DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/18/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 7, of applicant’s response, applicant argues that “The claim thus recite that the interference-condition output time is structurally derived from, and referentially dependent upon, the no-interference output time. Patil teaches no such relationship.”
In response to applicant’s arguments regarding Patil, it is noted that Patil explicitly discloses both the current claim limitations and applicant’s interpretation of the limitations. In instances of detecting collision, the TBTT of the next beacon interval is adjusted by adding or subtracting an incrementing value (paragraph 11, 16, 96, 101, 125 and see Fig. 8, 13). The “second time” is based on an offset being added to the originally planned time based upon the beacon interval (first time) for the next beacon to prevent future collisions.
Further, in response to applicant's additions arguments that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “interference-condition output time is structurally derived from, and referentially dependent upon, the no-interference output time”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The claim instead merely indicates that the second time “comprises the first time plus-or-minus a time shift period”, which is describing the resulting time and not the method of calculation or deriving that is used to achieve it.
In response to applicant's additions arguments that Patil fails to disclose “the apparatus performs packet-level inspection on a specific channel to assess whether signal interference exists on that channel”,
It is noted that Patil discloses wherein collisions are determined by “intercepting communications from the overlapping BSS”, “intercepting communication frames” and “intercepting beacon frames” (see paragraph 59, 95, 98, 127).
Patil further discloses that:
“In addition, although described herein in terms of exchanging data frames between wireless devices, the implementations may be applied to the exchange of any data unit, packet, and/or frame between wireless devices. Thus, the term “frame” may include any frame, packet, or data unit such as, for example, protocol data units (PDUs), MAC protocol data units (MPDUs), and physical layer convergence procedure protocol data units (PPDUs).” (see paragraph 50).
Thus, Patil explicitly discloses monitoring and detecting packets being transmitted over the first channel to determine if the apparatus is experiencing signal interference.
Additionally, it is noted that the claim do not recite or require “the apparatus performs packet-level inspection” as applicant suggests. As the phrase “packet level inspection” in the art typically suggests some sort of analysis of the packets and their content. The current claims, however, merely recites the detection of the mere presence of some data packet.
Finally, it is noted that applicant’s argument would not apply to method claim 11 and its dependents, as they are contingent limitations with the alternative scenarios not both being required.
Thus, performing either one of first functionality in response to determining that the apparatus is not experiencing signal interference, or the second functionality in response to determining that the apparatus is experiencing signal interference would meet the current claim limitations.
In response to applicant’s arguments regarding scanning the channel for one or more packets, Kim explicitly discloses a “carrier sensing period” sensing interference due to other usage of the channel (see page 10934, section 3.1). This meets the current claim limitations as the interference traffic described and detected by Kim comprises packets, with the interference comprising packet transmission from different network devices (see page 10930-10934, Fig. 4). Thus, any detection of interference comprises “one or more packets” as the interfering traffic are packets.
As noted above, the claim do not require any specific “packet-level inspection” as applicant suggests. The device is not required to analyze the packet beyond the determination of its existence.
Applicant further argues that “Kim's beacon interval shifting is not disclosed as a plus-or-minus offset from a previously determined beacon time. Rather, Kim describes selecting alternative beacon timings to reduce collision probability among multiple networks, without anchoring the adjusted timing to a specific apparatus's predefined TDMA interval in the manner recited in the claim.”
In response, Kim explicitly discloses that “Figure 4 shows an operating sample of the beacon interval shifting scheme. If the channel is busy, the hub does not transmit a beacon and performs a back-off procedure until the channel becomes idle.” and “Through this procedure, the beacon interval of the BAN moves back by the back-off period, so the active period of each network is uniformly arranged in the same channel.” (page 10935, regarding Fig. 4).
As seen in Fig. 4, the next beacon transmission occurs at the time the original beacon was meant to occur plus the back-off time. In the example show, a total of 4 carrier sensing periods (Tcs) have added to the original time the beacon was meant to be transmitted to arrive at the new time to begin the beacon transmission (beacon transmission delayed for a determined back-off period until channel is idle; see Fig 4, pages 10935).
As noted above, the current claim language does not require any sort of specific mathematical calculating or deriving to achieve the “second time”, as instead the claims merely recite end result value.
In this case, Kim arrives at the “second time” by repeatedly waiting a fixed value “sensing period” until it determines the channel is idle. Thus, the “second time” is the “first time” plus any required back-off period.
Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not convincing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Patil et al. (Patil) (US 2018/0110046) (of record).
