DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 12/6/2023.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. LUXEMBOURG 500295, filed on 06/17/2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 7, 10 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mastel (US 20200350722) in view of Wu (US 20190280403).
Regarding claim 1, Mastel teaches (figures 1 – 14) a plug connector (1), comprising:
at least one plug-in contact (50) configured to form an electrical plug connection with at least one mating plug-in contact (91) of a mating plug connector (9; ¶0060), in a plug-in direction (see direction “S”),
wherein on a side of a plug-in face (4) of the plug connector (1), the at least one plug-in contact (50) extends at least partially from a first end wall (20) of a housing (2) of the plug connector (1) in the plug-in direction (see direction “S”),
wherein the plug connector (1) has a locking element (8, 80) configured to lock the electrical plug connection with the mating plug connector (¶0060 – ¶0061), the locking element (8, 80) being arranged in the housing (2, see figure 5) and extending at least partially through a passage (8, 80 slide into 21, when assembled as seen in figure 5, it extends through 21 in the “S” direction) in the first end wall (20) in a direction of the at least one plug-in contact (50),
wherein the locking element (8, 80) is resilient at least in certain portions (¶0062 – ¶0063) and is mounted in the housing (2, see figure 5 for mounted).
But Mastel does not explicitly disclose wherein the locking element is accessible via an actuating opening on the housing and is actuatable in at least one second direction.
Wu teaches (figures 1 – 10) a connector wherein the locking element (3, 321, 311) is accessible via an actuating opening (see opening where 3 is extending from in figure 2) on the housing (housing of 1) and is actuatable in at least one second direction (see figures 4, 5, 6 showing actuation motion in the up-down direction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mastel with the connector as disclosed by Wu to provide the locking element being accessible via an actuating opening on the housing and is actuatable in at least one second direction, to facilitate detachment/removal without the use of any hand tools.
Regarding claim 2, Mastel teaches (figures 1 – 14) the plug connector of claim 1.
But Mastel does not explicitly disclose wherein the actuating opening is formed on the housing on a side of the plug connector opposite the plug-in face in the plug-in direction and/or is configured for insertion of an actuating element for the locking element.
Wu teaches (figures 1 – 10) a connector wherein the actuating opening (see opening where 3 is extending from in figure 2) is formed on the housing (housing of 1) on a side of the plug connector (see figure 2) opposite the plug-in face (face of 14) in the plug-in direction and/or is configured for insertion of an actuating element (3) for the locking element (313; portion where 311 abuts).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mastel with the connector as disclosed by Wu to provide the actuating opening being formed on the housing on a side of the plug connector opposite the plug-in face in the plug-in direction and/or is configured for insertion of an actuating element for the locking element, to facilitate detachment/removal without the use of any hand tools.
Regarding claim 3, Mastel teaches (figures 1 – 14) the plug connector of claim 1, wherein a clamping portion (portion that slides into 21) of the locking element (8, 80), on a side of the plug connector (1) opposite the plug-in face (4) in the plug-in direction (direction “S” in figure 1), is fastened to a second end wall (fastened to wall of 21 via the slot in 21) of the housing (2) at least in certain portions (see figure 5).
Regarding claim 4, Mastel teaches (figures 1 – 14) the plug connector of claim 1, wherein the locking element (8, 80), outside the housing (2), has a locking portion (portion near 82) having a latching element (82) configured to form a releasable latching connection (¶0061) with a latching portion (90) of the mating plug connector (9).
Regarding claim 5, Mastel teaches (figures 1 – 14) the plug connector of claim 1, wherein the locking element (8, 80) has an actuating portion (85).
But Mastel does not explicitly disclose wherein the actuating portion is arranged on the locking element between the passage and the actuating opening.
