DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed on 4/17/2026.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. LUXEMBOURG 500295, filed on 06/17/2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 7, 10 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mastel (US 20200350722) in view of Beimdieck (US 20190058295).
Regarding claim 1, Mastel teaches (figures 1 – 14) a plug connector (1), comprising:
at least one plug-in contact (50) configured to form an electrical plug connection with at least one mating plug-in contact (91) of a mating plug connector (9; ¶0060) in a plug-in direction (see direction “S”);
a locking element (81 in figure 5); and
an actuating element (80, 85) comprising an engagement portion (82; ¶0063),
wherein on a side of a plug-in face (4) of the plug connector (1), the at least one plug-in contact (50) extends at least partially from a first end wall (20) of a housing (2) of the plug connector (1) in the plug-in direction (see direction “S”),
wherein the locking element (81 in figure 5) is configured to lock the electrical plug connection with the mating plug connector (¶0060),
wherein the locking element (81 in figure 5) is resilient at least in certain portions (¶0062 – ¶0063) and is mounted in the housing (2; see figure 5 for mounted),
But Mastel does not explicitly disclose wherein the locking element being arranged in the housing and extending at least partially through a passage in the first end wall in a direction of the at least one plug-in contact; wherein the locking element is accessible via an actuating opening on the housing and is actuatable in at least one second direction, and the actuating element is pivotable, in a pivoting movement, about an axis of rotation or pivoting axis arranged transversely to the plug-in direction, and wherein the pivoting movement of the actuating element is transmittable from the engagement portion to the locking element, at least a portion of the locking element being reversibly and resiliently deformable.
Beimdieck teaches (figures 3 – 4) a connector wherein the locking element (2C) being arranged in the housing (3) and extending at least partially through a passage in the first end wall (see passage where 5 passes through) in a direction of the at least one plug-in contact (12); wherein the locking element (2C, 5) is accessible via an actuating opening (i.e. opening where 2A is located on before installation) on the housing (3) and is actuatable in at least one second direction (2C actuates in a different direction when 2A is pressed), and the actuating element (2A) is pivotable, in a pivoting movement (see movement of 2A in figures 3 and 4), about an axis of rotation or pivoting axis (pivoting axis of 2A) arranged transversely to the plug-in direction (pivoting movement of 2A happens in a direction perpendicular to the plug in direction), and wherein the pivoting movement (see movement of 2A in figures 3 and 4) of the actuating element (2A) is transmittable from the engagement portion (2B) to the locking element (2C, 5), at least a portion of the locking element (2C, 5) being reversibly and resiliently deformable (5 is deformable).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mastel with the connector as disclosed by Beimdieck to provide wherein the locking element being arranged in the housing and extending at least partially through a passage in the first end wall in a direction of the at least one plug-in contact; wherein the locking element is accessible via an actuating opening on the housing and is actuatable in at least one second direction, and the actuating element is pivotable, in a pivoting movement, about an axis of rotation or pivoting axis arranged transversely to the plug-in direction, and wherein the pivoting movement of the actuating element is transmittable from the engagement portion to the locking element, at least a portion of the locking element being reversibly and resiliently deformable, to provide a controlled connector insertion and secure locking engagement between mating connector components, reducing the likelihood of improper mating or inadvertent disengagement.
Regarding claim 2, Mastel teaches (figures 1 – 14) the plug connector of claim 1.
But Mastel does not explicitly disclose wherein the actuating opening is formed on the housing on a side of the plug connector opposite the plug-in face in the plug-in direction and/or is configured for insertion of the actuating element.
Beimdieck teaches (figures 3 – 4) a connector wherein the actuating opening (opening where 2A is located on before installation) is formed on the housing (3) on a side of the plug connector (1) opposite the plug-in face (opening of 2A is located on the side opposite to plug in face where 5 and 12 are located on) in the plug-in direction and/or is configured for insertion of the actuating element (2A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mastel with the connector as disclosed by Beimdieck to provide the actuating opening being formed on the housing on a side of the plug connector opposite the plug-in face in the plug-in direction and/or is configured for insertion of the actuating element, to provide a controlled connector insertion and secure locking engagement between mating connector components, reducing the likelihood of improper mating or inadvertent disengagement.
Regarding claim 3, Mastel teaches (figures 1 – 14) the plug connector of claim 1, wherein a clamping portion (portion that slides into 21) of the locking element (81 in figure 5), on a side of the plug connector (1) opposite the plug-in face (4) in the plug-in direction (direction “S” in figure 1), is fastened to a second end wall (fastened to wall of 21 via the slot in 21) of the housing (2) at least in certain portions (see figure 5).
Regarding claim 4, Mastel teaches (figures 1 – 14) the plug connector of claim 1, wherein the locking element (81 in figure 5), outside the housing (2), has a locking portion (portion near 82) having a latching element (82) configured to form a releasable latching connection (¶0061) with a latching portion (90) of the mating plug connector (9).
Regarding claim 5, Mastel teaches (figures 1 – 14) the plug connector of claim 1.