As to claim 1, Patil discloses an apparatus for communication using time divisional multiple access (TDMA) (Fig. 1, AP; paragraph 45, 51-54), the apparatus comprising processing circuity configured to:
for a particular duration, scan a first channel for one or more data packets being transmitted over the first channel to determine if the apparatus is experiencing signal interference (detecting beacon timing collisions; Fig. 8, paragraph 11, 16, 46, 48, 94-98, 124-125, 127);
in response to determining that the apparatus is not experiencing signal interference, output a first beacon at a first time using TDMA, wherein the first time is a predefined interval amount of time after an output time of a most recent beacon previously output by the apparatus (transmitting at normal target beacon transmission times when no collisions are detected; paragraph 9, 11, 173, 178); and
in response to determining that the apparatus is experiencing signal interference, output the first beacon at a second time using TDMA, wherein the second time comprises the first time plus-or-minus a time shift period (expedited or delayed TBTT adjustments; Fig, 8; paragraph 11, 16, 48, 96, 101, 125, 130-134).
As to claim 2, Patil discloses wherein the processing circuitry being configured to scan the first channel comprises the processing circuitry being configured to scan the first channel, for the particular duration, immediately after outputting the most recent beacon previously output by the apparatus (monitoring period before and after; paragraph 124).
As to claim 3, Patil discloses wherein the second time comprises the first time minus the time shift period (expedited beacon time shifting slightly earlier; Fig. 8, paragraph 48, 96, 101, 125).
As to claim 4, Patil discloses wherein the processing circuitry being configured to scan the first channel comprises the processing circuitry being configured to scan the first channel, for the particular duration, prior to the first time at which the apparatus would output the first beacon in response to determining that the apparatus is not experiencing signal interference, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to complete the scan at approximately the first time (paragraph 124).
As to claim 5, Patil discloses wherein the second time comprises the first time plus the time shift period (delayed beacon time shifting slightly later; Fig. 13, paragraph 48, 96, 101, 125).
As to claim 6, Patil discloses wherein the processing circuitry previously output the most recent beacon over the first channel, and wherein the processing circuitry is configured to output the first beacon, at the second time, over the first channel (time shifting beacons on the same channel; Fig. 8, 13 paragraph 11, 16, 48, 96, 101, 125, 130-134).
As to claim 7, Patil discloses wherein the one or more data packets comprise one or more of a beacon (beacon frames; paragraph 46, 48-49, 66-70) and a data header (PHY header; paragraph 46, 56, 57).
As to claim 8, Patil discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to, after outputting the first beacon at the second time:
for the particular duration, scan the first channel for one or more data packets being transmitted over the first channel to determine if the apparatus is experiencing signal interference (paragraph 174-177);
in response to determining that the apparatus is not experiencing signal interference, output a second beacon at a third time using TDMA, wherein the third time is the predefined interval amount of time after the second time (1840; paragraph 178); and
in response to determining that the apparatus is experiencing signal interference, output the second beacon at a fourth time using TDMA, wherein the fourth time comprises the third time plus-or-minus a second time shift period (continuing to incrementally shift the tbtt when beacon collision persists; Fig. 18, 1820; paragraph 176-177).
As to claim 9, Patil discloses, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine the time shift period based on the length of the one or more data packets and a received time of the one or more data packets (timed to fully overcome the collision in a single adjustment; Fig. 8, paragraph 97-101).
As to claim 10, Patil discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
prior to scanning the first channel, receive a signal from a device of a plurality of devices (paragraph 4-5);
determine an energy level of the signal (paragraph 4-5); and
in response to determining that the energy level of the signal exceeds a threshold, trigger scanning the first channel for the particular duration (paragraph 4-5, 48, 124, 127).
As to claim 11, Patil discloses a method (Fig. 1, paragraph 45, 51-54), comprising:
for a particular duration, scanning. by a processing circuitry, a first channel for one or more data packets being transmitted over the first channel to determine if the apparatus is experiencing signal interference (detecting beacon timing collisions; Fig. 8, paragraph 11, 16, 46, 48, 94-98, 124-125, 127);
in response to determining that the apparatus is not experiencing signal interference, outputting, by the processing circuitry, a first beacon at a first time using TDMA, wherein the first time is a predefined interval amount of time after an output time of a most recent beacon previously output by the apparatus (transmitting at normal target beacon transmission times when no collisions are detected; paragraph 9, 11, 173, 178); and
in response to determining that the apparatus is experiencing signal interference, outputting, by the processing circuitry, the first beacon at a second time using TDMA, wherein the second time comprises the first time plus-or-minus a time shift period (expedited or delayed TBTT adjustments; Fig, 8; paragraph 11, 16, 48, 96, 101, 125, 130-134).
