DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 22-41 are pending and are examined herein.
Double Patenting
Claims 22-31, 33-38, 40-41 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 46 of U.S. Patent No. 9,499,553 in view of Ohtani et al. (WO 2014142273, of record) and Dalvi et al. (WO 2019/060604).
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims recite 7-[[2,3-difluoro-4-[2-[-2-methoxyethyl(methyl)amino]-ethoxy]phenyl]methyl]-10-hydroxy-6-methyl-8-oxo-N-[4-(trifluoromethyl)-2-[6-(trifluoromethyl)pyrimidin-4-yl]phenyl]-6,7-diazaspiro[4.5]dec-9-ene-9-carboxamide. However, the referenced claims fail to disclose a disintegrant, a lubricant, an excipient, p-toluenesulfonate salt, and a volume-based particle size.
Ohtake et al. teach a method for preventing or treating a disease, such as hyperphosphatemia (claim 29), by administering a compound of formula I (claim 1). A preferred compound of formula I is 7-[[2,3-difluoro-4-[2-[-2-methoxyethyl(methyl)amino]-ethoxy]phenyl]methyl]-10-hydroxy-6-methyl-8-oxo-N-[4-(trifluoromethyl)-2-[6-(trifluoromethyl)pyrimidin-4-yl]phenyl]-6,7-diazaspiro[4.5]dec-9-ene-9-carboxamide (same structure as the claimed compound of formula I) (claim 46) or a salt thereof (col. 88, lines 40-48). The compositions may be produced by a well-known method using additives such as excipients, lubricants, and disintegrants, such as croscarmellose sodium (col. 91, lines 8-26). The compositions may be administered as a powder via inhalation (col. 90, lines 61-66).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have formulated a composition comprising 7-[[2,3-difluoro-4-[2-[-2-methoxyethyl(methyl)amino]-ethoxy]phenyl]methyl]-10-hydroxy-6-methyl-8-oxo-N-[4-(trifluoromethyl)-2-[6-(trifluoromethyl)pyrimidin-4-yl]phenyl]-6,7-diazaspiro[4.5]dec-9-ene-9-carboxamide (same structure as the claimed compound of formula I) (claim 46) or a salt thereof with 12 wt% or more for the disintegrant, 5.3 wt% or more for the lubricant, and 25 wt% or more of the excipient.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to formulate a composition comprising 7-[[2,3-difluoro-4-[2-[-2-methoxyethyl(methyl)amino]-ethoxy]phenyl]methyl]-10-hydroxy-6-methyl-8-oxo-N-[4-(trifluoromethyl)-2-[6-(trifluoromethyl)pyrimidin-4-yl]phenyl]-6,7-diazaspiro[4.5]dec-9-ene-9-carboxamide (same structure as the claimed compound of formula I) (claim 46) or a salt thereof with 12 wt% or more for the disintegrant, 5.3 wt% or more for the lubricant, and 25 wt% or more of the excipient because Ohtake et al. already teaches that disintegrants, lubricants, and excipients can be formulated into the compositions. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would know how to optimize the amounts of disintegrants, lubricants, and excipients based on how much the breakdown into smaller fragments is desired, or how much reduced friction is desired, or how much help towards manufacturing and stability is desired.