But Mastel does not explicitly disclose wherein the locking element has an actuating portion and wherein the actuating portion is arranged on the locking element between the passage and the actuating opening.
Beimdieck teaches (figures 3 – 4) a connector wherein the locking element (2C, 5) has an actuating portion (portion of 2B that actuates 2C when 2A is pressed) and wherein the actuating portion (portion of 2B that actuates 2C when 2A is pressed) is arranged on the locking element (2C, 5) between the passage (see passage where 5 passes through) and the actuating opening (opening where 2A is located on before installation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mastel with the connector as disclosed by Beimdieck to provide wherein the locking element has an actuating portion and wherein the actuating portion is arranged on the locking element between the passage and the actuating opening, to provide a controlled connector insertion and secure locking engagement between mating connector components, reducing the likelihood of improper mating or inadvertent disengagement.
Regarding claim 6, Mastel teaches (figures 1 – 14) the plug connector of claim 1.
But Mastel does not explicitly disclose wherein the plug connector has a guide channel for inserting the actuating element.
Beimdieck teaches (figures 3 – 4) a connector wherein the plug connector (1) has a guide channel (channel where 2A is inserted on) for inserting the actuating element (2A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mastel with the connector as disclosed by Beimdieck to provide wherein the plug connector has a guide channel for inserting the actuating element, to provide a controlled connector insertion and secure locking engagement between mating connector components, reducing the likelihood of improper mating or inadvertent disengagement.
Regarding claim 7, Mastel teaches (figures 1 – 14) the plug connector of claim 6.
But Mastel does not explicitly disclose wherein the guide channel is formed at least in certain portions by the locking element and/or by an outer wall of the housing adjoining the actuating opening.
Beimdieck teaches (figures 3 – 4) a connector wherein the guide channel (channel where 2A is inserted on) is formed at least in certain portions by the locking element (2C, 5) and/or by an outer wall of the housing (3) adjoining the actuating opening (opening where 2A is located on before installation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mastel with the connector as disclosed by Beimdieck to provide the guide channel being formed at least in certain portions by the locking element and/or by an outer wall of the housing adjoining the actuating opening, to provide a controlled connector insertion and secure locking engagement between mating connector components, reducing the likelihood of improper mating or inadvertent disengagement.
Regarding claim 10, Mastel teaches (figures 1 – 14) the plug connector of claim 1.
But Mastel does not explicitly disclose a connector wherein the actuating element is clamped at least in certain portions to the outer wall by the locking element while it is inserted through the actuating opening and in the non-actuated state.
Beimdieck teaches (figures 3 – 4) a connector wherein the actuating element (2A) is clamped at least in certain portions to the outer wall (2A is clamped to the wall in the opening where 2A is inserted on) by the locking element (2C, 5) while it is inserted through the actuating opening (opening where 2A is located on before installation) and in the non-actuated state (i.e. see figure 3 for non-actuated state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mastel with the connector as disclosed by Beimdieck to provide wherein the actuating element is clamped at least in certain portions to the outer wall by the locking element while it is inserted through the actuating opening and in the non-actuated state, to provide a controlled connector insertion and secure locking engagement between mating connector components, reducing the likelihood of improper mating or inadvertent disengagement.
Regarding claim 11, Mastel teaches (figures 1 – 14) the plug connector of claim 10.
But Mastel does not explicitly disclose wherein the actuating element has an engagement portion which forms with the locking element, an operative connection for actuating the locking element via the actuating element and/or to hold the actuating element in the housing by the locking element.
Beimdieck teaches (figures 3 – 4) a connector wherein the actuating element (2A) has an engagement portion (2B) which forms with the locking element (2C, 5), an operative connection for actuating the locking element (2C, 5) via the actuating element (2A) and/or to hold the actuating element (2A) in the housing (3) by the locking element (2C, 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mastel with the connector as disclosed by Beimdieck to provide wherein the actuating element has an engagement portion which forms with the locking element, an operative connection for actuating the locking element via the actuating element and/or to hold the actuating element in the housing by the locking element, to provide a controlled connector insertion and secure locking engagement between mating connector components, reducing the likelihood of improper mating or inadvertent disengagement.
Regarding claim 12, Mastel teaches (figures 1 – 14) the plug connector of claim 1, wherein the plug connector (1) comprises a row plug connector (1 has a row of plugs 50, therefore it is a row plug connector).
Regarding claim 13, Mastel teaches (figures 1 – 14) the plug connector of claim 12, wherein the mating plug connector (9) comprises a row mating plug connector (9 has a row of contacts 91 that mate with 50, therefore it is a row mating plug connector).
Regarding claim 14, Mastel teaches (figures 1 – 14) the plug connector of claim 1, wherein the locking element (81 in figure 5) extends in the plug-in direction (see figure 5, it extends in the “S” direction).
Regarding claim 15, Mastel teaches (figures 1 – 14) the plug connector of claim 1, wherein the at least one second direction (up and down direction of connector when viewed from the front and sides) is perpendicular to the plug-in direction (“S” direction in figure 1).