Wu teaches (figures 1 – 10) a connector wherein the actuating portion (331) is arranged on the locking element (3) between the passage (passage 32 passes through in figure 4) and the actuating opening (see opening where 3 is extending from in figure 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mastel with the connector as disclosed by Wu to provide the actuating portion being arranged on the locking element between the passage and the actuating opening, to facilitate detachment/removal without the use of any hand tools.
Regarding claim 6, Mastel teaches (figures 1 – 14) the plug connector of claim 1, wherein the plug connector (1) has a guide channel (channel where 7 is) for inserting an actuating element (70).
Regarding claim 7, Mastel teaches (figures 1 – 14) the plug connector of claim 6.
But Mastel does not explicitly disclose wherein the guide channel is formed at least in certain portions by the locking element and/or by an outer wall of the housing adjoining the actuating opening.
Wu teaches (figures 1 – 10) a connector wherein the guide channel (121) is formed at least in certain portions by the locking element (3) and/or by an outer wall of the housing (4) adjoining the actuating opening (see opening where 3 is extending from in figure 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mastel with the connector as disclosed by Wu to provide the guide channel being formed at least in certain portions by the locking element and/or by an outer wall of the housing adjoining the actuating opening, to facilitate detachment/removal without the use of any hand tools.
Regarding claim 10, Mastel teaches (figures 1 – 14) the plug connector of claim 1.
But Mastel does not explicitly disclose a connector further comprising: an actuating element clamped at least in certain portions to the outer wall by the locking element while it is inserted through the actuating opening and in the non-actuated state.
Wu teaches (figures 1 – 10) a connector further comprising: an actuating element (3) clamped at least in certain portions to the outer wall (see figure 6, portion of 3 that contacts 12) by the locking element (3, 321, 311) while it is inserted through the actuating opening (see opening where 3 is extending from in figure 2) and in the non-actuated state (see figure 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mastel with the connector as disclosed by Wu to provide an actuating element clamped at least in certain portions to the outer wall by the locking element while it is inserted through the actuating opening and in the non-actuated state, to facilitate detachment/removal without the use of any hand tools.
Regarding claim 11, Mastel teaches (figures 1 – 14) the plug connector of claim 10.
But Mastel does not explicitly disclose wherein the actuating element has an engagement portion which forms with the locking element, an operative connection for actuating the locking element via the actuating element and/or to hold the actuating element in the housing by the locking element.
Wu teaches (figures 1 – 10) a connector wherein the actuating element (3) has an engagement portion (portion to the right of 321 in figure 4) which forms with the locking element (3, 321, 311), an operative connection for actuating the locking element (3, 321, 311) via the actuating element (3) and/or to hold the actuating element (3) in the housing (housing of 1) by the locking element (3, 321, 311; see figure 5).
Regarding claim 12, Mastel teaches (figures 1 – 14) the plug connector of claim 1, wherein the plug connector (1) comprises a row plug connector (1 has a row of plugs 50, therefore it is a row plug connector).
Regarding claim 13, Mastel teaches (figures 1 – 14) the plug connector of claim 12, wherein the mating plug connector (9) comprises a row mating plug connector (9 has a row of contacts 91 that mate with 50, therefore it is a row mating plug connector).
Regarding claim 14, Mastel teaches (figures 1 – 14) the plug connector of claim 1, wherein the locking element (8, 80) extends in the plug-in direction (see figure 5, it extends in the “S” direction).
Regarding claim 15, Mastel teaches (figures 1 – 14) the plug connector of claim 1, wherein the at least one second direction (up and down direction of connector when viewed from the front and sides) is perpendicular to the plug-in direction (“S” direction in figure 1).
Regarding claim 16, Mastel teaches (figures 1 – 14) the plug connector of claim 2.
But Mastel does not explicitly disclose wherein the actuating opening is configured for insertion of the actuating element in the plug-in direction.
Wu teaches (figures 1 – 10) a connector wherein the actuating opening (see opening where 3 is extending from in figure 2) is configured for insertion of the actuating element (3) in the plug-in direction (see figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mastel with the connector as disclosed by Wu to provide the actuating opening being configured for insertion of the actuating element in the plug-in direction, to facilitate detachment/removal without the use of any hand tools.
