarke, however, teaches that such beams are well known (Figure 7, Detail 33; hydraulic stabilizer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the beam as taught by Clarke in the device of Xu, so as to better stabilize the transport vehicle. The ordinarily skilled artisan would appreciate the improved stability and known to include the beam as taught.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, 8, and 9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See of Record.
Specifically, at least Bangalore et al (WO 2021019383) Figures, Xu et al (CN 110485006) Figures, Liu et al (CN 208533007) Figures, Liu et al (CN 109355745) Figures, and Morton et al (20180011491) Figures teach elements similar to those as currently claimed.
/SHAUN R HURLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732