DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This communication is a first Office Action on the Merits. Claims 1-20 as originally filed 28 SEP. 2026 are pending and have been considered as follows:
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
28 SEP. 26 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-2, 5-9, 14 and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MERCER FRANK BRIAN AU 5873173 A (Mercer) in view of Junker US 8171688 B2.
As per claim 1, as best understood by the examiner, Mercer teaches a modular building system for forming assembled walls (see wall, FIG. 15, below),
the modular building system comprising:
a set of interlocking pre-formed blocks (bricks, p. 2, ln 2),
each of the pre-formed blocks (bricks, p. 2, ln 2) having a profile comprising both male connectors (studs 14, FIG. 14, below) and female connectors (sockets 15, FIG. 14, below),
each of the male connectors (studs 14, FIG. 14, below) and female connectors (sockets 15, FIG. 14, below) attachable to one or more corresponding connectors (studs 14, sockets 15, FIG. 14, below) on one or more other pre-formed blocks (bricks, p. 2, ln 2) via a fit (see “form-closure fit” between male and female faces, FIG. 14, below; this is recognized as form-closure fit as broadly claimed because the gap between the left and right sides of 4b are closed by a protruding member inserted therein; these ensure attachment —i.e. “attachable… on one or more other pre-formed blocks”— as shown in FIG. 15, below)
each of the pre-formed blocks (bricks, p. 2, ln 2) comprising at least one cavity (see cavity” inside the frame 4b, FIG. 14, below; this is considered analogous to cavity shown in FIG. 1, below) therein;
wherein the set of interlocking pre-formed blocks (bricks, p. 2, ln 2) are configured to be assembled and interlocked through the male connectors and female connectors in both a vertical direction and a horizontal direction to form an assembled wall (see wall, FIG. 15, below; these are recognized to be configured to be –—or “capable of being”— assembled and interlocked in both a vertical and horizontal direction).
Mercer but fails to explicitly disclose:
the fit is an interference fit connection in which the corresponding connectors are engaged by friction and geometry;
Junker teaches an interference fit capable of being incorporated in Mercer to form an improved connection, specifically:
the fit is an interference fit (“preferably dovetail joints, along their edge sides, which fit into roughly equal and opposite grooves, preferably corresponding dovetail grooves on the inner surface of the base plates, and so form a form-fitting tongue-groove connection or a twofold form-fitting dovetail connection” 2:8-11) connection in which the corresponding connectors are engaged by friction and geometry
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the male and female studs and sockets of Mercer by substituting the male and female dovetail joints and grooves as taught by Junker in order to form a tighter connection.
As per claim 2 Mercer in view of Junker teaches the limitations according to claim 1 and Junker further discloses the male connectors and female connectors comprise dovetail connectors (see dovetail joints 12, FIG. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assembly of Mercer in view of Junker by substituting the trapezoidal extensions as taught by Junker in order to provide an improved connection between adjacent elements having an improved dimensionally accurate relationship.
As per claim 5 Mercer in view of Junker teaches the limitations according to claim 1, and Mercer further discloses the at least one cavity (see “cavity” inside the frame 4b, FIG. 14; this is considered analogous to cavity shown in FIG. 1) of each interlocking pre-formed block is defined by side surfaces (see inside surfaces top and bottom of FIG. 15; these are recognized as analogous to inside of frame members 6 and frame components 4, FIG. 1) forming at least part of the profile thereof,
each of the side surfaces (see inside surfaces top and bottom of FIG. 15; these are recognized as analogous to inside of frame members 6 and frame components 4, FIG. 1) being connected to a vertical surface (see “vertical surface” at component 5, FIG. 1), and wherein the side surfaces (see inside surfaces top and bottom of FIG. 15; these are recognized as analogous to inside of frame members 6 and frame components 4, FIG. 1) extend radially from the vertical surface (see “vertical surface” at component 5, FIG. 1) to surround a perimeter of the at least one cavity (see cavity” inside the frame 4b, FIG. 14; this is considered analogous to cavity shown in FIG. 1) .