As to claim 12, Patil discloses wherein scanning the first channel comprises scanning the first channel, for the particular duration, immediately after outputting the most recent beacon previously output by the apparatus (paragraph 124), and wherein the second time comprises the first time minus the time shift period (expedited beacon time shifting slightly earlier; Fig. 8, paragraph 48, 96, 101, 125).
As to claim 13, Patil discloses wherein scanning the first channel comprises scanning the first channel, for the particular duration, prior to the first time at which the apparatus would output the first beacon in response to determining that the apparatus is not experiencing signal interference, wherein the method further comprises completing the scan at approximately the first time (paragraph 124)
and wherein the second time comprises the first time plus the time shift period (delayed beacon time shifting slightly later; Fig. 13, paragraph 48, 96, 101, 125).
As to claim 14, Patil discloses the most recent beacon was previously output over the first channel, and outputting the first beacon, at the second time, comprises outputting, by the processing circuitry, the first beacon over the first channel (time shifting beacons on the same channel; Fig. 8, 13 paragraph 11, 16, 48, 96, 101, 125, 130-134).
As to claim 15, Patil discloses wherein the one or more data packets comprise one or more of a beacon (beacon frames; paragraph 46, 48-49, 66-70) and a data header (PHY header; paragraph 46, 56, 57).
As to claim 16, Patil discloses wherein the method further comprises, after outputting the first beacon at the second time:
for the particular duration, scanning, by the processing circuitry, the first channel for one or more data packets being transmitted over the first channel to determine if the apparatus is experiencing signal interference(paragraph 174-177);
in response to determining that the apparatus is not experiencing signal interference, outputting, by the processing circuitry, a second beacon at a third time using TDMA, wherein the third time is the predefined interval amount of time after the second time (1840; paragraph 178); and
in response to determining that the apparatus is experiencing signal interference, outputting, by the processing circuitry, the second beacon at a fourth time using TDMA, wherein the fourth time comprises the third time plus-or-minus a second time shift period (continuing to incrementally shift the tbtt when beacon collision persists; Fig. 18, 1820; paragraph 176-177).
As to claim 17, Patil discloses wherein prior to scanning the first channel, receiving, by the processing circuitry, a signal from a device of a plurality of devices (paragraph 4-5);
determining, by the processing circuitry, an energy level of the signal (paragraph 4-5); and
in response to determining that the energy level of the signal exceeds a threshold, triggering, by the processing circuitry, scanning the first channel for the particular duration (paragraph 4-5, 48, 124, 127).
As to claim 18, Patil discloses a system comprising:
a plurality of time divisional multiple access (TDMA) devices (see Fig. 1, APs and STAs; paragraph 45-48); and
a hub device in communication with the plurality of sensor devices using TDMA (AP communicating with STAs; Fig. 1), the hub device comprising processing circuity (Fig. 14) configured to:
for a particular duration, scan a first channel for one or more data packets, output by any of the plurality of TDMA devices, being transmitted over the first channel to determine if the apparatus is experiencing signal interference (detecting beacon timing collisions; Fig. 8, paragraph 11, 16, 46, 48, 94-98, 124-125, 127);
in response to determining that the apparatus is not experiencing signal interference, output a first beacon at a first time using TDMA, wherein the first time is a predefined interval amount of time after an output time of a most recent beacon previously output by the apparatus (transmitting at normal target beacon transmission times when no collisions are detected; paragraph 9, 11, 173, 178); and
in response to determining that the apparatus is experiencing signal interference, output the first beacon at a second time using TDMA, wherein the second time comprises the first time plus-or-minus a time shift period (expedited or delayed TBTT adjustments; Fig, 8; paragraph 11, 16, 48, 96, 101, 125, 130-134).
As to claim 19, Patil discloses wherein the processing circuitry being configured to scan the first channel comprises the processing circuitry being configured to scan the first channel, for the particular duration, immediately after outputting the most recent beacon previously output by the apparatus (paragraph 124), and wherein the second time comprises the first time minus the time shift period (expedited beacon time shifting slightly earlier; Fig. 8, paragraph 48, 96, 101, 125).
As to claim 20, Patil discloses wherein the processing circuitry being configured to scan the first channel comprises the processing circuitry being configured to scan the first channel, for the particular duration, prior to the first time at which the apparatus would output the first beacon in response to determining that the apparatus is not experiencing signal interference, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to complete the scan at approximately the first time (paragraph 124) and wherein the second time comprises the first time plus the time shift period (delayed beacon time shifting slightly later; Fig. 13, paragraph 48, 96, 101, 125).
