Claim Interpretation
Claim terminology: “likely”
Applicant’s specification provides a standard of measurement for “likely” in terms of quantifying the distance in which interference is likely to occur.
0055 e.g. “Next, the prohibited motion amount calculation unit 210 calculates a distance by which the motion part may be moved from the check position during a predetermined check time width TW defined in advance for each axis. For example, it is assumed that the motion part is pre-set to be movable at a tolerated velocity vymax in the Y-axis direction. In such a case, the motion part may move by a distance of vymax×TW during the check time width TW in the Y-axis direction….”
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
command analysis unit -> 0044, The control device 1 of the present embodiment includes a command analysis unit 110, a distribution processing unit 115, a motion command output unit 120, an acceleration/deceleration processing unit 125, a servo control unit 130, and an interference determination unit 135. Further, the interference check device 2 includes a prohibited motion amount calculation unit 210. Furthermore, the RAM 13 or the nonvolatile memory 14 of the control device 1 stores in advance a machining program 180 used for control of the industrial machine 3.
a distribution processing unit -> 0044
an interference determination unit ->0044
As interpreted, the control device-1 comprising each unit provides sufficient structure for each of the claimed units. 0031 e.g. “A CPU 11 of the control device 1 according to the present embodiment is a processor that entirely controls the control device 1. The CPU 11 reads a system program stored in a ROM 12 via a bus 22 and controls the overall control device 1 in accordance with the system program. A RAM 13 temporarily stores temporary calculation data or display data, various data input from outside, and the like.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by IDE et al. (PG/PUB 20090062955).
Claim 1.
IDE et al. teaches a control device that controls motion of a motion part of an industrial machine along an axis based on a machining program, wherein the control device performs interference check in cooperation with an interference check device that checks interference between the motion part and an obstacle (Figure 1), the control device comprising:
a command analysis unit that analyzes a block of the machining program (Figure 1-2 e.g. see command analysis)
a distribution processing unit that creates a distributed motion amount for each distribution cycle based on an analysis result from the command analysis unit, calculates a position of the motion part updated by the distributed motion amount, and notifies the interference check device of the calculated position (Figure 1-3a/4, 0021-22, 0026-31,0046 Figure 1-7, see also 0016-17 e.g. as interpreted, a unit configured to share data such that either 3a/4 determining a distributed motion amount per command cycle and distributing result to the interference checking unit, the interference checking unit sharing result data with the interference determining unit)
an interference determination unit determines whether or not interference between the motion part and the obstacle is expected based on a prohibited motion amount calculated by the interference check device based on the notified position, the prohibited motion amount being such a distance that is likely to cause interference when the motion part moves by the distance from the position of the motion part (Figure 2-74, 0026-30, see also 0016-17 e.g. see determining interference based on region analysis for determining likelihood of collision between moving parts based on command analysis)
wherein when it is determined by the interference determination unit that interference between the motion part and the obstacle is expected to occur, motion of the motion part is stopped (Figure 2-8, 0029 e.g. see selectively controlling acceleration and deceleration based on the interference determination result).
Claim 2. The control device according to claim 1 further comprising an acceleration/deceleration processing unit that performs a predetermined acceleration/deceleration process on a distributed motion amount for each distribution cycle created by the distribution processing unit (Figure 1-8)
wherein the interference determination unit determines whether or not interference between the motion part and the obstacle is expected by comparing the prohibited motion amount with a motion amount forward from the position calculated based on the distributed motion amount on which the predetermined acceleration/deceleration process was performed by the acceleration/deceleration processing unit (0029-30)
Claim 3. The control device according to claim 1, wherein the distribution processing unit further notifies the interference check device of information that is useful to identify a range where the motion part is able to move in addition to the position of the motion part (Figure 1-7, 0017, Figure 2)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IDE et al. (PG/PUB 20090062955) in view over NISHI et al. (PG/PUB 20170028558).
Claim 4.
IDE et al. teaches an interference check device (Figure 1-7) that checks interference between a motion part moving along an axis of an industrial machine and an obstacle but does not expressly teach the model limitations described below. NISHI teaches the model limitations described below, the interference check device comprising:
a model data storage unit that stores models of the motion part and the obstacle (NISHI, ABSTRACT, 0018, 0033, 0046 e.g. see storing multiple models for interference processing)
a prohibited motion amount calculation unit (NISHI, Figure 2-24, 0046, see also IDE, Figure 1-74 e.g. see identifying interfering regions based upon at least models) that, based on a position of the motion part notified from a control device that controls the industrial machine and on the models of the motion part and the obstacle stored in the model data storage unit (e.g. see the application of models in light of identifying regions of collision based upon command analysis), calculates a prohibited motion amount that is likely to cause interference when the motion part moves by the prohibited motion amount from the position of the motion part (NISHI, 0046, Figure 8, see also IDE, Figure 2 e.g. see part model applied for collision analysis in light of identifying regions of collision, as per IDE)
wherein the calculated prohibited motion amount is transmitted to the control device (IDE, Figure 1-8, 0028-29, see also NISHI, 0037 e.g. see controlling machine tool based on results of interference results)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention applying the teachings of NISHI, namely preventing interference based on multiple models embodied within the interference checking device, to the teachings of IDE, namely providing an interference checking device for identifying regions of interference, would achieve an expected and predictable result of employing multiple models for identifying interference for minimizing machine damage as described. NISHI is in the same field of endeavor and reasonably pertinent to a problem of identifying collisions, as described, ABSTRACT, summary of invention.