Generally, mere optimization of ranges will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “When the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimal or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); “The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.” In re Peterson, 315 F. 3d at 1330, 65 USPQ 2d at 1382; lt has been held that it is within the skills in the art to select optimal parameters, such as amounts of ingredients, in a composition in order to achieve a beneficial effect. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) MPEP 2114.04
Dalvi et al. teach an inhalable dry powder medicament (title and abstract). A dry powder medicament typically contains a micronized active ingredient with a mass median aerodynamic diameter of 1-10 µm. The size of the particle is able to penetrate into the lung on inhalation (page 3, lines 15-21). Preferably, the particle size is d10 = 0.4-1.0 µm, d50 = 1.0-3.0 µm, d90 = 2.5-9.0 µm (page 11, lines 20-21).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the composition comprising 7-[[2,3-difluoro-4-[2-[-2-methoxyethyl(methyl)amino]-ethoxy]phenyl]methyl]-10-hydroxy-6-methyl-8-oxo-N-[4-(trifluoromethyl)-2-[6-(trifluoromethyl)pyrimidin-4-yl]phenyl]-6,7-diazaspiro[4.5]dec-9-ene-9-carboxamide, as taught by Ohtake et al., into a dry powder having a particle size of d10 = 0.4-1.0 µm, d50 = 1.0-3.0 µm, and d90 = 2.5-9.0 µm, as taught by Dalvi et al.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to formulate the composition comprising 7-[[2,3-difluoro-4-[2-[-2-methoxyethyl(methyl)amino]-ethoxy]phenyl]methyl]-10-hydroxy-6-methyl-8-oxo-N-[4-(trifluoromethyl)-2-[6-(trifluoromethyl)pyrimidin-4-yl]phenyl]-6,7-diazaspiro[4.5]dec-9-ene-9-carboxamide, as taught by Ohtake et al., into a dry powder having a particle size of d10 = 0.4-1.0 µm, d50 = 1.0-3.0 µm, and d90 = 2.5-9.0 µm because both Ohtake and Dalvi et al. teach an inhalable powder formulation, and Dalvi et al. teach the claimed particle size is well-suited for penetration into the lung on inhalation. Therefore, the skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in formulating a composition comprising 7-[[2,3-difluoro-4-[2-[-2-methoxyethyl(methyl)amino]-ethoxy]phenyl]methyl]-10-hydroxy-6-methyl-8-oxo-N-[4-(trifluoromethyl)-2-[6-(trifluoromethyl)pyrimidin-4-yl]phenyl]-6,7-diazaspiro[4.5]dec-9-ene-9-carboxamide, as taught by Ohtake et al., into a dry powder having a particle size of d10 = 0.4-1.0 µm, d50 = 1.0-3.0 µm, and d90 = 2.5-9.0 µm.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or 112, fourth paragraph, for failing to limit a claim from which it depends. Claim 29 recites “wherein a content of the disintegrant is 12 wt% or more based on the total of the pharmaceutical composition,” which does not further limit claim 22, from which it depends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22, 25-31, 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohtake et al. (US Patent 9,499,553).
The instant claims are directed to a pharmaceutical composition and methods of making a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of formula I.
Ohtake et al. teach a method for preventing or treating a disease, such as hyperphosphatemia (claim 29), by administering a compound of formula I (claim 1). A preferred compound of formula I is 7-[[2,3-difluoro-4-[2-[-2-methoxyethyl(methyl)amino]-ethoxy]phenyl]methyl]-10-hydroxy-6-methyl-8-oxo-N-[4-(trifluoromethyl)-2-[6-(trifluoromethyl)pyrimidin-4-yl]phenyl]-6,7-diazaspiro[4.5]dec-9-ene-9-carboxamide (same structure as the claimed compound of formula I) (claim 46) or a salt thereof (col. 88, lines 40-48). The compositions may be produced by a well-known method using additives such as excipients, lubricants, and disintegrants, such as croscarmellose sodium (col. 91, lines 8-26). The compositions may be administered as a powder via inhalation (col. 90, lines 61-66).
However, Ohtake et al. fail to disclose 12 wt% or more for the disintegrant, 5.3 wt% or more for the lubricant, and 25 wt% or more of the excipient.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have formulated a composition comprising 7-[[2,3-difluoro-4-[2-[-2-methoxyethyl(methyl)amino]-ethoxy]phenyl]methyl]-10-hydroxy-6-methyl-8-oxo-N-[4-(trifluoromethyl)-2-[6-(trifluoromethyl)pyrimidin-4-yl]phenyl]-6,7-diazaspiro[4.5]dec-9-ene-9-carboxamide (same structure as the claimed compound of formula I) (claim 46) or a salt thereof with 12 wt% or more for the disintegrant, 5.3 wt% or more for the lubricant, and 25 wt% or more of the excipient.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to formulate a composition comprising 7-[[2,3-difluoro-4-[2-[-2-methoxyethyl(methyl)amino]-ethoxy]phenyl]methyl]-10-hydroxy-6-methyl-8-oxo-N-[4-(trifluoromethyl)-2-[6-(trifluoromethyl)pyrimidin-4-yl]phenyl]-6,7-diazaspiro[4.5]dec-9-ene-9-carboxamide (same structure as the claimed compound of formula I) (claim 46) or a salt thereof with 12 wt% or more for the disintegrant, 5.3 wt% or more for the lubricant, and 25 wt% or more of the excipient because Ohtake et al. already teaches that disintegrants, lubricants, and excipients can be formulated into the compositions. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would know how to optimize the amounts of disintegrants, lubricants, and excipients based on how much the breakdown into smaller fragments is desired, or how much reduced friction is desired, or how much help towards manufacturing and stability is desired.