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11, 13-16, 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by “A Beacon Interval Shifting Scheme for Interference Mitigation in Body Area Networks” (Kim et al.) (Sensors ISSN 1424-8220) (7 August 2012) (of record).
As to claim 1, A Beacon Interval Shifting Scheme for Interference Mitigation in Body Area Networks discloses an apparatus for communication using time divisional multiple access (TDMA) (BAN hub, 1. Introduction; page 10930-10931), the apparatus comprising processing circuity configured to:
for a particular duration, scan a first channel for one or more data packets being transmitted over the first channel to determine if the apparatus is experiencing signal interference (determining if channel is busy during carrier sensing period; see Fig. 3-4, Beacon Interval Shifting Scheme, pages 10934-10935);
in response to determining that the apparatus is not experiencing signal interference, output a first beacon at a first time using TDMA, wherein the first time is a predefined interval amount of time after an output time of a most recent beacon previously output by the apparatus (transmitting beacon immediately during normal beacon interval if channel is idle; see Fig. 3-4, pages 10934-10935); and
in response to determining that the apparatus is experiencing signal interference, output the first beacon at a second time using TDMA, wherein the second time comprises the first time plus-or-minus a time shift period (delay beacon transmission for defined back-off period until channel is idle; see Fig 4, pages 10935).
As to claim 2, A Beacon Interval Shifting Scheme for Interference Mitigation in Body Area Networks discloses wherein the processing circuitry being configured to scan the first channel comprises the processing circuitry being configured to scan the first channel, for the particular duration, immediately after outputting the most recent beacon previously output by the apparatus (after the previous beacon and prior to the next; see Fig. 3-4, pages 10934-10935).
As to claim 4, A Beacon Interval Shifting Scheme for Interference Mitigation in Body Area Networks discloses wherein the processing circuitry being configured to scan the first channel comprises the processing circuitry being configured to scan the first channel, for the particular duration, prior to the first time at which the apparatus would output the first beacon in response to determining that the apparatus is not experiencing signal interference, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to complete the scan at approximately the first time (determining if channel is idle during carrier sensing period prior to beacon transmission time; see Fig. 3-4, pages 10934-10935).
As to claim 5, A Beacon Interval Shifting Scheme for Interference Mitigation in Body Area Networks discloses wherein the second time comprises the first time plus the time shift period (back-off period added to beacon time interval; Fig. 4, pages 10935).
As to claim 6, A Beacon Interval Shifting Scheme for Interference Mitigation in Body Area Networks discloses wherein the processing circuitry previously output the most recent beacon over the first channel, and wherein the processing circuitry is configured to output the first beacon, at the second time, over the first channel (Fig. 4, pages 10935).
As to claim 7, A Beacon Interval Shifting Scheme for Interference Mitigation in Body Area Networks discloses wherein the one or more data packets comprise one or more of a beacon (Fig. 3-4, pages 10934-10935) and a data header.
As to claim 8, A Beacon Interval Shifting Scheme for Interference Mitigation in Body Area Networks discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to, after outputting the first beacon at the second time:
for the particular duration, scan the first channel for one or more data packets being transmitted over the first channel to determine if the apparatus is experiencing signal interference (sensing data packets already on the channel; see Fig. 3-4, pages 10934-10935);
in response to determining that the apparatus is not experiencing signal interference, output a second beacon at a third time using TDMA, wherein the third time is the predefined interval amount of time after the second time (at next beacon interval if more back-off periods are not needed; see Fig. 4, page 10935); and
in response to determining that the apparatus is experiencing signal interference, output the second beacon at a fourth time using TDMA, wherein the fourth time comprises the third time plus-or-minus a second time shift period (beacon interval plus any needed back-off period to ensure channel is idle; see Fig. 4, page 10935).
As to claim 9, A Beacon Interval Shifting Scheme for Interference Mitigation in Body Area Networks discloses, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine the time shift period based on the length of the one or more data packets and a received time of the one or more data packets (adding back-off periods until the channel is idle and no longer active from other data transmissions; see Fig. 4, page 10935).
As to claim 11, A Beacon Interval Shifting Scheme for Interference Mitigation in Body Area Networks discloses an apparatus for communication using time divisional multiple access (TDMA) (BAN hub, 1. Introduction; page 10930-10931), the apparatus comprising processing circuity configured to:
for a particular duration, scanning. by a processing circuitry (BAN hub, 1. Introduction; page 10930-10931), a first channel for one or more data packets being transmitted over the first channel to determine if the apparatus is experiencing signal interference (determining if channel is busy during carrier sensing period; see Fig. 3-4, Beacon Interval Shifting Scheme, pages 10934-10935);
in response to determining that the apparatus is not experiencing signal interference, outputting, by the processing circuitry, a first beacon at a first time using TDMA, wherein the first time is a predefined interval amount of time after an output time of a most recent beacon previously output by the apparatus (transmitting beacon immediately during normal beacon interval if channel is idle; see Fig. 3-4, pages 10934-10935); and
in response to determining that the apparatus is experiencing signal interference, outputting, by the processing circuitry, the first beacon at a second time using TDMA, wherein the second time comprises the first time plus-or-minus a time shift period (delay beacon transmission for defined back-off period until channel is idle; see Fig 4, pages 10935).
