DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This non-final office action is in response to the Amendments filed on 19 February 2026, regarding application number 18/567,459.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-10 remain pending in the application. Claim 1 was amended in the Amendments to the Claims. Claim 10 is new.
Claim 3 was allowed in the previous office action and remains allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 7-11, filed 19 February 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-2 and 4-9 under 35 U.S.C. § 103, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has made the following arguments:
“Newly-amended independent claim 1 of the present application includes the limitation of "requesting the robot control device to transition to a restoration mode."
However, Applicant respectfully submits that none of the applied Komatsu, Ueda, Vartiainen, and Maeda references explicitly disclose that the teaching operation panel requests such a mode transition to the robot control device.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees because each of Komatsu, Ueda and Vartiainen explicitly teach the claim limitation “requesting the robot control device to transition to a restoration mode;”, as discussed in the previous office action.
See Komatsu at Fig. 1, all; [0033] and [0091 "To restore the backup data, the user connects the recording medium containing the backup data to media connection unit 134 of teach pendant 130 of a cell that has not been set up yet, and then operates operating unit 133. As a result, the backup data starts to be restored."]-[0092 "When the process of restoring the backup data is started, calculator 131 of teach pendant 130 performs initial confirmation to verify the connection between the recording medium and media connection unit 134, and also to verify that the recording medium contains the backup data (STEP 3-1)...."] and [0093 "Calculator 131 transmits the read backup data to controller 120 via communication unit 135. Then calculator 121 of controller 120 temporarily stores the received backup data in volatile memory unit 122 (STEP 4-2). Calculator 121 then reads only the data contained in the modifiable region from the backup data stored in volatile memory unit 122, and sequentially rewrites the data in the modifiable region of nonvolatile memory unit 123 (STEP 4-3). As a result, the data in the modifiable region of nonvolatile memory unit 123 is returned to the state it was when the backup data was saved, so that various settings and teaching files can be recovered."];
see Ueda at [0091 "The restore processing part (154 e) transmits to the industrial machine 20 a restore request that includes, among the difference values included in the backup data, difference values of parameters other than parameters that depend on a capacity of the industrial machine 20."], [0094], [0156] and [0238]; and
see Vartiainen at [0057]-[0058 "One possibility is that the user wishes to revert to the retrieved system configuration. Thus, in some embodiments the providing S6 comprises installing S6 a the retrieved system configuration in the robot controller."].
See full details in the rejection below.
“Claim 1 is further amended to now include the limitation of "determining whether the individual number received matches an individual number included in the backup file located in the storage location inputted." In other words, in this limitation of claim 1, the object for comparison with the acquired individual number of the robot control device is the individual number included in the backup file located in the storage location inputted from the display screen.
In this regard, in Komatsu, the object for comparison with the "production number" of the control device is the "production number" contained in the non-modifiable region of the backup data stored on the recording medium.
Therefore, Applicant respectfully submits that the present invention as recited in newly- amended independent claim 1 of the present application and the disclosure of Komatsu are completely different with regard to the method of acquiring the data to be compared.
Applicant notes that, if backup data of different controllers were stored on the same single recording medium, it would be necessary to select which backup data to use at the time of restoration. However, Komatsu includes no such selection means and simply compares the "production number" of the backup data on the recording medium with the "production number" of the data-restoring controller to immediately determine the purpose of restoration, i.e., system recovery or setup of another cell.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). That is, the combination of Komatsu and Vartiainen teaches the claimed “determining whether the individual number received matches an individual number included in the backup file located in the storage location inputted”. Vartiainen alone explicitly teaches the claimed “determining whether the individual number received matches an individual number included in the backup file located in the storage location” in at least [0092 "The backup data includes all the data of nonvolatile memory unit 123 including the data stored in the non-modifiable region such as the “production number” of controller 120. As a result, the backup data can be checked to find out whether the controller 120 to which the backup data is going to be restored is identical to the controller 120 from which the backup data has been obtained. The details will be described as follows. A comparison is made between the controller's “production number” contained in the non-modifiable region of the backup data of the recording medium and the controller's “production number” contained in the non-modifiable region of nonvolatile memory unit 123 of the controller 120 to which the backup data is going to be restored. Assume that the controller from which the backup data has been obtained (hereinafter, the data-saving controller) agrees with the controller to which the backup data is going to be restored (hereinafter, the data-restoring controller). In short, assume that STEP 3-2 determines that the data-saving controller and the data-restoring controller are identical to each other."] and [0099 “Comparing these controllers' “production numbers”, which are unique to each individual controller 120, can determine the purpose of restoring the backup data. When the data-saving controller and the data-restoring controller are identical (the controllers' “production numbers” are identical), the purpose is system recovery.”]