As per claim 6 Mercer in view of Junker teaches the limitations according to claim 1, and Mercer further discloses each of the interlocking pre-formed blocks (bricks, p. 2, ln 2) comprise a first cavity (see “cavity” inside the front “right” lower frame 4b, FIG. 14; this is considered analogous to cavity shown in FIG. 1) and a second cavity (see “cavity” inside the rear “left” upper frame 4b, FIG. 14; this is considered analogous to cavity shown in FIG. 1),
wherein the first cavity (see “cavity” inside the front “right” lower frame 4b, FIG. 14; this is considered analogous to cavity shown in FIG. 1) is provided on a first side of each interlocking pre-formed block and defined by first side surfaces (see inside surfaces top and bottom of FIG. 15; these are recognized as analogous to inside of frame members 6 and frame components 4, FIG. 1) that are connected to and extending radially from a vertical surface (see “vertical surface” at component 5, FIG. 1) to surround a perimeter of the first cavity (see “cavity” inside the front “right” lower frame 4b, FIG. 14; this is considered analogous to cavity shown in FIG. 1), and
wherein the second cavity (see “cavity” inside the rear “left” upper frame 4b, FIG. 14; this is considered analogous to cavity shown in FIG. 1) is provided on a second side of each interlocking pre- formed block, the second side being opposite the first side of the pre-formed block,
the second cavity (see “cavity” inside the rear “left” upper frame 4b, FIG. 14; this is considered analogous to cavity shown in FIG. 1) being defined by second side surfaces (see inside surfaces top and bottom of FIG. 15; these are recognized as analogous to inside of frame members 6 and frame components 4, FIG. 1) that are connected to and extending radially from the vertical surface (see “vertical surface” at component 5, FIG. 1) to surround a perimeter of the second cavity (see “cavity” inside the rear “left” upper frame 4b, FIG. 14; this is considered analogous to cavity shown in FIG. 1).
As per claim 7 Mercer in view of Junker teaches the limitations according to claim 6, and Mercer further discloses the vertical surface (see “vertical surface” at component 5, FIG. 1) is defined by a vertical wall (panel 5, FIG. 1) that is common to both the first cavity (see “cavity” inside the front “right” lower frame 4b, FIG. 14; this is considered analogous to cavity shown in FIG. 1) and the second cavity (see “cavity” inside the rear “left” upper frame 4b, FIG. 14; this is considered analogous to cavity shown in FIG. 1) .
As per claim 8 Mercer in view of Junker teaches the limitations according to claim 1, and Mercer further discloses a plurality of inserts (component 5, FIG. 1; this is recognized as exemplary of the plurality of inserts shown in FIG. 15), wherein at least some of the interlocking pre-formed blocks receive at least one of the plurality of inserts within the respective at least one cavity.
As per claim 9 Mercer in view of Junker teaches the limitations according to claim 8, and Mercer further discloses each of the plurality of inserts comprise side surfaces which have a complementary profile to interior surfaces of the cavities (see inside surfaces of top and bottom frames in FIG. 15; these are recognized as analogous to inside of frame members 6 and frame components 4, filled by inserts as shown in FIG. 1; these are have a profile at least somewhat “complementary” as broadly claimed) of the interlocking pre-formed blocks.
As per claim 14 Mercer in view of Junker teaches the limitations according to claim 1, and Mercer further discloses comprising a second set (see second upper and lower bricks spaced one brick to the right of left ledge, FIG. 15) of pre-formed blocks (bricks, p. 2, ln 2),
each block of the second set (see second upper and lower bricks spaced one brick to the right of left ledge, FIG. 15) of pre-formed blocks (bricks, p. 2, ln 2) having connectors (studs 14, sockets 15, FIG. 14) attachable to at least corresponding connectors (studs 14, sockets 15, FIG. 14) on one or more other pre-formed blocks (bricks, p. 2, ln 2) in the second set.
As per claim 16 Mercer in view of Junker teaches the limitations according to claim 14, and Mercer further discloses the connectors (studs 14, sockets 15, FIG. 14) of the second set (see second upper and lower bricks spaced one brick to the right of left ledge, FIG. 15) of pre-formed blocks (bricks, p. 2, ln 2) are configured to be assembled and interconnected with the male connectors (studs 14, FIG. 14) and/or the female connectors (sockets 15, FIG. 14) of the set of interlocking pre-formed blocks (bricks, p. 2, ln 2) within the same plane to form the assembled wall (see wall, FIG. 15) .
