Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the reply filed on 6/22/2026, wherein claims 1-2,5,7,9-11, 14,16,18 were amended, claims 4 and 13 are cancelled. Claims 1-3, 5-12, 14-18 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the sealing ring that is downward tapered must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Claims 1 and 10 state "when the press switch is pressed to release the buckle, the trigger flips up". Pressing of the press switch does not “release the buckle”. Based on drawing 4, the closed position, the buckle (31) if pressed downwards, would be retained further. Pressing the press switch only further secures the buckle. Figure 8 shows the release position and in said position, the buckle and press switch are moved upward. The only way that this is possible is by upwards movement of the trigger and press switch. The as filed structure fails to support the press switch being pressed to release the buckle. In fact, pressing seems
Claims rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the lower cover" in lines 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 2-3, 5-9 directly or indirectly depend from claim 1 and are also rejected.
The term “a lower cover… biased by the at least one elastic element to move in an upward-downward direction” in claim 1 renders the claim indefinite. How does an “elastic element” (springs) move in an upward-downward direction? The overall structure allows for an upward-downward movement of the lower cover. However, the springs bias only encourages a downward movement. The springs do not encourage an upward movement. If anything, the springs resist the upwards movement.
The term “the sealing ring is downward tapered” in claim 7 renders the claim indefinite. The drawings fail to show the sealing ring as being downward tapered. In fact, the sealing ring attaches to the assembly at its lowest point. Taper means to diminish or reduce in thickness (oxford languages). The invention does not appear to have a sealing ring that is downward tapered (see drawing objections above). Further, the outer periphery seems to have a consistent thickness and be shaped upwards.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the lower cover" in lines . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 11-12, 14-18 directly or indirectly depend from claim 10 and are also rejected.
The term “a lower cover… biased by the at least one elastic element to move in an upward-downward direction” in claim 10 renders the claim indefinite. How does an “elastic element” (springs) move in an upward-downward direction? The overall structure allows for an upward-downward movement of the lower cover. However, the springs bias only encourages a downward movement. The springs do not encourage an upward movement. If anything, the springs resist the upwards movement.
The term “the sealing ring is downward tapered” in claim 16renders the claim indefinite. The drawings fail to show the sealing ring as being downward tapered. In fact, the sealing ring attaches to the assembly at its lowest point. Taper means to diminish or reduce in thickness (oxford languages). The invention does not appear to have a sealing ring that is downward tapered (see drawing objections above). Further, the outer periphery seems to have a consistent thickness and be shaped upwards.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-9, 10, 12, 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 10737847 B1) in view of Kim (US 20110068113 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Liu discloses a sealing cover, comprising: an upper cover (10), comprising an accommodating space, an abutting surface (recessed area of 12 with 11) disposed on a side in the accommodating space, at least one elastic element (40) installed between the upper cover and the lower cover; a lower cover (25), movably coupled to the upper cover and biased by the at least one elastic element to move in an upward-downward direction relative to the upper cover, comprising a linkage seat disposed thereon, the linkage seat comprising an arm (31A) disposed protrusively and a pivot hole (312) defined on the arm, wherein the lower cover is provided with a sealing ring (50) surrounding a periphery of the lower cover; and a trigger (30), disposed on the accommodating space, comprising a pivot (33) disposed on one end thereof, the pivot pivotally mounted to the pivot hole (312), and the trigger further comprising a protrusion (321) disposed near the pivot and protruding [substantially in a same direction with the buckle]; wherein, when the trigger covers the accommodating space, the trigger flips up by the pivot acting as an axis of rotation, and the protrusion is disengaged from the abutting surface so that the lower cover is pushed away from the upper cover by the at least on elastic element.
Liu failed to disclose a press switch installed on another side in the accommodating space, a buckle disposed on another end thereof, the buckle disposed corresponding to the press switch, the buckle is buckled to the press switch to make the protrusion abut against the abutting surface to lift the linkage seat together with the lower cover toward the upper cover; when the press switch is pressed to release the buckle. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely food containers with pivotable features, Kim taught of a food container with a lever (22) that has an attachment fastener (17 to either 18 or 19) this enables to lever to be retained in a certain position. Presently, Liu does not teach of a retention feature. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lever of Liu to include a buckle and press switch as taught by Kim in order to allow for retention of the lever in the closed position.
Examiner Note: a press switch installed on the recess could be interpreted as a recess formed on the accommodating space.
With respect to claim 3, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. Liu further teaches wherein a mounting slot (leftmost side of 12) is defined on one side of the accommodating space, and the press switch is installed in the mounting slot.
Examiner Note: A hole or recessed space can be known as “installed” on an area as a product of manufacturing. In Kim’s teaching, a recess (press switch) can be used to retain the protrusion (buckle).
With respect to claim 5, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. Liu further teaches wherein the upper cover comprises at least one socket (13) disposed on a side thereof facing the lower cover, and the elastic element (40) is positioned in the socket and abuts against the lower cover.
