DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s arguments filed on 4/24/26. Claims 1-21 have been cancelled. Claims 42-43 have been added. Claims 22-43 are pending. Claims 22-23, 29 have been amended. Claims 22-43 examined herein.
The claim amendments have rendered the 112 rejection of the last Office Action moot, therefore hereby withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with regard to the remaining rejections have been fully considered but found not persuasive, therefore maintained for reasons of record and modified below due to the claim amendments.
Double Patenting
Claims 22-31, 33-38, 40-41 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 46 of U.S. Patent No. 9,499,553 in view of Ohtani et al. (WO 2014142273, of record) and Dalvi et al. (WO 2019/060604, of record).
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims recite 7-[[2,3-difluoro-4-[2-[-2-methoxyethyl(methyl)amino]-ethoxy]phenyl]methyl]-10-hydroxy-6-methyl-8-oxo-N-[4-(trifluoromethyl)-2-[6-(trifluoromethyl)pyrimidin-4-yl]phenyl]-6,7-diazaspiro[4.5]dec-9-ene-9-carboxamide. However, the referenced claims fail to disclose a disintegrant, a lubricant, an excipient, p-toluenesulfonate salt, and a volume-based particle size.
Ohtake et al. teach a method for preventing or treating a disease, such as hyperphosphatemia (claim 29), by administering a compound of formula I (claim 1). A preferred compound of formula I is 7-[[2,3-difluoro-4-[2-[-2-methoxyethyl(methyl)amino]-ethoxy]phenyl]methyl]-10-hydroxy-6-methyl-8-oxo-N-[4-(trifluoromethyl)-2-[6-(trifluoromethyl)pyrimidin-4-yl]phenyl]-6,7-diazaspiro[4.5]dec-9-ene-9-carboxamide (same structure as the claimed compound of formula I) (claim 46) or a salt thereof (col. 88, lines 40-48). The compositions may be produced by a well-known method using additives such as excipients, lubricants, and disintegrants, such as croscarmellose sodium (col. 91, lines 8-26). The compositions may be administered as a powder via inhalation (col. 90, lines 61-66).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have formulated a composition comprising 7-[[2,3-difluoro-4-[2-[-2-methoxyethyl(methyl)amino]-ethoxy]phenyl]methyl]-10-hydroxy-6-methyl-8-oxo-N-[4-(trifluoromethyl)-2-[6-(trifluoromethyl)pyrimidin-4-yl]phenyl]-6,7-diazaspiro[4.5]dec-9-ene-9-carboxamide (same structure as the claimed compound of formula I) (claim 46) or a salt thereof with 12 wt% or more for the disintegrant, 5.3 wt% or more for the lubricant, and 25 wt% or more of the excipient.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to formulate a composition comprising 7-[[2,3-difluoro-4-[2-[-2-methoxyethyl(methyl)amino]-ethoxy]phenyl]methyl]-10-hydroxy-6-methyl-8-oxo-N-[4-(trifluoromethyl)-2-[6-(trifluoromethyl)pyrimidin-4-yl]phenyl]-6,7-diazaspiro[4.5]dec-9-ene-9-carboxamide (same structure as the claimed compound of formula I) (claim 46) or a salt thereof with 12 wt% or more for the disintegrant, 5.3 wt% or more for the lubricant, and 25 wt% or more of the excipient because Ohtake et al. already teaches that disintegrants, lubricants, and excipients can be formulated into the compositions. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would know how to optimize the amounts of disintegrants, lubricants, and excipients based on how much the breakdown into smaller fragments is desired, or how much reduced friction is desired, or how much help towards manufacturing and stability is desired.