. Komatsu additionally teaches a user input for initiating sending the backup file located in the storage location to the robot control device in [0091 “To restore the backup data, the user connects the recording medium containing the backup data to media connection unit 134 of teach pendant 130 of a cell that has not been set up yet, and then operates operating unit 133. As a result, the backup data starts to be restored.”]. Komatsu; however, does not explicitly teach the backup file located in the storage location inputted. Vartiainen teaches displaying a display screen on the display, asking for an input of a storage location of the backup file and the backup file being located in the storage location inputted. See at least Figs. 1-2 and 4-5, display 21, especially elements 211 in Fig. 4; [0006 ]-[0007], [0037 "The backup archive may also be an external backup archive 30′ such as in a cloud implemented database. Internal and external storage may also be used in combination in a suitable manner, where e.g. older backup versions are moved from the internal backup archive 30 to the external archive 30′."]-[0039], [0049], [0052] and [0055 "FIG. 4 illustrates the graphical user interface of FIG. 2 where the user has scrolled the timeline to view older snapshots. In this example, the older snapshots (version 1.2 and 1.3) are stored in an external backup archive, which is illustrated by the cloud symbol 214."]-[0056 "The user may then select the snapshot that he or she wants to use by e.g. touching on it or by clicking on it or by any other suitable user input means mentioned in connection with FIG. 1."]. Accordingly, Komatsu in view of Vartiainen teaches the claimed “determining whether the individual number received matches an individual number included in the backup file located in the storage location inputted”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the teach pendant of modified Komatsu to display a screen asking for an input of a storage location of the backup file, as taught by Vartiainen, in order to provide a user with a quick and easy interface for selecting a backup file without requiring knowledge of the software.
“Applicant respectfully submits that Komatsu thus does not have a display screen that requests input of a storage location, namely by which the backup file including the individual number to be compared with the individual number of the connected robot control device is identified, of a backup file as in the invention recited in independent claim 1 of the present application.
Applicant respectfully submits, moreover, that Ueda also does not have a display screen that requests input of a storage location of a backup file as in the invention recited in independent claim 1 of the present application.
In addition, Applicant respectfully submits that Vartiainen and Maeda do not have any disclosure or suggestion regarding the individual number of the robot control device whatsoever, nor do they disclose a display screen that requests input of a storage location of a backup file.
As set forth above, the invention according to amended independent claim 1 of the present application and all dependent claims thereof include features that are not disclosed in any of the applied Komatsu, Ueda, Vartiainen, and Maeda references.
As explained above, amended independent claim 1 of the present application overcomes the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 and is allowable over the prior art of record.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees for at least the same reasons discussed above because Komatsu, in view of Vartiainen teach a display screen that requests input of a storage location, by which the backup file including the individual number to be compared with the individual number of the connected robot control device is identified, of a backup file. That is, Vartiainen teaches at least displaying a display screen on the display asking for an input of a storage location of the backup file in at least Fig. 4, [0037] and [0055]-[0056], as discussed above. Komatsu teaches receiving the individual number of the robot control device from the robot control device connected, and determining whether the individual number received matches an individual number included in the backup file located in the storage location and sending the backup file located in the storage location to the robot control device, when the individual number received matches the individual number included in the backup file in at least [0092]-[0093] and [0099], as discussed above.
“Furthermore, dependent claims 2, 4-9, and newly-added claim 10, are novel and non- obvious, and thus allowable, at least by virtue of their dependencies on independent claim 1 and for the additional features that they recite.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees for at least the same reasons discussed above because the arguments with respect to independent claim 1 were not found to be persuasive. See full rejection details below.