With respect to claim 6, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. Liu further teaches wherein the arm further comprises a sunken hole extended from a bottom of the pivot hole. (can consider top portion of 312 as the pivot hole and bottom portion of 312 as the sunken hole)
With respect to claim 7, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. Liu further teaches wherein an outer periphery of the sealing ring (10) is downward tapered. (see 112 above)
With respect to claim 8, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. Liu further teaches wherein the pivot is a convex shaft protruding from two sides of the trigger, or the pivot is a shaft rod (33) fixed to an end of the trigger.
With respect to claim 9, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. Liu further teaches wherein the protrusion is integrally formed with the pivot along an axial direction of the pivot, or the protrusion (321) is disposed protrusively from two opposite sides of the pivot (33) separately. (can consider surface connecting 321s as part of the protrusion)
With respect to claim 10, Liu discloses a container device, comprising: a box (col 1 lines 11-15); and a sealing cover, covering on the box, and further comprising: an upper cover (10), comprising an accommodating space, an abutting surface (recessed area of 12 with 11) disposed on a side in the accommodating space, at least one elastic element (40) installed between the upper cover and the lower cover; a lower cover (25), movably coupled to the upper cover, and biased by the at least one elastic element to move in an upward-downward direction relative to the upper cover, comprising a linkage seat disposed thereon, the linkage seat comprising an arm (31A) disposed protrusively, a pivot hole (312) defined on the arm, wherein a sealing ring (50) is provided surrounding a periphery of the lower cover; and a trigger (30), disposed on the accommodating space, comprising a pivot (33) disposed on one end thereof, the pivot pivotally mounted to the pivot hole (312), and the trigger further comprising a protrusion (321) disposed near the pivot and protruding substantially in a same direction with the buckle; wherein, when the trigger covers the accommodating space, the trigger flips up by the pivot acting as an axis of rotation, and the protrusion is disengaged from the abutting surface so that the lower cover is pushed away from the upper cover by the at least one elastic element.
Liu failed to disclose a press switch installed on another side in the accommodating space, a buckle disposed on another end thereof, the buckle disposed corresponding to the press switch, the buckle is buckled to the press switch to make the protrusion abut against the abutting surface to lift the linkage seat together with the lower cover toward the upper cover; when the press switch is pressed to release the buckle. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely food containers with pivotable features, Kim taught of a food container with a lever (22) that has an attachment fastener (17 to either 18 or 19) this enables to lever to be retained in a certain position. Presently, Liu does not teach of a retention feature. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lever of Liu to include a buckle and press switch as taught by Kim in order to allow for retention of the lever in the closed position.
Examiner Note: a press switch installed on the recess could be interpreted as a recess formed on the accommodating space.
With respect to claim 12, the references as applied to claim 10, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. Liu further teaches wherein a mounting slot (leftmost side of 12) is defined on one side of the accommodating space, and the press switch is installed in the mounting slot.
Examiner Note: A hole or recessed space can be known as “installed” on an area as a product of manufacturing. In Kim’s teaching, a recess (press switch) can be used to retain the protrusion (buckle).
With respect to claim 14, the references as applied to claim 10, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. Liu further teaches wherein the upper cover comprises at least one socket (13) disposed on a side thereof facing the lower cover, and the elastic element (40) is positioned in the socket and abuts against the lower cover.
With respect to claim 15, the references as applied to claim 10, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. Liu further teaches wherein the arm further comprises a sunken hole extended from a bottom of the pivot hole. (can consider top portion of 312 as the pivot hole and bottom portion of 312 as the sunken hole)
With respect to claim 16, the references as applied to claim 10, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. Liu further teaches wherein an outer periphery of the sealing ring (10) is downwardly tapered. (see 112b above)
With respect to claim 17, the references as applied to claim 10, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. Liu further teaches wherein the pivot is a convex shaft protruding from two sides of the trigger, or the pivot is a shaft rod (33) fixed to an end of the trigger.
With respect to claim 18, the references as applied to claim 10, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. Liu further teaches wherein the protrusion is integrally formed with the pivot along an axial direction of the pivot, or the protrusion (321) is disposed protrusively from two opposite sides of the pivot (33) separately. (can consider surface connecting 321s as part of the protrusion)
Claim(s) 1-2 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 20100084365 A1) in view of Kim (US 20110068113 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Liu discloses a sealing cover, comprising: an upper cover (3), comprising an accommodating space (31), an abutting surface (surface of 31 contacting 7 in figure 3) disposed on a side in the accommodating space, at least one elastic element (25) installed between the upper cover and the lower cover, a lower cover (4), movably coupled to the upper cover and biased by the at least one elastic element to move move in an upward-downward direction relative to the upper cover, comprising a linkage seat disposed thereon, the linkage seat comprising an arm (6) disposed protrusively and a pivot hole (hole of 6) defined on the arm, wherein the lower cover is provided with a sealing ring (5) surrounding a periphery of the lower cover; and a trigger (7), disposed on the accommodating space, comprising a pivot (900) disposed on one end thereof, the pivot pivotally mounted to the pivot hole (hole of 6), and the trigger further comprising a protrusion (73) disposed near the pivot and protruding [substantially in a same direction with the buckle]; wherein, when the trigger covers the accommodating space, the trigger flips up by the pivot acting as an axis of rotation, and the protrusion (73) is disengaged from the abutting surface so that the lower cover is pushed away from the upper cover by the at least one elastic element.