As to claim 13, A Beacon Interval Shifting Scheme for Interference Mitigation in Body Area Networks discloses wherein scanning the first channel comprises scanning the first channel, for the particular duration, prior to the first time at which the apparatus would output the first beacon in response to determining that the apparatus is not experiencing signal interference, wherein the method further comprises completing the scan at approximately the first time (determining if channel is idle during carrier sensing period prior to beacon transmission time; see Fig. 3-4, pages 10934-10935), and wherein the second time comprises the first time plus the time shift period (back-off period added to beacon time interval; Fig. 4, pages 10935).
As to claim 14, A Beacon Interval Shifting Scheme for Interference Mitigation in Body Area Networks discloses the most recent beacon was previously output over the first channel, and outputting the first beacon, at the second time, comprises outputting, by the processing circuitry, the first beacon over the first channel (delayed beacon transmission for defined back-off period over the same channel when idle; see Fig 4, pages 10935).
As to claim 15, A Beacon Interval Shifting Scheme for Interference Mitigation in Body Area Networks discloses wherein the one or more data packets comprise one or more of a beacon (Fig. 3-4, pages 10934-10935) and a data header.
As to claim 16, A Beacon Interval Shifting Scheme for Interference Mitigation in Body Area Networks discloses wherein the method further comprises, after outputting the first beacon at the second time:
for the particular duration, scanning, by the processing circuitry, the first channel for one or more data packets being transmitted over the first channel to determine if the apparatus is experiencing signal interference (sensing data packets already on the channel; see Fig. 3-4, pages 10934-10935);
in response to determining that the apparatus is not experiencing signal interference, outputting, by the processing circuitry, a second beacon at a third time using TDMA, wherein the third time is the predefined interval amount of time after the second time (at next beacon interval if more back-off periods are not needed; see Fig. 4, page 10935);
in response to determining that the apparatus is experiencing signal interference, outputting, by the processing circuitry, the second beacon at a fourth time using TDMA, wherein the fourth time comprises the third time plus-or-minus a second time shift period (beacon interval plus any needed back-off period to ensure channel is idle; see Fig. 4, page 10935).
As to claim 18, A Beacon Interval Shifting Scheme for Interference Mitigation in Body Area Networks discloses a system (BAN network system; page 10930-10931), comprising:
a plurality of time divisional multiple access (TDMA) devices (BAN devices, hub and sensors; 1. Introduction; page 10930-10931); and
a hub device in communication with the plurality of sensor devices using TDMA (BAN hub and sensors, 1. Introduction; page 10930-10931), the hub device comprising processing circuity configured to:
for a particular duration, scan a first channel for one or more data packets, output by any of the plurality of TDMA devices, being transmitted over the first channel to determine if the apparatus is experiencing signal interference (determining if channel is busy during carrier sensing period; see Fig. 3-4, Beacon Interval Shifting Scheme, pages 10934-10935);
in response to determining that the apparatus is not experiencing signal interference, output a first beacon at a first time using TDMA, wherein the first time is a predefined interval amount of time after an output time of a most recent beacon previously output by the apparatus (transmitting beacon immediately during normal beacon interval if channel is idle; see Fig. 3-4, pages 10934-10935); and
in response to determining that the apparatus is experiencing signal interference, output the first beacon at a second time using TDMA, wherein the second time comprises the first time plus-or-minus a time shift period (delay beacon transmission for defined back-off period until channel is idle; see Fig 4, pages 10935).
As to claim 20, A Beacon Interval Shifting Scheme for Interference Mitigation in Body Area Networks discloses wherein the processing circuitry being configured to scan the first channel comprises the processing circuitry being configured to scan the first channel, for the particular duration, prior to the first time at which the apparatus would output the first beacon in response to determining that the apparatus is not experiencing signal interference, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to complete the scan at approximately the first time (determining if channel is idle during carrier sensing period prior to beacon transmission time; see Fig. 3-4, pages 10934-10935), and wherein the second time comprises the first time plus the time shift period (back-off period added to beacon time interval; Fig. 4, pages 10935).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/James R Sheleheda/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424