Generally, mere optimization of ranges will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “When the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimal or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); “The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.” In re Peterson, 315 F. 3d at 1330, 65 USPQ 2d at 1382; lt has been held that it is within the skills in the art to select optimal parameters, such as amounts of ingredients, in a composition in order to achieve a beneficial effect. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) MPEP 2114.04
Claims 23-24, 33, 36-38, 40-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohtake et al. (US Patent 9,499,553), as applied to claims 22, 25-31, 34-35, in view of Dalvi et al. (WO 2019/060604).
The instant claims are directed to a pharmaceutical composition and methods of making a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of formula I.
Ohtake et al. teach as discussed above, however, fail to disclose a volume-based particle size.
Dalvi et al. teach an inhalable dry powder medicament (title and abstract). A dry powder medicament typically contains a micronized active ingredient with a mass median aerodynamic diameter of 1-10 µm. The size of the particle is able to penetrate into the lung on inhalation (page 3, lines 15-21). Preferably, the particle size is d10 = 0.4-1.0 µm, d50 = 1.0-3.0 µm, d90 = 2.5-9.0 µm (page 11, lines 20-21).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the composition comprising 7-[[2,3-difluoro-4-[2-[-2-methoxyethyl(methyl)amino]-ethoxy]phenyl]methyl]-10-hydroxy-6-methyl-8-oxo-N-[4-(trifluoromethyl)-2-[6-(trifluoromethyl)pyrimidin-4-yl]phenyl]-6,7-diazaspiro[4.5]dec-9-ene-9-carboxamide, as taught by Ohtake et al., into a dry powder having a particle size of d10 = 0.4-1.0 µm, d50 = 1.0-3.0 µm, and d90 = 2.5-9.0 µm, as taught by Dalvi et al.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to formulate the composition comprising 7-[[2,3-difluoro-4-[2-[-2-methoxyethyl(methyl)amino]-ethoxy]phenyl]methyl]-10-hydroxy-6-methyl-8-oxo-N-[4-(trifluoromethyl)-2-[6-(trifluoromethyl)pyrimidin-4-yl]phenyl]-6,7-diazaspiro[4.5]dec-9-ene-9-carboxamide, as taught by Ohtake et al., into a dry powder having a particle size of d10 = 0.4-1.0 µm, d50 = 1.0-3.0 µm, and d90 = 2.5-9.0 µm because both Ohtake and Dalvi et al. teach an inhalable powder formulation, and Dalvi et al. teach the claimed particle size is well-suited for penetration into the lung on inhalation. Therefore, the skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in formulating a composition comprising 7-[[2,3-difluoro-4-[2-[-2-methoxyethyl(methyl)amino]-ethoxy]phenyl]methyl]-10-hydroxy-6-methyl-8-oxo-N-[4-(trifluoromethyl)-2-[6-(trifluoromethyl)pyrimidin-4-yl]phenyl]-6,7-diazaspiro[4.5]dec-9-ene-9-carboxamide, as taught by Ohtake et al., into a dry powder having a particle size of d10 = 0.4-1.0 µm, d50 = 1.0-3.0 µm, and d90 = 2.5-9.0 µm.
Claim Objections
Claims 32 and 39 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Yong S. Chong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623