For at least the reasons discussed above and below, the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 11, with respect to new dependent claim 10, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Accordingly, Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsu et al. (US 20160162667 A1 and Komatsu hereinafter), in view of Ueda et al. (US 20170153608 A1 and Ueda hereinafter) and Vartiainen et al. (US 20200341449 A1 and Vartiainen hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1
Komatsu teaches a teach pendant (see Fig. 1, teach pendant 130; [0030]-[0033]), comprising:
a processor (see [0033 "Calculator 131, which includes a CPU…"]);
a storage device (see Fig. 1, "recording medium" connected to the media connection unit 134; [0033] and [0089 "To save backup data, the user connects a recording medium to media connection unit 134 of teach pendant 130 in the setup cell, and then operates operating unit 133."]-[0090 "Calculator 131 writes the backup data received from controller 120 sequentially into the recording medium connected to media connection unit 134. This completes the saving of the backup data to the recording medium in the setup cell."]);
a display (see Fig. 1, setting data display unit 132; [0033]-[0034]);
an input device (see Fig. 1, operating unit 133; [0033]-[0034], [0089 "To save backup data, the user connects a recording medium to media connection unit 134 of teach pendant 130 in the setup cell, and then operates operating unit 133."] and [0091]);
a connection interface configured to connect to a robot control device (see Fig. 1, communication unit 135; [0033]-[0034] and [0093]); and
program instructions stored in the storage device that, when executed by the processor (see [0033] and [0090]), cause the teach pendant to:
receive a backup file of a robot control device that controls a robot (see [0033]-[0034] and [0090 "The produced backup data is sent to calculator 131 of teach pendant 130 via communication unit 126. Calculator 131 writes the backup data received from controller 120 sequentially into the recording medium connected to media connection unit 134."]),
save the received backup file in the storage device (see Fig. 1, "recording medium" connected to the media connection unit 134; [0033] and [0089 "To save backup data, the user connects a recording medium to media connection unit 134 of teach pendant 130 in the setup cell, and then operates operating unit 133."]-[0090 "Calculator 131 writes the backup data received from controller 120 sequentially into the recording medium connected to media connection unit 134. This completes the saving of the backup data to the recording medium in the setup cell."] and [0092]),
wherein the saved backup file includes information indicating an individual number of the robot control device (see [0086], [0092 "The backup data includes all the data of nonvolatile memory unit 123 including the data stored in the non-modifiable region such as the “production number” of controller 120. As a result, the backup data can be checked to find out whether the controller 120 to which the backup data is going to be restored is identical to the controller 120 from which the backup data has been obtained ... A comparison is made between the controller's “production number” contained in the non-modifiable region of the backup data of the recording medium..."]-[0093] and [0099]); and
use the backup file corresponding to an individual number of a connected robot control device when restoring the state of the software of the robot control device (see [0086], [0092 "When the process of restoring the backup data is started, calculator 131 of teach pendant 130 performs initial confirmation to verify the connection between the recording medium and media connection unit 134, and also to verify that the recording medium contains the backup data (STEP 3-1). When the initial conformation is completed, calculator 131 verifies the controller 120 to which the backup data is going to be restored (STEP 3-2). The backup data includes all the data of nonvolatile memory unit 123 including the data stored in the non-modifiable region such as the “production number” of controller 120. As a result, the backup data can be checked to find out whether the controller 120 to which the backup data is going to be restored is identical to the controller 120 from which the backup data has been obtained."]-[0093] and [0099]) wherein restoring the state of the software of the robot control device comprises:
requesting the robot control device to transition to a restoration mode (see Fig. 1, calculator 131; [0033] and [0091 "To restore the backup data, the user connects the recording medium containing the backup data to media connection unit 134 of teach pendant 130 of a cell that has not been set up yet, and then operates operating unit 133. As a result, the backup data starts to be restored."]-[0092 "When the process of restoring the backup data is started, calculator 131 of teach pendant 130 performs initial confirmation to verify the connection between the recording medium and media connection unit 134, and also to verify that the recording medium contains the backup data (STEP 3-1)...."] and [0093 "Calculator 131 transmits the read backup data to controller 120 via communication unit 135. Then calculator 121 of controller 120 temporarily stores the received backup data in volatile memory unit 122 (STEP 4-2). Calculator 121 then reads only the data contained in the modifiable region from the backup data stored in volatile memory unit 122, and sequentially rewrites the data in the modifiable region of nonvolatile memory unit 123 (STEP 4-3). As a result, the data in the modifiable region of nonvolatile memory unit 123 is returned to the state it was when the backup data was saved, so that various settings and teaching files can be recovered."]);
displaying a display screen on the display, asking for an input (see Fig. 1, data display unit 132; [0033 "Setting data display unit 132 displays for the user the “setting data” stored in nonvolatile memory unit 123 of controller 120. Operating unit 133 is operated by the user, who watches setting data display unit 132."] and [0091 "To restore the backup data, the user connects the recording medium containing the backup data to media connection unit 134 of teach pendant 130 of a cell that has not been set up yet, and then operates operating unit 133."]));