Generally, mere optimization of ranges will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “When the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimal or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); “The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.” In re Peterson, 315 F. 3d at 1330, 65 USPQ 2d at 1382; lt has been held that it is within the skills in the art to select optimal parameters, such as amounts of ingredients, in a composition in order to achieve a beneficial effect. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) MPEP 2114.04
Dalvi et al. teach an inhalable dry powder medicament (title and abstract). A dry powder medicament typically contains a micronized active ingredient with a mass median aerodynamic diameter of 1-10 µm. The size of the particle is able to penetrate into the lung on inhalation (page 3, lines 15-21). Preferably, the particle size is d10 = 0.4-1.0 µm, d50 = 1.0-3.0 µm, d90 = 2.5-9.0 µm (page 11, lines 20-21).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the composition comprising 7-[[2,3-difluoro-4-[2-[-2-methoxyethyl(methyl)amino]-ethoxy]phenyl]methyl]-10-hydroxy-6-methyl-8-oxo-N-[4-(trifluoromethyl)-2-[6-(trifluoromethyl)pyrimidin-4-yl]phenyl]-6,7-diazaspiro[4.5]dec-9-ene-9-carboxamide, as taught by Ohtake et al., into a dry powder having a particle size of d10 = 0.4-1.0 µm, d50 = 1.0-3.0 µm, and d90 = 2.5-9.0 µm, as taught by Dalvi et al.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to formulate the composition comprising 7-[[2,3-difluoro-4-[2-[-2-methoxyethyl(methyl)amino]-ethoxy]phenyl]methyl]-10-hydroxy-6-methyl-8-oxo-N-[4-(trifluoromethyl)-2-[6-(trifluoromethyl)pyrimidin-4-yl]phenyl]-6,7-diazaspiro[4.5]dec-9-ene-9-carboxamide, as taught by Ohtake et al., into a dry powder having a particle size of d10 = 0.4-1.0 µm, d50 = 1.0-3.0 µm, and d90 = 2.5-9.0 µm because both Ohtake and Dalvi et al. teach an inhalable powder formulation, and Dalvi et al. teach the claimed particle size is well-suited for penetration into the lung on inhalation. Therefore, the skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in formulating a composition comprising 7-[[2,3-difluoro-4-[2-[-2-methoxyethyl(methyl)amino]-ethoxy]phenyl]methyl]-10-hydroxy-6-methyl-8-oxo-N-[4-(trifluoromethyl)-2-[6-(trifluoromethyl)pyrimidin-4-yl]phenyl]-6,7-diazaspiro[4.5]dec-9-ene-9-carboxamide, as taught by Ohtake et al., into a dry powder having a particle size of d10 = 0.4-1.0 µm, d50 = 1.0-3.0 µm, and d90 = 2.5-9.0 µm.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that the referenced claims do not recite the limitations regarding disintegrant at 12 wt%, particle sizes, lubricant, excipient, the p-toluenesulfonate salt, type 1 crystal form, and particle size distributions. Furthermore, combination with Dalvi is improper because the reference teaches an inhalable dry powder medicament, whereas the present claims are drawn to an oral dosage form.
This is not persuasive because the limitation regarding “oral dosage form” is given little patentable weight since the present claims are drawn to a composition. Furthermore, the present composition also recites particle sizes that encompass those described by the cited prior art. Whether the prior art teaches these particles for oral or inhalation administration matters little as it pertains to intended use, just as long as the particle sizes are taught.
Applicant also argues that it would not be obvious to optimize the excipient amounts since no amounts are taught to optimize.
This is not persuasive because even though general ranges may not be disclosed, one of ordinary skill would know how to optimize an excipient in this field of study. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would know how to optimize the amounts of disintegrants, lubricants, and excipients based on how much the breakdown into smaller fragments is desired, or how much reduced friction is desired, or how much help towards manufacturing and stability is desired.
, Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22, 25-31, 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohtake et al. (US Patent 9,499,553, of record).
The instant claims are directed to a pharmaceutical composition and methods of making a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of formula I.