Claim 3-4, and 18-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mercer in view of Junker as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Martinez US 10273685 B2.
As per claim 3 Mercer in view of Junker teaches the limitations according to claim 1 but fails to explicitly disclose:
(Cl. 3) wherein the set of interlocking pre-formed blocks accommodate one or more attachment plates which connect thereto, the one or more attachment plates including at least one attachment point for mechanical, electrical, and/or plumbing components.
Martinez teaches such components, specifically:
(Cl. 3) wherein the set of interlocking pre-formed blocks accommodate one or more attachment plates (box 81, FIG. 16) which connect thereto, the one or more attachment plates including at least one attachment point (see plug holes, FIG. 16) for mechanical, electrical, and/or plumbing components.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assembly of Mercer in view of Junker by including the components as taught by Martinez in order to allow energy to be conducted therethrough as is old and well-known in the art.
As per claim 4 Mercer in view of Junker teaches the limitations according to claim 1 but fails to explicitly disclose:
(Cl. 4) wherein the profiles of each of the interlocking pre-formed blocks further comprise one or more openings therein to receive fasteners therethrough and/or plugs designed to receive a portion of a fastener therein.
Martinez teaches such openings, specifically:
(Cl. 4) wherein the profiles of each of the interlocking pre-formed blocks further comprise one or more openings (see plug holes, FIG. 16) therein to receive fasteners therethrough and/or plugs designed to receive a portion of a fastener therein.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assembly of Mercer in view of Junker by including the components as taught by Martinez in order to allow energy to be conducted therethrough as is old and well-known in the art.
As per claim 18 Mercer in view of Junker teaches the limitations according to claim 1 but fails to explicitly disclose:
(Cl. 18) further comprising: a plurality of sills, each sill comprising one or more premeasured attachment locations provided thereon, wherein the plurality of sills are configured to be arranged to define a space for receipt of the plurality of interlocking pre-formed blocks to form the assembled wall in said space.
Martinez teaches such horizontal supporting pieces, specifically:
(Cl. 18) further comprising: a plurality of sills (layout block interlocking modules 10, FIG. 30), each sill comprising one or more premeasured attachment locations (perforations 22, FIG. 10) provided thereon, wherein the plurality of sills are configured to be arranged to define a space for receipt of the plurality of interlocking pre-formed blocks to form the assembled wall in said space (see FIG. 30; this is recognized as being arranged to define a space above the modules) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assembly of Mercer in view of Junker by including the pieces as taught by Martinez in order to form a planar area to support the elements in a planar —that is to say, more structurally sound— manner.
As per claim 19-20 Mercer in view of Junker teaches the limitations according to claim 16 but fails to explicitly disclose:
(Cl. 19) further comprising a plurality of end caps, each end cap connectable to at least one of said one or more premeasured attachment locations on said plurality of sills, and wherein at least some of the plurality of interlocking pre-formed blocks are configured to be attached to the plurality of end caps.
(Cl. 20) wherein each of the plurality of end caps comprise a female receiving portion, and wherein one of the male connectors of each interlocking pre-formed block is insertable into the female receiving portion of the end cap.
Martinez teaches specifically:
(Cl. 19) further comprising a plurality of end caps (BIM 140 with planar surface at face 16 and legs 18, FIG. 57), each end cap (BIM 140 with planar surface at face 16 and legs 18, FIG. 57) connectable to at least one of said one or more premeasured attachment locations on said plurality of sills, and wherein at least some of the plurality of interlocking pre-formed blocks are configured to be attached to the plurality of end caps (BIM 140 with planar surface at face 16 and legs 18, FIG. 57) .
(Cl. 20) wherein each of the plurality of end caps (BIM 140 with planar surface at face 16 and legs 18, FIG. 57) comprise a female receiving portion (aperture 22, FIG. 57), and wherein one of the male connectors (see pin 50, FIG. 57; this is “insertable” as broadly claimed) of each interlocking pre-formed block is insertable into the female receiving portion of the end caps (BIM 140 with planar surface at face 16 and legs 18, FIG. 57) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assembly of Mercer in view of Junker by including the pieces as taught by Martinez in order to form a planar area to support the elements in a planar —that is to say, more structurally sound— manner.
