DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendments, filed 3/30/2026, have been entered and made of record. Claims 1, 8, and 15 have been amended. Claims 1-7, 9-13, 15-17 and 21 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in the Remarks filed on 3/30/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Patterson in view of Lyons
Claims 1-3, 9-12, 15-17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patterson et al.(USPubN 2021/0272599 ;hereinafter Patterson) in view of Lyons et al.(USPubN 2018/0192108; hereinafter Lyons).
As per claim 1, Patterson teaches a device comprising: a display; a communication interface configured to communicate with a server; and at least one processor configured to(“the system 200 can include an interface component 204 configured to generate a user interface for display on a user's computer system (e.g. mobile device, desktop, portable device, etc.). According to one embodiment, the interface component 204 can generate interface displays associated with a mobile application for editing video. For example, the interface displays are configured to access mobile device functionality and content storage (e.g., photos, videos, etc.)” in Para.[0052], “the process system can also include server or cloud components, for example, to house published video content, and/or to update trained processing models, among other options” in Para.[0050]):
receive text data via the display; receive at least one video(“processing system can take as an input a script with line of dialog (e.g., 1302), a set of input takes (e.g., 1304 video clips), and a set of editing rules (e.g., 1306 “start wide,” no “long” shots, and intensify emotion, among other option), to generate a final video output 1310” in Para.[0087], “process an audio signal (e.g., from user source video) to produce text as output (e.g., dialog). According to some embodiments, the system is configured to generate a script based at least in part on natural language processing algorithms for conversation and narrative text generation” in Para.[0088]);
wherein the text data comprise at least a first text data, in response to receiving the first text data indicating a background music (BGM); transmit, to the server, the at least one video; receive, from the server, an edited video or a link to the edited video generated based on a first keyword, wherein present a preview of the edited video or the link on the display(“the user interface provides tools to allow users to change the suggested soundtrack (sound), pace of edit cuts (speed), or the color grading and visual effects applied to the output video (vibe)” in Para.[0061], “neural networks configured to automatically match soundtracks to generated video and introduce the soundtracks into the output video. In other examples, matching songs as well as recommendation for timing of the matching songs can be generated and displayed to users to select in a user interface … enabling the system to automatically recommend a relevant soundtrack based on the input video's visual content (see e.g., FIG. 15). FIG. 15 illustrates a dynamic music matching network trained over video and audio inputs to learn a joint embedding space such that the difference between the learned embeddings are more similar when audio and video come from the same input” in Para.[0090], “the system analyzes dialog to identify the most important spoken words in a user's raw footage and apply such exclamations over a version of the raw input re-timed to match foreground movement and/or to match the beat of the selected music track.” in Para.[0144], “once the application completes the classification and automatic editing, the result is a professional grade video output” in Para.[0004], “the experience was enhanced to have enticing previews, for display on common social platforms like Twitter, Facebook Messenger and more.” in Para.[0158]).
Patterson is silent about a touchscreen display; output, on the display, a dialog comprising: the text data; and a text response received from the server that is generated based on the text data; receive text data via the touchscreen display; wherein the text data comprises at least a first text data and a second text data, in response to receiving the first text data indicating a background music (BGM) input function, output, within the dialog, a list comprising a plurality of BGM styles; transmit, to the server, the second text data comprising data indicative of at least one of the BGM styles; transmit, to the server, the at least one video; receive, from the server, an edited video or a link to the edited video generated based on a first keyword, wherein the first keyword is extracted at the server based on the second text data.