Ohtake et al. teach a method for preventing or treating a disease, such as hyperphosphatemia (claim 29), by administering a compound of formula I (claim 1). A preferred compound of formula I is 7-[[2,3-difluoro-4-[2-[-2-methoxyethyl(methyl)amino]-ethoxy]phenyl]methyl]-10-hydroxy-6-methyl-8-oxo-N-[4-(trifluoromethyl)-2-[6-(trifluoromethyl)pyrimidin-4-yl]phenyl]-6,7-diazaspiro[4.5]dec-9-ene-9-carboxamide (same structure as the claimed compound of formula I) (claim 46) or a salt thereof (col. 88, lines 40-48). The compositions may be produced by a well-known method using additives such as excipients, lubricants, and disintegrants, such as croscarmellose sodium (col. 91, lines 8-26). The compositions may be administered as a powder via inhalation (col. 90, lines 61-66).
However, Ohtake et al. fail to disclose 12 wt% or more for the disintegrant, 5.3 wt% or more for the lubricant, and 25 wt% or more of the excipient.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have formulated a composition comprising 7-[[2,3-difluoro-4-[2-[-2-methoxyethyl(methyl)amino]-ethoxy]phenyl]methyl]-10-hydroxy-6-methyl-8-oxo-N-[4-(trifluoromethyl)-2-[6-(trifluoromethyl)pyrimidin-4-yl]phenyl]-6,7-diazaspiro[4.5]dec-9-ene-9-carboxamide (same structure as the claimed compound of formula I) (claim 46) or a salt thereof with 12 wt% or more for the disintegrant, 5.3 wt% or more for the lubricant, and 25 wt% or more of the excipient.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to formulate a composition comprising 7-[[2,3-difluoro-4-[2-[-2-methoxyethyl(methyl)amino]-ethoxy]phenyl]methyl]-10-hydroxy-6-methyl-8-oxo-N-[4-(trifluoromethyl)-2-[6-(trifluoromethyl)pyrimidin-4-yl]phenyl]-6,7-diazaspiro[4.5]dec-9-ene-9-carboxamide (same structure as the claimed compound of formula I) (claim 46) or a salt thereof with 12 wt% or more for the disintegrant, 5.3 wt% or more for the lubricant, and 25 wt% or more of the excipient because Ohtake et al. already teaches that disintegrants, lubricants, and excipients can be formulated into the compositions. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would know how to optimize the amounts of disintegrants, lubricants, and excipients based on how much the breakdown into smaller fragments is desired, or how much reduced friction is desired, or how much help towards manufacturing and stability is desired.
Generally, mere optimization of ranges will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “When the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimal or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); “The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.” In re Peterson, 315 F. 3d at 1330, 65 USPQ 2d at 1382; lt has been held that it is within the skills in the art to select optimal parameters, such as amounts of ingredients, in a composition in order to achieve a beneficial effect. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) MPEP 2114.04
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Ohtake is a compound patent, not a formulation patent, therefore does not identify any formation problem to solve and provides no guidance on optimizing excipient amounts for this particular compound.
This is not persuasive because Applicant’s interpretation of Ohtake is not correct. The reference clearly teaches a method for preventing or treating a disease, such as hyperphosphatemia (claim 29), by administering a compound of formula I (claim 1). Furthermore, compositions may be produced by a well-known method using additives such as excipients, lubricants, and disintegrants, such as croscarmellose sodium (col. 91, lines 8-26).
Applicant argues unexpected results in terms of a unique formulation challenge due to the low solubility of the active ingredient. The present invention enables the claimed compound to have improved solubility in the gastrointestinal tract by formulation. Furthermore, the present invention enables stable production of formulations having uniformity of or above a certain level in the production of formulations of the claimed compounds.
This is not persuasive because unexpected results must be presented in a declaration format under the following guidelines. It appears there is no support presented in the art with regard to the formulation challenge as well as no hard data with regard to the present invention having stable formulations.
Regarding the establishment of unexpected results or synergism, a few notable principles are well settled. The Applicant has the initial burden to explain any proffered data and establish how any results therein should be taken to be unexpected and significant. See MPEP 716.02 (b). It is applicant’s burden to present clear and convincing factual evidence of nonobviousness or unexpected results, i.e., side-by-side comparison with the closest prior art in support of nonobviousness for the instant claimed invention over the prior art. The claims must be commensurate in the scope with any evidence of unexpected results. See MPEP 716.02 (d). With regard to synergism, a prima facie case of synergism has not been established if the data or result is not obvious. The synergism should be sufficient to overcome the obviousness, but must also be commensurate with the scope of the claims. Further, if the Applicant provides a DECLARATION UNDER 37 CFR 1.132, it must compare the claimed subject matter with the closest prior art in order to be effective to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 716.02 (e).