receiving the individual number of the robot control device from the robot control device connected, and determining whether the individual number received matches an individual number included in the backup file located in the storage location (see [0032], [0086], [0092 "The backup data includes all the data of nonvolatile memory unit 123 including the data stored in the non-modifiable region such as the “production number” of controller 120. As a result, the backup data can be checked to find out whether the controller 120 to which the backup data is going to be restored is identical to the controller 120 from which the backup data has been obtained. The details will be described as follows. A comparison is made between the controller's “production number” contained in the non-modifiable region of the backup data of the recording medium and the controller's “production number” contained in the non-modifiable region of nonvolatile memory unit 123 of the controller 120 to which the backup data is going to be restored. Assume that the controller from which the backup data has been obtained (hereinafter, the data-saving controller) agrees with the controller to which the backup data is going to be restored (hereinafter, the data-restoring controller). In short, assume that STEP 3-2 determines that the data-saving controller and the data-restoring controller are identical to each other."] and [0099]); and
sending the backup file located in the storage location, to the robot control device, when the individual number received matches the individual number included in the backup file (see [0086], [0092 "A comparison is made between the controller's “production number” contained in the non-modifiable region of the backup data of the recording medium and the controller's “production number” contained in the non-modifiable region of nonvolatile memory unit 123 of the controller 120 to which the backup data is going to be restored. Assume that the controller from which the backup data has been obtained (hereinafter, the data-saving controller) agrees with the controller to which the backup data is going to be restored (hereinafter, the data-restoring controller). In short, assume that STEP 3-2 determines that the data-saving controller and the data-restoring controller are identical to each other. In this case, the backup data is restored to the same controller 120, indicating that the purpose of the restoration is system recovery."]-[0093 "When STEP 3-2 determines that the data-saving controller and the data-restoring controller are identical to each other, calculator 131 of teach pendant 130 reads the backup data from the recording medium (STEP 4-1). Calculator 131 transmits the read backup data to controller 120 via communication unit 135. Then calculator 121 of controller 120 temporarily stores the received backup data in volatile memory unit 122 (STEP 4-2)."] and [0099]).
Although it may be inherent and/or obvious, Komatsu does not explicitly teach the storage device of the teach pendant being a non-volatile storage device; and wherein the received backup file is saved in the non-volatile storage device.
Komatsu is additionally silent regarding the display asking for an input of a storage location of the backup file;
the backup file located in the storage location inputted; and
sending the backup file located in the storage location inputted.
Ueda teaches a teach pendant (see Figs. 1 and 4, terminal device 10; [0006] and [0028]), comprising:
a processor (see Fig. 4, controller 15; [0064]);
a non-volatile storage device (see Fig. 4, memory 16; [0058]-[0059], [0084]-[0089] and [0101 "The memory 16 is realized, for example, by a RAM (Random Access Memory), a semiconductor memory device such as a flash memory, or a storage device such as a hard disk or an optical disk. Such a memory 16 stores the login information 161, the connection state information 162, the backup data group 164, and the favorite info′ nation group 165."]);
a display (see Fig. 4, display 12; [0061]-[0062]);
an input device (see Fig. 4, display 12 and/or operation part 13; [0062]-[0063]);
a connection interface configured to connect to a robot control device (see Fig. 1, all; Fig. 4, first communication part 111; [0060]); and
program instructions stored in the non-volatile storage device that, when executed by the processor (see Fig. 4, all; [0059]-[0064]), cause the teach pendant to:
receive a backup file of a robot control device that controls a robot (see [0084 "The backup processing part (154 d) obtains backup data of the multiple parameters stored in the industrial machine 20 from the industrial machine 20, and stores the obtained backup data in the memory 16."]-[0089]),
save the received backup file in the non-volatile storage device (see [0084 "The backup processing part (154 d) obtains backup data of the multiple parameters stored in the industrial machine 20 from the industrial machine 20, and stores the obtained backup data in the memory 16."]-[0089], [0101] and [0238]),
wherein the saved backup file includes information indicating an individual number of the robot control device (see [0071], [0087 "When backup data is obtained from the industrial machine 20, the backup processing part (154 d) adds backup date and time, the industrial machine ID, the terminal ID, the user ID and the like to the backup data and stores the backup data in the memory 16."], [0102 "The backup data group 164 includes multiple sets of backup data. The backup data is data that includes difference values relative to initial values of multiple parameters stored in an industrial machine 20, backup date and time, an industrial machine ID, a terminal ID, a user ID and the like."] and [0179]); and
use the backup file corresponding to an individual number of a connected robot control device when restoring the state of the software of the robot control device (see [0071], [0090 "The restore processing part (154 e) restores the industrial machine 20 using the backup data stored in the memory 16 or the backup data stored in a memory 33 of the server 30 (sec FIG. 9)."]-[0095], [0101] and [0238]), wherein restoring the state of the software of the robot control device comprises:
requesting the robot control device to transition to a restoration mode (see [0091 "The restore processing part (154 e) transmits to the industrial machine 20 a restore request that includes, among the difference values included in the backup data, difference values of parameters other than parameters that depend on a capacity of the industrial machine 20."], [0094], [0156] and [0238]); and
displaying a display screen on the display (see Figs. 1-2, all; [0006] and [0038]).