Claim 5. The interference check device according to claim 4, wherein a motion range of the motion part in the interference check is set so as to partially overlap a motion range of the motion part in interference check in a next cycle (NISHI, 0046, 0053)
Claim 6.
IDE teaches a control system in which a control device and an interference check device cooperate to perform interference check, wherein the control device controls motion of a motion part of an industrial machine along an axis based on a machining program, and the interference check device checks interference between the motion part and an obstacle; however, IDE does not teach the model limitations described below. NISHI teaches the model limitations described below.
wherein the interference check device comprises
a model data storage unit that stores models of the motion part and the obstacle, NISHI, ABSTRACT, 0018, 0033, 0046) and
a prohibited motion amount calculation unit that, based on a position of the motion part notified from the control device and on the models of the motion part and the obstacle stored in the model data storage unit, calculates a prohibited motion amount that is likely to cause interference when the motion part moves by the prohibited motion amount from the position of the motion part (NISHI, 0046, Figure 8, see also IDE, Figure 2 e.g. see part model)
wherein the control device comprises
a command analysis unit that analyzes a block of the machining program (Figure 1)
a distribution processing unit that creates a distributed motion amount for each distribution cycle based on an analysis result from the command analysis unit, calculates a position of the motion part updated by the distributed motion amount, and notifies the interference check device of the calculated position, Figure 1-3a, 0029-31,0046 Figure 1-7
an interference determination unit that determines whether or not interference between the motion part and the obstacle is expected based on a prohibited motion amount calculated by the prohibited motion amount calculation unit, Figure 2-74, 0029-30)
wherein when it is determined by the interference determination unit that interference between the motion part and the obstacle is expected to occur, motion of the motion part is stopped (0029-30)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention applying the teachings of NISHI, namely preventing interference based on multiple models embodied within the interference checking device, to the teachings of IDE, namely providing an interference checking device for identifying regions of interference, would achieve an expected and predictable result of employing multiple models for identifying interference for minimizing machine damage as described. NISH is in the same field of endeavor and reasonably pertinent to a problem of identifying collisions, as described, ABSTRACT, summary of invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
20150045941 e.g. “An interference checking device 1 checks, during machining using an NC machine tool 20, interference between structures of the NC machine tool 20, a tool and a workpiece, and includes an interference check processing unit 2 virtually moving models and checking the occurrence of interference based on a position control signal from a numerical controller 30, and an operation effect degree evaluating unit 6 evaluating the degree of an effect of an operation on a possibility of the occurrence of interference. When a predetermined operation is performed during machining of a workpiece following a first workpiece, the interference check processing unit 2 moves the models at intervals determined based on the degree of the effect evaluated by the operation effect degree evaluating unit 6.”
2080024083 e.g. “Disclosed is a numerical controller capable of foreseeing the occurrence of interference during operation of a machine and securely preventing the interference. An advanced position calculating section determines advanced time for the next interference check, based on an end time point of an interference check by an interference checking device and the sum of a time required for the interference check, a time required for communication, a time required for decelerating and stopping a movable part, and a predetermined float. Further, an advanced position of the movable part at the advanced time is calculated based on pre-read program data and is outputted to the interference checking device. The interference checking device performs the interference check at the advanced position. If it detects interference, the interference checking device delivers an axis stop signal to a motion command output section, thereby stopping a motion command and decelerating and stopping the movable part. Since interference check timing is settled in accordance with the time required for the interference check, the occurrence of interference can be securely prevented without delay or advance”
10048675 e.g. “An object of the present invention is to provide a numerical controller that performs interference check based on a look-ahead position before a feedrate varies by taking the variation in the feedrate into consideration and controls the change of an override safely. To achieve this object, the numerical controller is configured such that, when calculating a coordinate value of a look-ahead position which a movable part subjected to interference check reaches after a look-ahead period elapses from a current position at a current time, the numerical controller calculates the look-ahead position assuming that the movable part moves at a predetermined feedrate of which the upper limit is the maximum feedrat”)
/DARRIN D DUNN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117