Claim 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mercer in view of Junker as applied to claim 8 above and further in view of view of LUND NIELS BOJE WO 2019158170 A1 (Lund) .
As per claim 10 Mercer in view of Junker teaches the limitations according to claim 8 but fails to explicitly disclose:
(Cl. 10) wherein the plurality of inserts comprise open cell foam insulation or closed cell foam insulation.
Lund teaches such an insert, specifically:
(Cl. 10) wherein the plurality of inserts comprise open cell foam insulation or closed cell foam insulation (see “preferably a foam filling, and/or a covering” 5:12; foam fillings are recognized as at least open-cell or closed-cell) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assembly of Mercer in view of Junker by substituting the open of closed cell foam as taught by Lund in order to improve the insulative capacity of the assembly.
Claim 11-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mercer in view of Junker as applied to claim 8 and 1 above, and further in view of Fischer US 20080184650 A1.
As per claim 11 and 12, Mercer in view of Junker teaches the limitations according to claim 8 and 1 respectively above, but fails to explicitly disclose:
(Cl. 11) wherein the plurality of inserts comprise one or more grooves and/or channels configured to accommodate mechanical, electrical, and/or plumbing components for the assembled wall;
(Cl. 12) wherein the interlocking pre-formed blocks comprise one or more grooves and/or channels configured to accommodate mechanical, electrical, and/or plumbing components for the assembled wall.
Fischer teaches such pathways capable of containing water, specifically:
(Cl. 11) wherein the plurality of inserts comprise one or more grooves and/or channels (see conduit 420, FIG. 4) configured to accommodate mechanical, electrical, and/or plumbing components for the assembled wall;
(Cl. 12) wherein the interlocking pre- formed blocks comprise one or more grooves and/or channels (see conduit 420, FIG. 4) configured to accommodate mechanical, electrical, and/or plumbing components for the assembled wall.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assembly of Mercer in view of Junker by including the pathways as taught by Fischer in order to accept electrical lines as is old and well known in the art of block walls.
Claim 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mercer in view of Junker as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Qin US 20130340372 A1.
As per claim 13 Mercer in view of Junker teaches the limitations according to claim 1 and Mercer further discloses the blocks comprise a moldable (see “moulding technique” p. 2) material, but fails to explicitly disclose:
(Cl. 13) wherein the interlocking pre-formed blocks comprise a composite material.
Qin teaches such a moldable material, specifically:
(Cl. 13) wherein the interlocking pre-formed blocks comprise a composite material (see “material combination may contain silicon sand, cement, water reducing agent, re-dispersible emulsion powder, fiber and water therein” [0015]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assembly of Mercer in view of Junker by substituting the moldable material as taught by Qin in order to form a structure having desirable thermal insulative performance.
Claim 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mercer in view of Junker as applied to claim 14 above and further in view of Braxton US 4597236 A.
As per claim 15 the primary reference of Mercer in view of Junker teaches the limitations according to claim 14, but fails to explicitly disclose:
(Cl. 15) wherein the set of interlocking pre-formed blocks form a first set, wherein the second set of pre-formed blocks are configured to be assembled and interconnected to form an interior assembled wall, and wherein said first set of interlocking pre-formed blocks form an exterior assembled wall.
Braxton teaches such an interior and exterior disposition of blocks, specifically:
(Cl. 15) wherein the set of interlocking pre-formed blocks form a first set, wherein the second set of pre-formed blocks are configured to be assembled and interconnected to form an interior assembled wall (see inner wall 20 FIG. 1), and wherein said first set of interlocking pre-formed blocks form an exterior assembled wall (see outer wall 12 FIG. 1) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assembly of Mercer in view of Junker by including the blocks as an inner and outer wall assembly in order to construct a thermally insulating wall.
Claim 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mercer in view of Junker as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of SMITH GB 570495 A (Smith) .