Claims 23-24, 33, 36-38, 40-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohtake et al. (US Patent 9,499,553, of record), as applied to claims 22, 25-31, 34-35, in view of Dalvi et al. (WO 2019/060604, of record).
The instant claims are directed to a pharmaceutical composition and methods of making a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of formula I.
Ohtake et al. teach as discussed above, however, fail to disclose a volume-based particle size.
Dalvi et al. teach an inhalable dry powder medicament (title and abstract). A dry powder medicament typically contains a micronized active ingredient with a mass median aerodynamic diameter of 1-10 µm. The size of the particle is able to penetrate into the lung on inhalation (page 3, lines 15-21). Preferably, the particle size is d10 = 0.4-1.0 µm, d50 = 1.0-3.0 µm, d90 = 2.5-9.0 µm (page 11, lines 20-21).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the composition comprising 7-[[2,3-difluoro-4-[2-[-2-methoxyethyl(methyl)amino]-ethoxy]phenyl]methyl]-10-hydroxy-6-methyl-8-oxo-N-[4-(trifluoromethyl)-2-[6-(trifluoromethyl)pyrimidin-4-yl]phenyl]-6,7-diazaspiro[4.5]dec-9-ene-9-carboxamide, as taught by Ohtake et al., into a dry powder having a particle size of d10 = 0.4-1.0 µm, d50 = 1.0-3.0 µm, and d90 = 2.5-9.0 µm, as taught by Dalvi et al.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to formulate the composition comprising 7-[[2,3-difluoro-4-[2-[-2-methoxyethyl(methyl)amino]-ethoxy]phenyl]methyl]-10-hydroxy-6-methyl-8-oxo-N-[4-(trifluoromethyl)-2-[6-(trifluoromethyl)pyrimidin-4-yl]phenyl]-6,7-diazaspiro[4.5]dec-9-ene-9-carboxamide, as taught by Ohtake et al., into a dry powder having a particle size of d10 = 0.4-1.0 µm, d50 = 1.0-3.0 µm, and d90 = 2.5-9.0 µm because both Ohtake and Dalvi et al. teach an inhalable powder formulation, and Dalvi et al. teach the claimed particle size is well-suited for penetration into the lung on inhalation. Therefore, the skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in formulating a composition comprising 7-[[2,3-difluoro-4-[2-[-2-methoxyethyl(methyl)amino]-ethoxy]phenyl]methyl]-10-hydroxy-6-methyl-8-oxo-N-[4-(trifluoromethyl)-2-[6-(trifluoromethyl)pyrimidin-4-yl]phenyl]-6,7-diazaspiro[4.5]dec-9-ene-9-carboxamide, as taught by Ohtake et al., into a dry powder having a particle size of d10 = 0.4-1.0 µm, d50 = 1.0-3.0 µm, and d90 = 2.5-9.0 µm.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that both Ohtake and Dalvi teach an inhalable powder formulation, whereas the present invention is drawn to an oral dosage form.
This is not persuasive because the limitation regarding “oral dosage form” is given little patentable weight since the present claims are drawn to a composition. Furthermore, the present composition also recites particle sizes that encompass those described by the cited prior art. Whether the prior art teaches these particles for oral or inhalation administration matters little as it pertains to intended use, just as long as the particle sizes are taught.
Applicant also argues unexpected results in the form of particle sizes. Specifically, the particle size has a direct and unexpected effect on dissolution property of the claimed compound when compared to a non-pulverized product.
This is not persuasive because Applicant has not provided any reasoning or data as to why this result is unexpected. Furthermore, Applicant is reminded that any showing of unexpected results must be presented in a 132 declaration to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness.
Claim Objections
Claims 32, 39, 42-43 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Yong S. Chong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623