Regarding claim 16, Mastel teaches (figures 1 – 14) the plug connector of claim 2.
But Mastel does not explicitly disclose wherein the actuating opening is configured for insertion of the actuating element in the plug-in direction.
Beimdieck teaches (figures 3 – 4) a connector wherein the actuating opening (opening where 2A is located on before installation) is configured for insertion of the actuating element (2A) in the plug-in direction (see figure 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mastel with the connector as disclosed by Beimdieck to provide the actuating opening being configured for insertion of the actuating element in the plug-in direction, to provide a controlled connector insertion and secure locking engagement between mating connector components, reducing the likelihood of improper mating or inadvertent disengagement.
Regarding claim 17, Mastel teaches (figures 1 – 14) the plug connector of claim 3, wherein the clamping portion (portion that slides into 21) is fastened to the second end wall (fastened to wall of 21 via the slot in 21) of the housing (2) at least in certain portions by being clamped at least in certain portions (clamped by 21) and/or latched at least in certain portions (latched by 21).
Regarding claim 18, Mastel teaches (figures 1 – 14) the plug connector of claim 4.
But Mastel does not explicitly disclose wherein the locking portion is plate-shaped and/or the latching element has a trapezoidal or triangular contour in one view.
Beimdieck teaches (figures 3 – 4) a connector wherein the locking portion (portion to the right of embodiment 5 outside the connector housing 3) is plate-shaped (see figure 3) and/or the latching element (5) has a trapezoidal or triangular contour (see contour of 5 in figure 4) in one view (see figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mastel with the connector as disclosed by Beimdieck to provide the locking portion being plate-shaped and/or the latching element having a trapezoidal or triangular contour in one view, to provide a controlled connector insertion and secure locking engagement between mating connector components, reducing the likelihood of improper mating or inadvertent disengagement.
Regarding claim 19, Mastel teaches (figures 1 – 14) the plug connector of claim 18.
But Mastel does not explicitly disclose wherein the latching element has the trapezoidal or triangular contour in one view, the one view comprising a side view.
Beimdieck teaches (figures 3 – 4) a connector wherein the latching element (5) has the trapezoidal or triangular contour (see contour of 5 in figure 4) in one view, the one view comprising a side view (see figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mastel with the connector as disclosed by Beimdieck to provide the latching element having the trapezoidal or triangular contour in one view, the one view comprising a side view, to provide a controlled connector insertion and secure locking engagement between mating connector components, reducing the likelihood of improper mating or inadvertent disengagement.
Regarding claim 20, Mastel teaches (figures 1 – 14) the plug connector of claim 5.
But Mastel does not explicitly disclose wherein the actuating portion is configured for actuation by the actuating element.
Beimdieck teaches (figures 3 – 4) a connector wherein the actuating portion (portion of 2B that actuates 2C when 2A is pressed) is configured for actuation by the actuating element (2A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mastel with the connector as disclosed by Beimdieck to provide the actuating portion being configured for actuation by an actuating element, to provide a controlled connector insertion and secure locking engagement between mating connector components, reducing the likelihood of improper mating or inadvertent disengagement.
Claim(s) 8 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mastel (US 20200350722) in view of Beimdieck (US 20190058295) and further in view of Koellmann (US 20190237904).
Regarding claim 8, Mastel teaches (figures 1 – 14) the plug connector of claim 6, wherein the guide channel (channel where 7 is) is delimited in the plug-in direction (see direction “S”) at least by the first end wall (wall on the right of 83 in figure 6) on the side of the plug-in face (4).
But Mastel and Beimdieck do not explicitly disclose wherein the first end wall has a bearing portion for pivotable mounting of the actuating element.
Koellmann teaches (figure 1) a connector wherein the first end wall (end wall of 10) has a bearing portion (see portion where 61 slides into) for pivotable mounting of the actuating element (6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mastel and Beimdieck with the connector as disclosed by Koellmann to provide the first end wall having a bearing portion for pivotable mounting of the actuating element, to provide improved pivot support and retention.
Regarding claim 9, Mastel teaches (figures 1 – 14) the plug connector of claim 8.
But Mastel and Beimdieck do not explicitly disclose wherein the bearing portion in one view has, at least in certain portions, a wedge-shaped or U-shaped contour configured to receive a support portion of the actuating element.
Koellmann teaches (figure 1) a connector wherein the bearing portion (see portion where 61 slides into) in one view has, at least in certain portions, a wedge-shaped or U-shaped contour (see shape of portion in which 61 slides into) configured to receive a support portion (61) of the actuating element (6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mastel and Beimdieck with the connector as disclosed by Koellmann to provide the bearing portion in one view has, at least in certain portions, a wedge-shaped or U-shaped contour configured to receive a support portion of the actuating element, to provide improved pivot support and retention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections of claim(s) 1 – 20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CARLOS E LOPEZ-PAGAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834