Liu failed to disclose a press switch installed on another side in the accommodating space, a buckle disposed on another end thereof, the buckle disposed corresponding to the press switch, the buckle is buckled to the press switch to make the protrusion abut against the abutting surface to lift the linkage seat together with the lower cover toward the upper cover; when the press switch is pressed to release the buckle. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely food containers with pivotable features, Kim taught of a food container with a lever (22) that has an attachment fastener (17 to either 18 or 19) this enables to lever to be retained in a certain position. Presently, Liu does not teach of a retention feature. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lever of Liu to include a buckle and press switch as taught by Kim in order to allow for retention of the lever in the closed position.
Examiner Note: a press switch installed on the recess could be interpreted as a recess formed on the accommodating space. Also as visible in figure 5 of Liu, the abutment of the protrusion against a portion of the abutting surface.
With respect to claim 2, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. Liu further teaches wherein at least one guide slot (340) is defined on one side of the accommodating space, and the pivot (900) is pivotally mounted to the pivot hole through the guide slot (340).
With respect to claim 10, Liu discloses a container device, comprising: a box (abstract); and a sealing cover, covering on the box, and further comprising: an upper cover (3), comprising an accommodating space (31), an abutting surface (surface of 31 contact 7 in figure 3) disposed on a side in the accommodating space, at least one elastic element (25) installed between the upper cover and the lower cover, a lower cover (4), movably coupled to the upper cover, and biased by the at least one elastic element to move in an upward-downward direction relative to the upper cover, comprising a linkage seat disposed thereon, the linkage seat comprising an arm (6) disposed protrusively, a pivot hole (hole of 6) defined on the arm, wherein a sealing ring (5) is provided surrounding a periphery of the lower cover; and a trigger (7), disposed on the accommodating space, comprising a pivot (900) disposed on one end thereof, the pivot pivotally mounted to the pivot hole (hole of 6), and the trigger further comprising a protrusion (73) disposed near the pivot and protruding substantially in a same direction with the buckle; wherein, when the trigger covers the accommodating space, the trigger flips up by the pivot acting as an axis of rotation, and the protrusion is disengaged from the abutting surface so that the lower cover is pushed away from the upper cover by the at least one elastic element.
Liu failed to disclose a press switch installed on another side in the accommodating space, a buckle disposed on another end thereof, the buckle disposed corresponding to the press switch, the buckle is buckled to the press switch to make the protrusion abut against the abutting surface to lift the linkage seat together with the lower cover toward the upper cover; when the press switch is pressed to release the buckle. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely food containers with pivotable features, Kim taught of a food container with a lever (22) that has an attachment fastener (17 to either 18 or 19) this enables to lever to be retained in a certain position. Presently, Liu does not teach of a retention feature. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lever of Liu to include a buckle and press switch as taught by Kim in order to allow for retention of the lever in the closed position.
Examiner Note: a press switch installed on the recess could be interpreted as a recess formed on the accommodating space. Also as visible in figure 5 of Liu, the abutment of the protrusion against a portion of the abutting surface.
With respect to claim 11, the references as applied to claim 10, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. Liu further teaches wherein at least one guide slot (340) is defined on one side of the accommodating space, and the pivot (900) is pivotally mounted to the pivot hole through the guide slot (340).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-20180244441-A1 OR US-20110068113-A1 OR US-20050150890-A1 OR US-20200247598-A1 OR US-20170190479-A1 OR US-20100084365-A1 OR US-20130313219-A1 OR US-20240140658-A1 OR US-10737847-B1 OR US-9731874-B2 OR US-8479941-B2 OR US-9469449-B1 OR US-4712707-A
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 6/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to the 112b and drawing objection regarding "downward taper" applicants’ additional comments of an outer periphery fail to overcome the prior rejections. A taper is a diminishment in thickness. In the present invention there is no taper in the sealing ring. Further the extension towards the outer periphery is .
With respect to the amendments, the amended material “wherein the press switch is pressed to release the buckle, the trigger flips up” introduces a 112a enablement issue. It doesn’t appear that the depicted structure can support the stated functionality.
When the press switch is pressed what causes the buckle to disengage? The press switch appears to need to move upward to disengage the buckle, however, an upward movement of the press switch does not appear to be produced by pressing downward. In fact, the only direct point of contact, the lower cover, moves downward. A press downward would retain the press switch in the depressed position (toward the lower cover) and maintain the buckle in a locked position. Therefore, a modified interpretation has been taken of the statement (see 112a above), and the prior art still reads.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.K.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3735
/ERNESTO A GRANO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3735