Regarding claim 17, Mastel teaches (figures 1 – 14) the plug connector of claim 3, wherein the clamping portion (portion of 8, 80 that slides into 21) is fastened to the second end wall (fastened to wall of 21 via the slot in 21) of the housing (2) at least in certain portions by being clamped at least in certain portions (clamped by 21) and/or latched at least in certain portions (latched by 21).
Regarding claim 18, Mastel teaches (figures 1 – 14) the plug connector of claim 4.
But Mastel does not explicitly disclose wherein the locking portion is plate-shaped and/or the latching element has a trapezoidal or triangular contour in one view.
Wu teaches (figures 1 – 10) a connector wherein the locking portion (portion above 32) is plate-shaped (see figure 4) and/or the latching element (32) has a trapezoidal or triangular contour (321) in one view (see figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mastel with the connector as disclosed by Wu to provide the locking portion being plate-shaped and/or the latching element having a trapezoidal or triangular contour in one view, to improve the wedging and load distribution of the actuating element.
Regarding claim 19, Mastel teaches (figures 1 – 14) the plug connector of claim 18.
But Mastel does not explicitly disclose wherein the latching element has the trapezoidal or triangular contour in one view, the one view comprising a side view.
Wu teaches (figures 1 – 10) a connector wherein the latching element (32) has the trapezoidal or triangular contour (321) in one view, the one view comprising a side view (see figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mastel with the connector as disclosed by Wu to provide the latching element having the trapezoidal or triangular contour in one view, the one view comprising a side view, to improve the wedging and load distribution of the actuating element.
Regarding claim 20, Mastel teaches (figures 1 – 14) the plug connector of claim 5.
But Mastel does not explicitly disclose wherein the actuating portion is configured for actuation by an actuating element.
Wu teaches (figures 1 – 10) a connector wherein the actuating portion (90) is configured for actuation by an actuating element (82; ¶0063).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mastel with the connector as disclosed by Wu to provide the actuating portion being configured for actuation by an actuating element, to facilitate detachment/removal without the use of any hand tools.
Claim(s) 8 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mastel (US 20200350722) in view of Wu (US 20190280403) and further in view of Koellmann (US 20190237904).
Regarding claim 8, Mastel teaches (figures 1 – 14) the plug connector of claim 6, wherein the guide channel (channel where 7 is) is delimited in the plug-in direction (see direction “S”) at least by the first end wall (wall on the right of 83 in figure 6) on the side of the plug-in face (4).
But Mastel and Wu do not explicitly disclose wherein the first end wall has a bearing portion for pivotable mounting of the actuating element.
Koellmann teaches (figure 1) a connector wherein the first end wall (end wall of 10) has a bearing portion (see portion where 61 slides into) for pivotable mounting of the actuating element (6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mastel and Wu with the connector as disclosed by Koellmann to provide the first end wall having a bearing portion for pivotable mounting of the actuating element, to provide improved pivot support and retention.
Regarding claim 9, Mastel teaches (figures 1 – 14) the plug connector of claim 8.
But Mastel and Wu do not explicitly disclose wherein the bearing portion in one view has, at least in certain portions, a wedge-shaped or U-shaped contour configured to receive a support portion of the actuating element.
Koellmann teaches (figure 1) a connector wherein the bearing portion (see portion where 61 slides into) in one view has, at least in certain portions, a wedge-shaped or U-shaped contour (see shape of portion in which 61 slides into) configured to receive a support portion (61) of the actuating element (6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mastel and Wu with the connector as disclosed by Koellmann to provide the bearing portion in one view has, at least in certain portions, a wedge-shaped or U-shaped contour configured to receive a support portion of the actuating element, to provide improved pivot support and retention.
Conclusion
/CARLOS E LOPEZ-PAGAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834