Vartiainen teaches a teach pendant (see Fig. 1, user interface device 20; [0032] and [0035]-[0036]), comprising:
a processor (see Fig. 1, processor 24; [0036]);
a storage device (see [0036 "The user interface device 20 comprises a processor 24, memory (not shown),…"]);
a display (see Figs. 1-2 and 4-5, display 21; [0006], [0036] and [0049]);
an input device (see Figs. 1-2 and 4-5, display 21; [0006], [0036] and [0049]);
a connection interface configured to connect to a robot control device (see Fig. 1, the wire connecting the user interface device 20 and robot controller 10; [0035 "The user interface device 20 is connected to the robot controller 10, either wirelessly or by wire."]); and
program instructions stored in the storage device that, when executed by the processor (see [0036]), cause the teach pendant to:
save the received backup file in the storage device (see [0037 "It is also possible to store the backup archive (at least partly) in the user interface device 20."] and [0047]), and
use the backup file when restoring the state of the software of the robot control device (see Fig. 3, step S6; [0006 "...retrieving, from the backup archive information corresponding to the snapshot represented by the selected element, and providing the retrieved system configuration."] and [0057 "The method further comprises, upon receiving S4 the user input, retrieving S5, from the backup archive 30, 30′ information corresponding to the snapshot represented by the selected element, and providing S6 the retrieved system configuration."]-[0058 "One possibility is that the user wishes to revert to the retrieved system configuration. Thus, in some embodiments the providing S6 comprises installing S6 a the retrieved system configuration in the robot controller."]), wherein restoring the state of the software of the robot control device comprises:
requesting the robot control device to transition to a restoration mode (see [0057]-[0058 "One possibility is that the user wishes to revert to the retrieved system configuration. Thus, in some embodiments the providing S6 comprises installing S6 a the retrieved system configuration in the robot controller."]);
displaying a display screen on the display, asking for an input of a storage location of the backup file (see Figs. 1-2 and 4-5, display 21, especially elements 211 in Fig. 4; [0006 "The method further comprises generating, on a display, a graphical user interface including elements representing one or more snapshots stored in the backup archive presented in chronological order and upon receiving, from an input device, user input selecting one of the displayed elements..."]-[0007], [0037 "The backup archive may also be an external backup archive 30′ such as in a cloud implemented database. Internal and external storage may also be used in combination in a suitable manner, where e.g. older backup versions are moved from the internal backup archive 30 to the external archive 30′."]-[0039], [0049], [0052] and [0055 "FIG. 4 illustrates the graphical user interface of FIG. 2 where the user has scrolled the timeline to view older snapshots. In this example, the older snapshots (version 1.2 and 1.3) are stored in an external backup archive, which is illustrated by the cloud symbol 214."]-[0056 "The user may then select the snapshot that he or she wants to use by e.g. touching on it or by clicking on it or by any other suitable user input means mentioned in connection with FIG. 1."]);
the backup file located in the storage location inputted (see Figs. 1 and 4-5, backup archives 30 and 30'; [0006 "...upon receiving, from an input device, user input selecting one of the displayed elements, retrieving, from the backup archive information corresponding to the snapshot represented by the selected element, and providing the retrieved system configuration."]-[0007], [0037 "The backup archive may also be an external backup archive 30′ such as in a cloud implemented database. Internal and external storage may also be used in combination in a suitable manner, where e.g. older backup versions are moved from the internal backup archive 30 to the external archive 30′."]-[0039], [0052] and [0055 "FIG. 4 illustrates the graphical user interface of FIG. 2 where the user has scrolled the timeline to view older snapshots. In this example, the older snapshots (version 1.2 and 1.3) are stored in an external backup archive, which is illustrated by the cloud symbol 214."]-[0056 "The user may then select the snapshot that he or she wants to use by e.g. touching on it or by clicking on it or by any other suitable user input means mentioned in connection with FIG. 1."]); and
sending the backup file located in the storage location inputted, to the robot control device (see [0006 "...retrieving, from the backup archive information corresponding to the snapshot represented by the selected element, and providing the retrieved system configuration."] and [0057 "The method further comprises, upon receiving S4 the user input, retrieving S5, from the backup archive 30, 30′ information corresponding to the snapshot represented by the selected element, and providing S6 the retrieved system configuration."]-[0058 "One possibility is that the user wishes to revert to the retrieved system configuration. Thus, in some embodiments the providing S6 comprises installing S6 a the retrieved system configuration in the robot controller."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the storage device of the teach pendant of Komatsu to be a non-volatile storage device and to save the backup file in the non-volatile storage device, as taught by Ueda, in order to retain the backup file even in the case of a power loss.