As per claim 17 Mercer in view of Junker teaches the limitations according to claim 1 but fails to explicitly disclose:
(Cl. 17) further comprising a plurality of interior panels and a plurality of exterior panels attachable to each assembled wall, wherein each interior panel is attachable to a first side of one assembled wall and wherein each exterior panel is attachable to a second side of said one assembled wall.
Smith teaches the addition of interior and exterior panels, specifically:
(Cl. 17) further comprising a plurality of interior panels (downward and rightward facing element A, FIG. 4; this is considered interior) and a plurality of exterior panels (see upward and leftward facing elements 5, 5, FIG. 4; this is considered exterior) attachable to each assembled wall, wherein each interior panel is attachable to a first side of one assembled wall and wherein each exterior panel is attachable to a second side of said one assembled wall (see “attachable” elements as above identified, FIG. 4) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assembly of Mercer in view of Junker by including the interior and exterior elements as taught by Smith in order to finely tune the thermal capacity of the wall, namely by increasing the insulative capacity of the wall.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 28 SEP. 26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As per the argument (p. 9):
Although Junker separately describes tongue and groove joints arranged approximately at right angles to one another, those joints are structurally distinct from the dovetail joints 12 and grooves 13 relied upon by the Office for the alleged form-fitting connection.
the Examiner submits Mercer teaches an engagement which restricts separation between elements. Junker improves upon this engagement. Applicant’s supposition that the “those joints are structurally distinct” does not suggest patentability of the claimed device. Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Regarding “friction and geometry”, the Examiner submits the bricks of Mercer would interact with the surfaces of the adjacent members through “friction and geometry” at least somewhat and the dovetail joints and grooves of Junker would establish an improved interference fit through “friction and geometry”.
As per the argument (p. 10):
The same deficiency applies to the directional limitation.
the Examiner submits dovetail joints and grooves of Junker cannot reasonably be interpreted to exist in only two dimensions. The inclusion of male and female dovetail joints and grooves as taught by Junker into the male and female connectors of Mercer would have the effect of restricting separation at least in three dimensions.
For example, the members ”supports 9” would experience at least some resistance against separation through “friction and geometry” if they were attempted to be separated from the assembly shown. Applicant has not defined “friction and geometry” beyond the reasonably broadly understood “friction” between planar members.
As per Applicant’s supposition regarding claim 5 that “Mercer does not disclose the frame side surfaces as being connected to and extending radially from that decorative panel so as to surround the perimeter of the claimed cavity” (p. 10) Examiner notes the side surfaces “surround a perimeter” at least somewhat because they are placed around the perimeter.
As per the argument (p. 10-11):
Claim 6 further requires that each interlocking pre-formed block itself comprise a first cavity on a first side and a second cavity on an opposite second side. The Office maps the first and second cavities to spaces identified in different portions of the Fig. 14 press-stud/socket section, including a "front 'right' lower frame 4b" and a "rear 'left' upper frame 4b." Mercer expressly describes Fig. 14 as a section of a press stud and socket used to connect blocks; it does not disclose that the identified spaces are first and second opposed cavities within a single pre-formed block. The rejection therefore does not establish the two-cavity arrangement of claim 6.
the Examiner submits are clearly shown to have a cavity as broadly claimed on at least two sides as shown in FIG. 14.
As per Applicant’s supposition regarding Claim 7 that Mercer does not teach “a structural wall common to two opposed cavities of a single block” (p. 11), the Examiner submits the horizontal wall between the two sides is “structural” and “common” as broadly claimed because the cavities both rely on this wall.
As per the argument regarding Claim 9 (p. 11):
each insert to have side surfaces with a complementary profile to interior surfaces of the cavities of the interlocking pre-formed blocks. Mercer describes panel 5 as a flat decorative sheet inserted through a slot and retained in narrow shallow grooves of the frame. That disclosure does not teach side surfaces of the insert having a complementary profile to the interior surfaces of the cavity
the Examiner submits the cited inside surfaces of top and bottom frames are reasonably broadly interpreted as “complementary” because they combine to allow for panel 5 to be retained therein.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
571-273-8300.
/JJS/
/ANNA M MOMPER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3619