Lyons teaches a touchscreen display; output, on the display, a dialog comprising: the text data; and a text response received from the server that is generated based on the text data; receive text data via the touchscreen display; wherein the text data comprises at least a first text data and a second text data, in response to receiving the first text data indicating a background music (BGM) input function, output, within the dialog, a list comprising a plurality of BGM styles; transmit, to the server, the second text data comprising data indicative of at least one of the BGM styles; transmit, to the server, the at least one video; receive, from the server, an edited video or a link to the edited video generated based on a first keyword, wherein the first keyword is extracted at the server based on the second text data(Fig. 4A and 4B, “shows an initial display of an example interface 400 used to identify a media excerpt to use for a mediagram. For example, using a search control 402, a user can search by song, album, artist, or in other ways. Further, controls 404 can be used to browse songs of various categories, such as a romance category 406 that includes songs related to romance. The songs (or other media) that are searchable in the interface 400 can include songs (or other media) stored in the media management system 306” in Para.[0088], “FIG. 4B shows a display of the example interface 400 that presents media excerpts 410 that are in the romance category 406. Each of the media excerpts 410 can include a chill moment that they are intended to leverage to be emotionally impactful as part of a mediagram. In the depicted example, the media excerpt 408 for a Taylor Swift song is selected from a list 410. Similar or different types of lists can be presented when the search control 402 is used.” in Para.[0089], “the interface 602 can prompt a user to answer questions about the user/or recipient to pick which song to use. This can create a personal list of songs to choose from. Such questions can be based on, for example, demographics of recipient (age, gender, occasion, favorite genre of music, relationship, message you want to get across). The answers and contact information (i.e. email address, or other unique identifier) can be stored to create a profile for the user if they sign up with the app. If the recipient responds to the mediagram and signs up, the profile that was saved can populate the recipient's profile” in Para.[0114], “he personalized video creation system 620, for example, can provide various user interfaces (e.g., web interfaces, client/server interfaces, etc.) for presenting information to users through various types of user devices (e.g., laptop or desktop computers, tablet computers, smartphones, personal digital assistants, or other stationary or portable devices), and for receiving input from the user devices in regard to generating personalized videos” in Para.[0117]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Patterson with the above teachings of Lyons in order to improve the quality of social interactions.
As per claim 2, Patterson and Lyons teach all of limitation of claim 1.
Patterson is silent about wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive user information about the user, and output the editing dialog based on the user information(Para.[0135], [0136]).
Lyons teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive user information about the user, and output the editing dialog based on the user information(Para.[0114]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Patterson with the above teachings of Lyons in order to improve the quality of social interactions.
As per claim 3, Patterson and Lyons teach all of limitation of claim 1.
Patterson is silent about wherein the dialog further includes a third text data indicating at least one of a cut editing function, a mosaic processing function, and a filter change function.
Lyons teaches wherein the dialog further includes a third text data indicating at least one of a cut editing function, a mosaic processing function, and a filter change function(Para.[0125], [0126]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Patterson with the above teachings of Lyons in order to improve the quality of social interactions.
As per claim 9, Patterson and Lyons teach all of limitation of claim 1.
Patterson teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: output the edited video(Para.[0087]).
As per claim 10, Patterson and Lyons teach all of limitation of claim 9.
Patterson teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive feedback from a user based on the edited video(Para.[0076], [0151]).
As per claim 11, Patterson and Lyons teach all of limitation of claim 10.
Patterson teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: re-edit the edited video based on the feedback from the user(Para.[0076], Para.[0113]).
As per claim 12, Patterson and Lyons teach all of limitation of claim 10.
Patterson teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: store the feedback in a memory(Para.[0076], [0161]).
As per claim 15, Patterson and Lyons teach all of limitation of claim 1.
Patterson teaches further comprising a memory, wherein the at least one processor stores edited video in the memory(Para.[0161]).
As per claim 16, Patterson and Lyons teach all of limitation of claim 1.
Patterson teaches wherein the at least one video is editied based on edits the images using artificial intelligence technology(Para.[0062]).
As per claim 17, Patterson teaches a computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions, which, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to carry out(“The computer system 1600 may include one or more processors 1610 and one or more articles of manufacture that comprise non-transitory computer-readable storage media (e.g., memory 1620 and one or more non-volatile storage media 1630).” in Para.[0161]) and the other limitations in the claim 17 has been discussed in the rejection claim 1 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 21, the limitations in the claim 21 has been discussed in the rejection claim 1 and rejected under the same rationale.
Patterson in view of Lyons and Athsani
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patterson et al.(USPubN 2021/0272599; hereinafter Patterson) in view of Lyons et al.(USPubN 2018/0192108; hereinafter Lyons) further in view of Athsani et al.(USPubN 2009/0157450; hereinafter Athsani).
As per claim 13, Patterson and Lyons teach all of limitation of claim 1.
Patterson and Lyons are silent about wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: output at least one of an advertisement or preconfigured information while editing the at least one video.
Athsani teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: output at least one of an advertisement or preconfigured information while editing the at least one video (Para.[0007]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Patterson and Lyons with the above teachings of Athsani in order to improve user experience.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SUNGHYOUN PARK/Examiner, Art Unit 2484