It additionally would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the teach pendant of modified Komatsu to display a screen asking for an input of a storage location of the backup file and to send the backup file located in the storage location inputted, as taught by Vartiainen, in order to provide a user with a quick and easy interface for selecting a backup file without requiring knowledge of the software.
Regarding Claim 2
Modified Komatsu teaches the teach pendant according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Komatsu further teaches wherein the program instructions further cause the teach pendant to:
request the robot control device to transition to a restoration mode when receiving a command for restoration from the backup file (see Fig. 1, calculator 131; [0033] and [0091 "To restore the backup data, the user connects the recording medium containing the backup data to media connection unit 134 of teach pendant 130 of a cell that has not been set up yet, and then operates operating unit 133. As a result, the backup data starts to be restored."]-[0092 "When the process of restoring the backup data is started, calculator 131 of teach pendant 130 performs initial confirmation to verify the connection between the recording medium and media connection unit 134, and also to verify that the recording medium contains the backup data (STEP 3-1)...."] and [0093 "Calculator 131 transmits the read backup data to controller 120 via communication unit 135. Then calculator 121 of controller 120 temporarily stores the received backup data in volatile memory unit 122 (STEP 4-2). Calculator 121 then reads only the data contained in the modifiable region from the backup data stored in volatile memory unit 122, and sequentially rewrites the data in the modifiable region of nonvolatile memory unit 123 (STEP 4-3). As a result, the data in the modifiable region of nonvolatile memory unit 123 is returned to the state it was when the backup data was saved, so that various settings and teaching files can be recovered."]),
display a display screen on the display, asking for an input (see Fig. 1, data display unit 132; [0033 "Setting data display unit 132 displays for the user the “setting data” stored in nonvolatile memory unit 123 of controller 120. Operating unit 133 is operated by the user, who watches setting data display unit 132."] and [0091 "To restore the backup data, the user connects the recording medium containing the backup data to media connection unit 134 of teach pendant 130 of a cell that has not been set up yet, and then operates operating unit 133."]), and
send the backup file located in the storage location, to the robot control device (see [0093 "Calculator 131 transmits the read backup data to controller 120 via communication unit 135. Then calculator 121 of controller 120 temporarily stores the received backup data in volatile memory unit 122 (STEP 4-2)."]).
Komatsu is silent regarding asking for an input of a storage location of the backup file when receiving a command for restoration from the backup file.
Ueda teaches wherein the program instructions further cause the teach pendant to:
request the robot control device to transition to a restoration mode when receiving a command for restoration from the backup file (see [0091 "The restore processing part (154 e) transmits to the industrial machine 20 a restore request that includes, among the difference values included in the backup data, difference values of parameters other than parameters that depend on a capacity of the industrial machine 20."], [0094], [0156] and [0238]),
display a display screen on the display (see Figs. 1-2, all; [0006] and [0038]); and
send the backup file located in the storage location, to the robot control device (see [0071], [0090 "The restore processing part (154 e) restores the industrial machine 20 using the backup data stored in the memory 16 or the backup data stored in a memory 33 of the server 30 (sec FIG. 9)."]-[0095], [0101] and [0238]).
Vartiainen teaches wherein the program instructions further cause the teach pendant to:
request the robot control device to transition to a restoration mode when receiving a command for restoration from the backup file (see [0057]-[0058 "One possibility is that the user wishes to revert to the retrieved system configuration. Thus, in some embodiments the providing S6 comprises installing S6 a the retrieved system configuration in the robot controller."]),
display a display screen on the display, asking for an input of a storage location of the backup file when receiving a command for restoration from the backup file (see Figs. 1-2 and 4-5, display 21, especially elements 211 in Fig. 4; [0006 "The method further comprises generating, on a display, a graphical user interface including elements representing one or more snapshots stored in the backup archive presented in chronological order and upon receiving, from an input device, user input selecting one of the displayed elements..."]-[0007], [0037 "The backup archive may also be an external backup archive 30′ such as in a cloud implemented database. Internal and external storage may also be used in combination in a suitable manner, where e.g. older backup versions are moved from the internal backup archive 30 to the external archive 30′."]-[0039], [0049], [0052] and [0055 "FIG. 4 illustrates the graphical user interface of FIG. 2 where the user has scrolled the timeline to view older snapshots. In this example, the older snapshots (version 1.2 and 1.3) are stored in an external backup archive, which is illustrated by the cloud symbol 214."]-[0056 "The user may then select the snapshot that he or she wants to use by e.g. touching on it or by clicking on it or by any other suitable user input means mentioned in connection with FIG. 1."]); and
send the backup file located in the storage location inputted, to the robot control device (see [0006 "...retrieving, from the backup archive information corresponding to the snapshot represented by the selected element, and providing the retrieved system configuration."] and [0057 "The method further comprises, upon receiving S4 the user input, retrieving S5, from the backup archive 30, 30′ information corresponding to the snapshot represented by the selected element, and providing S6 the retrieved system configuration."]-[0058 "One possibility is that the user wishes to revert to the retrieved system configuration. Thus, in some embodiments the providing S6 comprises installing S6 a the retrieved system configuration in the robot controller."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the teach pendant of modified Komatsu to display a screen asking for an input of a storage location of the backup file when receiving a command for restoration from the backup file, as taught by Vartiainen, in order to provide a user with a quick and easy interface for selecting a backup file without requiring knowledge of the software.
Regarding Claim 7
Komatsu teaches a robot system (see Fig. 1, all; [0030]), comprising:
a robot control device that controls a robot (see Fig. 1, controller 120; [0030]-[0031], [0090 "When the process of saving the backup data starts, calculator 131 of teach pendant 130 sends the command to save the backup data to calculator 121 of controller 120 … Calculator 131 writes the backup data received from controller 120 sequentially into the recording medium connected to media connection unit 134."] and [0092]-[0097]); and
teach pendant according to claim 1 (see Fig. 1, teach pendant 130, modified Komatsu as discussed above).
Regarding Claim 8
Komatsu teaches a robot control device (see Fig. 1, controller 120; [0030]-[0031], [0090 "When the process of saving the backup data starts, calculator 131 of teach pendant 130 sends the command to save the backup data to calculator 121 of controller 120 … Calculator 131 writes the backup data received from controller 120 sequentially into the recording medium connected to media connection unit 134."] and [0092]-[0097]),
comprising the teach pendant according to claim 1 (see Fig. 1, teach pendant 130, modified Komatsu as discussed above).
Regarding Claim 9
Modified Komatsu teaches the robot control device according to claim 8 (as discussed above in claim 8),
Komatsu further teaches comprising:
a connection interface configured to receive a backup file sent from the teach pendant (see Fig. 1, communication unit 126; [0031] and [0093 "Calculator 131 transmits the read backup data to controller 120 via communication unit 135. Then calculator 121 of controller 120 temporarily stores the received backup data in volatile memory unit 122 (STEP 4-2)."]); and
a processor configured to use the backup file received to restore a state of software of the robot control device to a state when the backup file was saved (see Fig. 1, calculator 121; [0031] and [0093 "Then calculator 121 of controller 120 temporarily stores the received backup data in volatile memory unit 122 (STEP 4-2). Calculator 121 then reads only the data contained in the modifiable region from the backup data stored in volatile memory unit 122, and sequentially rewrites the data in the modifiable region of nonvolatile memory unit 123 (STEP 4-3). As a result, the data in the modifiable region of nonvolatile memory unit 123 is returned to the state it was when the backup data was saved, so that various settings and teaching files can be recovered."]).
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsu (as modified by Ueda and Vartiainen) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Maeda et al. (US 20210187751 A1 and Maeda hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 4
Modified Komatsu teaches the teach pendant according to claim 2 (as discussed above in claim 2),
Komatsu is silent regarding wherein the program instructions further cause the teach pendant to: display a preview of a case of restoring the robot control device from the backup file located in the storage location inputted, before starting restoration, when receiving a command for restoration from the backup file.
Maeda teaches a teach pendant (see Figs. 4 and 6B, computer 3; [0032]-[0034]), comprising:
a processor (see [0138]);
a non-volatile storage device (see [0138]);
a display (see Fig. 6B, model display unit 80; [0069]-[0071]);
an input device (see Fig. 6B, all; [0069]-[0075]);
a connection interface configured to connect to a robot control device (see Fig. 1, communication apparatus 60; [0032]); and
program instructions stored in the non-volatile storage device that, when executed by the processor (see [0014] and [0138]),
wherein the program instructions further cause the teach pendant to: display a preview of a case of restoring the robot control device from the backup file located in the storage location inputted, before starting restoration, when receiving a command for restoration from the backup file (see Fig. 6B, all; [0069]-[0080], especially [0070 "FIGS. 6A and 6B illustrate a state where the end effector 11 of the robot apparatus 1 is stopped at an abnormal stop position 70, and the end effector 11 has to be restored to a restore position 71 above the work Wa."], [0074 "The trajectory generation display unit 90 includes a starting point selection box 91 for setting a starting point and an ending point selection box 92 for setting an ending point."] and [0076 "When the operator clicks the trajectory generation button 93, processing for calculating a trajectory of the robot apparatus 1 from a teaching point selected in the starting point selection box 91 to a teaching point selected in the ending point selection box 92 is executed."]-[0077 "When the calculation of the trajectory is ended, the operator can check how the robot apparatus 1 and the end effector 11 are actually moved on the 3D model display unit 80 by clicking the trajectory reproducing button 94."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the teach pendant of modified Komatsu to display a preview of a case of restoring the robot control device from the backup file located in the storage location inputted, before starting restoration, when receiving a command for restoration from the backup file, as taught by Maeda, in order to provide the user with a preview of how the robot is actually moved before restoring the robot control device.
Regarding Claim 5
Modified Komatsu teaches the teach pendant according to claim 4 (as discussed above in claim 4),
Komatsu is silent regarding wherein the program instructions further cause the teach pendant to: display, as the preview, at least a motion program or a text file of a setting file of the robot, as stored in a storage device included in the robot control device.
Maeda teaches wherein the program instructions further cause the teach pendant to: display, as the preview, at least a motion program or a text file of a setting file of the robot, as stored in a storage device included in the robot control device (see Fig. 6B, all; [0069]-[0080], especially [0076 "When the operator clicks the trajectory generation button 93, processing for calculating a trajectory of the robot apparatus 1 from a teaching point selected in the starting point selection box 91 to a teaching point selected in the ending point selection box 92 is executed."]-[0077 "When the calculation of the trajectory is ended, the operator can check how the robot apparatus 1 and the end effector 11 are actually moved on the 3D model display unit 80 by clicking the trajectory reproducing button 94."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the teach pendant of modified Komatsu to display, as the preview, at least a motion program or a text file of a setting file of the robot, as stored in a storage device included in the robot control device, as taught by Maeda, in order to provide the user with a preview of how the robot is actually moved before restoring the robot control device.
Regarding Claim 6
Modified Komatsu teaches the teach pendant according to claim 4 (as discussed above in claim 4),
Komatsu is silent regarding wherein the program instructions further cause the teach pendant to:
simulate at least one operation of the robot control device, the robot, or a peripheral device of the robot in a case of restoring the robot control device from the backup file located in the storage location inputted,
execute simulation when receiving a command for the preview, and
display, as the preview, an execution result of the simulation using a 3D model of the robot.
Maeda teaches wherein the program instructions further cause the teach pendant to:
simulate at least one operation of the robot control device, the robot, or a peripheral device of the robot in a case of restoring the robot control device from the backup file located in the storage location inputted (see Fig. 6B, all; [0069]-[0080], especially [0072 "The actually arranged robot apparatus 1 and work are displayed on the 3D model display unit 80 as 3D model simulation."] and [0077 "When the calculation of the trajectory is ended, the operator can check how the robot apparatus 1 and the end effector 11 are actually moved on the 3D model display unit 80 by clicking the trajectory reproducing button 94."]),
execute simulation when receiving a command for the preview (see Fig. 6B, trajectory reproducing button 94 [0077 "When the calculation of the trajectory is ended, the operator can check how the robot apparatus 1 and the end effector 11 are actually moved on the 3D model display unit 80 by clicking the trajectory reproducing button 94."]), and
display, as the preview, an execution result of the simulation using a 3D model of the robot (see Fig. 6B, all; [0072 "The actually arranged robot apparatus 1 and work are displayed on the 3D model display unit 80 as 3D model simulation."] and [0077 "When the calculation of the trajectory is ended, the operator can check how the robot apparatus 1 and the end effector 11 are actually moved on the 3D model display unit 80 by clicking the trajectory reproducing button 94."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further apply the simulation and display teachings of Maeda to the teach pendant of modified Komatsu, in order to provide the user with a preview of how the robot is actually moved before restoring the robot control device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is allowed.
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TANNER L CULLEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/KHOI H TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656